Sony FMP-X10 owners thread - Page 21 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #601 of 2901 Old 08-08-2014, 08:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
bslep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: N. Royalton, Ohio
Posts: 766
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolldog View Post
I'll give it a shot. I haven't downloaded anything from SEN using the TV. I'm able to stream full 4k video using my media player and Netflix. When the Netflix starts streaming, it's at 480SD, but after 30-45 seconds, it's at full 4k resolution, and this is while I'm downloading a movie from SEN in the background. When I get the network error, I'm just trying to play one of Sony's small 5 minute clips, which has already been downloaded and is on the hard drive. And I have a movie downloading from SEN in the background then as well.



I've been working on this problem with Sony for 5 hours now. It's not a network problem on your end, it's on their end. The movies download to the local hard drive with no problem. After it's downloaded onto the local dtive, whenever you try playing it a network error message comes up. Now, the movie is already downloaded, so in order to watch it, you shouldn't need to use any netwotk. I think it's a problem with the copyright policy on the media device because as you may have read when you hooked it up, it must be hooked into a specific HDMI port in order to watch something with a copyright protection on it. I have 4 short films downloaded and Spiderman 2. I can watch the preview for Spiderman 2, I just can't watch the movie, or anything else for that matter that was downloaded from the SEN nrtwotk. Netflix works fine. I'm now talking to someone in Japan to help fix this error. 7th department I've spoken with.


Sent from my SM-T800 using Tapatalk
Thanks for your post. Please let me know if you find out anything further. It sounds like it may be player specific as no one else seems to have reported the problem. I have until August 18th to return/exchange mine. Bob
bslep is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #602 of 2901 Old 08-08-2014, 08:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
TweakerInWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 640
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreaux View Post
Looks like the new Onkyo TX-NR1030 will support HDMI 2.0 for 4K Video at 60 fps, and HDCP 2.2 Compatibility. Would that work with the X10?


Says the TX-NR1030 also supports HDCP 2.2 DRM copy protection via HDMI Input 3
As should the 838, I purchased it specifically to try and run the X10 through. Considering both the X10 and Onkyo are fairly new products, combined with the fact this whole HDCP/4K stuff is fairly new technology, I think it's just going to take a little time to work the kinks out.

Sent from my SM-N900T using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
TweakerInWA is offline  
post #603 of 2901 Old 08-08-2014, 09:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
bruceames's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Rafael, CA
Posts: 910
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Does HDMI 2 out to receiver for audio work fine? I have to use the TV speakers for audio on the X10 because I have an older receiver that doesn't have HDMI ports. I plan to buy a new receiver soon that's HDCP compliant.
bruceames is offline  
post #604 of 2901 Old 08-08-2014, 09:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
bslep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: N. Royalton, Ohio
Posts: 766
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruceames View Post
Does HDMI 2 out to receiver for audio work fine? I have to use the TV speakers for audio on the X10 because I have an older receiver that doesn't have HDMI ports. I plan to buy a new receiver soon that's HDCP compliant.
I use the hdmi 2 out to my Onkyo 5010 for audio only and it works fine. Bob
bslep is offline  
post #605 of 2901 Old 08-08-2014, 10:01 AM
Member
 
rolldog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
I can't tell from your post--have you hooked the splitter up, and does this method of connecting actually work with the X10?
Right now I'm not using the splitter. I have it connected directly to the HDMI port on the TV and am using the Toslink out from the TV. I plan to hook it up though since right now I have 6-7 devices that connect via HDMI and I'm tired of unhooking one thing and hooking up another. This is the splitter I have. Actually, I have 2 I'm using in two different locations. http://www.amazon.com/Monoprice-TOSl...X7WKRC71V93HRK

I can hook it up to the FMP-X10 and let you know if it works with it. I bought this switch about a year ago, but it looks like they've come out with newer models since then that specify compatibility with 4k video.

Sent from my SM-T800 using Tapatalk

Last edited by rolldog; 08-08-2014 at 10:22 AM.
rolldog is offline  
post #606 of 2901 Old 08-08-2014, 10:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
bruceames's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Rafael, CA
Posts: 910
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Watching Amazing SM 2 last night. I lot of cool action scenes but the movie as a whole was only so-so and I didn't care for the lead character. Visually it looked great and in many of the wide panorama shots the level of detail was breathtaking. There's no way the Blu-ray will show that amount of detail, but I will find out in a week or two when my copy arrives. What I'm curious about though is if the 4k version will have better color saturation.
bruceames is offline  
post #607 of 2901 Old 08-08-2014, 11:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
TweakerInWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 640
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolldog View Post
Right now I'm not using the splitter. I have it connected directly to the HDMI port on the TV and am using the Toslink out from the TV. I plan to hook it up though since right now I have 6-7 devices that connect via HDMI and I'm tired of unhooking one thing and hooking up another. This is the splitter I have. Actually, I have 2 I'm using in two different locations. http://www.amazon.com/Monoprice-TOSl...X7WKRC71V93HRK

I can hook it up to the FMP-X10 and let you know if it works with it. I bought this switch about a year ago, but it looks like they've come out with newer models since then that specify compatibility with 4k video.

Sent from my SM-T800 using Tapatalk
The X10 will not work with that switch, just saying. .....But try if you must. .

Sent from my SM-N900T using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
TweakerInWA is offline  
post #608 of 2901 Old 08-08-2014, 11:17 AM
Member
 
rolldog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by TweakerInWA View Post
The X10 will not work with that switch, just saying. .....But try if you must. .

Sent from my SM-N900T using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
Well, at least I could hook up some of my other components to it so I don't have to keep unplugging something to plug something else in.

Sent from my SM-T800 using Tapatalk
rolldog is offline  
post #609 of 2901 Old 08-08-2014, 11:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,949
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2759 Post(s)
Liked: 1401
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
I spoke too soon. As soon as I changed the "Downmix" option to Surround from Stereo, I started experiencing audio dropouts on clips with 2-channel sound. I'm still waiting for my movie download to complete so I can test what happens with a 5.1 audio track.
OK, the Spider-man II movie finished downloading sometime earlier today. I played it, and am happy to report that my Denon displayed "Mult CH IN" on the front display. Accessing the Audio Info page in the web interface shows PCM 5.1 with a 48kHz sampling rate, exactly what I had hoped for. No audio drop-outs, so it looks like we are good to go with the X10.

I still don't know what the "Downmix" setting does, but mine is set to Stereo and everything is working fine.

I don't know if anyone cares, but it am using Monoprice Redmere cables for the hookups. I have a short 3' Redmere cable between the player and the Denon, and a 30' Redmere from the player to the X900a.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #610 of 2901 Old 08-08-2014, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,937
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 242 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by bslep View Post
I pre-ordered and I got the free Spiderman movie when I set my account up.
Thinking about calling Sony on this. I might get penalized for pre-ordering, but I shouldn't be penalized for already having a SEN account setup, since I already had it long ago for gaming, much less 4k.

Matt
turls is offline  
post #611 of 2901 Old 08-08-2014, 12:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dreaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Well I now have audio out of the X10 via HDMI to my Onkyo AVR. Someone had mentioned before that they only got it with the HDMI cable that came with the X10. So I took out my HDMI cable and replaced with the Sony HDMI cable and it worked!

Now why in the world would the audio to my receiver only work with their cable and not my Hi-speed HDMI cable?

Last edited by dreaux; 08-08-2014 at 01:05 PM.
dreaux is offline  
post #612 of 2901 Old 08-08-2014, 12:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 627 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreaux View Post
Well I now have audio out of the X10 via HDMI to my Onkyo AVR. Someone had mentioned before that they only got it with the HDMI cable that came with the X10. So I took out my HDMI cable and replaced with the Sony HDMI cable and it worked!

Now why in the world would the audio to my receiver only work with their cable and not any of my HDMI cables?
Very very strange. I have no answer haha.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #613 of 2901 Old 08-08-2014, 02:19 PM
Member
 
WIKED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 30
BHPhoto emailed on the 7th to say my X10 has finally shipped via UPS. Guess I'll get it next week as its still sitting in the KY depot.

Sent from my GT-N7105T using Tapatalk

Screen: 125" Stewart Luxus Deluxe ST130 2.35:1
Audio: Meridian Full Digital Theatre, 861v8 Processor, HD621. Velodyne DD-15+
Sources: Oppo 105D, Cable, Xbox One, NAS, TiVo
WIKED is offline  
post #614 of 2901 Old 08-08-2014, 09:41 PM
Member
 
DiscoSmoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Appalachia
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I had an existing SEN account, and was offered Amazing Spiderman 2 for free, when logging into my SEN account for the first time last night on the X10. I think anyone setting up an X10 after the offer went live is receiving the offer. Try logging out of SEN and logging in again to trigger the offer.
DiscoSmoke is offline  
post #615 of 2901 Old 08-08-2014, 11:41 PM
Member
 
luism2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by luism2008 View Post
I think I had an software update..
Mine says PKG2.024AAQ..
I wonder what the update did?
Anyone know?

Anyone else wo bought it early get an update?
luism2008 is offline  
post #616 of 2901 Old 08-09-2014, 03:19 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by luism2008 View Post
Anyone else wo bought it early get an update?
Updated mine this morning- picked my X10 up on release date- Also, I've noticed Sony recently added more Free content as well- more animal videos, I'll have to check them out after I watch Amazing Spiderman 2
luism2008 likes this.
Res215dg is offline  
post #617 of 2901 Old 08-09-2014, 03:22 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by DiscoSmoke View Post
I had an existing SEN account, and was offered Amazing Spiderman 2 for free, when logging into my SEN account for the first time last night on the X10. I think anyone setting up an X10 after the offer went live is receiving the offer. Try logging out of SEN and logging in again to trigger the offer.
I did a factory reset and reset everything excluding formating the hdd and still no luck

I'm guessing once the X10 has been activated and registered once to an account, it is no longer eligible for the promotion? Oh well, good for you to pick up the title for free-
Res215dg is offline  
post #618 of 2901 Old 08-09-2014, 06:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mdjones9137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreaux View Post
Well I now have audio out of the X10 via HDMI to my Onkyo AVR. Someone had mentioned before that they only got it with the HDMI cable that came with the X10. So I took out my HDMI cable and replaced with the Sony HDMI cable and it worked!

Now why in the world would the audio to my receiver only work with their cable and not my Hi-speed HDMI cable?
So you are saying that the Sony player which only works with Sony TVs needs a Sony cable. Sounds like a logical progression to me.
Mdjones9137 is offline  
post #619 of 2901 Old 08-09-2014, 06:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,949
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2759 Post(s)
Liked: 1401
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mdjones9137 View Post
So you are saying that the Sony player which only works with Sony TVs needs a Sony cable. Sounds like a logical progression to me.
All Dreaux proved is that the original cable was probably defective, and that a new cable resolved the issue. Whether the new cable is a Sony cable, or a different brand cable, is unlikely to make any difference. Unless, of course, you believe that different brands of HDMI cables are somehow electronically different.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #620 of 2901 Old 08-09-2014, 06:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dreaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mdjones9137 View Post
So you are saying that the Sony player which only works with Sony TVs needs a Sony cable. Sounds like a logical progression to me.
Yeah, well at least I didn't have to buy it. It's the HDMI cable that is flat. Never seen another like it. What an improvement over the optical I was running out of the back of the set.


On a side note when I watch a Netflix Ultra HD video I notice the difference on the quality of the video. When I hit 'display' on the little remote I will often see 720 then Super HD and then up to Ultra HD. My download speeds are varying but they finally settle into Ultra HD. I have the X10 hard wired with Fios 50Mbps.but I am sure I am not getting that with Netflix.
dreaux is offline  
post #621 of 2901 Old 08-09-2014, 06:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dreaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
All Dreaux proved is that the original cable was probably defective, and that a new cable resolved the issue. Whether the new cable is a Sony cable, or a different brand cable, is unlikely to make any difference. Unless, of course, you believe that different brands of HDMI cables are somehow electronically different.

I did try 3 different HDMI cables before and no joy. Oh well not important.
dreaux is offline  
post #622 of 2901 Old 08-09-2014, 06:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
LeeSoFl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Wellington, FL
Posts: 1,057
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreaux View Post
Yeah, well at least I didn't have to buy it. It's the HDMI cable that is flat. Never seen another like it. What an improvement over the optical I was running out of the back of the set.


On a side note when I watch a Netflix Ultra HD video I notice the difference on the quality of the video. When I hit 'display' on the little remote I will often see 720 then Super HD and then up to Ultra HD. My download speeds are varying but they finally settle into Ultra HD. I have the X10 hard wired with Fios 50Mbps.but I am sure I am not getting that with Netflix.
Netflix on the X10 ramps up, (like the app on the TV) especially for the first thing you load. It sometimes starts as low as 480SD, then makes it way up to 2160. If you see 2160 HD, on the X10 Netflix that's the best it gets. TV max is 1080SuperHD.
LeeSoFl is offline  
post #623 of 2901 Old 08-09-2014, 06:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,949
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2759 Post(s)
Liked: 1401
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreaux View Post
I did try 3 different HDMI cables before and no joy. Oh well not important.
Yes, it is a mystery why a Sony cable would work for you, and others wouldn't. However, as I reported earlier, I use Redmere cables, and they work just fine. The important thing is that you are up and running now, so congratulations!
AustinJerry is offline  
post #624 of 2901 Old 08-09-2014, 08:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
Mdjones9137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 622
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 277 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Yes, it is a mystery why a Sony cable would work for you, and others wouldn't. However, as I reported earlier, I use Redmere cables, and they work just fine. The important thing is that you are up and running now, so congratulations!
I agree a cable is a cable.
Could those with audio issues have the direction wrong on the HDMI cables? Not sure if everyone realizes there is a direction - at least on the cables i have.
Mdjones9137 is offline  
post #625 of 2901 Old 08-09-2014, 09:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,949
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2759 Post(s)
Liked: 1401
Certainly true for Redmere cables, and any other cable design which uses electronics to compensate for long distances, but AFAIK the "average" HDMI cable is non-directional. Still, when trouble-shooting HDMI cables, it would not hurt to try reversing the direction to rule out directionality as a possible issue.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #626 of 2901 Old 08-09-2014, 10:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
G-Rex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 22
For streaming Netflix 4k, do you all think the X10 is worth the price? I have an X1 and have not downloaded a single movie. Trying to determine if I should make the jump to the X10.
G-Rex is offline  
post #627 of 2901 Old 08-09-2014, 10:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 627 Post(s)
Liked: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Rex View Post
For streaming Netflix 4k, do you all think the X10 is worth the price? I have an X1 and have not downloaded a single movie. Trying to determine if I should make the jump to the X10.
Not in its current state. There are only a few movies and shows on netlfix and only about half of the content actually looks better than 1080p super HD. If you do not use the x1, you probably will not use the x10.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #628 of 2901 Old 08-09-2014, 12:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Res215dg View Post
I did a factory reset and reset everything excluding formating the hdd and still no luck



I'm guessing once the X10 has been activated and registered once to an account, it is no longer eligible for the promotion? Oh well, good for you to pick up the title for free-

I've been emailing sony about it to see if they'll give me the free title. If not, they're getting a nice opened box unit back . I plan in returning it anyway, but I'd like to demo a full length 4k movie before making my decision
Duke02 is offline  
post #629 of 2901 Old 08-09-2014, 12:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thestewman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NW Chicago
Posts: 1,809
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Bummer

After a period of flawless operation my X10 sound on HDMI 2 started cutting out and now has stopped completely.
Anyone had any luck getting it operational again ?
What have Sony C/S comments been when reported ?
thestewman is offline  
post #630 of 2901 Old 08-09-2014, 12:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,949
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2759 Post(s)
Liked: 1401
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Rex View Post
For streaming Netflix 4k, do you all think the X10 is worth the price? I have an X1 and have not downloaded a single movie. Trying to determine if I should make the jump to the X10.
Well, I just made the switch, but in my case it did not cost me any money. Other than the streaming capability, and the fixed audio issue, there is no difference. While the X10 streaming may be more useful in the future, I see no compelling reason to switch right now. As Mattopotamus says, there isn't enough 4K streaming content on Netflix right now.
AustinJerry is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
fmp-x10
Gear in this thread - fmp-x10 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off