WMC Extender - Xbox verions/specs? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 02-06-2014, 12:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jmuskibum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My new HTPC is up and running. Pretty sure I had little stiffy after it worked and fully PVRing shows.

Now on to replacing the other STB that my wife uses for working out/running. I've read that XBOX are the best/easiest for connecting to WMC which I am using.
Two primary concerns:
1. Will she have to use a xbox controller or would it be possible to use a remote control against the Xbox like I can for the HTPC? She'll be mildly annoyed using a controller, but oh well if it saves me $10 bucks a month.

2. I hope to just buy one off of craigslist/ebay. Can I use the 4GB version if not playing any games? Do I need anything besides console and controller for setup?

If it matters, I am using HD HomeRun prime on my HTPC.

appreciate the help, you guys have been great!
jmuskibum is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 02-06-2014, 12:26 PM
Senior Member
 
staknhalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Yeah, you can use WMC remotes/Harmony remotes/universal remotes that send WMC commands with the 360.

Yes, 4GB will be fine (I have 4 4GB ones as exteders). You can always use USB jump drives/USB HDDs for more storage if you want to DL a game (though max supported this way is 32GB; even if you use a 250GB USB HDD for example).

Just make sure you get a Slim or newer E model, the earlier ones are more prone to HW failure/overheating.
staknhalo is online now  
post #3 of 5 Old 02-06-2014, 12:49 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jmuskibum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by staknhalo View Post

Just make sure you get a Slim or newer E model, the earlier ones are more prone to HW failure/overheating.

Thanks, in what I read none of that was mentioned.
jmuskibum is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 02-06-2014, 03:25 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jmuskibum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by staknhalo View Post

Yeah, you can use WMC remotes/Harmony remotes/universal remotes that send WMC commands with the 360.

Yes, 4GB will be fine (I have 4 4GB ones as exteders). You can always use USB jump drives/USB HDDs for more storage if you want to DL a game (though max supported this way is 32GB; even if you use a 250GB USB HDD for example).

Just make sure you get a Slim or newer E model, the earlier ones are more prone to HW failure/overheating.

Whats a good price to pay for a used one? Assumingyou didnt buy for brand new ones.
jmuskibum is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 02-06-2014, 04:22 PM
Senior Member
 
staknhalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmuskibum View Post

Whats a good price to pay for a used one? Assumingyou didnt buy for brand new ones.

I bought all mine new ($179 w/$30 best buy gift card each; so the 4th one cost me $90 and the last gift card paid for the hdmi cables). I'm just not comfortable buying refurb technology myself.
staknhalo is online now  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
Xbox 360 Console

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off