Sony FMP-X10 owners thread - Page 25 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 777Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-14-2014, 09:27 AM
Senior Member
 
rolldog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 414
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Vudu has a box, or they used to. A while back, the only way you could watch Vudu was if you had their box, which I still have somewhere. I think Roku or Google will release their own box to play 4k content, but it'll offer 4K from a number of sources. Google used to offer their service through a Western Digital box, but we'll see what happens. This kind of reminds me of when DVDs were released and you had to choose from either Blu Ray or HD DVD. Same with VHS and Betamax. Hopefully we won't end up with a stack of boxes that all offer a different service.
rolldog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-14-2014, 10:02 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 12,988
Mentioned: 108 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5012 Post(s)
Liked: 2813
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post
The first screen on netflix where it shows "recently watched", if you keep scrolling down there is a ultra HD category. There is smurfs 2, hitched, ghost busters 1 and 2, and a few short clips.
Thanks! I learned something new.
AustinJerry is online now  
Old 08-14-2014, 10:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
TweakerInWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 934
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeSoFl View Post
Yep, sort of like it's winding up to full speed.

If anyone feels they're not getting full strength streaming for Netflix, contact your ISP, and find out what the peering agreement is between Netflix and your cable company. Most of the major cable operators are now being paid more by Netflix to not throttle the signal.
It was just Ghostbusters, the shorts played just fine, Hitch was almost instantaneous 2160, just Ghostbusters failed to make it past 720..

Sent from my SM-N900T using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
TweakerInWA is offline  
Old 08-14-2014, 10:26 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,069
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1123 Post(s)
Liked: 793
Quote:
Originally Posted by TweakerInWA View Post
It was just Ghostbusters, the shorts played just fine, Hitch was almost instantaneous 2160, just Ghostbusters failed to make it past 720..

Sent from my SM-N900T using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
I don't think an 8k resolution could save the conversion job on hitch. It looks awful!
Mattopotamus is online now  
Old 08-14-2014, 10:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
TweakerInWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 934
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post
I don't think an 8k resolution could save the conversion job on hitch. It looks awful!
Yeah, I only watched a couple of minutes, I was just seeing if it would stream at 2160. Guess there might have been issue's with the server Ghostbusters was on on.

Sent from my SM-N900T using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
TweakerInWA is offline  
Old 08-14-2014, 12:15 PM
Member
 
Pbenda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does Sony really limit to 20mbps?

1000mbps internet is getting installed Monday....is it seriously still gonna take my 12+ hours to download a $35 4k movie because of some stupid cap Sony has put on this?

Parker
Pbenda is offline  
Old 08-14-2014, 12:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 12,988
Mentioned: 108 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5012 Post(s)
Liked: 2813
Yes, that is life as it is right now...
AustinJerry is online now  
Old 08-14-2014, 12:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 1,285
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 135
I haven't signed up for Netflix yet, just been watching the free clips so far and downloaded Spiderman 2. That download took a long time and I have 100mbps from Comcast.

Everything seems to work well. I haven't sorted out what happens to HDMI audio yet though. I have the audio HDMI running to my receiver. When the XBR65X900A selects the X10's input, it automatically tells my receiver to go to the "TV" for the ARC for audio, which isn't there at the moment. My receiver isn't HDCP2.2, but I was wondering if the audio would pass back to the receiver on the ARC feed.

Not a big deal, just saves a bunch of button pushing if it does.

nuke
nuke is offline  
Old 08-14-2014, 12:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
TweakerInWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 934
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pbenda View Post
Does Sony really limit to 20mbps?

1000mbps internet is getting installed Monday....is it seriously still gonna take my 12+ hours to download a $35 4k movie because of some stupid cap Sony has put on this?

Parker
Yep, as AJ stated.... Got a gig line myself and she hovers between 18~20 regardless of time of day, earth's off axis rotation, or how many beers I can pound during a download session...:beer:



Sent from my SM-N900T using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
TweakerInWA is offline  
Old 08-14-2014, 12:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
Soycrema's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Framingham, MA USA
Posts: 656
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 46
I must be the lucky one then, I am getting average speed of 23mbps..
Soycrema is offline  
Old 08-14-2014, 01:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
TweakerInWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 934
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soycrema View Post
I must be the lucky one then, I am getting average speed of 23mbps..
Sunn of a biach!!... Guess so.......


Sent from my SM-N900T using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
TweakerInWA is offline  
Old 08-14-2014, 02:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bruceames's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Rafael, CA
Posts: 1,390
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 455 Post(s)
Liked: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by TweakerInWA View Post
It was just Ghostbusters, the shorts played just fine, Hitch was almost instantaneous 2160, just Ghostbusters failed to make it past 720..

Sent from my SM-N900T using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
I'll have to check out Ghostbusters 2 then. I assume you meant that movie and not the first Ghostbusters, right?
bruceames is offline  
Old 08-14-2014, 04:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
TweakerInWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 934
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruceames View Post
I'll have to check out Ghostbusters 2 then. I assume you meant that movie and not the first Ghostbusters, right?
First one ((I think)..The one with Sigourney Weaver, Rick Moranis. ..Gozer and all that jazz...

Sent from my SM-N900T using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
TweakerInWA is offline  
Old 08-14-2014, 04:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 9
So I have a x850a. What do the great Avs minds think. Is this thing worth keeping at $499? Seems hard to justify as $30 is ridiculous for movie prices and netflix, while great is still nascent and over compressed.
Duke02 is offline  
Old 08-14-2014, 04:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bruceames's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Rafael, CA
Posts: 1,390
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 455 Post(s)
Liked: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by TweakerInWA View Post
First one ((I think)..The one with Sigourney Weaver, Rick Moranis. ..Gozer and all that jazz...

Sent from my SM-N900T using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
First one isn't available in 4K on Netflix, so if it was that one then no wonder you couldn't get 2160p. I played the Ghostbusters 2 and got 2160p after a 30 second (or so) "warm up".
bruceames is offline  
Old 08-14-2014, 04:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bruceames's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Rafael, CA
Posts: 1,390
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 455 Post(s)
Liked: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duke02 View Post
So I have a x850a. What do the great Avs minds think. Is this thing worth keeping at $499? Seems hard to justify as $30 is ridiculous for movie prices and netflix, while great is still nascent and over compressed.
Well I expect Netflix to add more content and it may be over compressed but it does looks relatively "great" in 4k. Leaps and bounds above 1080p and comparable with Blu-ray.

To me it's worth it just to know I'm 4k "capable". If I want to watch 4k content on my 4k TV, then I can do so. It's also nice to have a box that has by far the greatest selection of 4k content anywhere, limited though it is at this time. Also I like to see what Sony and Netflix are "up to" regarding adding new 4k content. I'm curious about all this stuff so if I didn't have the box then I really wouldn't know what's going on and would have to keep bugging other owners as to what's new and how the PQ, pricing is, etc. Finally the $499 box is a small percentage of what I paid for the TV and I didn't buy the 4K TV just to watch 1080p and 3D. Anyway, that's my take on it. I'll definitely get my money's worth on it.
bruceames is offline  
Old 08-14-2014, 04:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
TweakerInWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 934
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruceames View Post
First one isn't available in 4K on Netflix, so if it was that one then no wonder you couldn't get 2160p. I played the Ghostbusters 2 and got 2160p after a 30 second (or so) "warm up".
If that's the case, frickin hilarious! Guess that would explain a lot. Could have sworn it was in the 4K section .. I'll have to take a peek. ..



Sent from my SM-N900T using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
TweakerInWA is offline  
Old 08-14-2014, 05:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
billqs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by TweakerInWA View Post
Interesting, I have been under the impression that both the display and X10 have to be connected to the Internet. Maybe that's different for projectors(?), or maybe I need to take a peek at the owners manual. .
As for the dropouts, your's are like 30 seconds mine are just a quick Flickr, considering you quoted my post, I assume you've seen it, if not
http://youtu.be/sqNjuvOMbEs
Sent from my SM-N900T using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
Sorry, I wasn't clear. I meant I get a flicker similar to your Youtube video about every 30 seconds or so. It's somewhat random when it happens but video is only off for a second or so each time.
billqs is offline  
Old 08-14-2014, 05:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
billqs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 803
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 167
So, I downloaded some free stuff, the Karmin appearance on Jimmy Kimmel is the best so far for quality. In that case it was like I was looking through a window into the concert. I've streamed Netflix with Breaking Bad and it looks pretty good. I'll probably buy an episode of BB just so I can compare the 4k download versus the Netflix 4k stream.

What I notice most about BB and movie clips I've watched is a whole lot more grain in the image. It's there on the Spiderman trailer as well as BB. Looks really good, but nothing has consistently blown my socks off yet. The Karmin clip has come the closest.

Maybe what this player has taught me is just how good 1080p blu-ray really is.
billqs is offline  
Old 08-14-2014, 05:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 12,988
Mentioned: 108 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5012 Post(s)
Liked: 2813
Quote:
Originally Posted by billqs View Post
Maybe what this player has taught me is just how good 1080p blu-ray really is.
Those of us who have had the X900a display for a while have consistently said that up-scaled 1080p content is so good that it is practically indistinguishable from true 4K content. That is what is so great about the X900a.
AustinJerry is online now  
Old 08-14-2014, 05:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
TweakerInWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 934
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruceames View Post
First one isn't available in 4K on Netflix, so if it was that one then no wonder you couldn't get 2160p. I played the Ghostbusters 2 and got 2160p after a 30 second (or so) "warm up".
Yeah, it's there...Says it's supposed to be in 4k

EDIT: 35 min in (again).. still on 720....

EDIT 2: 51 min in and I've hit 2160!!!!!!

Sent from my SM-N900T using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2

Last edited by TweakerInWA; 08-14-2014 at 06:49 PM.
TweakerInWA is offline  
Old 08-14-2014, 06:40 PM
Senior Member
 
paulfromtulsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Why is some of the free clips available to watch immediately after purchase and others you have to wait for it to download? Thanks js
TweakerInWA likes this.
paulfromtulsa is offline  
Old 08-14-2014, 06:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bruceames's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Rafael, CA
Posts: 1,390
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 455 Post(s)
Liked: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by TweakerInWA View Post
Yeah, it's there...Says it's supposed to be in 4k

EDIT: 35 min in (again).. still on 720....

Sent from my SM-N900T using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
You're right. Funny though it's not listed in the 4K section. Makes me wonder if there's any other Netflix 4K movies that we don't know about.

And yeah, I get 2160p on Ghostbusters 1.
TweakerInWA likes this.
bruceames is offline  
Old 08-14-2014, 06:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
TweakerInWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 934
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulfromtulsa View Post
Why is some of the free clips available to watch immediately after purchase and others you have to wait for it to download? Thanks js
Some are actually pre-loaded on the hard drive out of the factory. I know, ridiculous you should have to go through the whole "make believe you purchase it" thing... lol

Sent from my SM-N900T using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2

Last edited by TweakerInWA; 08-14-2014 at 07:00 PM.
TweakerInWA is offline  
Old 08-14-2014, 06:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
TweakerInWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 934
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruceames View Post
You're right. Funny though it's not listed in the 4K section. Makes me wonder if there's any other Netflix 4K movies that we don't know about.

And yeah, I get 2160p on Ghostbusters 1.
Yeah, just hit 2160 at the 51 min mark.... maybe someone's monitoring this thread. ..lol

Sent from my SM-N900T using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
TweakerInWA is offline  
Old 08-14-2014, 06:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
dreaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,371
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 51
I am getting 2160 on Ghostbusters (1) with Netflix on the X10. When I hit 'display' on my X10 remote and my set remote they both say 2160 as well as 5.1 channel audio..
Not sure why you are getting 720p.
However it really doesn't look 2160p. It is an older movie and it looks like a poor transfer.
TweakerInWA likes this.
dreaux is online now  
Old 08-14-2014, 07:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
TweakerInWA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 934
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreaux View Post
However it really doesn't look 2160p. It is an older movie and it looks like a poor transfer.
Yeah, pretty horrid transfer. I'm not sure why they decided on this film... I would assume Sony has much better material to resurrect. ..

Sent from my SM-N900T using Xparent BlueTapatalk 2
TweakerInWA is offline  
Old 08-14-2014, 07:15 PM
Senior Member
 
paulfromtulsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Will the x10 Continue to download a movie if I turn it off at night or do I need to leave it on? Thanks
paulfromtulsa is offline  
Old 08-14-2014, 07:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bruceames's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Rafael, CA
Posts: 1,390
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 455 Post(s)
Liked: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulfromtulsa View Post
Will the x10 Continue to download a movie if I turn it off at night or do I need to leave it on? Thanks
You can turn it off and it will still continue to download.
bruceames is offline  
Old 08-14-2014, 08:09 PM
Member
 
WIKED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I setup mine last night..downloaded the update...entered my SEN account info and got the free Amazing Spiderman 2 to DL.

Started the download (the HDD light was ON) and after about 1hr turned it off and went to bed. Turned it back on this morning and it wouldn't restart the download. It say's 'Download paused' when you go to the movie. In my account on SEN's website is says I have it in my movies etc.

Is there a way to either delete what it has already downloaded or force it to restart? I have pulled the cat6 and plugged it back in....unplugged the X10 and restarted etc...all but doing a factory reset.

Thanks

EDIT:

I did a factory reset and it said before I pressed YES that it would delete what I had downloaded and I would be free to downloaded it again. Did the reset and pressed download for the movie and then it goes into 'Download Paused' again and if I check on the HDD it has the exact amount of space used as before the reset.
I then thought I would try to buy a movie so I bought Elysium. It went through with no issues and unlocked the movie to play (it was obviously on the HDD already).
No issues with my SEN account or my network etc. I can also access NETFLIX.

Last edited by WIKED; 08-14-2014 at 09:17 PM.
WIKED is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
fmp-x10
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off