Sony FMP-X10 owners thread - Page 9 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #241 of 1290 Old 07-21-2014, 08:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vinodk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Camarillo, California
Posts: 2,236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 19
My thoughts exactly. Having the X1 I see no compelling reason to buy X10 at this time. Will just wait for third party 4k media players with both HEVC & VP9 decoders which hopefully will materialize by end of the year.

Vinod
vinodk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #242 of 1290 Old 07-21-2014, 08:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 513 Post(s)
Liked: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinodk View Post
My thoughts exactly. Having the X1 I see no compelling reason to buy X10 at this time. Will just wait for third party 4k media players with both HEVC & VP9 decoders which hopefully will materialize by end of the year.
Hopefully the andoid tv is a standalone device. I would imagine it would support both codecs since it would have the netflix app and also they own Youtube.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #243 of 1290 Old 07-21-2014, 09:08 AM
Member
 
Ramzal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post
Hopefully the andoid tv is a standalone device. I would imagine it would support both codecs since it would have the netflix app and also they own Youtube.
I'm hoping for this as well. However, GoogleTV was kind of a flop, so I'm not sure how willing they are to try their hand at a standalone appliance again
Ramzal is offline  
post #244 of 1290 Old 07-21-2014, 09:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
Carlos_E's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdfein View Post
Received my X10 Friday evening and got it setup today. Connected fine to my 600ES, and software update prompt right away. Setup SEN account easily.

Started with some of the 4K free content. Looks nice, but not being able to A/B with the same content from BRD upscaled, it was hard to "feel" the 4K improvement I was hoping to see.

Switched to 4K Netflix for HoC Sn2, Ep1, and watched the whole episode and never hit more than 1080 HD. I have ATT Uverse internet and Speedtest.net showed I was getting 50MPS down while not being able to achieve 4K Netflix. I tried Breaking Bad and same thing...maxed at 1080 HD and it took 10min to even reach that speed.

The video costs are surprisingly expensive to me in relation to BRD...and BRD offers superior audio.

I'll be watching my 30 day window carefully but me thinks this is getting returned unless I can get better results.
House of Cards Season 2 episode 1 is not 4K. 4K doesn't start until a few episodes into season 2. Try testing Breaking Bad. The entire series is in 4K.
Carlos_E is offline  
post #245 of 1290 Old 07-21-2014, 09:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 513 Post(s)
Liked: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlos_E View Post
House of Cards Season 2 episode 1 is not 4K. 4K doesn't start until a few episodes into season 2. Try testing Breaking Bad. The entire series is in 4K.
That is incorrect. The entire season 2 is 4k
luism2008 likes this.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #246 of 1290 Old 07-21-2014, 09:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
Carlos_E's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post
That is incorrect. The entire season 2 is 4k

Is it? I tested House Of Cards Season 2 at the Sony store and we did not see 4K until Ep. 3. 1 and 2 played 1080p.
Carlos_E is offline  
post #247 of 1290 Old 07-21-2014, 10:01 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 513 Post(s)
Liked: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlos_E View Post
Is it? I tested House Of Cards Season 2 at the Sony store and we did not see 4K until Ep. 3. 1 and 2 played 1080p.
It is .
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #248 of 1290 Old 07-21-2014, 10:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
Carlos_E's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 984
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post
It is .
I don't watch HOC. But it's interesting I got 1080p on the first 2 episodes at the Sony store and at home. But later episodes 2160p.

I have no issues streaming 4K Breaking Bad, Moving Art or the Smurfs 2 movie.
Carlos_E is offline  
post #249 of 1290 Old 07-21-2014, 10:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 513 Post(s)
Liked: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlos_E View Post
I don't watch HOC. But it's interesting I got 1080p on the first 2 episodes at the Sony store and at home. But later episodes 2160p.

I have no issues streaming 4K Breaking Bad, Moving Art or the Smurfs 2 movie.
I do not watch it either, just used it to check out the 4k footage. I know this says season 2 episode 2, but episode 1 is also. Pressing display when streaming also confirmed the 2160.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #250 of 1290 Old 07-21-2014, 10:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
LeeSoFl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Wellington, FL
Posts: 847
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 193
What ever happened to Netflix "play from beginning" option?
LeeSoFl is offline  
post #251 of 1290 Old 07-21-2014, 11:37 AM
Newbie
 
mrdolemite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I have the AX100 4K camcorder and I can't seem to figure out how to download my video to the X 10 .....anyone else tried this yet that has a 4K Sony camcorder?
mrdolemite is offline  
post #252 of 1290 Old 07-21-2014, 11:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 513 Post(s)
Liked: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrdolemite View Post
I have the AX100 4K camcorder and I can't seem to figure out how to download my video to the X 10 .....anyone else tried this yet that has a 4K Sony camcorder?
I think that feature is "later this fall"
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #253 of 1290 Old 07-21-2014, 11:48 AM
Newbie
 
mrdolemite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post
I think that feature is "later this fall"
Thnx Matt..... That's what I was afraid of but better late than never!
mrdolemite is offline  
post #254 of 1290 Old 07-21-2014, 03:28 PM
Member
 
TcdF22b2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: TX
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 11
well, I got mine direct from sony just ten minutes ago, wasn't overboxed, aaaaand fed ex beat the living crap out of it. Dunno if it works yet, I guess we shall find out.

Terrific.
TcdF22b2 is offline  
post #255 of 1290 Old 07-21-2014, 03:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by TcdF22b2 View Post
well, I got mine direct from sony just ten minutes ago, wasn't overboxed, aaaaand fed ex beat the living crap out of it. Dunno if it works yet, I guess we shall find out.



Terrific.

I'd report that to Sony and say you want a new one. Although it might be too late and they might say that you should have declined the package.

Given how finicky I've read the x1 is, I wonder if the typical package throwing may take its toll here. Interesting that it was fedex. I've had far worse experience with ups but I'm sure it depends on the individuals in the chain
Duke02 is online now  
post #256 of 1290 Old 07-21-2014, 03:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Mdjones9137's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 143 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by TcdF22b2 View Post
well, I got mine direct from sony just ten minutes ago, wasn't overboxed, aaaaand fed ex beat the living crap out of it. Dunno if it works yet, I guess we shall find out.

Terrific.
Ugh
Return to sender
Mdjones9137 is online now  
post #257 of 1290 Old 07-21-2014, 04:34 PM
Member
 
TcdF22b2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: TX
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 11
well, I called them prior to cutting the sony seals on the outside, they said give it a try anyhow, everything looks fine, if I hear the hard drive ticking or notice some odd behavior then I have 30 days and i will just refund and buy from crutchfield or amazon who WILL double box as a matter of course. I had to have one first, but good god, I didn't think sony of all people wouldn't double box, basic knowledge of shipping damage averages says you get less returns with better packaging, but w/e, we'll see. I am not shy about sending something back, even confirmed they'd pay for it.
TcdF22b2 is offline  
post #258 of 1290 Old 07-21-2014, 06:44 PM
Member
 
vaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Amesterdam, Ohio
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TcdF22b2 View Post
well, I got mine direct from sony just ten minutes ago, wasn't overboxed, aaaaand fed ex beat the living crap out of it. Dunno if it works yet, I guess we shall find out.

Terrific.
yea mine too looks like its been through hell
vaha is offline  
post #259 of 1290 Old 07-21-2014, 07:20 PM
Senior Member
 
teeitup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Washington State
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by TcdF22b2 View Post
well, I called them prior to cutting the sony seals on the outside, they said give it a try anyhow, everything looks fine, if I hear the hard drive ticking or notice some odd behavior then I have 30 days and i will just refund and buy from crutchfield or amazon who WILL double box as a matter of course. I had to have one first, but good god, I didn't think sony of all people wouldn't double box, basic knowledge of shipping damage averages says you get less returns with better packaging, but w/e, we'll see. I am not shy about sending something back, even confirmed they'd pay for it.
Surprised Sony doesn't double box. Amazon will double box with a airbag sitting on top. Not a big fan of Amazon packaging but at least it's double boxed. Crutchfield will double box and fill with packing peanuts.

Sent from my LG-LS980 using Tapatalk
teeitup is online now  
post #260 of 1290 Old 07-21-2014, 07:22 PM
Member
 
Rodymx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 16
hello, could someone help me by telling me if desponibles videos have audio options have languages ​​(Spanish, Portuguese, French)?
In subtitle options Also have translations languages ​​(Spanish, Portuguese, French)?
Rodymx is offline  
post #261 of 1290 Old 07-21-2014, 07:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,338
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 615 Post(s)
Liked: 745
I just checked a couple of videos and I don't see any languages other than English. No subtitles either in the ones I checked.

__________________________________________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #262 of 1290 Old 07-21-2014, 08:17 PM
Senior Member
 
slots1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
no reports yet...
what is going on?
slots1 is offline  
post #263 of 1290 Old 07-21-2014, 08:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 7,338
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 615 Post(s)
Liked: 745
Are you talking about user impressions of the X10? There have been quite a few posted already.

__________________________________________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #264 of 1290 Old 07-21-2014, 11:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Add me to the list of those with 50/5 internet and haven't seen Netflix break 1080p yet. And yes I speedtested to verify my connection isn't saturated. I have a smaller ISP and it feels like Netflix isn't compatible. Even though I thought that wasn't supposed to be an issue any more.

That isn't even the real issue though. There should be some type of diagnostic that states why you aren't getting 4K speeds. That's the whole point of many getting this device and upgrading from the X1.

EDIT: did finally get sustained streaming of S2 of HoC at 2160.

Matt

Last edited by turls; 07-21-2014 at 11:26 PM.
turls is offline  
post #265 of 1290 Old 07-21-2014, 11:47 PM
Newbie
 
justned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I played around this device for several days and here are a few quick notes on this product.

1. I could play all youtube 4k mp4 videos without any hiccups

2. Playing 4K video with 100 mbps causes jitter and frame skip (device limitation 60 mbps)
3. Amazing spider man 4K did not give me a wow, but house of cards and breaking bad were very good.

4. 4k streaming using wifi was not a problem on netflix, but downloading 4 min long amazing spider man 2 trailer took me 40 minutes, how long will a 50G movie take me to dl?

5. overall gui and remote response was ok, not slow to death or fast.

6. lack of 4k content is depressing, hope they will launch spider man 2 same day when bluray releases.

7. Seriously thinking about returning if there are no new contents coming within 30 days.

8. works with my pioneer 1223 AVR

9. don't know how to enable subtitles while watching movies
justned is offline  
post #266 of 1290 Old 07-22-2014, 05:04 AM
Member
 
ozziegn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 11
so can the front USB port be used to play various video types from USB memory sticks?
ozziegn is offline  
post #267 of 1290 Old 07-22-2014, 05:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
LeeSoFl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Wellington, FL
Posts: 847
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by justned View Post
I played around this device for several days and here are a few quick notes on this product.

9. don't know how to enable subtitles while watching movies
I'm not sure if it's different from X1 to X10, but on X1, you begin playing film. On TV remote, hit the up arrow twice (inner ring) and select caption options and engage captioning.

I believe that you need to do this for each title, it doesn't engage captioning to all selections.
LeeSoFl is offline  
post #268 of 1290 Old 07-22-2014, 05:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 513 Post(s)
Liked: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by teeitup View Post
Surprised Sony doesn't double box. Amazon will double box with a airbag sitting on top. Not a big fan of Amazon packaging but at least it's double boxed. Crutchfield will double box and fill with packing peanuts.

Sent from my LG-LS980 using Tapatalk
They double boxed mine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozziegn View Post
so can the front USB port be used to play various video types from USB memory sticks?
yes. The front is used for USB playback. I just leave it plugged in.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #269 of 1290 Old 07-22-2014, 06:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dreaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by justned View Post
I played around this device for several days and here are a few quick notes on this product.

1. I could play all youtube 4k mp4 videos without any hiccups

2. Playing 4K video with 100 mbps causes jitter and frame skip (device limitation 60 mbps)
3. Amazing spider man 4K did not give me a wow, but house of cards and breaking bad were very good.

4. 4k streaming using wifi was not a problem on netflix, but downloading 4 min long amazing spider man 2 trailer took me 40 minutes, how long will a 50G movie take me to dl?

5. overall gui and remote response was ok, not slow to death or fast.

6. lack of 4k content is depressing, hope they will launch spider man 2 same day when bluray releas

7. Seriously thinking about returning if there are no new contents coming within 30 days.

8. works with my pioneer 1223 AVR

9. don't know how to enable subtitles while watching movies


For subtitles hit pause on the remote and an option to enable subtitles will be at the bottom of the play line. Scroll down and select subtitles on or off. Languages appear only to be English.
dreaux is offline  
post #270 of 1290 Old 07-22-2014, 06:50 AM
Senior Member
 
M_Coupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Herndon, VA
Posts: 499
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Just a quick note re: 4K streaming and Netflix:

I happen to have two ISPs at my house - COX Business 25/5 and Fios residential 75/35. On COX, netflix 4K streams ramp up to 2160p within 30 seconds of starting the content. On Fios, it rarely breaks 720p. COX is able to saturate (and exceed) the promised 25mbit downstream consistently, while Fios tends to struggle (as they have for years) with anything running through Level 3 or Cogent (which means Vudu, Netflix, Amazon, etc). FIOS is great for the other 40% of the internet

[2007]Supporter of both HD DVD and Blu-ray - a win/win solution.[/2007] [2008]... erm...  Say... anyone wanna buy some HD-DVDs?[/2008]

M_Coupe is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming
Gear in this thread - fmp-x10 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off