RAID 5 recovery? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 07-22-2014, 06:20 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
extotherule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
RAID 5 recovery?

So gents,
I came home to that unfortunate experience post vacation of a busted water line that had been running for 3-5 days. It started in the master bath, took out half of the 2nd floor, then entire first floor, and the basement.

While it was taking this all out, it dripped into my media server.

SO... I am in the process of trying to see if anything is recoverable.

First things first.
The power supply seems to work (will be replacing anyways)
but the mother board seems pretty well fried.

I had 1 SSD for my boot drive and 4X4TB WD Red drives for storage.

I had an ASRock Z77 Extreme3 motherboard and was running the RAID off of this.

So the questions.
1. If I buy a new ASRock Z77 Extreme 3 motherboard and plug all the drives in, and if they weren't damaged, can I rebuild the RAID without data loss?
2. Can I do this with a newer motherboard if I wanted to upgrade, but not lose all of my data.
3. Any suggestions.

Thanks as usual,
I just haven't had to deal with this one ever, and I hope you don't either.
extotherule is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 07-22-2014, 07:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mlknez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,865
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 18
What operating system were you running? Were you using a special raid program?
mlknez is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 07-22-2014, 09:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robnix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,742
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by extotherule View Post
So gents,
I came home to that unfortunate experience post vacation of a busted water line that had been running for 3-5 days. It started in the master bath, took out half of the 2nd floor, then entire first floor, and the basement.

While it was taking this all out, it dripped into my media server.

SO... I am in the process of trying to see if anything is recoverable.

First things first.
The power supply seems to work (will be replacing anyways)
but the mother board seems pretty well fried.

I had 1 SSD for my boot drive and 4X4TB WD Red drives for storage.

I had an ASRock Z77 Extreme3 motherboard and was running the RAID off of this.

So the questions.
1. If I buy a new ASRock Z77 Extreme 3 motherboard and plug all the drives in, and if they weren't damaged, can I rebuild the RAID without data loss?
2. Can I do this with a newer motherboard if I wanted to upgrade, but not lose all of my data.
3. Any suggestions.

Thanks as usual,
I just haven't had to deal with this one ever, and I hope you don't either.
Was this hardware RAID or Linux/Windows software RAID? Linux and Windows will both allow you to import existing RAID configurations. Just install the OS on the SSD, then, and only then, connect the RAID drives so you can import the array.

Looky here!
robnix is online now  
post #4 of 7 Old 07-23-2014, 07:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by extotherule View Post
So gents,
I came home to that unfortunate experience post vacation of a busted water line that had been running for 3-5 days. It started in the master bath, took out half of the 2nd floor, then entire first floor, and the basement.

While it was taking this all out, it dripped into my media server.

SO... I am in the process of trying to see if anything is recoverable.

First things first.
The power supply seems to work (will be replacing anyways)
but the mother board seems pretty well fried.

I had 1 SSD for my boot drive and 4X4TB WD Red drives for storage.

I had an ASRock Z77 Extreme3 motherboard and was running the RAID off of this.

So the questions.
1. If I buy a new ASRock Z77 Extreme 3 motherboard and plug all the drives in, and if they weren't damaged, can I rebuild the RAID without data loss?
2. Can I do this with a newer motherboard if I wanted to upgrade, but not lose all of my data.
3. Any suggestions.

Thanks as usual,
I just haven't had to deal with this one ever, and I hope you don't either.
No need to rebuild raid at all. You should use the same Mainboard, just setup the Intel bios for raid 5 before you plug in the drives. Plug HDDs into same ports is good practice. The raid info will carry over automatically if all the drives are good. I have done quite a few time with servers over the years
blackssr is online now  
post #5 of 7 Old 07-23-2014, 10:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
replayrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: NY- The tax State
Posts: 4,136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 178
I'd also stick with the same MB for the new setup- it will pretty much guarantee no loss of data unless you have more than one damaged member.
And as blackssr mentioned above- make sure you match the SATA ports on the new MB to the ports on the old MB for each particular drive.

For simple raid servers, you don't need super duper MB screaming performance, so long as they still make/sell your original MB and it's not painfully obsolete that's the way to go.

"If we ain't outta here in ten minutes, we won't need no rocket to fly through space."
replayrob is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 07-23-2014, 08:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bigbarney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 2,609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 55
And turn the water off when you go on holidays!
bigbarney is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 07-26-2014, 05:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
extotherule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey guys,
Good news, I was able to pop the drives into an updated machine and everything came back online. Thanks a bunch for the feedback!
extotherule is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off