*Official* Amazon Fire TV Discussion Thread - Page 33 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 31Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #961 of 1388 Old 07-17-2014, 12:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by undecided View Post
Interesting - I wonder if the FireTV has stopped displaying the 1080P logo?
Where is such logo displayed may I ask?

Also is anyone playing Dead trigger 2? The .60 update is out but Amazon TV doesn't have yet so the game will not run on the Fire until update is made available.
blackssr is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #962 of 1388 Old 07-17-2014, 01:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hammerdwn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 4,751
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerdwn View Post
Anyone?
Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerdwn View Post
Anyone here has cable card tv and experiences the WMC 29/59 bug.

Does Fire Tv play wtv files?

Please play this clip and compare to WMC:

http://www.thegreenbutton.tv/forums/...php?f=5&t=6385

Thanks
Sorry to be a pest
hammerdwn is offline  
post #963 of 1388 Old 07-17-2014, 02:58 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 22,148
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1043 Post(s)
Liked: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
Where is such logo displayed may I ask?

.......................
It was just to the right of the "HD" logo that comes up.

40TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 07-17-2014 at 03:06 PM. Reason: spelling...doH!!!!
aaronwt is offline  
post #964 of 1388 Old 07-17-2014, 03:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,655
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
It was just to the right of the "HD" logo that comes up.
On the video stream?
blackssr is online now  
post #965 of 1388 Old 07-18-2014, 07:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
RVD26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can this play m2ts files?
RVD26 is offline  
post #966 of 1388 Old 07-18-2014, 11:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,931
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Yes, except those that are VC-1 encoded.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #967 of 1388 Old 07-18-2014, 11:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hammerdwn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 4,751
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 41
HELLO ? ? ? ? Will it play WTV mpeg2 files?
hammerdwn is offline  
post #968 of 1388 Old 07-18-2014, 12:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
qz3fwd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,972
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerdwn View Post
HELLO ? ? ? ? Will it play WTV mpeg2 files?
I would like to know this also. Actually will it play back 1920x1080i mpeg2 ts (188 byte / packet)?
qz3fwd is offline  
post #969 of 1388 Old 07-18-2014, 02:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
RVD26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post
Yes, except those that are VC-1 encoded.
Thanks.
Really thinking about picking this up once I can get it at a discount.
My old WD TV Live has been acting up too much recently.
RVD26 is offline  
post #970 of 1388 Old 07-18-2014, 06:16 PM
Member
 
calculon68's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Updated to 51.1.1.0 last night, Amazon music is now on board. No PrimeMusic or Voice search yet.

Music still plays outside main app, and X-Ray lyrics work,which is nice.

Last edited by calculon68; 07-18-2014 at 06:26 PM.
calculon68 is offline  
post #971 of 1388 Old 07-19-2014, 09:52 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by flasuperstar View Post
I too have a Synology NAS. XBMC works great except for files with DTS-HD. It seems to cause weird issues with the video, even on pass-through. I am also using Plex with MX, BS, and vlc players. You will have to side load them, but it the same deal with XBMC. This is my current work around until the DTS issue is fixed.
Do you mean this is the workaround for the FTV limitations regarding HD Audio? I too have a synology NAS and use Plex. Would love to figure out a way to have HD Audio and fix issues with streaming quite a lot of files currently on the NAS which seam to require codecs not found on any of my tv boxes.
betelgeuse2112 is offline  
post #972 of 1388 Old 07-19-2014, 10:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
lulimet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Perkasie, PA
Posts: 981
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 67
HD audio is not currently possible on Android. XBMC on the FTV will play a movie with a DTS-HD audio track, but it will extract the core DTS audio, not the HD audio.
lulimet is offline  
post #973 of 1388 Old 07-21-2014, 05:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by qz3fwd View Post
I would like to know this also. Actually will it play back 1920x1080i mpeg2 ts (188 byte / packet)?
Not hardware accelerated. It will play with a software decoder (in say XBMC) but you're mileage will vary with de-interlacing.
apw2607 is offline  
post #974 of 1388 Old 07-22-2014, 09:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
crbaldwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post
Not hardware accelerated. It will play with a software decoder (in say XBMC) but you're mileage will vary with de-interlacing.
I had to return mine because playback of MPEG2 in XBMC was so poor. Is there any chance they could enable hardware acceleration or is it not supported in the hardware?
crbaldwin is offline  
post #975 of 1388 Old 07-22-2014, 10:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by crbaldwin View Post
I had to return mine because playback of MPEG2 in XBMC was so poor. Is there any chance they could enable hardware acceleration or is it not supported in the hardware?
As far as I know ... its not supported in the hardware.
apw2607 is offline  
post #976 of 1388 Old 07-22-2014, 10:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,931
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 69
I have 1080i mpeg2 files up to 24mpbs bitrate that play fine.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #977 of 1388 Old 07-22-2014, 10:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dropzone7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Well, I have had this box for about a week now. I quickly got sidetracked when I rooted the box and installed XBMC on it. I am totally new to XBMC and this is my first experience with it on any device. For the first few days the content sourced through add ons was working pretty well. Now I am having problems with buffering and a lot of random crashes. I have tried clearing the cache but that does not help. Any suggestions?
dropzone7 is offline  
post #978 of 1388 Old 07-22-2014, 11:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
lulimet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Perkasie, PA
Posts: 981
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Sometimes rebooting the FTV helps. Press and hold the play/pause and ok/select buttons for 5-7 seconds.
lulimet is offline  
post #979 of 1388 Old 07-22-2014, 11:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,931
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Are you wired? Also, is your content from video add-ons or local (own)? Another thing is under XBMC settings, do you only have libstagefright checked/enabled (and mediacodec disabled)? This is with expert/advanced view enabled and under video acceleration?

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #980 of 1388 Old 07-22-2014, 12:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dropzone7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by lulimet View Post
Sometimes rebooting the FTV helps. Press and hold the play/pause and ok/select buttons for 5-7 seconds.
Is this essentially the same thing as unplugging the power? I have tried that a few times. Thanks for the info. I did not know about this button combo.
dropzone7 is offline  
post #981 of 1388 Old 07-22-2014, 12:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dropzone7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post
Are you wired? Also, is your content from video add-ons or local (own)? Another thing is under XBMC settings, do you only have libstagefright checked/enabled (and mediacodec disabled)? This is with expert/advanced view enabled and under video acceleration?

I have everything hardwired in the house. The content I'm having problems with is the video add-on stuff like Mashup and Navi-X. They worked fine for several days but last night I could not stream any TV shows (no live stuff) without immediate buffering. Not sure about the settings. I just discovered last night that there were different levels of settings available. I changed it to "expert" just to see what was there but have not made any changes. I will take a look at these things you mentioned.
dropzone7 is offline  
post #982 of 1388 Old 07-22-2014, 12:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 5,931
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 69
I hardly use those type of add-ons, except for the official CNET, Revision3, etc., so don't know.

HD Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #983 of 1388 Old 07-23-2014, 09:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
crbaldwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post
I have 1080i mpeg2 files up to 24mpbs bitrate that play fine.
Playback of my 1080i OTA recordings (mpeg2, ts) was really bad. I was hoping that they would make some playback improvements in this area because other than the lack of an IR sensor (my existing MCE remote dongle was not recognized), this was a great box.
crbaldwin is offline  
post #984 of 1388 Old 07-23-2014, 03:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
RVD26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I finally ordered my FTV and it should arrive on Friday.
I will be replacing my WD TV Live Plus.
Just to confirm, this can play ISO files, correct?
Also, how do I root this to make it the most effective?
RVD26 is offline  
post #985 of 1388 Old 07-23-2014, 05:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
lulimet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Perkasie, PA
Posts: 981
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by RVD26 View Post
Also, how do I root this to make it the most effective?

http://www.aftvnews.com/how-to-root-the-amazon-fire-tv/
lulimet is offline  
post #986 of 1388 Old 07-23-2014, 05:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
RVD26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lulimet View Post
What apps are recommended to sideload onto the FTV?
RVD26 is offline  
post #987 of 1388 Old 07-23-2014, 06:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
lulimet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Perkasie, PA
Posts: 981
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 67
To play ISO files you need to sideload xbmc.
RVD26 likes this.
lulimet is offline  
post #988 of 1388 Old 07-23-2014, 06:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
RVD26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lulimet View Post
To play ISO files you need to sideload xbmc.
Thanks! Any other apps you recommend?
RVD26 is offline  
post #989 of 1388 Old 07-24-2014, 07:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dropzone7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 4,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Any suggestions on how to improve streaming of content from the add ons? The first few days with this device were pretty cool and then I started experiencing buffering issues. It seems to be mostly TV shows and I'm not talking about live stuff, just the older content. For example, I have Navi-X installed and was showing my wife all of the old shows that she loves were on there, many with seasons she has not seen. A lot of this stuff played without issue last week but now it all buffers if it plays at all. I'm not sure what happened. I'm all hard wired on everything and have tried clearing the cache several times which doesn't seem to help.
dropzone7 is offline  
post #990 of 1388 Old 07-24-2014, 11:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
lulimet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Perkasie, PA
Posts: 981
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Maybe your ISP knows that you are streaming illegally so they throttle your connection.



Seriously, I don't know why you are experiencing buffering. I tried those addons a while ago but couldn't stand the low quality video and audio so I never bothered with them again.
lulimet is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off