*Official* Amazon Fire TV Discussion Thread - Page 37 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 54Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-31-2014, 08:52 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 21,970
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2338 Post(s)
Liked: 1257
There's a one stream SD plan, a two streams plus HD plan and a 4 streams plus HD plan; the latter is $12/month and the others are both $8/month (which seems strange;was there a price bump that I'm forgetting?). I believe that you can be running Netflix apps on as many devices as you want, but you can only play streams on some of them simultaneously.
michaeltscott is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-31-2014, 12:50 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 27,391
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3870 Post(s)
Liked: 2283
I'm grandfathered in to four streams at $8 a month. I never asked for it since I don't need that capability. But that is what they gave me.
aaronwt is online now  
Old 09-03-2014, 06:26 AM
Member
 
nephipower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I am looking to possibly get the Fire TV. Does anyone know if the FTV got the latest Netflix update that started going out to the PS3 and other devices?
nephipower is offline  
Old 09-03-2014, 07:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,613
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 546 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by nephipower View Post
I am looking to possibly get the Fire TV. Does anyone know if the FTV got the latest Netflix update that started going out to the PS3 and other devices?
Heck no. Just read the reviews here if you don't believe me.

If you want to use this thing for Netflix don't bother. The app is seriously dated. First sign is that is has the old Netflix logo. Also it has the old Netflix UI instead of the new modern Netflix UI. You can't even see how much time is left while watching a program. Also the buffer is very tiny only about 25 seconds compared to other devices which are over a minute to two minutes so unless you have a perfect connection to Netflix if you have the slightest sign of congestion you might get dropped quality and even buffering mid stream. I think this will change when the Android TV comes out in the fall then the Fire TV should get the modern Netflix UI with all the new features and a much bigger buffer.

However if you want to watch Amazon Instant this player is the best for that.
ToonMasterTim likes this.

Cats are the best pets.

Last edited by reddice; 09-03-2014 at 07:39 AM.
reddice is offline  
Old 09-03-2014, 07:42 AM
Member
 
nephipower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post
Heck no. Just read the reviews here if you don't believe me.

If you want to use this thing for Netflix don't bother. The app is seriously dated. First sign is that is has the old Netflix logo. Also it has the old Netflix UI instead of the new modern Netflix UI. You can't even see how much time is left while watching a program. Also the buffer is very tiny only about 25 seconds compared to other devices which are over a minute to two minutes so unless you have a perfect connection to Netflix if you have the slightest sign of congestion you might get dropped quality and even buffering mid stream. I think this will change when the Android TV comes out in the fall then the Fire TV should get the modern Netflix UI with all the new features and a much bigger buffer.

However if you want to watch Amazon Instant this player is the best for that.
I know the FTV has had the old Netflix UI for a long time The Xbone got a total UI redesign to match modern Netflix UI of other devices just yesterday. That is why I was inquiring if the FTV finally got UI redesign.

I do like the idea of getting a great video experience for Amazon Prime video and also Netflix. Hopefully to get the best of both worlds on the same device. I'm sure you're right that we'll see an update to Netflix on FTV around the same time the new Android TV devices are released.
nephipower is offline  
Old 09-03-2014, 07:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,613
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 546 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Sorry I though you did not know. Yes the Xbox One got the modern Netflix UI recently which I believe that the Fire TV will get soon but I think what is holding it back is the release of the Android TV. Trust me when it is updated I will be the first here to talk about it and I will even run tests telling you how big the buffer is and the quality of the streams.

Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
Old 09-03-2014, 07:48 AM
Member
 
nephipower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks for listing all the negatives. It is helpful to have all that summarized up in one post.
nephipower is offline  
Old 09-03-2014, 07:51 AM
Member
 
nephipower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post
Sorry I though you did not know. Yes the Xbox One got the modern Netflix UI recently which I believe that the Fire TV will get soon but I think what is holding it back is the release of the Android TV. Trust me when it is updated I will be the first here to talk about it and I will even run tests telling you how big the buffer is and the quality of the streams.
Awesome, i certainly appreciate your dedication to testing and sharing these type of details!
nephipower is offline  
Old 09-03-2014, 07:51 AM
Member
 
dlflannery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Englewood, Ohio
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nephipower View Post
I am looking to possibly get the Fire TV. Does anyone know if the FTV got the latest Netflix update that started going out to the PS3 and other devices?
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post
Heck no. Just read the reviews here if you don't believe me.

If you want to use this thing for Netflix don't bother. The app is seriously dated. .... I think this will change when the Android TV comes out in the fall then the Fire TV should get the modern Netflix UI with all the new features and a much bigger buffer.
......
Although reddice makes valid criticisms of the current FTV Netflix app, I would modify his advice as follows: If your primary intended use is for Netflix don't bother -- or wait until the app is updated, which I think will happen soon.

I've had my FTV for almost a month now and use it for Netflix a lot. I've had zero problems and my internet is relatively slow at 15/1, although I am hardwired, not WiFi.

If your interests are broader than just Netflix the FTV has much to recommend it.
dlflannery is offline  
Old 09-03-2014, 11:26 AM
Newbie
 
Mcfly indasoup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I have a question that skimming this thread and the AFTV site did not answer.

If I have an HD homerun OTA antenna installed on my network, can I watch live TV with the fire TV?
Mcfly indasoup is offline  
Old 09-03-2014, 01:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,613
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 546 Post(s)
Liked: 109
As I get a direct connection through TWC now for most streams I watch the Fire TV Netflix app does go up to HD now even Super HD which before they would not go past 480p but I still don't chance it because of the tiny buffer. Nothing is more annoying then watching something and it pops up Loading. Please Wait which scares the crud out of me. Remember the Roku 3 had a horrible Netflix app too which use to do the same and had a tiny buffer. Now they updated it last year and it is so much better. I rather be safe and have the 1 to 2 minute buffer for Super HD that the PS3, PS4 and Roku 3 have.

Also Amazon Instant on the Fire TV all programs have a great 3 minute buffer which is to be expected.

Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
Old 09-03-2014, 04:22 PM
Senior Member
 
calculon68's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mcfly indasoup View Post
I have a question that skimming this thread and the AFTV site did not answer.

If I have an HD homerun OTA antenna installed on my network, can I watch live TV with the fire TV?
The legacy HD HomeRuns only did MPEG-2 TS. And that format isn't supported by FTV or the Roku 3.

The HD Homerun Plus does transcode to h.264. So it could work with a set top box like the FTV or Roku 3. There is a HD HomeRun view app in the Amazon app store- but it gets very poor reviews. Installing to the app to the Fire TV is currently not an option. But it is for Fire HDX tablets- and they use similar hardware as the FTV. So it is theoretically possible.
calculon68 is offline  
Old 09-03-2014, 04:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 11,793
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by calculon68 View Post
The legacy HD HomeRuns only did MPEG-2 TS. And that format isn't supported by FTV or the Roku 3.
I believe if you install XBMC on the Fire TV you would be good to go...

Kodi (XBMC) via Chromebox

| Mitsubishi HC7900DW Projector | 16x9 120" Screen | 7.2.4 Boston Acoustics & Power Sound Audio | Yamaha RX-A3060 (on order) & AudioSource AMP110 | NVIDIA Shield | 20TB Media Server | TiVo
Charles R is offline  
Old 09-03-2014, 04:33 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 27,391
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3870 Post(s)
Liked: 2283
Netflix on the FTV with the old interface is still much better than the XBOne with the newer Netflix interface. Since the XBOne surround audio is still borked. I was checking it again last night and the surround audio, in a 7.1 setup, still erroneously comes out of the rear surround channels. Which makes it sound terrible when sounds that should be coming from the sides are coming from behind you. No issues like that with the FireTV.

53TB unRAID2--41TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
Sony 65x850C--Samsung UBD-K8500--Sony HT-NT3
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
Old 09-04-2014, 03:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,613
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 546 Post(s)
Liked: 109
So the XBox One still has borked surround sound even though it now has the common UI. I never used the Xbox One but watching videos I did like the older UI.

Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
Old 09-04-2014, 04:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: SE USA
Posts: 6,329
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by calculon68 View Post
The legacy HD HomeRuns only did MPEG-2 TS. And that format isn't supported by FTV or the Roku 3.

The HD Homerun Plus does transcode to h.264. So it could work with a set top box like the FTV or Roku 3. There is a HD HomeRun view app in the Amazon app store- but it gets very poor reviews. Installing to the app to the Fire TV is currently not an option. But it is for Fire HDX tablets- and they use similar hardware as the FTV. So it is theoretically possible.
FTV does support MPEG2. I'm watching live TV on my FTV via XBMC using ServerWMC as the backend, which relies on HDHomeRun (an older, mpeg2 version). Another easier method (if you don't need EPG) is to use the HDHomeRun setup software to output XBMC .strm files. Put those in a folder in your home network, add to videos under XBMC and just click each file/channel to play.

Hi-deft Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
Old 09-04-2014, 08:08 AM
Newbie
 
Mcfly indasoup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post
FTV does support MPEG2. I'm watching live TV on my FTV via XBMC using ServerWMC as the backend, which relies on HDHomeRun (an older, mpeg2 version). Another easier method (if you don't need EPG) is to use the HDHomeRun setup software to output XBMC .strm files. Put those in a folder in your home network, add to videos under XBMC and just click each file/channel to play.
I was planning on getting the HD dual that only does OTA. The HD website does not indicate that it does any conversion to the recordings for playback, just that it is able to "Watch live TV on DLNA-compatible devices, including smart TVs, game consoles, and media players"

So a Roku or Fire TV is not a media player in this definition?
Mcfly indasoup is offline  
Old 09-04-2014, 08:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: SE USA
Posts: 6,329
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 116
They're both media players, with different capabilities. With the newer HDHomeRun (w/H.264), you can use a Roku channel for it to view live TV. It takes MPEG2 streams and transcodes them to H.264.

Another option is something like Simple.tv or Tablo, which work better on Roku. Both also transcode/save as H.264 HLS streams. With Simple.tv (I'm more familiar as I have it), you can also pull recorded file to your computer, and you can sideload their Kindle app to FireTV (works fairly well, but requires mouse).

Hi-deft Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
Old 09-05-2014, 05:56 PM
Member
 
dchabby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 36
so I just unboxed my amazon fire tv and am hoping to root and install xbmc.


I have read the instructions but as soon as I plug the FTV in it begins to download the latest firmware which I think is not rootable.


I quickly unplugged it so now I am wondering how I even start this as I am stuck on the first screen when booting which is to connect to network
dchabby is offline  
Old 09-06-2014, 05:37 AM
Senior Member
 
tbuick6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: White Plains, NY
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Any Plex users here? If so, are you as frustrated as me that neither Plex or Amazon have addressed the 5.1 issue with MKV files? It's been almost 6 months and they haven't even acknowledged it.

"To Live Outside The Law You Must Be Honest"

Last edited by tbuick6; 09-06-2014 at 05:38 AM. Reason: remove quote
tbuick6 is offline  
Old 09-06-2014, 03:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lulimet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 1,057
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 91
The Plex situation is a joke. I was so pissed that I now only use Plex on a tablet.
And they have the nerve to blame it only on Amazon.
lulimet is offline  
Old 09-06-2014, 04:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lulimet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 1,057
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by dchabby View Post
so I just unboxed my amazon fire tv and am hoping to root and install xbmc.


I have read the instructions but as soon as I plug the FTV in it begins to download the latest firmware which I think is not rootable.


I quickly unplugged it so now I am wondering how I even start this as I am stuck on the first screen when booting which is to connect to network
Did you look at this guide? http://www.aftvnews.com/how-to-setup...blocking-root/
lulimet is offline  
Old 09-07-2014, 09:33 AM
Newbie
 
bmuu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why don't some Fire TV apps such as the following stream in Dolby Digital audio?
Watch ESPN, Smithsonian, PBS, many of the Amazon Instant movies, NFL Now
bmuu is offline  
Old 09-07-2014, 09:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
smitbret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: East Idaho - Pocatello
Posts: 743
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 304 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by lulimet View Post
The Plex situation is a joke. I was so pissed that I now only use Plex on a tablet.
And they have the nerve to blame it only on Amazon.
It's free, quit yer bitchin'.

smitbret is offline  
Old 09-07-2014, 10:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lulimet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 1,057
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by smitbret View Post
It's free, quit yer bitchin'.

Close, but the Plex app on the FTV is $5.
lulimet is offline  
Old 09-07-2014, 06:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlflannery View Post
Although reddice makes valid criticisms of the current FTV Netflix app, I would modify his advice as follows: If your primary intended use is for Netflix don't bother -- or wait until the app is updated, which I think will happen soon.

I've had my FTV for almost a month now and use it for Netflix a lot. I've had zero problems and my internet is relatively slow at 15/1, although I am hardwired, not WiFi.

If your interests are broader than just Netflix the FTV has much to recommend it.
I've had the FTV since launch and use it with Netflix. Zero issues. Plays the 5800kbps streams just fine. Faster to scroll and navigate content than any other device I have that support Netflix. In fact I prefer the FTV Netflix UI compared to the "new" UI available on my Oppo 103D.

To the poster asking ... My advise is try it and see if it works for you. Amazon will be more than happy to take the FTV back if it doesn't work for you.
apw2607 is offline  
Old 09-08-2014, 10:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,613
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 546 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Everybody makes this clam. Some never have issues with Netflix even when the Roku 3 had that horrible old Netflix app. Also they blamed it on a defective device but every other channel streamed fine though. I drew the line when they kept saying to change your DNS which was a big waste of time. I did do it but it made no difference.

That is just the way it is. But at least reading the Amazon reviews I am not alone in the disappointing app.

Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
Old 09-08-2014, 10:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
audiodane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 878
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 68
I have been vaguely watching the FTV for some time now but continue to be frustrated that its HDMI output does not deactivate during sleep mode. (I use an automatic prioritized input switcher, aka DVDO Edge.)

Have there been any apps developed or other mechanisms where the Fire's HDMI output can be truly deactivated so that I can hook it into my DVDO Edge and not have to manually change TV inputs all the time?

thanks in advance,
..dane
audiodane is offline  
Old 09-08-2014, 11:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
MikeAlletto's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Purcellville, VA
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by dchabby View Post
so I just unboxed my amazon fire tv and am hoping to root and install xbmc.


I have read the instructions but as soon as I plug the FTV in it begins to download the latest firmware which I think is not rootable.


I quickly unplugged it so now I am wondering how I even start this as I am stuck on the first screen when booting which is to connect to network
Remember you don't need to root to install xbmc.
MikeAlletto is offline  
Old 09-08-2014, 12:44 PM
Senior Member
 
ToonMasterTim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiodane View Post
I have been vaguely watching the FTV for some time now but continue to be frustrated that its HDMI output does not deactivate during sleep mode. (I use an automatic prioritized input switcher, aka DVDO Edge.)

Have there been any apps developed or other mechanisms where the Fire's HDMI output can be truly deactivated so that I can hook it into my DVDO Edge and not have to manually change TV inputs all the time?

thanks in advance,
..dane
I have an inexpensive HDMI switcher and it gives priority to the lower-numbered inputs. So an always-on device like a cable box or Fire TV would go on 2 or 3. A PS3 would go on input 1. So when switching the PS3 power on the HDMI switch would automatically change inputs to the PS3. When powering off, it would go back to HDMI 2 if an active device were found. If not, it would go to HDMI 3. The problem for me was I had an AT&T U-verse receiver and a Roku, both of which were always on.
ToonMasterTim is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off