*Official* Amazon Fire TV Discussion Thread - Page 28 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 16Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #811 of 1128 Old 06-19-2014, 07:43 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 16,833
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 415 Post(s)
Liked: 542
What is a "3D phone"? What do or did they do that's 3D? I know that some phones had a 3D video camera.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
" -- hookbill
michaeltscott is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #812 of 1128 Old 06-20-2014, 03:38 AM
Newbie
 
yashar19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I brought the Fire TV a week ago from Best Buy and so far I have been disappointed. I brought it because it has almost every major streaming app (netflix, amazon prime, hulu +, etc) in one place. I side-loaded xbmc ouya on the fire tv. The main reason for xbmc is because I have a server with 10+ mbit mkv bluray rips and it has not played the files very well. I use NFS to find the files. XBMC looks great on fire TV and moves extremely fast. I was able to add lots of channels and do all type of configurations. The first problem I have with XBMC on fire TV is the sound. Even though the Ouya version gives you the option for TrueHD and DTS-HD, it does not work. If you have these options checked in the settings, the video will play with no sound. Once you un-check those options, it will downgrade DTS-HD files as DTS and will play TrueHD sound as stereo. It can only play DTS sound and DD sound. I was willing to overlook these shortcomings because of the price point. I would have used it in the master Bedroom where I have a sound bar that can't decode HD audio. It can decode DTS and DD. The BIG problem is the video performance. It seem to be skipping frames. I don't know if there is a way to fix this. if anyone has any suggestions, I am all ears.
yashar19 is offline  
post #813 of 1128 Old 06-20-2014, 04:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
lulimet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Perkasie, PA
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 63
As far as I know, you can't get HD sound on Android devices. It's an Android limitation.
Also, you should use the latest Gotham stable build.
lulimet is online now  
post #814 of 1128 Old 06-20-2014, 05:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
MikeAlletto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Purcellville, VA
Posts: 936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbuick6 View Post
If Amazon thinks 3D is dead, why are they marketing a 3D phone?
They aren't. Also Amazon does not have any 3d movies via their streaming service.

XBL: Mr MichaelJames
MikeAlletto is offline  
post #815 of 1128 Old 06-20-2014, 05:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 47
yashar19, make sure 'mediacodec' is disabled under video acceleration. Only 'libstagefright' should be enabled. Full 1080p videos play just fine. Also, expecting hd audio out of a $99 box not meant for XBMC or even local media playback may be too much to ask.

Also, you should update to Gotham 13.1 as it runs slightly better than the OUYA (Frodo) version of XBMC.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #816 of 1128 Old 06-20-2014, 06:20 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,415
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 636 Post(s)
Liked: 714
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
What is a "3D phone"? What do or did they do that's 3D? I know that some phones had a 3D video camera.
It could take 3D pictures and 3D video and also had a glasses free 3D display. Not sure who made it but I think it was an android phone.

EDIT: I think it was the HTC EVO 3D. The Wiki page shows it was used on Sprint and that is the carrier my coworker uses. And the picture matches what he had.
The phone came out in 2011.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme


Last edited by aaronwt; 06-20-2014 at 06:29 AM.
aaronwt is online now  
post #817 of 1128 Old 06-20-2014, 06:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
42Plasmaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post
yashar19, make sure 'mediacodec' is disabled under video acceleration. Only 'libstagefright' should be enabled. Full 1080p videos play just fine. Also, expecting hd audio out of a $99 box not meant for XBMC or even local media playback may be too much to ask.

Also, you should update to Gotham 13.1 as it runs slightly better than the OUYA (Frodo) version of XBMC.
Is the thread starter still around?
It would be great if they would start collecting valuable information like this quote and place them in the original post so general information/FAQ can be found easily.

2014
42Plasmaman is offline  
post #818 of 1128 Old 06-20-2014, 07:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 47
No idea, but I agree. Here are resources I've got bookmarked:

- XBMC Wiki
- fireTVnews
- Working Sideloaded APK List
- XDA Developers FTV Forum

And, for discussion, I personally find this thread at XBMC most helpful/useful.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #819 of 1128 Old 06-20-2014, 11:36 AM
Newbie
 
yashar19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post
yashar19, make sure 'mediacodec' is disabled under video acceleration. Only 'libstagefright' should be enabled. Full 1080p videos play just fine. Also, expecting hd audio out of a $99 box not meant for XBMC or even local media playback may be too much to ask.

Also, you should update to Gotham 13.1 as it runs slightly better than the OUYA (Frodo) version of XBMC.

Thank you so much for your response. I Will definitely try these options out when I get home. WD live tv costs $100 and does a little bit of everything. It plays just about every file format you can throw at it. And decodes or pass through all audio. It even has a jukebox. I had my hopes up a bit high. I think I'm going to try and give it another shot this weekend. If it does not work out, I will buy another mede8er.

Last edited by yashar19; 06-20-2014 at 11:38 AM.
yashar19 is offline  
post #820 of 1128 Old 06-20-2014, 01:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 47
You're right about the WD TV. Keep forgetting they added DTS-MA support this year.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #821 of 1128 Old 06-20-2014, 02:39 PM
Newbie
 
yashar19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post
You're right about the WD TV. Keep forgetting they added DTS-MA support this year.
WD did alot of things right. It can even multi-task when in jukebox mode by playing trailers etc. If wd had the specs of fire tv with a revamp to their jukebox system, it would be incredible. Can you send me a link of which version of Gotham I should download. The last on I tried did not have DD or DTS support.

Last edited by yashar19; 06-20-2014 at 02:47 PM.
yashar19 is offline  
post #822 of 1128 Old 06-20-2014, 03:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 47
http://mirrors.xbmc.org/releases/and...rmeabi-v7a.apk

But, I have my FTV's connected directly to TV's (HDMI 2.0, downmix). These are my secondary boxes. For main HT use, I use Chromebox with OpenELEC and Mede8er 600X3D.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #823 of 1128 Old 06-20-2014, 03:41 PM
Newbie
 
yashar19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post
http://mirrors.xbmc.org/releases/and...rmeabi-v7a.apk

But, I have my FTV's connected directly to TV's (HDMI 2.0, downmix). These are my secondary boxes. For main HT use, I use Chromebox with OpenELEC and Mede8er 600X3D.
I just installed that version and it did not give me the options for DD or DTS. Here is how it looks on ouya version.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ouya_xbmc_audio.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	77.4 KB
ID:	128825  
yashar19 is offline  
post #824 of 1128 Old 06-21-2014, 07:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Not sure. In the 13.1 Gotham version, did you toggle to advanced view in settings (vs. standard)? It opens up more options.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #825 of 1128 Old 06-22-2014, 09:00 AM
Newbie
 
yashar19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post
Not sure. In the 13.1 Gotham version, did you toggle to advanced view in settings (vs. standard)? It opens up more options.
yes I tried advanced and expert mode and both did not work.
yashar19 is offline  
post #826 of 1128 Old 06-22-2014, 11:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
lulimet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Perkasie, PA
Posts: 933
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 63
I was able to install Google Play store with this guide

http://www.firetvnews.com/how-to-ins...mazon-fire-tv/
lulimet is online now  
post #827 of 1128 Old 06-22-2014, 12:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
losservatore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,118
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 295
To play xbmc streaming add on is the best box so far ,but... to play your personal media is no the best.




You probably find a good box for your personal media here.
http://www.mpcclub.com/

Panasonic 65VT60 / Marantz SR7005 / Marantz UD7007 /PSA XS30 /Revel Performa3 F206 / Revel Performa3 C205 / Revel Surrounds/Sonos Connect/ Roku 3 / Amazon Fire tv / Xbox One / HTPC / Darbee 5000 /Sonos play:1 for bedrooms,kitchen,bathroom/Master bedroom Sonos sound bar/Sonos sub and Sonos play 1 surrounds.

Last edited by losservatore; 06-22-2014 at 12:20 PM.
losservatore is offline  
post #828 of 1128 Old 06-24-2014, 06:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Is Amazon Music coming?
Yes, finally.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #829 of 1128 Old 06-24-2014, 07:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 52
I sideloaded the Netflix app using this app onto the FireTV. It is terrible. It looks like the tablet version which navigates fine but when I played the El Fuente clip it started out at 235kbps and the highest it would ramp up is 1750kbps 720x480 and it refused to go up to even 720p HD. I deleted it but it was worth a try.

Earthlink Standard powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 3, Roku 3, Sony PS3 Slim, Sony PS4 all Wired. Chromecast Wireless.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #830 of 1128 Old 06-24-2014, 09:39 AM
Member
 
calculon68's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post
No mention of Prime Music? I think I've added about 50 Prime albums (yes I still call em' albums) to my library since they launched two weeks ago.

You still can't see Prime music in the Roku Amazon music app, and it feels like Amazon may let their support of the Roku fall by the wayside to favor the FTV.
calculon68 is offline  
post #831 of 1128 Old 06-24-2014, 11:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
MikeAlletto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Purcellville, VA
Posts: 936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by calculon68 View Post
No mention of Prime Music? I think I've added about 50 Prime albums (yes I still call em' albums) to my library since they launched two weeks ago.

You still can't see Prime music in the Roku Amazon music app, and it feels like Amazon may let their support of the Roku fall by the wayside to favor the FTV.

From the article:

"Prime Music is notably missing from the new Amazon Music app on the Fire TV. Amazon has said Prime Music will be coming to the Fire TV later this year."

XBL: Mr MichaelJames
MikeAlletto is offline  
post #832 of 1128 Old 06-24-2014, 12:35 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,415
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 636 Post(s)
Liked: 714
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeAlletto View Post
From the article:

"Prime Music is notably missing from the new Amazon Music app on the Fire TV. Amazon has said Prime Music will be coming to the Fire TV later this year."
That's fine for now. As long as Amazon music comes. I do mainly use it for my own music. But I have been listening to alot of Prime music in the car lately. They just need to make some improvements to the app. Like landscape mode. But when Prime Music comes to the FireTV app it will be welcome.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #833 of 1128 Old 06-24-2014, 02:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Amazon music is great. I love the full album's from the 80's.

Earthlink Standard powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 3, Roku 3, Sony PS3 Slim, Sony PS4 all Wired. Chromecast Wireless.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #834 of 1128 Old 06-25-2014, 12:09 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
NavySeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 233
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by 42Plasmaman View Post
Is the thread starter still around?
It would be great if they would start collecting valuable information like this quote and place them in the original post so general information/FAQ can be found easily.
Sorry I can't login much these days as I'm on the road. I've updated the original post with some links from Brajesh. If you can think of anything else let me know and I'll be glad to add to it.
NavySeal is offline  
post #835 of 1128 Old 06-26-2014, 04:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 52
I got the music tab on the Fire TV but all I can access is my CD's I purchased though Amazon. Can't access any Prime albums I added.

Earthlink Standard powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 3, Roku 3, Sony PS3 Slim, Sony PS4 all Wired. Chromecast Wireless.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #836 of 1128 Old 06-26-2014, 06:04 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,415
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 636 Post(s)
Liked: 714
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post
I got the music tab on the Fire TV but all I can access is my CD's I purchased though Amazon. Can't access any Prime albums I added.
I thought that was expected? That was what was mentioned in an article someone quoted earlier. It said Prime Music would come later this year. So I'm guessing the end of December.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #837 of 1128 Old 06-26-2014, 11:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,917
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Dang then I will still have to listen to Prime music on my phone, tablet and PC.

Earthlink Standard powered by Time Warner Cable Brooklyn.
ASUS RT-N66W Router 374.43 (Merlin Build) using OpenDNS.
Amazon Fire TV, Apple TV 3, Roku 3, Sony PS3 Slim, Sony PS4 all Wired. Chromecast Wireless.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #838 of 1128 Old 06-26-2014, 11:20 AM
Senior Member
 
PretzelFisch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post
Dang then I will still have to listen to Prime music on my phone, tablet and PC.
The other day I noticed I could use the chrome browsers "chrome cast" control to cast to my fireTv. Has any one tried this?
PretzelFisch is offline  
post #839 of 1128 Old 06-28-2014, 07:27 PM
Newbie
 
colo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got my amazon fire tv its working great have XBMC install loving it its behind the tv in our bed room Bluetooth remote good an bad i have Logitech remote it does not work with it so sad
colo1 is offline  
post #840 of 1128 Old 06-28-2014, 07:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jerndl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 2,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by colo1 View Post
I got my amazon fire tv its working great have XBMC install loving it its behind the tv in our bed room Bluetooth remote good an bad i have Logitech remote it does not work with it so sad
With this cheap remote ir receiver you can use your Logitech remote with no problem.
jerndl is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off