*Official* Tidal music streaming thread - Page 57 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 424Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1681 of 1709 Old 10-02-2017, 08:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bommai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 5,191
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 467 Post(s)
Liked: 142
I bought a Denon x4300h recently mainly for Dolby Atmos and audyssey xt32. As a side benefit, I have heos and one of the supported providers is tidal. I got a free trial to tidal for 6 months through sprint. Quality is great and I can control it using the heos app on my iPhone. Win win win.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
pappaduke, Mike_WI and KenM10759 like this.
bommai is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1682 of 1709 Old 10-03-2017, 06:00 PM
Senior Member
 
arftech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maryland USA
Posts: 396
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 194 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by vahid hoseinzade View Post
Hi guys. I want to use tidal on my new fiio x5 iii. I am from iran and guess the tidal or part of it (maybe login, i do not know)
is filtered or banned in iran. By iran itself or by tidal (I am not sure). I have the same problem with spotify for example.
I need to use vpn to connect spotify ( in the free mode). So, my problem is I can’t, and it seems it’s impossible to
Setup a vpn on fiio x5 iii, (x5 has android 5.1.1 but has no option for vpn). So, my question how can i use tidal on my x5?
Dose anyone know how can i setup a vpn on x5 or any kind of proxy? Or maybe if i subscribe in tidal, then there will not be
Any problem? Any help? Thanks
You may be better served in you ask your question over on the Head-Fi.org forum. Search for the FIIO X5 threads.

Good luck in your quest.

Oppo UDP-203, Anthem AVM50V 3D Pre-Pro, Krell KAV-500 3 Channel Amp, Adcom GFA-535 2 Channel Amp, Cary Audio 306/200 CD Player, Emotiva Stealth DC-1 DAC, Sony PHA-3 Headphone DAC/Amp, Hifiman HE-500 Headphones, Sony MDR-Z7 Headphones, Westone W50 in ear monitors, Apple PowerBeats 3, MacBook Pro-Tidal HiFi/Roon, Apple iPad Pro/Roon, Sony XBR65X930C, Sonus faber Luito Towers, Sonus faber Luito Monitors, Sonus faber Smart Center Channel, REL T2 sub, Sony SWF-BR100W Wireless Subwoofer for 930C
arftech is offline  
post #1683 of 1709 Old 10-05-2017, 10:51 AM
Member
 
oneartist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Central CA
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I had Tidal routed from BubbleUpNP's Android menu through JRiverMC DLNA as a local Renderer out to Oppo 105's DAC via usb. This arrangement allows for higher bit and sample rates for playing MQA Masters music. It worked great but for some unknown reason Tidal is no longer on the BubbleUpNP cloud menu. The BubbleUpNP android app connects to the BubbleUpNP server on my laptop but no sign of Tidal. Here is a link to how I first set this up: https://blog.dsnyder.ws-e.com/index....r-convolution/. Any suggestions appreciated.
oneartist is offline  
 
post #1684 of 1709 Old 10-05-2017, 02:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KenM10759's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central MA USA
Posts: 2,913
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1603 Post(s)
Liked: 850
I just tried the BubbleUpNP app on my phone. No JRiverMC involved and just my KEF M500 headphones plugged into my Android phone, Tidal was there and working great!

KEF R500, R200C, R100, SVS SB2000 sub, NAD T758 receiver, Pro-Ject RPM1 TT w/ Ortofon 2M Red, Bluesound Vault2, Sony BDP-S480 BlueRay player, Samsung UN55JU6500F 4K LED TV, KEF M500 headphones, Sony CDP-CE500 CD changer.
KenM10759 is offline  
post #1685 of 1709 Old 10-05-2017, 04:44 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
dscottj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by KenM10759 View Post
I just tried the BubbleUpNP app on my phone. No JRiverMC involved and just my KEF M500 headphones plugged into my Android phone, Tidal was there and working great!
I had BubbleUpNP on my phone to control the music store in my NAS downstairs. I remember the day they added Tidal support like it was yesterday. It's pretty much the main use of my smartphone.

I'm also an author! Gemini Gambit - He's trying to save the world. She's trying to hide from it. When they meet, death is the least of their worries. http://www.amazon.com/Gemini-Gambit-...dp/0986396214/
Its sequel, Dragon's Ark, is also available. Behind the Great Firewall of China, there are secrets people will kill to keep. https://www.amazon.com/Dragons-Ark-G...dp/B01LD5BYV4/
dscottj is offline  
post #1686 of 1709 Old 10-05-2017, 06:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KenM10759's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central MA USA
Posts: 2,913
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1603 Post(s)
Liked: 850
I've had it on my phone and my Android tablet for a couple of years. I only use the BubbleUpNP app when I'm traveling because the DAC's in those devices isn't exactly stellar. At home I've got Bluesound to fo the heavy lifting. I love it because I can create and save a playlist that can be a mix of Tidal and my own library's music.

KEF R500, R200C, R100, SVS SB2000 sub, NAD T758 receiver, Pro-Ject RPM1 TT w/ Ortofon 2M Red, Bluesound Vault2, Sony BDP-S480 BlueRay player, Samsung UN55JU6500F 4K LED TV, KEF M500 headphones, Sony CDP-CE500 CD changer.
KenM10759 is offline  
post #1687 of 1709 Old 10-11-2017, 05:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Northern NJ & Myrtle Beach area, SC
Posts: 1,832
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 877 Post(s)
Liked: 538
*Official* Tidal music streaming thread

Gang; when used in partnership with Tidal PC desktop app can the Red and/or Black Dragonfly fully unfold Tidal MQA Masters series to 192 Hz?

Thanks, I'm a bit confused

Primary set-up 5.1.4; Yamaha A2050, Paired w/Parsound P5 Preamp & A21 amp
Revel F206 fronts & Revel M16 rears; Outlaw X12 Sub & 4 RSL C34e in-ceilings

Secondary 5.1: Denon S900W, Polks LSiM703/704C, Polk RC80i in-ceiling rears, RSL Speedwoofer 10s
yanks1 is offline  
post #1688 of 1709 Old 10-12-2017, 07:39 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
dscottj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by yanks1 View Post
Gang; when used in partnership with Tidal PC desktop app can the Red and/or Black Dragonfly fully unfold Tidal MQA Masters series to 192 Hz?
It's my understanding that is the case. It certainly seems to be using the Mac desktop client. However, it's fiddly to get the OS to leave things alone. With OSX it was a couple of obscure, hard-to-find switches that needed to be thrown before it worked for me. I'm pretty sure the case will be the same WRT PCs. Google is your friend!

I'm also an author! Gemini Gambit - He's trying to save the world. She's trying to hide from it. When they meet, death is the least of their worries. http://www.amazon.com/Gemini-Gambit-...dp/0986396214/
Its sequel, Dragon's Ark, is also available. Behind the Great Firewall of China, there are secrets people will kill to keep. https://www.amazon.com/Dragons-Ark-G...dp/B01LD5BYV4/
dscottj is offline  
post #1689 of 1709 Old 10-12-2017, 10:44 AM
ems
Newbie
 
ems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello to All
I am new here and may not be using the service correctly. Pardons all round!
Perhaps someone has experienced my problem.
Tidal Desktop overrides my choice of sound source.
I listen using an Asus very recent edition Notebook - Windows 10 - streaming to the Audio-gd NOS 7 DAC (with Amanero USB driver).
In settings, I choose my DAC, set Force volume, and off we go. Problem is that at some point, sooner or later, the music suddenly stops and after a short while begins again (of lower audio quality). On the screen I read 'chosen output has been disconnected'. I check settings and see that Tidal has reverted to System Default.
Querying Tidal directly, I was advised to dump, reinstall and reboot - all of which I did to no avail! (And today even System Default was disconnected!).
There must be a solution ... Please help

ems
ems is offline  
post #1690 of 1709 Old 10-12-2017, 11:06 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
lovingdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 12,095
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2862 Post(s)
Liked: 608
Guys - In case anyone else has had issues in the past week or so with dropouts from Tidal, I wanted to give a heads up that they have a known issue on their end that is affecting multiple users. They have not been able to provide an estimated resolution time, but say it is a high priority for them. Until recently, playback over my Bluesound Node was flawless. However earlier this week, for a couple of nights, the audio was dropping out for a couple seconds every 15-30 seconds. I had the same issue the next night. Yesterday it seemed OK. I reached out to Bluesound who said they had multiple reports of this from Tidal users and after checking with Tidal they confirmed the known issue. Anyone else experience this? Hopefully it is already fixed or will be soon.
lovingdvd is offline  
post #1691 of 1709 Old 10-12-2017, 03:49 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi Guys,
Hoping to get some help for TIDAL Masters. I got following two setup options.

1. windows Laptop -> Steinberg UR22 24/96 USB 2 Audio interface using ASIO -> Marantz NR1607 - Analogue in
2. Windows Laptop -> HDMI OUT -> Marantz NR1607


Right now I am using no 1 with a plugin called Asio Bridge that by passes windows mixer and auto set the sample rate of the Steinberg so I dont have to switch anything when I go from 44.1 to 96 or 88.2. I am trying to avoid Steinberg since it has its own OP amp I guess to control the output volume and assuming Marantz might have a better DAC.

If I use no 2 will I have to change the sample rate in PC every time between HFI and Master or there is a way to send bitstream audio from the laptop? will it be better quality you think?
JazzKhan is offline  
post #1692 of 1709 Old 10-13-2017, 10:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
pappaduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Philly area
Posts: 972
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovingdvd View Post
Guys - In case anyone else has had issues in the past week or so with dropouts from Tidal, I wanted to give a heads up that they have a known issue on their end that is affecting multiple users. They have not been able to provide an estimated resolution time, but say it is a high priority for them. Until recently, playback over my Bluesound Node was flawless. However earlier this week, for a couple of nights, the audio was dropping out for a couple seconds every 15-30 seconds. I had the same issue the next night. Yesterday it seemed OK. I reached out to Bluesound who said they had multiple reports of this from Tidal users and after checking with Tidal they confirmed the known issue. Anyone else experience this? Hopefully it is already fixed or will be soon.
I had the same issue about two weeks ago. What worked for me was rebooting my Vault 2, my Pulse mini and my router. Before I that I reached out to Bluesound and here is what they suggested after I had already resolved the issue.

Jon Polimi
Jon Polimis (Bluesound)
Sep 18, 10:47 AM EDT

Hello Rodney,

Thank you for contacting the BluOS Support Crew.

We saw from your Diagnostics Log that the Player had 15 occurrences of an outputUnderrun error.

The outputUnderrun error will only occur if the Player is trying to Play audio but the network can not send the next piece of the stream for the Player to process.

We recommend rebooting the network and if you are using a network adapter or extender to reboot that as well.

Typically we recommend powering down the Player, Powering down any adapters and rebooting the Router, after 5 minutes
reboot the Extender and after a few minutes reboot the Player.

Additionally, we have seen similar reports of this issue with Tidal from customers in the United States, the solution for those customers was to change the DNS on their Router to Googles DNS ( 8.8.8.8 with a backup if configurable of 8.8.4.4 ) once this was done their were no more issues.

Customers that contacted Tidal directly for this issue where told the same, those customers got back to us informing us what Tidal had said as it worked for them.

As such please change the DNS of your Router to 8.8.8.8 with a backup dns of 8.8.4.4. If assistance is required please contact your Router manufacture or internet service provider.

Thank You.

Jon Polimis
BluOS Support Crew Analyst

I’m posting there suggestion in case rebooting doesn’t work for you. While I saved there email I left there fix alone because I know so little about networking I didn’t want to mess with settings since rebooting has worked for me.

Yamaha 2010
Oppo 103D,ATV3,PS3, Samsung UN60ES7100F, Bluesound Vault 2 and Pulse Mini, Harmony One, Paradigm Monitor 9's, CC-390, 2ADP 390's/190's, 2 PDR 100's. B&W P5
Zone2-Paradigm SE-1's, Zone3-Paradigm-Stylus 370-SM
pappaduke is offline  
post #1693 of 1709 Old 10-13-2017, 01:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
bambam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 878
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Can you access Tidal Masters on the iphone app? I can't seem to find it.
bambam is online now  
post #1694 of 1709 Old 10-13-2017, 01:56 PM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 20,156
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1299 Post(s)
Liked: 2789
Quote:
Originally Posted by pappaduke View Post
Additionally, we have seen similar reports of this issue with Tidal from customers in the United States, the solution for those customers was to change the DNS on their Router to Googles DNS ( 8.8.8.8 with a backup if configurable of 8.8.4.4 ) once this was done their were no more issues

As such please change the DNS of your Router to 8.8.8.8 with a backup dns of 8.8.4.4. If assistance is required please contact your Router manufacture or internet service provider.
this DNS change to Google works for many network issues

please take the high road in every post:do not respond to or quote a problematic post: report it
HDMI.org:what a mess this is a red flag issue
HDCP = Hollywood's Draconian Copy Protection system
Test Reports HDMI Cables that support 18GBPS&HDMI 2.0b
markrubin is offline  
post #1695 of 1709 Old 10-13-2017, 01:59 PM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 20,156
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1299 Post(s)
Liked: 2789
Quote:
Originally Posted by pappaduke View Post
Additionally, we have seen similar reports of this issue with Tidal from customers in the United States, the solution for those customers was to change the DNS on their Router to Googles DNS ( 8.8.8.8 with a backup if configurable of 8.8.4.4 ) once this was done their were no more issues

As such please change the DNS of your Router to 8.8.8.8 with a backup dns of 8.8.4.4. If assistance is required please contact your Router manufacture or internet service provider.
this recommended DNS change to Google works for many network issues

please take the high road in every post:do not respond to or quote a problematic post: report it
HDMI.org:what a mess this is a red flag issue
HDCP = Hollywood's Draconian Copy Protection system
Test Reports HDMI Cables that support 18GBPS&HDMI 2.0b
markrubin is offline  
post #1696 of 1709 Old 10-13-2017, 06:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Northern NJ & Myrtle Beach area, SC
Posts: 1,832
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 877 Post(s)
Liked: 538
Quote:
Originally Posted by bambam View Post
Can you access Tidal Masters on the iphone app? I can't seem to find it.


No, only via PC App for now

Primary set-up 5.1.4; Yamaha A2050, Paired w/Parsound P5 Preamp & A21 amp
Revel F206 fronts & Revel M16 rears; Outlaw X12 Sub & 4 RSL C34e in-ceilings

Secondary 5.1: Denon S900W, Polks LSiM703/704C, Polk RC80i in-ceiling rears, RSL Speedwoofer 10s
yanks1 is offline  
post #1697 of 1709 Old 10-13-2017, 06:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
torii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 3,376
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1548 Post(s)
Liked: 843
using a bluesound node 2 you can access with phone

Power: Marantz sr7008, NAD C 275Bee x 2, Video: Oppo 103, Samsung 75un6300
Speakers: Focal aria 948, Focal cc900, Klipsch synergy KSF 10.5 Subs: Rythmik FV25HP, Rythmik FV15HP
torii is online now  
post #1698 of 1709 Old 10-13-2017, 07:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Northern NJ & Myrtle Beach area, SC
Posts: 1,832
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 877 Post(s)
Liked: 538
*Official* Tidal music streaming thread

Won't be MQA quality per my understanding on Tidal web-site

Primary set-up 5.1.4; Yamaha A2050, Paired w/Parsound P5 Preamp & A21 amp
Revel F206 fronts & Revel M16 rears; Outlaw X12 Sub & 4 RSL C34e in-ceilings

Secondary 5.1: Denon S900W, Polks LSiM703/704C, Polk RC80i in-ceiling rears, RSL Speedwoofer 10s
yanks1 is offline  
post #1699 of 1709 Old 10-13-2017, 07:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
torii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 3,376
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1548 Post(s)
Liked: 843
Quote:
Originally Posted by yanks1 View Post
Won't be MQA quality per my understanding on Tidal web-site
yea, was thinking along lines of controlling with phone and not playback thru phone..

Power: Marantz sr7008, NAD C 275Bee x 2, Video: Oppo 103, Samsung 75un6300
Speakers: Focal aria 948, Focal cc900, Klipsch synergy KSF 10.5 Subs: Rythmik FV25HP, Rythmik FV15HP
torii is online now  
post #1700 of 1709 Old 10-13-2017, 07:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1297 Post(s)
Liked: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by torii View Post
using a bluesound node 2 you can access with phone
In that case you're using the Bluesound app, not the Tidal app.
torii likes this.

HT: Sony 940C, Oppo 203, Harman/Kardon DPR1001, Infinity Interlude IL40 x2, Infinity Interlude IL36C, Infinity MS-1 ii x2, Infinity MSW-1
Computer: Elac Uni-Fi UB5 x2, Elac Element EA101EQ integrated amp, SVS SB-12NSD
Dedicated 2-channel: Infinity Intermezzo 4.1t towers, Bluesound Node 2, Emotiva PT-100, Crown XLS 1502, Furman PL-8C
TuteTibiImperes is online now  
post #1701 of 1709 Old 10-13-2017, 07:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
torii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 3,376
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1548 Post(s)
Liked: 843
Quote:
Originally Posted by TuteTibiImperes View Post
In that case you're using the Bluesound app, not the Tidal app.
yes...thats what I meant to say.

Power: Marantz sr7008, NAD C 275Bee x 2, Video: Oppo 103, Samsung 75un6300
Speakers: Focal aria 948, Focal cc900, Klipsch synergy KSF 10.5 Subs: Rythmik FV25HP, Rythmik FV15HP
torii is online now  
post #1702 of 1709 Old 10-13-2017, 07:23 PM
Senior Member
 
farsider3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 476
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 365 Post(s)
Liked: 142
I have been using Tidal streamed through my old Oppo blu-ray player but I will retire the Oppo and I need to get feedback from any users that have experience streaming Tidal through the Control4 hardware (either EA-1 or EA-3 controller box).

What other devices would you recommend for the best sound quality? I have been considering the Bluesound Node 2.

Datasat LS10__ Parasound Halo A31 , Parasound Zonemaster 1250, Parasound Zonemaster 450
Procella P8 LCR, Procella P5iw and P5v for surround & ceiling
JTR Captivator S2 dual 18", JTR Captivator S1 single 18", Dual Seaton Submersives with dual 15"
2.40:1 Seymour XD Acoustically Transparent (AT) screen, 128" diagonal / 118" wide __ Projector: JVC 4910

Last edited by farsider3000; 10-13-2017 at 08:07 PM.
farsider3000 is online now  
post #1703 of 1709 Old 10-14-2017, 01:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
pappaduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Philly area
Posts: 972
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by farsider3000 View Post
I have been using Tidal streamed through my old Oppo blu-ray player but I will retire the Oppo and I need to get feedback from any users that have experience streaming Tidal through the Control4 hardware (either EA-1 or EA-3 controller box).

What other devices would you recommend for the best sound quality? I have been considering the Bluesound Node 2.
The Bluesound equipment won’t disappoint. I own a Vault 2 and a Pulse mini and have been extremely happy with both. Looking at purchasing a Node 2 to get the full MQA unfolds in my second zone(AVR won’t pass full unfolds to other zones).
KenM10759 likes this.

Yamaha 2010
Oppo 103D,ATV3,PS3, Samsung UN60ES7100F, Bluesound Vault 2 and Pulse Mini, Harmony One, Paradigm Monitor 9's, CC-390, 2ADP 390's/190's, 2 PDR 100's. B&W P5
Zone2-Paradigm SE-1's, Zone3-Paradigm-Stylus 370-SM
pappaduke is offline  
post #1704 of 1709 Old 10-14-2017, 04:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KenM10759's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central MA USA
Posts: 2,913
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1603 Post(s)
Liked: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by pappaduke View Post
The Bluesound equipment won’t disappoint. I own a Vault 2 and a Pulse mini and have been extremely happy with both. Looking at purchasing a Node 2 to get the full MQA unfolds in my second zone(AVR won’t pass full unfolds to other zones).
I agree, but don't know if that addresses his issue of Control4 if that's employed as part of a whole-house implementation, or is there a file management problem? If that's the case, BlueOS based equipment now runs well within Roon as endpoints and that may provide a solution.

KEF R500, R200C, R100, SVS SB2000 sub, NAD T758 receiver, Pro-Ject RPM1 TT w/ Ortofon 2M Red, Bluesound Vault2, Sony BDP-S480 BlueRay player, Samsung UN55JU6500F 4K LED TV, KEF M500 headphones, Sony CDP-CE500 CD changer.
KenM10759 is offline  
post #1705 of 1709 Old 10-14-2017, 09:15 AM
Senior Member
 
farsider3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 476
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 365 Post(s)
Liked: 142
Quote:
Originally Posted by pappaduke View Post
The Bluesound equipment won’t disappoint. I own a Vault 2 and a Pulse mini and have been extremely happy with both. Looking at purchasing a Node 2 to get the full MQA unfolds in my second zone(AVR won’t pass full unfolds to other zones).
I will have a Control4 system installed in the near future and the new system includes Tidal. So I can either stream Tidal high fidelity through the Control4 system or purchase something like the Bluesound Node 2. Sounds like the Node 2 is definitely an option if the built in Control 4 hardware does not impress.

Datasat LS10__ Parasound Halo A31 , Parasound Zonemaster 1250, Parasound Zonemaster 450
Procella P8 LCR, Procella P5iw and P5v for surround & ceiling
JTR Captivator S2 dual 18", JTR Captivator S1 single 18", Dual Seaton Submersives with dual 15"
2.40:1 Seymour XD Acoustically Transparent (AT) screen, 128" diagonal / 118" wide __ Projector: JVC 4910
farsider3000 is online now  
post #1706 of 1709 Old 10-14-2017, 09:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KenM10759's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central MA USA
Posts: 2,913
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1603 Post(s)
Liked: 850
I believe NAD is certified to partner with Control4 in many ways, and being an equal partner with Bluesound (and PSB speakers) within the Lenbrook Group, I would think there's a good probability of being able to incorporate BlueOS under Control4. Many of the NAD pre-amps, music players and AVR's also now include BlueOS capability, should you want to truly integrate.

https://nadelectronics.com/nad-smart...ol4-certified/
markrubin likes this.

KEF R500, R200C, R100, SVS SB2000 sub, NAD T758 receiver, Pro-Ject RPM1 TT w/ Ortofon 2M Red, Bluesound Vault2, Sony BDP-S480 BlueRay player, Samsung UN55JU6500F 4K LED TV, KEF M500 headphones, Sony CDP-CE500 CD changer.
KenM10759 is offline  
post #1707 of 1709 Old 10-14-2017, 02:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
bambam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 878
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 92
I have Tidal Hifi and when I log on to the desktop application and go into Settings, it won't allow me to click on either the "Hifi" button or the "Masters" button. Only options I can click into are "Standard" and "High".

Why is this?
bambam is online now  
post #1708 of 1709 Old 10-14-2017, 03:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
pappaduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Philly area
Posts: 972
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by farsider3000 View Post
I have been using Tidal streamed through my old Oppo blu-ray player but I will retire the Oppo and I need to get feedback from any users that have experience streaming Tidal through the Control4 hardware (either EA-1 or EA-3 controller box).

What other devices would you recommend for the best sound quality? I have been considering the Bluesound Node 2.
Another option would be to contact Bluesound. Very helpful and knowledgeable about their products.

Yamaha 2010
Oppo 103D,ATV3,PS3, Samsung UN60ES7100F, Bluesound Vault 2 and Pulse Mini, Harmony One, Paradigm Monitor 9's, CC-390, 2ADP 390's/190's, 2 PDR 100's. B&W P5
Zone2-Paradigm SE-1's, Zone3-Paradigm-Stylus 370-SM
pappaduke is offline  
post #1709 of 1709 Old Yesterday, 07:02 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
dscottj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 139
ALL: I'm on the road (again!) and that means I'm using the OSX Tidal desktop app to drive my Dragonfly Red DAC. That's how you can get MQ out of Tidal, but there's a trick to it. I expect this to be very similar to Windows, but on OSX you need to:

1. Turn the volume down in the Tidal client. This is VERY important to me, since I typically max this volume and then control it from the OS
2. Go to SETTINGS, choose STREAMING.
3. On the bottom, change SOUND OUTPUT from whatever it is to your DAC
4. Close and complete, you're done.

Volume is now controlled inside the app. It won't respond to keyboard volume up/down or the slider that's part of the speaker icon. In fact, you can play a completely different source through your built-in speakers (probably also bluetooth but I've not tried that).

Enjoy!

I'm also an author! Gemini Gambit - He's trying to save the world. She's trying to hide from it. When they meet, death is the least of their worries. http://www.amazon.com/Gemini-Gambit-...dp/0986396214/
Its sequel, Dragon's Ark, is also available. Behind the Great Firewall of China, there are secrets people will kill to keep. https://www.amazon.com/Dragons-Ark-G...dp/B01LD5BYV4/
dscottj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off