What's the Best Choice for Local Streaming & HQ Video/Audio? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-14-2014, 06:53 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
heartlesslova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Mississauga Ontario
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What's the Best Choice for Local Streaming & HQ Video/Audio?

I have a large collection of movies, some in MKV, some other formats. All 1080p, some are extremely high bitrate (ripped 1:1), with DTS/Dolby of course.

I've used WDTVs until last year, when I got fed up with mine being slow and not having some extra features (Netflix HD etc). Currently, I'm using an HTPC, but I've noticed that VLC doesn't quite provide the audio crispness that the WDTV did. Interestingly, XBMC sounds better than VLC.

I'd prefer a fast, no-hassle box that won't stutter even with 50 Mb bitrates, can handle all the audio codecs (lossless etc.), and ideally, has Netflix in HD (I'm in Canada, so not sure how much value Roku or ATV have for me).

I get the impression Android boxes can't handle high bitrate video or the audio codecs, any truth to that? And Android boxes would use XBMC right?


Thanks!
heartlesslova is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-15-2014, 07:48 AM
Senior Member
 
Lt. Dang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Which WDTV were you using? I've been using the WDTV SMP for quite a while now and never found it slow?

Regards,

Lt. Dang

It's life Jim..... But not as we know it.
Lt. Dang is offline  
Old 08-15-2014, 09:50 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
heartlesslova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Mississauga Ontario
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had a few of the older ones, and the last one I had was the Live. The SMP is the newest one right, the one without Netflix?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lt. Dang View Post
Which WDTV were you using? I've been using the WDTV SMP for quite a while now and never found it slow?

Regards,

Lt. Dang
heartlesslova is offline  
Old 08-15-2014, 10:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Delaware - The First State (USA)
Posts: 10,464
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 534 Post(s)
Liked: 464
Quote:
Originally Posted by heartlesslova View Post
I've had a few of the older ones, and the last one I had was the Live. The SMP is the newest one right, the one without Netflix?
No the SMP is the Gen 3 previous model with Netflix. The newest WDTV-MP is identical to the SMP with the exception that is does not include Netflix and came with the Grid UI -- as such it is really Gen 3 hardware. The just released firmware update of the SMP gives it the option of the Grid UI and Miracast.

So there is no difference between the Live-SMP and the WDTV-MP other than the SMP has Netflix while the MP does not and now the SMP sells for ~$20 more than the MP -- while supplies last. There must have been some sort of major kerfluffle between WD and Netflix because it seems the only reason they had to release a "new" unit was to give Netflix the boot -- or did Netflix give them the boot.

And yes, these latest models will play anything you throw at them including full bitrate BD rips and True-HD/DTS-HD pass through to your AVR. Much better than the older models.

- kelson h

The bitterness of poor quality lasts long after the sweetness of the low price is forgotten . . . life is too short to drink bad wine


Last edited by Kelson; 08-15-2014 at 10:16 AM.
Kelson is offline  
Old 08-15-2014, 10:50 AM
Senior Member
 
Lt. Dang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes I have the WDTV SMP with Netflix. WD still seem to see this as a current model as it is still on sale and received another firmware update just a couple of days ago. I've always found it a slick and capable performer. It plays every format I have thrown at it and bit streams DTS MA and Tru HD via HDMI to my AV amp. Not had any problems with it being slow so maybe you should consider one?

Regards,

Lt. Dang
Lt. Dang is offline  
Old 08-15-2014, 12:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 10,266
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by heartlesslova View Post
I've used WDTVs until last year, when I got fed up with mine being slow and not having some extra features (Netflix HD etc).
I just tried the new WD TV Media Player since I recently learned it supports HD audio. I liked it well enough but ultimately I punted (sold it) and went with a HP Chromebox and OpenELEC. It was $150 versus $90 or so for the WD... best $60 I ever spent. You could use dual boot to access Netflix via Chrome or go Ubuntu...
Charles R is offline  
Old 08-15-2014, 03:52 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
heartlesslova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Mississauga Ontario
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
But does the Chromebox handle the HD audio formats and high bitrate video well?

I think Costco has the WDTV you guys are talking about for $59 up here.

I'd actually prefer to go with something that runs Android so I can install other apps and all that, but I can barely find any info on whether they can handle the types of files that we audio/videophiles like.

Just upgraded my setup to a 7.1 thanks to $45 Fluance bookshelves!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post
I just tried the new WD TV Media Player since I recently learned it supports HD audio. I liked it well enough but ultimately I punted (sold it) and went with a HP Chromebox and OpenELEC. It was $150 versus $90 or so for the WD... best $60 I ever spent. You could use dual boot to access Netflix via Chrome or go Ubuntu...
heartlesslova is offline  
Old 08-15-2014, 05:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 10,266
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by heartlesslova View Post
But does the Chromebox handle the HD audio formats and high bitrate video well?
Yes - unlike Android streamers. Haswell (4th generation) Celeron CPU.
Charles R is offline  
Old 08-15-2014, 05:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Lt. Dang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 440
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post
Yes - unlike Android streamers. Haswell (4th generation) Celeron CPU.
The Chromebox specs seem to talk about 5.1 HD audio rather than 7.1?
Is that correct?

Regards,

Lt. Dang
Lt. Dang is offline  
Old 08-15-2014, 05:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
heartlesslova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Mississauga Ontario
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see that Amazon Canada has the Roku 3 for $47. Is this worth getting? I have no info on this thing... wonder if it can stream what I need. Maybe I could use a proxy for the channels!

Edit: Looks like you need to use Plex for streaming, and on-the-fly transcoding for some formats. How it handles HQ audio is unclear.

Last edited by heartlesslova; 08-15-2014 at 06:34 PM.
heartlesslova is offline  
Old 08-15-2014, 06:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 10,266
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lt. Dang View Post
The Chromebox specs seem to talk about 5.1 HD audio rather than 7.1?
Is that correct?
No. It bitstreams via OpenELEC... being an Intel Celeron chip it runs the Generic x86_64 version of XBMC... the same as current PCs.

Last edited by Charles R; 08-15-2014 at 06:26 PM.
Charles R is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off