Reg DVD or Blu-ray for XBMC HTPC? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 10-29-2013, 08:41 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I'm a newbie on XBMC and HTPC.....

I will be start collecting movie and rip them to my HTPC.

Should i start buying Reg DVD or Blu-ray?

i understand some movie should get blu-ray.... for example "The dark knight rise"

But for normal non action movie, should i just get reg DVD? It will be alot cheaper.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-29-2013, 11:52 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 28
DVDs are over.

Tech Flaws
Things can only get better
Old 10-30-2013, 05:22 AM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 213
If your tv is bigger than 32", or you think you might like a larger tv some day, you will wish those dvds were bluray discs

My HTPC front end set up
Integration for whole home ATSC, CableCARD, FM radio, Blu-Ray, HD-DVD, DVD, VHS control & capture, video games, and archived & streaming media playback
Mironto's Panasonic plasma black level restoration guide
Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
Old 10-30-2013, 03:25 PM - Thread Starter

what is the normal MP4 size for Blu-ray after ripped to hard drive?

Just wondering.... so I know what kinda  HDD to buy in the future.

Old 10-30-2013, 03:39 PM
AVS Special Member

bluray discs hold up to 50gb - so that would be your theoretical maximum. in practice most are 20gb for comedies to 35gb or so for 1.85:1 action films like Avatar or Saving Private Ryan

Now, you mention mp4 files. I assume you take that to mean the .mp4 container. Some parts of the bluray spec - VC1 video, DTS-MA audio - don't go inside .mp4 files. So unless you are going to strip detail from your discs you will need to use another container like .m2ts or .mkv.