Looking for WD TV Live but BETTER Networking! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 11-23-2013, 08:57 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
guiri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Guys, I have several WD TV Live units but I tend to have problems with the networking on them.

Looking for another simple/cheap unit that does pretty much what the Live unit does (don't need anything fancy)
but with more solid networking.

Any suggestions?

Am I the only one to have problems with the networking on these?
Sometimes I can connect to my network, sometimes I can't frown.gif

Thanks

George
guiri is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 11-23-2013, 09:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Matt L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Flushing, MI
Posts: 4,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Wired? Wireless?
Matt L is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 11-23-2013, 09:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
techflaws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by guiri View Post

Am I the only one to have problems with the networking on these?
No, but it often depends on the network. In my wired network e.g. I have no problems with disconnects ever.

Tech Flaws
Things can only get better
techflaws is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 11-23-2013, 10:21 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
guiri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt L View Post

Wired? Wireless?

Wired is fine. Like I said, I like my unit but I'm tired of the networking doing this...
guiri is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 11-24-2013, 05:07 PM
Member
 
morbidz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
If you are having problems with wdtv on your network then most likely you will have problems with another player.
morbidz is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 11-24-2013, 05:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
jontyrees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Is this the right forum to get opinions on att gigapower? Its available in my neighborhood. Should I ditch TWC and switch to gigapower? This would be for internet, tv, and phone. I mostly watch tv, cable, hd only, but with maybe 15% streaming of Netflix or YouTube. My cable service has been bad for a yr or more - blocking, freezing, etc
jontyrees is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 11-24-2013, 08:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Matt L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Flushing, MI
Posts: 4,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 73
Not sure what gigapower is. ATT around here is uverse --TV, phone, internet and cell.

Not sure how that relates to the topic. You might be better off starting a new thread.
Matt L is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 11-25-2013, 09:27 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
guiri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by morbidz View Post

If you are having problems with wdtv on your network then most likely you will have problems with another player.

We'll see, I'm looking for a cheap AIOS to try out...
guiri is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 11-25-2013, 04:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
jontyrees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt L View Post

Not sure what gigapower is. ATT around here is uverse --TV, phone, internet and cell.

Not sure how that relates to the topic. You might be better off starting a new thread.
Yup, should have started a new thread - not sure what I was thinking - it was late! Gigapower is actually Uverse with Gigapower - it's ATTs Gb to the home service. Austin is the first place to get it, and my neighborhood is first in line. Cheers!
jontyrees is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off