WDTV Firmware Update Questions - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 9Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 67 Old 08-08-2014, 03:05 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 40
WDTV Firmware Update Questions

I recently bought this from Amazon : http://www.amazon.com/Live-Media-Pla.../dp/B005KOZNBW

I love the device but would like a better menu system. I am a bit confused / overwhelmed by all the custom firmware options though. DeVicious' Simplicity seems to be the favorite but then I read the disclaimers about how the SMP device is not supported and I get scared off.

I'm really just after a movie sheet interface (that I can control what images show up) and then a nice detail view with background image (again, with image that I control). I wouldn't mind a program's assistance in populating all the movie posters and background images but if I want to go with something else then I want the ability to change it.

I've spent hours and hours reading community forum pages on the various WD sites and I think I'm going blind - can anyone help simplify this for me?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JRock3x8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 67 Old 08-08-2014, 08:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 6,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Kind of in your boat. I'm a new user and a bit overwhelmed.

When I start reading anything it's like there's a few chapters missing too.

However, there is a difference between Themes and custom FW. That much I do know. I've managed to load up a couple of themes but for the moment the default theme is the one I still like best.

As far as a program to do the work of getting your movie sheet type of stuff Thumbgen seems to be the golden ticket. My copy crashes often ... but then it does run on Window$.

You're on the right track reading the WD community forums. Mix in some hands on and I think we will soon discover there really isn't much to it.

Last edited by Brian Hampton; 08-08-2014 at 08:41 AM.
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #3 of 67 Old 08-08-2014, 09:35 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Hampton View Post
Kind of in your boat. I'm a new user and a bit overwhelmed.

When I start reading anything it's like there's a few chapters missing too.

However, there is a difference between Themes and custom FW. That much I do know. I've managed to load up a couple of themes but for the moment the default theme is the one I still like best.

As far as a program to do the work of getting your movie sheet type of stuff Thumbgen seems to be the golden ticket. My copy crashes often ... but then it does run on Window$.

You're on the right track reading the WD community forums. Mix in some hands on and I think we will soon discover there really isn't much to it.

well they could start with a basic glossary - defining terms like Hub vs SMP and firmware vs theme and linksheet vs backdrop. In those insulated circles those are perfectly understood terms but to newcomers / outsiders, that is a wall that you can't see past.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #4 of 67 Old 08-08-2014, 11:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 6,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 68
I agree.

When I started looking at it ... seemed there were secrets or something... But, I don't really think it's so bad once you start tweaking it.

I loaded a few FW onto mine... I have the latest version and it's the one you have (I think) but I don't know that it really qualifies as people say SMP ...

I know just where you're coming from but I think all said there's only like a tiny bit to learn and then you're all set.

I've put mine away because I have friends coming for the weekend and I wanted to focus on that but if you haven't tried installing a new theme then try that. It's easy using the IP address of the WDLive. load up a zip file there. If your computer always unzips downloads then you may have a slight issue there.

-Brian
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #5 of 67 Old 08-08-2014, 11:49 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 40
so a guy over at their community site posted this which was REALLY helpful...

http://community.wd.com/t5/WD-TV-The...es/td-p/776849


"
hub = old device that has internal hard drive

smp = getting old but still supported

theme = set of xml's and images used to modify the look of the on screen display

firmware = software package designed to modify the functionality of the device

moviesheet = custom backdrop of movie picture image, usually containing data and synolpis info about the film

ok.

first off custom themes are official supported by WD

regarding moviesheets, how does the WD display these moviesheets?

There are 2 methods

XML files - these are officially supported, but has the downside that image is not immediately displayed, it takes a second, there's also so other quirks you can search about on forum

Linksheets - this method has the benefit of moviesheets are displayed instantly, but is not an officially supported method

the linksheets method works fine on the HUB due to the internal hdd

on the SMP it actually works as well, but you are limited to 30MB for all theme and moviesheet data

as a result you run out of storage space too quickly, you might only be able to get 20 moviesheets + theme into that 30MB limit

so in comes custom firmware, besides many other things, it allows to run the theme on a thumbdrive or attached hdd

so that users are only limited to the size of their hdd for moviesheet and theme data

both xml or linksheets methods allow you to choose and change moviesheets anytime you want

you'll probably want to look into software called thumbgen to help you do this
....
"


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #6 of 67 Old 08-08-2014, 12:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 6,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Nice to know about one reason for custom FW.

I'm not in a hurry to void my warranty yet but I did instantly recycle the box and I do know it's a keeper.

I believe in time I will want those "link sheets" and stuff... I'll want the think looking spiffy. And I have so many movies I'm sure I would run out of space for those graphics on the built in storage.

Maybe I will go ahead and flash the FW next week ... whenever I dig back into this. I'm real new to the whole thing but loving it so far.

-Brian
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #7 of 67 Old 08-08-2014, 12:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 18
This is the WD TV Live Hub... http://www.amazon.com/Live-Hub-Media.../dp/B004GK0GKO

This is the WD TV SMP (Streaming Media Player) or 3rd Gen... http://www.amazon.com/Live-Media-Pla...keywords=wd+tv

My advise is to start with a theme that will just display the XMLs generated by the WD (Get Content Info). Learn how it works then move on to more complicated themes that use Sheets, Thumbgen etc.

I started with Mojo by Tinwarble.

This is theme I use... http://community.wd.com/t5/WD-TV-The...ss/td-p/493774

I just modified it after using it for awhile to do Sheets.
Otter0911 is online now  
post #8 of 67 Old 08-08-2014, 12:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 6,763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 68
In terms of a glossary I was (a tiny bit) confused when people referred to the Media Library.

It you know means something in regular terms like the place where the media is stored and stuff.

But in WDLive world it's a feature (not a bug) with a specific meaning and use. And I understand it's quickly something you will want to mostly have dis-abled.
From the manual - (which I do recommend reading)

Media Library
Media Library scans and consolidates the media contents of a USB drive into a database through which you can easily locate media files. This feature is on by default.
The following conditions will prevent the Media Library from processing your media.
The USB device has read-only protection.
There is not enough hard drive space on the USB device. Your media player needs some space to cache information, so that searches and scans are faster.


That's on pg 156 and it goes into more detail. You would use this feature to get meta data like ThumbGen does but it's likely better to have all that stuff be part of your actual network shared media storage folder.

-Brian
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #9 of 67 Old 08-08-2014, 12:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I use the Media Library, some people like it some don't.

Basically what it does is, for example, I have 4 hard drives connected to the WDs with just movies. So the Media Library displays all my movies under Videos. If I have the Media Library turned off it would display each Hard Drive. That's the simple explanation.
Otter0911 is online now  
post #10 of 67 Old 08-08-2014, 12:45 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otter0911 View Post
This is the WD TV Live Hub... http://www.amazon.com/Live-Hub-Media.../dp/B004GK0GKO

This is the WD TV SMP (Streaming Media Player) or 3rd Gen... http://www.amazon.com/Live-Media-Pla...keywords=wd+tv

My advise is to start with a theme that will just display the XMLs generated by the WD (Get Content Info). Learn how it works then move on to more complicated themes that use Sheets, Thumbgen etc.

I started with Mojo by Tinwarble.

This is theme I use... http://community.wd.com/t5/WD-TV-The...ss/td-p/493774

I just modified it after using it for awhile to do Sheets.

This I did not understand - how do switch themes on the WDTV? I did some quick googling and all the results were flashing the firmware.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #11 of 67 Old 08-08-2014, 12:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
This I did not understand - how do switch themes on the WDTV? I did some quick googling and all the results were flashing the firmware.
For best results use Google Chrome... Put in the IPS address of the WD. It will bring you to the device's homepage under appearance you upload the theme. It has to be Zipped. Only one theme at a time on the SMP
JRock3x8 likes this.
Otter0911 is online now  
post #12 of 67 Old 08-08-2014, 12:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Read here on uploading themes...

http://community.wd.com/t5/WD-TV-Liv...ng/td-p/532235
JRock3x8 likes this.
Otter0911 is online now  
post #13 of 67 Old 08-08-2014, 12:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Going back to Media Library, in this screenshot the Star Wars movies...the Original movies are on a different hard drive then the newer movies. Media Library displays them all together...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WDTVLiveHub_2014.05.17_08.49.53.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	463.1 KB
ID:	203345  
Otter0911 is online now  
post #14 of 67 Old 08-08-2014, 12:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 18
If you look at my Screenshots post Screenshots! Media Players WD's etc.

The pics with my Movies (Media Library) is the stock theme with no mods.

The Pics with Network Shares and Music is Sheets. Hope that helps...
Otter0911 is online now  
post #15 of 67 Old 08-08-2014, 01:07 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 40
thanks otter

how do you get to your WDTV's IP address? Is that in some settings menu? I'm at work so I'm not anywhere near my box.

(for my own reference to change themes)

To install the theme, download the zip file to your PC, open your web browser (no IE9),
then type your SMP's IP address to open the Web UI.
Type in your password (the default is "admin"),
click on the box next to "I accept" and
then click on LOGIN, then click on "Appearance",
then click on "Browse" and
navigate to where you saved the "[ThemeName].zjp" file,
then click on "Open".
Click on "Submit",
then once the Web UI finishes uploading the theme,
on you SMP press "Setup" on your remote,
select "Appearance",
then select "User Interface Themes",
select [Theme Name] then when prompted select "Apply theme".


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by JRock3x8; 08-08-2014 at 01:10 PM.
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #16 of 67 Old 08-08-2014, 01:12 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otter0911 View Post
If you look at my Screenshots post Screenshots! Media Players WD's etc.

The pics with my Movies (Media Library) is the stock theme with no mods.

The Pics with Network Shares and Music is Sheets. Hope that helps...
also I don't follow what part of that was "stock" - my interface doesn't look like ANY of those pictures.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #17 of 67 Old 08-08-2014, 01:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
thanks otter

how do you get to your WDTV's IP address? Is that in some settings menu? I'm at work so I'm not anywhere near my box.

(for my own reference to change themes)

To install the theme, download the zip file to your PC, open your web browser (no IE9),
then type your SMP's IP address to open the Web UI.
Type in your password (the default is "admin"),
click on the box next to "I accept" and
then click on LOGIN, then click on "Appearance",
then click on "Browse" and
navigate to where you saved the "[ThemeName].zjp" file,
then click on "Open".
Click on "Submit",
then once the Web UI finishes uploading the theme,
on you SMP press "Setup" on your remote,
select "Appearance",
then select "User Interface Themes",
select [Theme Name] then when prompted select "Apply theme".
That's it exactly! You can find the IP by looking at the Networked Drives hooked to it thru This PC (windows) or using WD Link or WD Discovery programs.
Otter0911 is online now  
post #18 of 67 Old 08-08-2014, 01:22 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otter0911 View Post
That's it exactly! You can find the IP by looking at the Networked Drives hooked to it thru This PC (windows) or using WD Link or WD Discovery programs.
ok I've actually seen the device a couple times in Windows Explorer - hopefully it will be easy to figure out.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #19 of 67 Old 08-08-2014, 01:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
also I don't follow what part of that was "stock" - my interface doesn't look like ANY of those pictures.
Sorry I mean the Simple theme with out no mods. If you upload the Simple theme that's how is displays.
JRock3x8 likes this.
Otter0911 is online now  
post #20 of 67 Old 08-08-2014, 01:32 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otter0911 View Post
Sorry I mean the Simple theme with out no mods. If you upload the Simple theme that's how is displays.
I was going to get really upset if all I had to do was push a button to get my system to look like that

which in a sense I do only have to push a button...

anyways...thanks will test some of this out this weekend...


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #21 of 67 Old 08-08-2014, 01:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 18
No Prob, If you need any help post here or send a PM...
Otter0911 is online now  
post #22 of 67 Old 08-08-2014, 05:32 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otter0911 View Post
No Prob, If you need any help post here or send a PM...
ok so the update took fine but the menus are some black on black making it impossible to read.

I've also got some pretty major overscan with half of the time falling off my TV

And I clearly didn't set something up right because my videos folder is ... well messed up

Trying to figure out this media library - I think I added the right folder but it says "Getting Content Info..." for like 5 minutes now and there's only 40 movies in there...

yah no videos in the video list - somehow I have not gotten my new drive added correctly.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by JRock3x8; 08-08-2014 at 05:37 PM.
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #23 of 67 Old 08-08-2014, 07:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 18
On the overscan you can adjust the screen size in setup. I had to reduce in size on my plasma to 95%.

After you did a update did you restart the device?
Otter0911 is online now  
post #24 of 67 Old 08-09-2014, 04:33 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otter0911 View Post
After you did a update did you restart the device?
Noooo.....


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #25 of 67 Old 08-09-2014, 05:07 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 40
ok restarted and fixed the overscan - looks a bit better now - less glitchy.

something is still not right with the media library - it is scanning through "getting content info..." now but not populating any of my videos yet.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #26 of 67 Old 08-09-2014, 03:08 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otter0911 View Post
On the overscan you can adjust the screen size in setup. I had to reduce in size on my plasma to 95%.

After you did a update did you restart the device?
scan finished still nothing - it sees the shared files from the first mybook live but not the mycloud drive.

I can find all of the movies if I go through the files menu.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #27 of 67 Old 08-09-2014, 07:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 18
On the mycloud drive(network shares) you have to add to media library.
Otter0911 is online now  
post #28 of 67 Old 08-10-2014, 06:19 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otter0911 View Post
On the mycloud drive(network shares) you have to add to media library.
ok we're making progress the problem was the cloud drive not the wdtv - for some reason the mycloud did auto generate the dlna list until I logged into it for the first time. Not sure why it doesn't just do that by default but whatever.

The WDTV is now scanning the library.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #29 of 67 Old 08-10-2014, 12:09 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 107 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otter0911 View Post
On the mycloud drive(network shares) you have to add to media library.
ok update finished it got about a third of my movies and left the rest blank. Can I take this process further and fill in some of the rest manually? Or should I mess with the title names to try and get better results?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #30 of 67 Old 08-10-2014, 12:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Otter0911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8 View Post
ok update finished it got about a third of my movies and left the rest blank. Can I take this process further and fill in some of the rest manually? Or should I mess with the title names to try and get better results?
You can do both. I would try manually first...
Otter0911 is online now  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off