File Tranfer Speed issue with Storage Enclosure System TR8M+B ? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 Old 11-09-2013, 08:51 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Airbander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello Guys,

Extremely sorry to bother you guys here again with my issue so i was able to fix all my issue with my pc but now i have problem with File Transfer, the Speed of a file to be transfer from one hard drive to another is at 54 Kbs on a brand new Storage Enclosure System TR8M+B. See the problem is if i cant fix it by Thursday then i will have to return it as it last day to get full refund from newegg.com

I was testing this unit to transfer file from hard drive in my pc to a hard drive in NSA and i notice that file transfer started at low 85 MB/s and then it goes down to 850 KB/s and then stay at that for hours and then it goes down to 450 KB/s and stay there for hours and then it goes to 54KB/s

I left this file transfer for over 2 days and no luck for it to complete

I am not using Raid as i will have my software Raid F so at this moment i am trying to get everything working properly before i install software and applications

My New unit is:
Sans Digital 8-Bay eSATA RAID 0/1/10/5/JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure w/ 6G PCIe Card TR8M+B (Black)
TR8M+B
8 x Hard Drive Trays
Power Cord
2 x eSATA Cable
RR622 Dual-Port eSATA 6Gb/s PCIe 2.0 x1 RAID Controller
Sans Digital 8-Bay eSATA RAID 0/1/10/5/JBOD Tower Storage Enclosure w/ 6G PCIe Card TR8M+B (Black) - Newegg.com

also not to forgot to say this unit work as : Drive Bays eSATA 6Gbps (via Port Multiplier) 8 Bay SATA to eSATA (Port Multiplier) JBOD Enc

Here are DropBox Screenshots:
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/coiweqm8rmb9d95/4hEDFmPtyA

I have tried to tranfer files from other drive too but the speed was very slow also but transfer completed with no issue as the file where single small file between 300 MB/s and 800 MB/s

Here is my system info also :

Bus Adapters
AMD AHCI Compatible RAID Controller
AMD RAID Console
HighPoint RCM Device
JMicron JMB36X Controller
RocketRAID 622 SATA Controller
Silicon Image SiI 3114 SoftRaid 5 Controller
VIA VT6421 RAID Controller
ASMedia XHCI Controller (2x)
Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller (3x)
Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller (4x)
====================================================
Other Devices
VIA 1394 OHCI Compliant Host Controller
ASUS Disk Unlocker
Microsoft Composite Battery
USB Input Device
Standard PS/2 Keyboard
HID-compliant mouse
USB Root Hub (9x)
Generic volume shadow copy
=====================================================
Local Drive Volumes
c: (NTFS on drive 8) * 118.89 GB 59.90 GB free
d: (NTFS on drive 9) 2000.40 GB 538.41 GB free
e: (NTFS on drive 0) 3000.46 GB 933.34 GB free
f: (NTFS on drive 2) 4000.65 GB 416.76 GB free
g: (NTFS on drive 1) 3000.46 GB 829.71 GB free
h: (NTFS on drive 3) 2000.40 GB 235.13 GB free
i: (NTFS on drive 7) 3000.46 GB 1642.25 GB free
j: (NTFS on drive 5) 2000.26 GB 380.32 GB free
k: (NTFS on drive 4) 2000.26 GB 524.85 GB free
l: (NTFS on drive 6) 2000.26 GB 249.74 GB free
======================================================
Drives
23122.50 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
5810.41 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space

AMD 1X2 Mirror/RAID1 SCSI Disk Device (119.00 GB) --
drive 8, s/n 0411d50a0000000100000000000000000000000000000000
Hitachi HDS5C3020ALA632 SCSI Disk Device (2000.40 GB) -- drive 3
Hitachi HDS5C3020ALA632 SCSI Disk Device (2000.40 GB) -- drive 4
Hitachi HDS722020ALA330 SCSI Disk Device (2000.40 GB) -- drive 9,
s/n JK1101YBJUN48F
Hitachi HDS723020BLA642 SCSI Disk Device (2000.40 GB) -- drive 5
Seagate ST3000DM001-9YN1 SCSI Disk Device (3000.59 GB) -- drive 7
Seagate ST4000DM000-1F21 SCSI Disk Device (4000.78 GB) -- drive 2
WDC WD20EARX-22PASB0 SCSI Disk Device (2000.40 GB) -- drive 6
WDC WD30EZRX-00DC0B0 SCSI Disk Device (3000.59 GB) -- drive 0
WDC WD30EZRX-00MMMB0 SCSI Disk Device (3000.59 GB) -- drive 1
==================================================================
Processor
3.60 gigahertz AMD Phenom II X4 945
512 kilobyte primary memory cache
2048 kilobyte secondary memory cache
6144 kilobyte tertiary memory cache
64-bit ready
Multi-core (4 total)
Not hyper-threaded
=====================================================================
Operating System
Windows 7 Enterprise (x64) Service Pack 1 (build 7601)
Install Language: English (United States)
System Locale: English (United States)
Installed: 11/4/2013 9:45:11 PM
Boot Mode: Legacy BIOS in UEFI (Secure Boot not supported)
======================================================================
Main Circuit Board
Board: ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. M5A97 EVO Rev 1.xx
Serial Number: 113693820000681
Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
UEFI: American Megatrends Inc. 1604 10/16/2012
======================================================================
Memory Modules
16282 Megabytes Usable Installed Memory

Slot 'DIMM0' has 4096 MB
Slot 'DIMM1' has 4096 MB
Slot 'DIMM2' has 4096 MB
Slot 'DIMM3' has 4096 MB



Can someone please advise
Airbander is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 11-10-2013, 01:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
Alx330's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Consumer external enclosures are often very picky pieces of kit, I do see a Jmicron device in your list not sure whats that is using that but dump that ASAP, Jmicron are notorious and if it's the enclosure itself using a Jmicron chip return it straight away don't waste any more money.
The only reliable eSATA enclosures I've come across are Marvel or some Silicon Image based ones, Jmicron are all over the place but are plagued with bugs.

Do you have more than one eSATA controller other than the Silicon Image one provided with the enclosure, if your plugged into that I would check to see if the RocketRAID or VIA SATA controllers support port multiplier and get a eSATA to SATA cable/adapter then plug into one of those instead.


Better yet don't bother with an enclosure at all, use a bare enclosure which takes the cables (SATA+power) from your PC internal ports and runs them to a box, this is way more reliable than using an external RAID chip. For soft RAID either use FlexRAID in Windows 7 or update to Windows 8 to use the native RAID storage spaces.
Alx330 is offline  
post #3 of 20 Old 11-10-2013, 04:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
mrfattbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Dump the RocketRaid card. I have this exact enclosure and the RR card will cause you nothing but headaches. Buy a cheap dual port esata multiplier card for $30 and be done with it, I promise you will be MUCH happier.

Bill
mrfattbill is offline  
post #4 of 20 Old 11-10-2013, 10:27 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Airbander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi

Which card do you have ? the problem is i am not sure how to look up eSata Cards with port multiplier
Airbander is offline  
post #5 of 20 Old 11-10-2013, 10:28 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Airbander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello

Jmicron i think is from ASUA for 2 estat ports that comes with Motherboard , so when i install all drivers for MB i think that where it comes from
Airbander is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 11-10-2013, 10:32 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Airbander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrfattbill View Post

Dump the RocketRaid card. I have this exact enclosure and the RR card will cause you nothing but headaches. Buy a cheap dual port esata multiplier card for $30 and be done with it, I promise you will be MUCH happier.

Bill

Hi

Which card do you have ? the problem is i am not sure how to look up eSata Cards with port multiplier + i have until Thursday otherwise i am stuck with this unit for ever
Unless you think this unit is good and i should not worry about returen it back and by buying a extra eSATA Card will fix my issue then why not i got it for $239.99 so i got it in supper sales a few weeks ago

Please advise
Airbander is offline  
post #7 of 20 Old 11-10-2013, 10:42 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Airbander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi

also i forgot to say i have 2 Sata card connected to this unit

Number 1 is:
Rosewill RC-209-EX PCI 2.3, 32bit, 33/66Mhz SATA Controller Card
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816132013

Number 2 is:
Rosewill RC-212 VIA PCI SATA 1.5G / IDE ATA 133 Controller Card / Supports Raid 0, 1, 0+1, JBOD, non-RAID mode
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816132009

I bought one for 5.99 and second one at 7.99 when they went on sales it allowed me to have 12 drives on my Main system but i need more space for drives and i was running into so much issue i went with NAS system with e-sata


Please advise
Airbander is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 11-10-2013, 11:40 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Airbander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Airbander is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 11-11-2013, 06:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
mrfattbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 58
mrfattbill is offline  
post #10 of 20 Old 11-11-2013, 09:03 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Airbander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

hello

Not bad at all Sat 6Gbps with 2 estat and 2 sata card

so you dont have any issues with files speed transfer ?

Thanks
Airbander is offline  
post #11 of 20 Old 11-11-2013, 09:56 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Airbander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hello Bill , i bought the same Vantec UGT-ST622 card and i spoke to Vantec support eveyrthing should work hopefully
Thanks for the advise bro you rock

Thanks
Airbander is offline  
post #12 of 20 Old 11-11-2013, 12:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
mrfattbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 58
No problem, at least you won't be beating your head against the wall with the RR card like I did for many months.

Bill
mrfattbill is offline  
post #13 of 20 Old 11-11-2013, 12:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Airbander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrfattbill View Post

No problem, at least you won't be beating your head against the wall with the RR card like I did for many months.

Bill

Bill thanks alot + newegg give me extra time for full refund if anything did not work and on top of that they will cover 50% of card price
so thank you very much
Airbander is offline  
post #14 of 20 Old 11-14-2013, 06:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Airbander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hello Bill Vantec card did not work with my unit which is 8 Hard drives , spoke to support and they said Max drives are 4 so i had to RMA it and get my money back from newegg and now in market again looking for a card again

San Digital guys said they can do a card swap from what i have RR622 Dual-Port eSATA 6Gb/s PCIe 2.0 x1 RAID Controller to Roket Raid 642 just to see if it fix the issue with Speed problem
also they said something about there cards support FIS and not CBS so mybe i need to find a port multiplier with FIS and Support for 8 Hard drives at Sata 6 Gbps on e-Sata

back to step one again

Thanks
Airbander is offline  
post #15 of 20 Old 11-15-2013, 05:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
mrfattbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 58
This may sound dumb but you did hook up two esata cables correct?

I just pulled my card out to make sure and it is the UGT-ST622.





Bill
mrfattbill is offline  
post #16 of 20 Old 11-15-2013, 09:32 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Airbander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrfattbill View Post

This may sound dumb but you did hook up two esata cables correct?

I just pulled my card out to make sure and it is the UGT-ST622.





Bill

Hello i did , i also moved the jumper pin just like the image show on yours and no luck , so i called Vantec Support and they said this card wont work with 8 Hard drives and they suggest to return it for full refund and they told me to cheek card with FIS and support of 4 or more drives on each sata port so the total can be 8 + drives on both e-sata

Not sure why this wont work with my unit mybe the unit has problem

Thanks
Airbander is offline  
post #17 of 20 Old 11-15-2013, 10:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
mrfattbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airbander View Post

Hello i did , i also moved the jumper pin just like the image show on yours and no luck , so i called Vantec Support and they said this card wont work with 8 Hard drives and they suggest to return it for full refund and they told me to cheek card with FIS and support of 4 or more drives on each sata port so the total can be 8 + drives on both e-sata

Not sure why this wont work with my unit mybe the unit has problem

Thanks

It's a port multiplier, and since it has 4 ports by definition it has to support more than 4 drives....well technically two useable ports, lol.

Did you try each bank of drives one at a time on each external port of the card? The TR8M is really 2 banks with 4 drives each.

Bill
mrfattbill is offline  
post #18 of 20 Old 11-15-2013, 02:50 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Airbander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrfattbill View Post

It's a port multiplier, and since it has 4 ports by definition it has to support more than 4 drives....well technically two useable ports, lol.

Did you try each bank of drives one at a time on each external port of the card? The TR8M is really 2 banks with 4 drives each.

Bill

Hello

Yes i did and did not work so i spoke to San Digital and they are going to do an exchange of card for me , if this did not work then the unit must have an issue

Thanks alot bill you been very helpful
Airbander is offline  
post #19 of 20 Old 11-28-2013, 09:50 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Airbander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello



so i am back on this so finally i got the NAS and PC working with new RR642L Card that san's Digital give me no speed issue did some large file transfer

and so far so good



experience some minor issue with large beep sound when i notice 4 drive are not showing so restarted the pc and the NAS unit seems to fix the issue but no idea what caused it

i keept the system on all night long and no issue but again i did not move files or did any activities



So hopefully i will start working on FliexRaid and Backup and then install MB3 and rest of the software so mybe by next week i will back in MB3



Thanks
Happy Thanksgiving everyone
Airbander is offline  
post #20 of 20 Old 11-30-2013, 01:09 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Airbander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello

Issue resolved everything is working now

Thank you very much
Airbander is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off