WDTV Firmware Update Questions - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 9Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 67 Old 08-10-2014, 01:41 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otter0911 View Post
You can do both. I would try manually first...
so I know how to rename the movies - how do I manually add movie posters? Is that just throwing jpgs in the same foldeR?

oh I see a bunch of XML's out there now...is there a program that can generate these XML's? Is that thumbgen?

Thumbgen thinks that all of my movies that it can't find are "Divergent" which is basically all of them...

Last edited by JRock3x8; 08-10-2014 at 02:02 PM.
JRock3x8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 67 Old 08-10-2014, 01:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Hit the Options button then Get Content Info
Otter0911 is offline  
post #33 of 67 Old 08-10-2014, 05:18 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otter0911 View Post
Hit the Options button then Get Content Info
my only options are auto or manual - not sure what I would do in "manual" mode

also not sure but I am not seeing any of the plot synopsis, actor or other stuff. the xml for source code has :

"overview>Decorated soldier Captain Colter Stevens wakes up in the body of an unknown man, discovering he's involved in a mission to find the bomber of a Chicago commuter train. He learns he's part of a top-secret experimental program that enables him to experience the final 8 minutes of another person's life. Colter re-lives the train incident over and over again, gathering more clues each time. But can he discover who is responsible for the attack before the next one happens?</overview>
<year>2011-04-01</year>
<runtime>93</runtime>
<title>Source Code</title>
<cast>Jake Gyllenhaal / Michelle Monaghan / Vera Farmiga / Russell Peters / Joe Cobden / Michael Arden / Jeffrey Wright / Cas Anvar / Brent Skagford / Craig Thomas (II) / Gordon Masten</cast>
<director>Duncan Jones</director> "

but I'm not sure how to view that info on the WDTV.
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #34 of 67 Old 08-10-2014, 06:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
my only options are auto or manual - not sure what I would do in "manual" mode

also not sure but I am not seeing any of the plot synopsis, actor or other stuff. the xml for source code has :

"overview>Decorated soldier Captain Colter Stevens wakes up in the body of an unknown man, discovering he's involved in a mission to find the bomber of a Chicago commuter train. He learns he's part of a top-secret experimental program that enables him to experience the final 8 minutes of another person's life. Colter re-lives the train incident over and over again, gathering more clues each time. But can he discover who is responsible for the attack before the next one happens?</overview>
<year>2011-04-01</year>
<runtime>93</runtime>
<title>Source Code</title>
<cast>Jake Gyllenhaal / Michelle Monaghan / Vera Farmiga / Russell Peters / Joe Cobden / Michael Arden / Jeffrey Wright / Cas Anvar / Brent Skagford / Craig Thomas (II) / Gordon Masten</cast>
<director>Duncan Jones</director> "

but I'm not sure how to view that info on the WDTV.
Are you using Stock Theme (mochi) or a different theme?
Otter0911 is offline  
post #35 of 67 Old 08-10-2014, 07:40 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otter0911 View Post
Are you using Stock Theme (mochi) or a different theme?

Simple
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #36 of 67 Old 08-10-2014, 08:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Ok with Simple you won't see any of the movie info until you go to the movie hit Option on remote than hit View Info
JRock3x8 likes this.
Otter0911 is offline  
post #37 of 67 Old 08-11-2014, 03:00 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otter0911 View Post
Ok with Simple you won't see any of the movie info until you go to the movie hit Option on remote than hit View Info
are there any xml generators where I can just tell it "this is "x" movie"? I am amazed at how bad thumbgen's guessing skills are.
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #38 of 67 Old 08-11-2014, 05:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 18
This is what I use..It's a very basic XML generator... http://www.frillen.dk/apps/xml-editor/

If naming is a issue for the WD go to... http://www.themoviedb.org/ That's where the WD gets it's info from. For TV Shows...http://thetvdb.com/

Just match the name to those sites.
JRock3x8 likes this.
Otter0911 is offline  
post #39 of 67 Old 08-11-2014, 06:52 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otter0911 View Post
This is what I use..It's a very basic XML generator... http://www.frillen.dk/apps/xml-editor/

If naming is a issue for the WD go to... http://www.themoviedb.org/ That's where the WD gets it's info from. For TV Shows...http://thetvdb.com/

Just match the name to those sites.
ok but can I change it back then afterwards? The reason I have my movies named the way I do is so Batman Begins is not on the complete opposite side from The Dark Knight...
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #40 of 67 Old 08-11-2014, 07:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
ok but can I change it back then afterwards? The reason I have my movies named the way I do is so Batman Begins is not on the complete opposite side from The Dark Knight...
I would just use XML Editor and name them how ever you want. It's very easy to use.
JRock3x8 likes this.
Otter0911 is offline  
post #41 of 67 Old 08-11-2014, 08:05 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otter0911 View Post
I would just use XML Editor and name them how ever you want. It's very easy to use.
thanks will check that out. Really appreciate all your help.
Otter0911 likes this.
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #42 of 67 Old 08-12-2014, 03:46 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 45
seems like the easiest way to do this is to rename the movies to something the WDTV understands and then let it find the content.

I'm going to test renaming the files back to the way I want them ordered tonight and pray that works.

I really wish I could force the WDTV to only look at one directory but it seems to pick up the entire damn drive every time.

What if I mark the folders I dont want the WDTV to see as hidden? Will that work?

Last edited by JRock3x8; 08-12-2014 at 04:09 AM.
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #43 of 67 Old 08-12-2014, 07:02 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 45
can't seem to get it to recognize the phantom menace or the original Star Wars. hmmm.

edit : renaming the movies, the xml and the metathumb keeps the XML intact but somehow corrupts the metathumb so it no longer associates with the movie file. Sigh.

Last edited by JRock3x8; 08-12-2014 at 07:10 PM.
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #44 of 67 Old 08-13-2014, 05:45 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otter0911 View Post
I would just use XML Editor and name them how ever you want. It's very easy to use.
that XML editor might be okay for doing one movie at a time but running 40 that way is a bit tedious.

Also, how do you get multiple backdrops into that editor? or do you just break into the XML manually afterwards and add them?

also see my other questions - I'm mostly there but still struggling with some silly issues.
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #45 of 67 Old 08-13-2014, 08:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I would just try to add them manually if auto did not find anything. Go to the movie with no info hit on the remote "Options" then hit "Get Content Info" it will then bring a list of movie titles, pick the right one.

On the XML Editor, yes it does multi-backdrops. On the box for backdrops you put the URL of the image from any site you find that you find a pic you want as a backdrop.
Otter0911 is offline  
post #46 of 67 Old 08-13-2014, 11:24 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otter0911 View Post
I would just try to add them manually if auto did not find anything. Go to the movie with no info hit on the remote "Options" then hit "Get Content Info" it will then bring a list of movie titles, pick the right one.

On the XML Editor, yes it does multi-backdrops. On the box for backdrops you put the URL of the image from any site you find that you find a pic you want as a backdrop.
I don't think I get that choice when I hit "Options" on a blank movie. I can move, edit, or delete if memory serves.

oh wait do I have to go to settings and choose get content manually first?
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #47 of 67 Old 08-13-2014, 12:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
I don't think I get that choice when I hit "Options" on a blank movie. I can move, edit, or delete if memory serves.

oh wait do I have to go to settings and choose get content manually first?
Turn off auto and go to manual
Otter0911 is offline  
post #48 of 67 Old 08-13-2014, 07:48 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otter0911 View Post
Turn off auto and go to manual
yah i don't appear to have that option. I have Move Copy Delete Upload to Facebook (?!?) and Select Multiple
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #49 of 67 Old 08-14-2014, 07:15 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otter0911 View Post
Turn off auto and go to manual
double checked that manual was flipped - still not getting that option in the movies list.

looks like this guy (see video) can do it on mochi - not sure what I'm doing wrong in Simple. guess I will try switch then switch back... so frustrating!

also is there a program that can generate thumbs? Planet Earth is a real problem for thumbs because I ripped it chapter by chapter which the movie db doesn't recognize. I have all the jpegs I want to use in the same directory but the wdtv isn't picking them up.

JRock3x8 is offline  
post #50 of 67 Old 08-14-2014, 07:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Goto "Setup" then to "System" then turn Get Content Info to Manual Only.

Goto Videos pick a movie that does not have info/xml hit "options" then "get content info"

Yes it works on the Simple theme.
Otter0911 is offline  
post #51 of 67 Old 08-14-2014, 07:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 18
For example...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WDTVLive_2014.08.14_17.28.19.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	782.9 KB
ID:	212705  
Otter0911 is offline  
post #52 of 67 Old 08-14-2014, 07:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I also did Planet Earth...each episode...write them yourself using XML Editor.

This can be a labor of love
Otter0911 is offline  
post #53 of 67 Old 08-15-2014, 04:39 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otter0911 View Post
For example...
I'll have to take a video later and post it - mine doesn't look like that.

Does your manual XML editor post metathumbs? At this point that is starting to look like the quicker and easier solve.

finally getting results but with mochi, not simple. Except that backdrops are not populating from the manual XML edited files. I also appear to be running on an older firmware (1.something whereas the latest firmware is 2.something)

this entire process is MADDENING. but I'm making progress...breathe...

Last edited by JRock3x8; 08-15-2014 at 05:13 AM.
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #54 of 67 Old 08-15-2014, 06:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
I'll have to take a video later and post it - mine doesn't look like that.

Does your manual XML editor post metathumbs? At this point that is starting to look like the quicker and easier solve.

finally getting results but with mochi, not simple. Except that backdrops are not populating from the manual XML edited files. I also appear to be running on an older firmware (1.something whereas the latest firmware is 2.something)

this entire process is MADDENING. but I'm making progress...breathe...
I don't think your running a older firmware...Let me ask you does your WD have Netflix?
Otter0911 is offline  
post #55 of 67 Old 08-15-2014, 05:16 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otter0911 View Post
I don't think your running a older firmware...Let me ask you does your WD have Netflix?
Current Version : 1.16.13
New Version: 2.02.32

yes I have netflix and a whole crap ton of other apps.

also backdrops are not working using the manual xml generator

manual content update is working now.

so it looks like it is ordering the movies based on title and not file name - (maybe?) so how would I reorder Transformers 1 2 3? (Don't judge me - I hate Michael Bay too but damn, giant robots...)

I suppose I could manually update the title in the XML? edit - tested - I can make the update - it does show up on the WDTV and it doesn't change the sorting. Sigh.

Last edited by JRock3x8; 08-15-2014 at 05:28 PM.
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #56 of 67 Old 08-15-2014, 07:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
Current Version : 1.16.13
New Version: 2.02.32

yes I have netflix and a whole crap ton of other apps.

also backdrops are not working using the manual xml generator

manual content update is working now.

so it looks like it is ordering the movies based on title and not file name - (maybe?) so how would I reorder Transformers 1 2 3? (Don't judge me - I hate Michael Bay too but damn, giant robots...)

I suppose I could manually update the title in the XML? edit - tested - I can make the update - it does show up on the WDTV and it doesn't change the sorting. Sigh.
Whose to judge?! Love Transformers and Pacific Rim!!

I posted this in my screenshot thread...

For the "The" in titles, myself, I just leave it on most titles. But you can trick the WD. What I do is write my own XML using this program...http://www.frillen.dk/apps/xml-editor/. I name the movie "Deep" then I use XML Editor and put the title as "The Deep". It will put the movie in the "D" but will show title as "The". I did that for the Star Wars movies, I named the movies (MKVs) as Star Wars 01, Star Wars 02, and Star Wars 03. They Display as Star Wars, The Empire Strikes Back and Return of the Jedi. Simple trick.

To get Backdrops to work in XML Editor you have to put the URL for the image in box for Backdrops. For example,

If you want this as your backdrop...



Go to themoviedb.org go to the backdrop images cut/paste the URL from the site...http://image.tmdb.org/t/p/original/d...NoCpsCngwW.jpg and paste it into the Backdrop Box.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Transformers.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	379.3 KB
ID:	214273  
Otter0911 is offline  
post #57 of 67 Old 08-16-2014, 04:29 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otter0911 View Post
Whose to judge?! Love Transformers and Pacific Rim!!

I posted this in my screenshot thread...

For the "The" in titles, myself, I just leave it on most titles. But you can trick the WD. What I do is write my own XML using this program...http://www.frillen.dk/apps/xml-editor/. I name the movie "Deep" then I use XML Editor and put the title as "The Deep". It will put the movie in the "D" but will show title as "The". I did that for the Star Wars movies, I named the movies (MKVs) as Star Wars 01, Star Wars 02, and Star Wars 03. They Display as Star Wars, The Empire Strikes Back and Return of the Jedi. Simple trick.
Mine is not working this way for whatever reason - For example, I have my files names Star Trek 07 Generations, 08 First Contact, 09 Insurrection, 10 Nemesis, 11 but they are ordered by Title - Star Trek 11, Generations, Insurrection, First Contact, Nemesis.
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #58 of 67 Old 08-16-2014, 05:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
Mine is not working this way for whatever reason - For example, I have my files names Star Trek 07 Generations, 08 First Contact, 09 Insurrection, 10 Nemesis, 11 but they are ordered by Title - Star Trek 11, Generations, Insurrection, First Contact, Nemesis.
I know this is a pain but try it like this...Delete them...Write the XML on your computer first...then reload them onto the WD.
Otter0911 is offline  
post #59 of 67 Old 08-16-2014, 11:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 7,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 101
I haven't been here but gosh Otter ... thanks for all this info.

For the moment, I'm happy with just having my files have thumbnails but those tricks you mentioned for titles with "the" or naming the star wars movies are fantastic.

So, ... thanks,... I'm taking it slow and for the moment the simple theme and just thumbnails ... I'm easily pleased I guess... Though, I'm sure I will love to dig deeper in time and make many of the tweaks you detailed here.

-Brian
Otter0911 likes this.
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #60 of 67 Old 08-16-2014, 02:24 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 163 Post(s)
Liked: 45
I am having no luck with the manual xml editor. Backdrops wont show up.

figured out the manual sort - just needed to rescan the library.

I think I'm pretty good at this point.

Last edited by JRock3x8; 08-17-2014 at 11:06 AM.
JRock3x8 is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off