Moderately priced HTPC build. Help, please. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 04-15-2014, 11:14 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
testudoaubreii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12

Hello everyone,

 

Have been going back and forth when trying to find the "perfect" HTPC build. I have tried out a Mac Mini (i5 2.5 Ghz 4 GB), but I am not getting any audio to come out of the HDMI to the TV. I went into System Preferences, but I cannot figure it out. The only remote that I can find that works on a Mac that is relatively inexpensive is the Apple remote. It does work for XBMC, but I have no volume control. I also would like to have a wireless game pad that I can use for an NES emulator. I think that it may be easier to just build a Windows machine. 

 

I would like to build my own, preferably an Intel. However, I am open to AMD if that may give me a better price to video quality ratio. I will be using it for XBMC and streaming 1080p files over our network to the other Smart TVs in the house. I may also use it for light audio work and very light gaming (NES emulator lol).  

 

I am looking for a moderately priced set up. I would like to stay around the $400 mark, if not below it. I would like to have a smaller case and the ability to use a remote control for XBMC. 

 

I think that might cover it. Please, let me know if there is any more information that you need to help me out.

 

Thank you in advance for all help, advice and suggestions.

 

Testudo

testudoaubreii is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 04-15-2014, 12:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 59
you will not beat the intel NUC for the price.
halfelite is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 04-15-2014, 12:11 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
testudoaubreii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfelite View Post

you will not beat the intel NUC for the price.

Would I not have to buy the storage and PSU with that? I already have an SSD that I can use in the one I build. 

 

Thanks for the response!

testudoaubreii is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 04-15-2014, 12:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 59
power supply comes with the unit. you will have to get storage and ram. But still the best smallest box you can get to run xbmc. even include IR eye on some models for a universal remote
halfelite is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 04-15-2014, 12:19 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
testudoaubreii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfelite View Post

power supply comes with the unit. you will have to get storage and ram. But still the best smallest box you can get to run xbmc. even include IR eye on some models for a universal remote

Thanks again.

 

How much would that cost after factoring in storage and RAM? 

testudoaubreii is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 04-15-2014, 12:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 9,969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfelite View Post

you will not beat the intel NUC for the price.
I tried to compare NUC with putting together a Shuttle XH61V. There are a confusing number of NUC models. Some come with processors and some without. Is there a good link that makes sense of it all?

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 04-15-2014, 12:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 59
yes the xbmc nuc wiki actually breaks each model out http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Intel_NUC

for me I would go with something like the

make sure you get one based on 3rd gen or newers as they are the only ones that handle 23.976 without dropping fps but something like the

D34010WYKH or the D54250WYK if you want over kill
halfelite is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 04-15-2014, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by testudoaubreii View Post

Thanks again.

How much would that cost after factoring in storage and RAM? 

storage and ram depends. you can run openelec off a usb stick so storage can cost you 10$ ram depends if you want 4 gb up to 16gb. but 4gb is cheap as well. running xbmc off a usb does make for some slow artwork but even then a msata 30gb drive is 40$
halfelite is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 04-15-2014, 12:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 9,969
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by halfelite View Post

yes the xbmc nuc wiki actually breaks each model out http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Intel_NUC

for me I would go with something like the

make sure you get one based on 3rd gen or newers as they are the only ones that handle 23.976 without dropping fps but something like the

D34010WYKH or the D54250WYK if you want over kill
Thanks. That's exactly what I was looking for.

OK, so the 34010 looks to be to my liking.
What's the deal with the power cord.
Some people say it comes with and others say without.
Amazon shows a $26 difference for a NUC with a power cord?

Seriously? mad.gif

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine

Kelson is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 04-15-2014, 01:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 59
the US shipments get power cords the out of country usually does not but its hit and miss. you might already own one. you get the power brick but you need this

http://www.amazon.com/C2G-Cables-Go-3-Slot-Notebook/dp/B0000AOWXO/ref=pd_sim_pc_2?ie=UTF8&refRID=0ZEZ9ZHTY7A9CNVW40RA

if it does not come with it or you dont own one. its just a IEC320C5 cable you can find them from 1$ to 15$
halfelite is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off