Desktop at 90Mbps, Ps3 at 17Mbps, Ps4 at 26Mbps. All wired. Is this normal? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 28 Old 07-25-2014, 09:39 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mikej3131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Desktop at 90Mbps, Ps3 at 17Mbps, Ps4 at 26Mbps. All wired. Is this normal?

I just started testing all my internet speeds for all my devices. I have never done this until now. I just got a powerline adapter so I am able to directly connect the Ps3 and Ps4. However, when directly connected, they arent that fast. I know it is not the fault of the powerline adapters because my laptop, when connected via powerline, gets 55Mbps.

See all my timings below. Is having such a drastic drop from the wired desktop to wired Ps3's/Ps4's normal and just how it is?

Desktop directly connected to modem - 84down (via comcast speedtest)
Laptop directly connected to powerline - 55down (via comcast speedtest)
Ps4 directly connected to powerline - 26down (via "connection test" and speedof.me)
Ps3 directly connected to powerline - 17down (via "connection test" and testmy.net)

I gave my Ps3 a static IP as well as did the DMZ thing, with no change in speed.

If this is not normal, what could be wrong or what could I do to improve speed?
mikej3131 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 28 Old 07-25-2014, 10:15 AM
Senior Member
 
smitbret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: East Idaho - Pocatello
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikej3131 View Post
I just started testing all my internet speeds for all my devices. I have never done this until now. I just got a powerline adapter so I am able to directly connect the Ps3 and Ps4. However, when directly connected, they arent that fast. I know it is not the fault of the powerline adapters because my laptop, when connected via powerline, gets 55Mbps.

See all my timings below. Is having such a drastic drop from the wired desktop to wired Ps3's/Ps4's normal and just how it is?

Desktop directly connected to modem - 84down (via comcast speedtest)
Laptop directly connected to powerline - 55down (via comcast speedtest)
Ps4 directly connected to powerline - 26down (via "connection test" and speedof.me)
Ps3 directly connected to powerline - 17down (via "connection test" and testmy.net)

I gave my Ps3 a static IP as well as did the DMZ thing, with no change in speed.

If this is not normal, what could be wrong or what could I do to improve speed?
Probably more of a statement of the quality of the electrical wiring in your home more than anything.
smitbret is online now  
post #3 of 28 Old 07-25-2014, 10:29 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mikej3131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by smitbret View Post
Probably more of a statement of the quality of the electrical wiring in your home more than anything.
I don't think that is the case. The powerline to laptop is fine. I'm getting 55Mbps powerline-to-laptop (The same as I got directly going from modem-to-laptop).

Also, when I connect Ps3/Ps4 through the wireless, it says 100% signal strength, but that only equates to Ps4-20down and Ps3-13down.
mikej3131 is offline  
post #4 of 28 Old 07-25-2014, 10:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
DanPackMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Different network adapters, driver and settings could very well be the difference.
DanPackMan is offline  
post #5 of 28 Old 07-25-2014, 11:08 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mikej3131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanPackMan View Post
Different network adapters, driver and settings could very well be the difference.
Network Adapters - So youre saying maybe the PS3/Ps4 adapters are not good?
Drivers - How does this come into play? Same as the Network Adapter explanation above?
Settings - I set the PS3 to have a static IP and DMZ.

Anyone with a comcast 100Mbps subscription that can tell me what type of difference they are seeing between their wired desktop and wired Ps3/Ps4?

If my desktop is getting 80Mbps, should the Ps3/Ps4 get around that?
mikej3131 is offline  
post #6 of 28 Old 07-25-2014, 12:11 PM
Senior Member
 
jparker36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 23
You're also not using the same speedtest for your results. ISPs are known to boost burst speeds on speedtest.net to provide inflated numbers. That would account for some of the difference. Wiring, drivers, etc could add up to the rest.
jparker36 is offline  
post #7 of 28 Old 07-25-2014, 12:39 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mikej3131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jparker36 View Post
You're also not using the same speedtest for your results. ISPs are known to boost burst speeds on speedtest.net to provide inflated numbers. That would account for some of the difference. Wiring, drivers, etc could add up to the rest.
Ok just to cancel out any outside factors, I removed the powerline and took my ps3 upstairs to my computer room. I then directly connected my ps3 from the modem to ps3. So both desktop and ps3 are connected the same way. I then did a speed test on the same website (testmy.net). Results are as follows:

Desktop - 34down
PS3 - 8 down

So canceling out the power line and the Speedtest website disparity and also the wiring disparity, the results still show a drastic drop from desktop to PS3. PS3 is 1/4 the speed of desktop. It is a ps3 slim and as far as drivers, the ps3 slim model has the best driver right? My settings are optimized from what I understand (static IP and DMZ).

Anyone with a wired desktop and ps3 have similar results or better? Is this normal?

Last edited by mikej3131; 07-25-2014 at 12:43 PM.
mikej3131 is offline  
post #8 of 28 Old 07-25-2014, 01:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
DanPackMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikej3131 View Post
Network Adapters - So youre saying maybe the PS3/Ps4 adapters are not good?
Drivers - How does this come into play? Same as the Network Adapter explanation above?
Settings - I set the PS3 to have a static IP and DMZ.
No, I am not saying the PS3 adapters are no good, just different. They are obviously working. There are different adapter hardwares out there, and firmware/drivers as well that can impact performance. I'm no expert, but buffer size and buffer speed could be one example of a difference maker. Settings in the driver, such as flow control, jumbo packets, etc can be set differently and possibly impact performance.

I'd say the Ps3 adapters are designed and configured to meet the ps3 needs as judged by the designer. So, maybe not optimized for speed and rather optimized for reliability. I could be flat our wrong, just suggesting one possible reason you are seeing what you are seeing.
DanPackMan is offline  
post #9 of 28 Old 07-25-2014, 01:29 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mikej3131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Someone also with a Ps3 that is directly connected could shed some light on this. Maybe this is just the norm for Ps3/Ps4.
mikej3131 is offline  
post #10 of 28 Old 07-25-2014, 01:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Westly-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Techno World
Posts: 3,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 72
I read some time ago, that the speed test on the console connects directly to the PSN servers. The tests done are not an accurate reflection of your internet service speed. I get nowhere near my ISP download rate when running tests on my PS3, and that includes using the built in browser too. There's nothing wrong with your PS3.

Jessica Rabbit-It's not bad, it was drawn this way.

Dazed and confused over high tech.

Sigh...Concrap. The Internet Overlord Cometh
They're not com-tastic!
Westly-C is offline  
post #11 of 28 Old 07-25-2014, 01:42 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mikej3131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Westly-C View Post
I read some time ago, that the speed test on the console connects directly to the PSN servers. The tests done are not an accurate reflection of your internet service speed. I get nowhere near my ISP download rate when running tests on my PS3, and that includes using the built in browser too. There's nothing wrong with your PS3.

Jessica Rabbit-It's not bad, it was drawn this way.
Thanks for the info. Are you Ethernet connected to your ps3? And what about comparing it to your desktop speed (not your ISP download rate), how is the comparison then? Are you seeing 1/4 the speed on the ps3 compared to your desktop? That's what I'm seeing
mikej3131 is offline  
post #12 of 28 Old 07-25-2014, 01:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Westly-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Techno World
Posts: 3,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 72
My PS3 is ethernet connected. Hold, and I'll run a few speed tests now...

Dazed and confused over high tech.

Sigh...Concrap. The Internet Overlord Cometh
They're not com-tastic!
Westly-C is offline  
post #13 of 28 Old 07-25-2014, 02:29 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mikej3131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Westly-C View Post
My PS3 is ethernet connected. Hold, and I'll run a few speed tests now...
Use testmy.net for both ps3 and desktop

That's what I used
mikej3131 is offline  
post #14 of 28 Old 07-25-2014, 02:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Westly-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Techno World
Posts: 3,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Company came over, sorry for the delay.

Using testmy.net on the PS3, Android tablet and PC.

PS3 Browser
Spoiler!


Android tablet Chrome Browser
Spoiler!


PC Firefox browser
Spoiler!


And finally, the PS3 speed test under Network Settings
Spoiler!


The pc vs Android lag, I'm guessing is due to the firewall+anti virus program slowing it down.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	PS3 Testmynet.jpg
Views:	128
Size:	170.7 KB
ID:	180266   Click image for larger version

Name:	Android testmynet Screenshot.png
Views:	128
Size:	200.8 KB
ID:	180274   Click image for larger version

Name:	PC Speedtest.JPG
Views:	128
Size:	57.7 KB
ID:	180290   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20140725_145527.jpg
Views:	133
Size:	117.9 KB
ID:	180298  

Dazed and confused over high tech.

Sigh...Concrap. The Internet Overlord Cometh
They're not com-tastic!

Last edited by Westly-C; 07-25-2014 at 03:13 PM.
Westly-C is offline  
post #15 of 28 Old 07-25-2014, 03:41 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mikej3131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks.

Interesting that your Android tablet is more than double the speed of your PC, isn't it using Wifi? You must have some really interfering firewall/anti-virus on there.

What is your ISP download rate?
mikej3131 is offline  
post #16 of 28 Old 07-25-2014, 04:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Westly-C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Techno World
Posts: 3,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 72
I'm on Comcast. The normal download/upload was 25/5, but they are upping that to 30/10.
The sluggish pc performance seems to be Firefox related. Using the Chrome browser, download came in at 24.5 with upload at 9.6.

Dazed and confused over high tech.

Sigh...Concrap. The Internet Overlord Cometh
They're not com-tastic!
Westly-C is offline  
post #17 of 28 Old 07-25-2014, 04:45 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mikej3131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Taking all that into account, it still seems that your getting better performance on your PS3. Maybe I can tweak some things. Other than giving it a static IP and DMZ, are there other settings which would help?

Having the Comcast blast 100Mbps subscription and only being able to utilize 9Mbps (via testmy.net) of it on my PS3 sucks. Regardless of adapters/drivers/speedtestvariables etc.

Last edited by mikej3131; 07-25-2014 at 04:50 PM.
mikej3131 is offline  
post #18 of 28 Old 07-25-2014, 08:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
nickoakdl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 946
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikej3131 View Post
Taking all that into account, it still seems that your getting better performance on your PS3. Maybe I can tweak some things. Other than giving it a static IP and DMZ, are there other settings which would help?

Having the Comcast blast 100Mbps subscription and only being able to utilize 9Mbps (via testmy.net) of it on my PS3 sucks. Regardless of adapters/drivers/speedtestvariables etc.
I think this is normal.

My laptop's connection is superfast, my PS4 is somewhat fast, my PS3 is the slowest.
nickoakdl is offline  
post #19 of 28 Old 07-25-2014, 09:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,280
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 771 Post(s)
Liked: 295
It is completely normal, but BS. I have a 150Mbps down 20 Mbps up connection from Cox and all of my wired devices get full speed and often more from my connection. My wired PS4 maxes out at 32Mbps down and 15Mbps up no matter what. It may be a driver issue, actually crappy NIC issue, or Sony may have a speed cap (not likely on the NIC itself). The built in Network test is going to be about the speeds you can expect from SEN with downloads. I even tried connecting my modem directly to the PS4 with no change. The wireless connection on both the PS3 and PS4 are even bigger jokes.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1162.2
Denon AVR-X5200W, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200, PS4, Xbox One
(2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (2)RS-62IIs (4)RS-52IIs, (2)RS-42IIs, (1)RC-62ii, (2)RB-61IIs
(1) SVS PB12-Plus, (1)Emotiva XPA-100, (1)XPA-200, (1)UPA-200,
UN55HU8550, AVR-S900W, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Panny BDT460, PC,
(1)Klipsch G-42, (2)G-16s, (2) Bose 161, (1)BIC Acoustech PL-200
sikclown is offline  
post #20 of 28 Old 07-25-2014, 11:45 PM
Member
 
72.9.159.100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Do the PS3/'4s only have 10/100 eth?
72.9.159.100 is offline  
post #21 of 28 Old 07-26-2014, 12:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,280
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 771 Post(s)
Liked: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by 72.9.159.100 View Post
Do the PS3/'4s only have 10/100 eth?
The PS4 has 10/100/1000 for sure. It just isn't optimized to utilize the speed. Possible by design, possible an OS/Driver issue.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1162.2
Denon AVR-X5200W, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200, PS4, Xbox One
(2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (2)RS-62IIs (4)RS-52IIs, (2)RS-42IIs, (1)RC-62ii, (2)RB-61IIs
(1) SVS PB12-Plus, (1)Emotiva XPA-100, (1)XPA-200, (1)UPA-200,
UN55HU8550, AVR-S900W, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Panny BDT460, PC,
(1)Klipsch G-42, (2)G-16s, (2) Bose 161, (1)BIC Acoustech PL-200
sikclown is offline  
post #22 of 28 Old 07-26-2014, 07:48 PM
Member
 
alyssanick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 14
You may have a 100Mbit plan but that doesnt guarantee that amount. I'm assuming its not cable we are talking about.

Everything broadband is "Up to X speed" Key point being bolded.
alyssanick is offline  
post #23 of 28 Old 07-26-2014, 07:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sikclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,280
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 771 Post(s)
Liked: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by alyssanick View Post
You may have a 100Mbit plan but that doesnt guarantee that amount. I'm assuming its not cable we are talking about.

Everything broadband is "Up to X speed" Key point being bolded.
Cox cable Is 150Mbps with an allowance of an undisclosed percentage slowdown. Anything lower than 120 or so and they send a tech out.

UN65F9000AFXZA + SEK2500U/ZA firmware version 1162.2
Denon AVR-X5200W, Apple TV, Sony BDP-S6200, PS4, Xbox One
(2) Klipsch RF-82IIs, (2)RS-62IIs (4)RS-52IIs, (2)RS-42IIs, (1)RC-62ii, (2)RB-61IIs
(1) SVS PB12-Plus, (1)Emotiva XPA-100, (1)XPA-200, (1)UPA-200,
UN55HU8550, AVR-S900W, Ceton Echo, Apple TV, Panny BDT460, PC,
(1)Klipsch G-42, (2)G-16s, (2) Bose 161, (1)BIC Acoustech PL-200
sikclown is offline  
post #24 of 28 Old 07-26-2014, 09:31 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mikej3131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alyssanick View Post
You may have a 100Mbit plan but that doesnt guarantee that amount. I'm assuming its not cable we are talking about.

Everything broadband is "Up to X speed" Key point being bolded.
I don't think you read through this thread. All speeds quoted were from actual speed tests. Not internet subscription claims
mikej3131 is offline  
post #25 of 28 Old 07-26-2014, 09:42 PM
Member
 
alyssanick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Entire thread is irrelevant as it went slightly off-topic with a post or two talking about their internet plans speed.

"I get X on comcast"

Someone said 100. I'm aussie and even though I know not much about U.S internet I do know broadband shares connections from an exchange and one check of their website "up to" is the important thing to note for every connection. There are literally no guarantees once you put that into your plan
alyssanick is offline  
post #26 of 28 Old 07-26-2014, 10:43 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mikej3131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alyssanick View Post
Entire thread is irrelevant as it went slightly off-topic with a post or two talking about their internet plans speed.

"I get X on comcast"

Someone said 100. I'm aussie and even though I know not much about U.S internet I do know broadband shares connections from an exchange and one check of their website "up to" is the important thing to note for every connection. There are literally no guarantees once you put that into your plan
Actually it stayed on topic quite heavily. You are the one who is completely off topic babbling on about generalistic broadband connection speed claims that have NOTHING to do with comparing a playstation system to a PC on those connections. If you're not here to give input or have anything relevant to say about playstation systems vs PCs in regards to speed, then why exactly are you here?

Again, read the ENTIRE thread and you can see everyone is staying on topic. We state our internet subscriptions speeds, but only in relation to how those subscriptions give us comparisons from game systems to our PCs. We claim we are satisfied with the PC speed but not with the game system speeds. This thread and all of the posts inside of it, excluding yours, have nothing to do with generalizing internet subscriptions which claim "up to" certain speeds.

And just to answer your off-topic question. No, I don't have broadband, it is cable.

Last edited by mikej3131; 07-26-2014 at 11:03 PM.
mikej3131 is offline  
post #27 of 28 Old 07-27-2014, 09:33 AM
Moderator
 
PooperScooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Leominster MA
Posts: 19,938
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 274
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikej3131 View Post

And just to answer your off-topic question. No, I don't have broadband, it is cable.
Your cable connection is broadband.

Opportunity is missed by most people because it is dressed in overalls and looks like work. -- Thomas Alva Edison
PooperScooper is offline  
post #28 of 28 Old 07-27-2014, 09:58 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
mikej3131's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PooperScooper View Post
Your cable connection is broadband.
Ok then it is up to a speed. Which explains the 80down I get
mikej3131 is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off