"Play to" vs. Streaming from receiver - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 9 Old 06-13-2014, 06:16 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
"Play to" vs. Streaming from receiver

I am a media streaming novice. I have a Pioneer AVR and have my computer set up as a media server. I was wondering what is the difference between using the Pioneer's on screen menu to browse the files and playing them from there vs using the "play to" function on my computer? What provides higher sound quality and which is better overall? Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 06-14-2014, 04:37 AM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 45
No difference at all.

Play To is DLNA DMC (digital media control).

The Pioneer when browsing the PC server is a DLNA DMP (digital media player) accessing a DLNA media server.

So it's all the same technology.
post #3 of 9 Old 06-14-2014, 07:24 AM

Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Agree with Alx330, in that there should be no difference in sound quality when streaming music files.

However, if it's important to you, the majority of UPnP/DLNA streamers do not support gapless playback when used in 'play to' aka push mode, only in pull mode. Also, very few UPnP/DLNA controllers actually support gapless anyway. Gapless playback under push mode requires both streamer and controller to support it (and has nothing to do with the UPnP/DLNA media server, btw). For example the push to DLNA controller via the built-in Windows or WMP doesn't support gapless.

John

Last edited by Cebolla; 06-14-2014 at 07:27 AM.
post #4 of 9 Old 06-14-2014, 10:44 AM - Thread Starter

Thanks for all the quick, knowledgeable replies!!