*Official* Amazon Fire TV Discussion Thread - Page 64 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 64Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1891 of 1899 Old 06-21-2017, 03:59 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,314
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2212 Post(s)
Liked: 969
Quote:
Originally Posted by bswiz View Post
Anyone using a FLIRC 2nd generation with their FireTV? Thinking about picking one up.
I use an Ortek dongle. I kept reading stories of updates breaking commands on other dongles, including FLIRC, so I played it safe. Ortek has been solid.
mdavej is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1892 of 1899 Old 06-22-2017, 01:18 PM
Senior Member
 
bswiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
I use an Ortek dongle. I kept reading stories of updates breaking commands on other dongles, including FLIRC, so I played it safe. Ortek has been solid.
Oddly enough, I have the Ortek and it's stopped working. I don't know what changed, it seems to be something with the USB port and the IR receiver. I can verify the remote and receiver are still good by connecting to a PC.

Edit: Just remembered I had this issue before and how I got it working again. Had to unplug the IR dongle, plug in a portable USB HDD, then reconnect the IR dongle. I have no idea why this 'fixes' things, but it does - albeit temporarily. It's like it somehow resets the USB outlet on the FireTV.

Last edited by bswiz; 06-22-2017 at 01:25 PM.
bswiz is offline  
post #1893 of 1899 Old 06-22-2017, 01:23 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 13,314
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2212 Post(s)
Liked: 969
I'll have to check mine too then. Last time I used it was a few months ago. Been using HDMI-CEC lately and Ortek isn't really being used at the moment.
mdavej is online now  
 
post #1894 of 1899 Old 06-22-2017, 01:27 PM
Senior Member
 
bswiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
I'll have to check mine too then. Last time I used it was a few months ago. Been using HDMI-CEC lately and Ortek isn't really being used at the moment.
See my edit to my comment - I just got it working again. I think it's some kind of issue specific to my FireTV - something seems up with its USB port.

Edit:
Aaaand it's not working again after 1 day. Wtf?!

Last edited by bswiz; 06-23-2017 at 06:12 PM.
bswiz is offline  
post #1895 of 1899 Old 07-02-2017, 03:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Elbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Not sure if anyone has noticed this or if there is a short cut on the remote I'm missing but Netflix for the box doesn't have the option to see what the resolution, bitrate, and audio is of what you're watching. When selected it is at the top left of the screen.

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk
Elbie is offline  
post #1896 of 1899 Old 07-02-2017, 05:02 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 19,357
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2343 Post(s)
Liked: 1673
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elbie View Post
Not sure if anyone has noticed this or if there is a short cut on the remote I'm missing but Netflix for the box doesn't have the option to see what the resolution, bitrate, and audio is of what you're watching. When selected it is at the top left of the screen.

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk
That's the Netflix app that Amazon has. I've only seen that on Roku.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #1897 of 1899 Old 07-02-2017, 12:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Elbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
That's the Netflix app that Amazon has. I've only seen that on Roku.
NetFlix need to get it together. It shows on my Blu-ray player. lol.
Elbie is offline  
post #1898 of 1899 Old 07-05-2017, 09:51 AM
Member
 
spencer777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elbie View Post
Not sure if anyone has noticed this or if there is a short cut on the remote I'm missing but Netflix for the box doesn't have the option to see what the resolution, bitrate, and audio is of what you're watching. When selected it is at the top left of the screen.

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk
Hold down center and down d pad for 5 seconds than hit the hamburger button. Turn on advanced options and you get stats for all apps.
shoman94 and Elbie like this.
spencer777 is offline  
post #1899 of 1899 Old 07-14-2017, 03:06 PM
Member
 
CameronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Odd Green tint issue

Fire TV plugged into Samsung TV = OK. So I know the FTV is outputting ok.
If I plug the FTV into my Marantz 7702 which in turn goes to a Sim2 projector, the picture is very green. I've tried known good HDMI cables that work fine with the OPPO 103D bluray. Also doesn't matter what input I use on the Marantz and I can't tune the green out using picture adjust in the Marantz. If I plug the FTV directly into the projector I get the same green tint.

Here's what I find odd. If I plug the FTV into the HDMI IN on the Oppo (and the Oppo still goes to the Marantz), the picture is fine. ???
CameronP is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off