The PlayStation Vue Thread - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 138Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 1115 Old 03-17-2016, 01:32 PM
FX4
Senior Member
 
FX4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Interesting, I would call it on par maybe slightly better than my local cable company. The one thing I have noticed is the adaptive bit rate is very quick to adjust with Vue.
FX4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 1115 Old 03-17-2016, 01:33 PM
FX4
Senior Member
 
FX4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalsaber View Post
So for the simultaneous streams, could you have a stream going in your house and say your parents at their house? I know those FAQ has "in the same house" or are they IP locking the streams?
No, Vue is bound to one IP address.
FX4 is offline  
post #63 of 1115 Old 03-17-2016, 04:03 PM
Senior Member
 
garnuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmartin110 View Post
Thank you for the correction. I was using the 1080P as a broad generic term. Should have known better on a highly technical/numbers forum. What I meant to say was that Vue is nowhere near the quality of my cable company, with HD DVR boxes etc. It should be but it isn't. I can watch Amazon Prime with great quality and sound.

During my Vue testing last night my PS3 was 34 Mbps download, and 10 Mbps.

I'm just asking for better quality. Off my soapbox.

Somewhere I read that the picture quality using a PS3 was not as good as PS4 and Amazon Fire TV... don't remember where (or why) though.
garnuts is offline  
 
post #64 of 1115 Old 03-17-2016, 09:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Steelman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by FX4 View Post
Interesting, I would call it on par maybe slightly better than my local cable company. The one thing I have noticed is the adaptive bit rate is very quick to adjust with Vue.

After testing Vue on the new Fire TV box that was delivered today I found I received the best video quality for Vue after setting the Fire TV box to 720p/60 resolution. 1080p made the image too washed out.
For me I'm too picky , Vue won't work for my home theater setup. My girlfriend on the other hand will be ecstatic , about it, as she's used to Slingtv on a 4 year old Roku lt, and a 40" Samsung tv.

Samsung UN55H6350 LED TV/ Pioneer Elite SC-81 AV Receiver/ ELAC Uni-Fi B5 Bookshelfs/ SVS PB-2000 Subwoofer/ Roku 4/ Sonos Connect / iFi SPDIF iPurifier
Steelman99 is offline  
post #65 of 1115 Old 03-18-2016, 04:27 AM
FX4
Senior Member
 
FX4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Are you upscaling the 720P picture to 4k? I'm watching the picture on a 65" Sony XBR 65X930C and a Samsung PN65E8000. It's a solid 720P picture.

Last edited by FX4; 03-18-2016 at 04:30 AM.
FX4 is offline  
post #66 of 1115 Old 03-18-2016, 11:02 AM
Member
 
dogcatcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by FX4 View Post
Are you upscaling the 720P picture to 4k? I'm watching the picture on a 65" Sony XBR 65X930C and a Samsung PN65E8000. It's a solid 720P picture.
I have the X930D on order - I take it you pleased with the PQ on your X930C? Really worried about video quality being upscaled so much.

Thanks!
dogcatcher is offline  
post #67 of 1115 Old 03-18-2016, 11:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jim1348's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: MN
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 17
The PlayStation Vue Thread

I have the Amazon Fire TV for use with The PlayStation Vue. I would like to use it with my Slingbox PRO HD. However, the Slingbox PRO HD does not have an HDMI port. If I get an HDMI to Component Converter, will I still get an okay picture? I have never used one of these converters, so I have no idea how good the picture looks after being converted.

https://www.radioshack.com/apps/stor...on=-93.1155177

Update: I tried this with two different TVs, different HDMI cables, etc., but it did not work for me. I am back looking for a different converter.

Last edited by Jim1348; 03-18-2016 at 05:03 PM.
Jim1348 is online now  
post #68 of 1115 Old 03-18-2016, 11:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Steelman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by FX4 View Post
Are you upscaling the 720P picture to 4k? I'm watching the picture on a 65" Sony XBR 65X930C and a Samsung PN65E8000. It's a solid 720P picture.


My tv is 1080p is that what you mean?

Samsung UN55H6350 LED TV/ Pioneer Elite SC-81 AV Receiver/ ELAC Uni-Fi B5 Bookshelfs/ SVS PB-2000 Subwoofer/ Roku 4/ Sonos Connect / iFi SPDIF iPurifier
Steelman99 is offline  
post #69 of 1115 Old 03-18-2016, 01:41 PM
FX4
Senior Member
 
FX4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by dogcatcher View Post
I have the X930D on order - I take it you pleased with the PQ on your X930C? Really worried about video quality being upscaled so much.

Thanks!
The X930C is an excellent movie television. Other things I prefer the Plasma.
FX4 is offline  
post #70 of 1115 Old 03-18-2016, 01:43 PM
FX4
Senior Member
 
FX4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steelman99 View Post
My tv is 1080p is that what you mean?
The reason I was asking is because 4k upscale can be a bit rough on 720P picture quality at times.
FX4 is offline  
post #71 of 1115 Old 03-18-2016, 06:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Steelman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by FX4 View Post
The reason I was asking is because 4k upscale can be a bit rough on 720P picture quality at times.

Personally then I don't think you would be happy with Vue. That said my girlfriend LOVES it. Well Directv has a service in the works, and then there is Apple. Maybe they can do a better job.

Samsung UN55H6350 LED TV/ Pioneer Elite SC-81 AV Receiver/ ELAC Uni-Fi B5 Bookshelfs/ SVS PB-2000 Subwoofer/ Roku 4/ Sonos Connect / iFi SPDIF iPurifier
Steelman99 is offline  
post #72 of 1115 Old 03-18-2016, 06:11 PM
FX4
Senior Member
 
FX4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 46
I have it, the picture quality is fine.
FX4 is offline  
post #73 of 1115 Old 03-18-2016, 06:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Steelman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 183 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by FX4 View Post
I have it, the picture quality is fine.

If your not expecting much....

Samsung UN55H6350 LED TV/ Pioneer Elite SC-81 AV Receiver/ ELAC Uni-Fi B5 Bookshelfs/ SVS PB-2000 Subwoofer/ Roku 4/ Sonos Connect / iFi SPDIF iPurifier
Steelman99 is offline  
post #74 of 1115 Old 03-18-2016, 06:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
doctorwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 1,412
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 740 Post(s)
Liked: 237
Framerate sucks on FTV 1. Motion is not smooth. Most people won't notice.
Is it bad on PS4?

Last edited by doctorwizz; 03-18-2016 at 06:40 PM.
doctorwizz is offline  
post #75 of 1115 Old 03-18-2016, 06:41 PM
FX4
Senior Member
 
FX4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 46
I'm actually pretty picky about picture problems. I spent two years looking at picture quality issues professionally. If there is a problem I see it. That being said my viewing room is set up properly and at proper viewing distances so I'm pretty confident in my position.
FX4 is offline  
post #76 of 1115 Old 03-18-2016, 06:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
doctorwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 1,412
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 740 Post(s)
Liked: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by FX4 View Post
I'm actually pretty picky about picture problems. I spent two years looking at picture quality issues professionally. If there is a problem I see it. That being said my viewing room is set up properly and at proper viewing distances so I'm pretty confident in my position.
You dont see a low frame rate?
doctorwizz is offline  
post #77 of 1115 Old 03-18-2016, 07:10 PM
FX4
Senior Member
 
FX4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 46
I have only observed what may be a low frame rate on one channel. It very well could have been a deinterlacing problem from a 1080i source. Frame rate is a funny thing and not straight forward. 24FPS movie sources get the frame rate increased through various methods and some can be really annoying. No matter what the picture on a modern television is 60FPS. Its the frame rate of the panels.
FX4 is offline  
post #78 of 1115 Old 03-18-2016, 07:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
doctorwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 1,412
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 740 Post(s)
Liked: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by FX4 View Post
I have only observed what may be a low frame rate on one channel. It very well could have been a deinterlacing problem from a 1080i source. Frame rate is a funny thing and not straight forward. 24FPS movie sources get the frame rate increased through various methods and some can be really annoying. No matter what the picture on a modern television is 60FPS. Its the frame rate of the panels.
One channel? Yeah Okay. Turn on TNT and watch the game. If you dont see the low FR, get your eyes checked.
doctorwizz is offline  
post #79 of 1115 Old 03-18-2016, 09:45 PM
FX4
Senior Member
 
FX4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Have you looked up TNT live sports picture quality issues? Complaints date all the way back to 2007. I'm sure Vue deinterlacing 1080i to 720p just adds to the problem because you end up with 30 fps doubled so 2frames 2 frames, ... And this will add some frame flicker. By the way 720p is better for sports because it is a full 60 fps vs 1080i is half a picture per field. If you push an interlaced picture to a progressive scan picture the frame rate is halved so you have to double the frames to get it up on a 60 fps panel. This results in motion problems with the picture or jerky movement. Basketball would be one of several sports this can be a real problem.

Last edited by FX4; 03-18-2016 at 09:48 PM.
FX4 is offline  
post #80 of 1115 Old 03-19-2016, 06:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
doctorwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 1,412
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 740 Post(s)
Liked: 237
It has nothing to do with deinterlacing. It is the compression they use that causes poor image quality and dropped frames.
doctorwizz is offline  
post #81 of 1115 Old 03-19-2016, 06:35 AM
FX4
Senior Member
 
FX4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 46
I don't see many compression artifacts at all. Very few. I haven't dug into exactly what Sony is doing but they use a very fast adaptive bit rate codec. I can stand in front of my television and watch it adjust to dropped packets very fast on the fly. I will give you that the picture is limited to a mid/upper level 720P bitstream. I'll look at the exact bitrate later today which is a good indicator of overall picture quality.
FX4 is offline  
post #82 of 1115 Old 03-19-2016, 07:14 AM
FX4
Senior Member
 
FX4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 46
I retract saying this is a mid level 720P bitstream. I'm showing a pretty solid 3.5Mbps stream with a peak of 4.5Mbps. That is a very high quality 720P stream.
FX4 is offline  
post #83 of 1115 Old 03-19-2016, 07:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
doctorwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 1,412
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 740 Post(s)
Liked: 237
It is barely 3.5mbps which is a very low quality stream.


doctorwizz is offline  
post #84 of 1115 Old 03-19-2016, 07:39 AM
FX4
Senior Member
 
FX4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 46
No 3.5Mbps is a high quality stream. You can successfully run 720P down to about 800Kbps and have an ok picture. A top end no compression 720P stream runs at about 4.5 - 5.0 Mbps. 3.5Mbps is a very high quality stream.
FX4 is offline  
post #85 of 1115 Old 03-19-2016, 08:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
doctorwizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 1,412
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 740 Post(s)
Liked: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by FX4 View Post
No 3.5Mbps is a high quality stream. You can successfully run 720P down to about 800Kbps and have an ok picture. A top end no compression 720P stream runs at about 4.5 - 5.0 Mbps. 3.5Mbps is a very high quality stream.
Yeah, HQ on a 19" TV.
I'm done with this thread.
doctorwizz is offline  
post #86 of 1115 Old 03-19-2016, 08:38 AM
FX4
Senior Member
 
FX4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 46
It's a solid 3.5Mbps stream:
FX4 is offline  
post #87 of 1115 Old 03-19-2016, 09:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jim1348's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: MN
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 17
The PlayStation Vue Thread

Is anybody here using PlayStation Vue with an Apple iPhone, iPad, or iPod yet? If so, can you natively watch it on the Apple device or must you "cast" it to Chromecast to work? I am in the process of resurrecting my oldest son's Apple iPod Touch. It has the old 30 pin connect. I also have a cable that will convert to composite. I want to try that though the SlingBox PRO HD. If that works, then I want to get a component cable and see how much better that looks.
Jim1348 is online now  
post #88 of 1115 Old 03-19-2016, 09:39 AM
FX4
Senior Member
 
FX4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Yes you can natively watch but some channels are mobile device restricted.
FX4 is offline  
post #89 of 1115 Old 03-19-2016, 09:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jim1348's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: MN
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 17
The PlayStation Vue Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by FX4 View Post
Yes you can natively watch but some channels are mobile device restricted.

Now that you mention that, that sounds familiar. I will have to look for a list of what is restricted. So far, I am striking out getting something to send it through my SlingBox PRO HD. I tried my oldest son's old Apple iPod Touch, but it looks like his device is dead ended at iOs 6.xxx and it requires iOS 7 or higher.
Jim1348 is online now  
post #90 of 1115 Old 03-19-2016, 09:53 AM
FX4
Senior Member
 
FX4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 335
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Those old iPod touches are dead. I have two of them that are not good for anything but paper weights.
FX4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off