Cannot Upgrade to USB 3...Add Sata Internal drive instead. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By bigbarney
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 07-16-2014, 08:11 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Cannot Upgrade to USB 3...Add Sata Internal drive instead.

Hello all,
I am trying to eliminate all of the possible bottlenecks in my system (Old PC) that I am using for streaming local content. I am upgrading my NIC Card and Switch now. I was planning to add USB 3 since I store files on external drives. Unfortunately, I do not have a PCIe port available.


My question is.... Would my next best option be to add a couple of SATA internal drives to store the video files on? There are SATA ports available and space to add them in the case. In theory, that would take USB out of the mix.


Thanks!
MontyTheLab is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 07-16-2014, 08:20 AM
Senior Member
 
elario's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 59
USB 2.0 has a real-world max throughput of about 35MB/s. That's 280Mbps. Unless you are serving full BDs to 5 or 6 clients simultaneously, it's not gonna be a bottleneck.
elario is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 07-16-2014, 08:26 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks...I am also using run of the mill 3TB WD External Drives....Should that set up be sufficient to run 1080? (that is my goal) I am successful with 720 streaming via hard-wire (with Old NIC Card and switch - not Gigabit). - I am upgrading those now.




Just wondering if I should go ahead and add a drive now while the case is open.
MontyTheLab is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 07-16-2014, 09:02 AM
Senior Member
 
elario's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Add a new drive if you want. USB 2.0 will not be a bottleneck for playing videos. But there are plenty of other reasons why you might want an internal drive instead of an external.
elario is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 07-16-2014, 09:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bigbarney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 2,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by elario View Post
USB 2.0 has a real-world max throughput of about 35MB/s. That's 280Mbps. Unless you are serving full BDs to 5 or 6 clients simultaneously, it's not gonna be a bottleneck.
Yeah, but you have to write to the drive too, and writing multiple gigs to a usb2 drive takes forever. Better off with sata if you can. Then when the drive is full you can stick it a usb2 box
bigbarney is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 07-16-2014, 09:38 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbarney View Post
Yeah, but you have to write to the drive too, and writing multiple gigs to a usb2 drive takes forever. Better off with sata if you can. Then when the drive is full you can stick it a usb2 box


So I gather that I should go ahead and throw a SATA HD in there, right? (thanks) I think that I can grab a 3TB drive for ~100 bucks. May be money well spent.
MontyTheLab is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 07-16-2014, 12:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bigbarney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 2,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by MontyTheLab View Post
So I gather that I should go ahead and throw a SATA HD in there, right? (thanks) I think that I can grab a 3TB drive for ~100 bucks. May be money well spent.
Yeah. If you're dealing with bigger files (blu ray rips, full dvd rips... etc) then you'll have more fun ripping your teeth out with a rusty set of pliers than you will writing to a usb2. Go sata then once you fill it you can always stick it in a usb box and place it somewhere else on your network if you wish.
MontyTheLab likes this.
bigbarney is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 07-18-2014, 03:53 PM
Member
 
mecmec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 18
If you have an extra 5.25" bay free, I highly recommend a "hot swap" bay. It is connected via sata internally and makes swapping out drives super easy!

the first example i can find: there are many different variants...
http://www.amazon.com/StarTech-com-5...a+hot+swap+bay
mecmec is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off