Another router or a video/game adapter? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 07-10-2014, 11:52 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
bodean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Another router or a video/game adapter?

Currently I have an ASUS Ac66U router in my bedroom. In my family room, I have a few devices that do not have WIFI, but have an ethernet port. Would I be better off buying another ASUS router, and using it as a "repeater" or buy something like a Netgear WNCE4004 (http://www.netgear.com/home/products.../wnce4004.aspx) and connect those devices to that?

Sony KDL65W850A 65" LED HDTV 
Denon AVR-2113CI
Polk Monitor 65T (Fronts)
Polk Monitor 50's (Rears)
Polk CS2 (Center)
Acoustech PL-200
bodean is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 07-10-2014, 12:04 PM
Member
 
trab37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I would say none of the above, if you can get an ethernet cable from the router in your bedroom to the equipment in the family room you can just add a network switch, that would be the best option. If that is not possible, then the Netgear device seems like a decent option because it does not appear to be a wifi extender so much as it is a wifi device that delivers a connection to wired devices. I've never seen it or used one so I can't speak to its reliability, but the specs seem ok.
trab37 is online now  
post #3 of 4 Old 07-11-2014, 05:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
Alx330's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Powerline adapters would be the easiest path to get them on the network without running true ethernet wires.

As to ethernet to wireless bridges the best one to buy is the apple airport express, yes it costs a little more but it is so much easier to set up compared to other ethernet/wireless bridges that it's worth paying a little more to avoid the hassle of other bridges. You can also plug an ethernet switch into the airport to give more ports if needed.
Alx330 is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 07-11-2014, 05:51 AM
Member
 
tdallen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 15
The strategy to buy another router and configure as an access point will work, by the way - it just isn't the most cost effective way to go.
tdallen is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off