Which Media Streaming Devices for Daughters Room? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 13 Old 07-13-2014, 02:55 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Which Media Streaming Devices for Daughters Room?

Im fairly new to media servers, I have used a PS3 for netflix and youtube for quite a while.. We will be moving our old 32'' LCD to my daughters room and Im looking for a rather simple to use media server. I was originally thinking about a basic wifi blu ray player cause I didnt know about all the other devices like Apple TV and chromecast etc. She basically only uses Netflix so thats something to consider.

Thanks Folks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 07-13-2014, 06:30 PM

Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Blu-Ray player would be the best way.
post #3 of 13 Old 07-13-2014, 08:35 PM

Quoted: 5 Post(s)
If all she is going to do is stream online contents (Netflix, YouTube, Amazon Videos, etc...) then a Roku 3 may be better than a BD player if you want a straight simple solution.

If you have a strong wireless 2.4GHz N signal in the bedroom and your daughter uses an Android smartphone, then a $35 Chromecast is a good inexpensive solution. Just download the Chromecast app to pair the smartphone with the Chromecast device and then use the Netflix app to cast to the TV. Netflix and Google partnered to develop the Chromecast and so the integration of the two is seamless. The smartphone essentially becomes a remote control.

Still Learning
post #4 of 13 Old 07-14-2014, 06:16 AM

Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by mifronte View Post
If you have a strong wireless 2.4GHz N signal in the bedroom and your daughter uses an Android smartphone, then a $35 Chromecast is a good inexpensive solution.