Looking for simple, robust and cheap media player. I'm tired of my WD seeing my network when IT feels like it! - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 01-17-2014, 09:24 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
guiri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Guys, I've had many different WD TV units and they all seem to have a problem on the network side.

Can someone recommend something simple, that's cheap and robust (I don't mind used or refurbished but I'm about broke right now) and that like
the WD plays most formats. I don't care about bells and whistles and don't care about netflix, hulu or stuff like that.

Thanks and links are always appreciated.

George
guiri is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 01-17-2014, 10:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,345
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 73
popbox v8 is in your budget as its 99$ i think. But getting one to the US at the momement might be hard unless http://www.diamondhomedesign.com/store/cat-PopBox_Media_Players-98.aspx has them in stock.

If you want a more DIY option you can look at a raspi running xbmc or something.
halfelite is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 01-17-2014, 02:26 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
guiri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
THanks. IS there anywhere I can read a review of it? I'm going to search here but thought I'd ask anyway. I saw the popbox 3D on amazon. Is that anything?

How is the networking on it? That's the only problem I have with my WD.

George
guiri is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 01-17-2014, 08:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Matt L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Flushing, MI
Posts: 4,992
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 101
You are certainly free to try another unit, but I 'd explore what was causing your network issue in the first place. There are hundreds of us here without network issues. My Live and SMP have no issue with network shares.
Matt L is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 01-18-2014, 06:47 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
guiri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well, the problem is i suck at this, I have no patience, I know nothing about networking, I lack reading comprehension which means I need someone
to talk me through things over the phone which I can't find.
Do you see where this is going.....?

Thanks

George
guiri is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 01-18-2014, 09:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 580
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 18
And the problem also is if you spend the money on a new box chances are your gonna run into the same problem!
Otter0911 is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 01-18-2014, 11:06 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
guiri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
This is also true frown.gif
guiri is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 01-18-2014, 10:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
techflaws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I'd rather say some people have problems on the network side cause my WDTVs just rune fine (wired).

Tech Flaws
Things can only get better
techflaws is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 01-19-2014, 01:49 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
guiri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well, I always have some kind of problems but no one to help me. Everyone I know is in a different state than I am and they don't even use the WD themselves.

Don't suppose someone would like to help me over the phone? Written instructions are a waste on me.

George
guiri is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 01-19-2014, 02:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Alx330's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 47
If you have been using network shares don't, switch to a DLNA server it is less complicated. Go download Mezzmo trial which is one of the best DLNA servers, it costs money but if it works well enough then it's worth buying.

Install Mezzmo, add whatever folders hold media on your computer into Mezzmo using "add to library button" then go to "media servers" on the WDTV to access it.
Alx330 is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 01-19-2014, 02:54 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
guiri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Sorry but like I said, this is way over my head and I didn't understand a thing you said. I know you guys mean well trying to explain to me but I'd like to save your time and say, don't. I simply don't get it frown.gif

George
guiri is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 01-19-2014, 03:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
Alx330's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Try not to take this the wrong way but your not really trying, if you were able to find this forum and sign up to it then you can do what I suggested.

Install software like any other application on PC, click add to library, pick folder holding videos, go to WDTV\media servers and browse Mezzmo, you don't have to get it just do it, that's the best way to learn (even if you screw up).
Alx330 is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 01-19-2014, 03:59 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
guiri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What if my stuff is on a separate server?

What exactly does this software do that WD doesn't and how much is it?
guiri is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 01-19-2014, 05:12 AM
Senior Member
 
TimA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Why not just hook up a USB hard drive to the back of the WDTV if you are having network issues:

1. Buy an external USB hard drive that's big enough to hold your media. Something like this
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822178117
2. Hook the external USB hard drive up to your PC and copy your media from the PC to the external USB hard drive.
3. Once the files are copied to the external USB hard drive, disconnect it from your PC.
4. Connect to your WDTV and select "Local Media" as you media source.
5. Watch.
TimA is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 01-19-2014, 05:32 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
guiri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Works great but defeats the purpose of a network frown.gif
guiri is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 01-19-2014, 08:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
techflaws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alx330 View Post

If you have been using network shares don't, switch to a DLNA server it is less complicated.
Since when? DLNA is an awful crutch and supports less format while adding a completely unnecessary layer of complexity.

Tech Flaws
Things can only get better
techflaws is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Western Digital Wdtv Full Hd Media Player Recertified

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off