AVS Forum banner

Help - how to stream

416 views 11 replies 7 participants last post by  amesdp 
#1 · (Edited)
Help - streaming device help

Hi all,

I am a noob when it comes to all this so, please don't mind the stupid questions.

I have a an Lg 55 inch smart tv and when I plug my external HDD it can play mkv and avi files. Now I also got a vizio 80" last year and its also a smart tv, but cannot play mov files when connecting the external HDD through the usb on the tv.

I want to know what would be a simple solution to stream the MKV movies into my vizio 80".

On a side note I have been reading about the Amazon fire tv and the roku 3 and don't understand what would be the benefit of these devices if you already have a smart TV.

#2 ·
The Roku 3 has a better interface than most smart TV's. Just easier to navigate and may be able to play the video formats you seek or have apps making it available to play. I don't own a smart tv as I would save hundreds by just using a 100.00 Roku 3 instead and using the money saved into better picture quality HDTV without Smart features. Also upgrading firmware is more consistent with outboard media devices rather than internal TV. Your Smart tv is stuck with dedicated apps while outboard streaming devices have apps added all the time. Please remember TV manufacturers use the cheapest internal parts they can outsource to gain the most profit as TV's become cheaper and cheaper.

So for example TV A is a 1,000 non smart TV by brand XYZ. Now brand XYZ has the same exact model but with smart features that retails for 1,400 called the A1. Now everything about both TV's is the exact same except one has an extra computer chip and programming to handle the smart features. So what makes more sense buying the all in one TV for 1,400 or upgrade to the next tier TV that has better picture quality processing but is not smart for say 1,300 and spending 100.00 on a Roku 3 which has a better interface and easily upgradable.

#4 ·