MP3 Client Issue on Home Network - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 07-24-2002, 11:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rodstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Chester Springs. PA
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All! ! ! !

OK, here's my issue. I have over 2500 songs on a Unisys Machine running Linux. I have my house networked all throughout with CAT5. I want to have all the MP3s remain on the server and be able to "serve: them up to any of the 4 different stereo's in the house. Like I mentioned, I have CAT5 going to the spots. I just don't want to put a PC next to each receiver. I've done that. Its ugly. Does anyone know of a device that will play the MP3s directly from the server and give me a method to select them, etc. through my TV via a video-out? Any suggestions would be great!!!!

Thanx in advance,
Derek
dmr@rodstar.com
rodstar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 07-25-2002, 12:27 AM
Member
 
emlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Check out slimp3 at www.slimp3.com

No TV output, but a good easy to read screen.
emlee is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 07-25-2002, 10:59 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rodstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Chester Springs. PA
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dell used to make a Digital Audio Receiver that also did not have a TV out. I don't like having to select songs on the small screen.

I think Dell stopped making it, but it was close to what I was looking for.

Oh, yeah, one other caveat. I don't want to spend alot of money on this either....
rodstar is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 08-16-2002, 09:14 AM
Senior Member
 
DCypher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Andover, MA
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you can live without the TV out there's always the Audiotron...
DCypher is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 08-16-2002, 02:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
rhett7660's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United States
Posts: 743
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I second audiotron, but if you think computers are ugle, you need to check out the box that I am buidling for my mp3 file server.

Here is the case.

http://www.colorcase.com/nobmircas.html

R~

"kinda looks like a babies arm holding an apple"

"Me Personally, I want to slay the dragon"
rhett7660 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 08-16-2002, 02:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rodstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Chester Springs. PA
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone give me a link to the audiotron (I am lazy, I know)

Another solution I found is a do-it-yourself one, but I may try it... Here is the link.

http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/MP3-Box-HOWTO.html#toc4
rodstar is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 08-16-2002, 02:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
Huckster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Turtle Beach Audiotron.

Huck
Huckster is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 08-16-2002, 02:20 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rodstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Chester Springs. PA
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanx. That looks like a definite contender....
rodstar is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 08-20-2002, 08:50 AM
Member
 
jgitz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is an interesting idea you may want to consider. I read on Turtle Beach's user forums (fora?) which are located here, that some braniac from the planet Smartron developed a piece of code that allows you to fully control your Audiotrons from a wireless PDA.

This feat is made possible by the fact that the Audiotron supports what amounts to a "web server" on your LAN that controls its operation.

Anyway, this means that if you already have a PDA with a CF slot, you can use your PDA as sort of a portable "television screen" that will allow you to graphically select songs, albums, playlists, etc. from anywhere in your house. All for the very manageable cost of a basic 802.11b access point and a basic 802.11b CF card.
jgitz is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 08-20-2002, 09:11 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
rodstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Chester Springs. PA
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now that is something to get excited about!!!!!

That is one of the coolest things I've heard in a while...

I don't mean to belabor the point, but I know I am going to be unsatisfied in the near future if I don't have a way to quickly accessing a particular song on the server. Using a PC allows me to do that because I can use Real Jukebox, Real One, Windows Media Player, etc. to see the whole thing...

But, the PC looks crappy sitting on the floor in the den.

Jim's idea has a lot of merit because of the possibilities of removing myself from having to be near the Audiotron, and, more importantly, the ideas it lends itself to....

Thanx Jim!

Derek
rodstar is offline  
Closed Thread Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off