Popcorn Hour C-300 or Dune Smart - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 12-09-2013, 04:51 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
photocrazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have narrowed down my streamer choice to Popcorn hour C-300 and Dune smart D1.

I am looking for a player which can play the higest bit rate bluray and which has stable playback of blu ray ISOs with full menu

Thanks in advance.
photocrazy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 12-09-2013, 06:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Will you be using any retail discs? Both are decent enough solutions The Dunes had a bit better menu support but if you use any retail discs the dune will not read fox discs.
halfelite is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 12-09-2013, 09:30 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
photocrazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfelite View Post

Will you be using any retail discs? Both are decent enough solutions The Dunes had a bit better menu support but if you use any retail discs the dune will not read fox discs.

I wont be using discs. I will be playing blu ray iso images from unraid server. So I am looking for a player which would play high bit rate files without stuttering with full menu support. I read through both forums but iam unable to find the max bit rate either would play.
photocrazy is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 12-09-2013, 10:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 59
The max for both are way beyond that of bluray. Bluray caps out around 54mbit. people have played the BIRDS.mkv samples up to 110mbit so almost double of any bluray movie
halfelite is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 12-10-2013, 12:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
photocrazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfelite View Post

The max for both are way beyond that of bluray. Bluray caps out around 54mbit. people have played the BIRDS.mkv samples up to 110mbit so almost double of any bluray movie

Thanks. I was a bit worried coz Dune does not have gigabit.

Regarding blu ray iso playback, do both perform at the same level or one is better than other?
photocrazy is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 12-10-2013, 12:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 59
They are pretty much identical in most playback, but since you want full menu's Dunes usually handled menus a bit better.
halfelite is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 12-19-2013, 08:58 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
photocrazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfelite View Post

They are pretty much identical in most playback, but since you want full menu's Dunes usually handled menus a bit better.

Thanks. I read in the review that Dune allows changing resolution using mode + numbers(1-5) in remote control, but it cannot be done during playback. Does it mean I can use this function in any other screen other than actual movie play back screen?

Or Is there any other way I can change resolution on the fly? coz I want my receiver to do the scaling for any resolution less than 1080 without going to setup--->video--> resolution etc. every time.
photocrazy is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 12-19-2013, 09:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 33
you can only do it when on the dune UI, not while playing a movie.

Dune smart are the best 2D players with full BR menu support.

But you know that it's currently end of life and extremely difficult to find ? (even 2nd hand...).
Mr Eric is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 12-19-2013, 09:10 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
photocrazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Eric View Post

you can only do it when on the dune UI, not while playing a movie.

Dune smart are the best 2D players with full BR menu support.

But you know that it's currently end of life and extremely difficult to find ? (even 2nd hand...).

Thanks, can I do it within Yadis movie selection screen before selecting the movie?
photocrazy is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 12-20-2013, 12:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mr Eric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Paris/France
Posts: 873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 33
good question, i never tried (my smart is doing the upscale for everything) so I don't know...

If i've got a bit of time today I will test it and will let you know.
Mr Eric is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Popcorn Hour C 300 Extreme Networked Media Jukebox

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off