NVIDIA Shield (Android TV set-top box) - Page 138 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1501Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4111 of 4263 Old 10-03-2017, 10:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Lightbulb anybody using LG E7??

hey guys,


Ive had 2 shields since 2015 love them I just got a new LG E7 65 oled tv anybody have one they are using with the shield??


thanks
tybo1504 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4112 of 4263 Old 10-03-2017, 11:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 872
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 361 Post(s)
Liked: 176
One of the reasons I chose bt2020 "limited" was also due in part to some of the content I was viewing. There was an episode of Game of Thrones I was watching through the HBO Now App and noticed that there were some trees in the background of one scene where they just looked like a blur of green and brown with no detail. Out of Curiousity, Setting my display to "Limited" rather than "Full" brought more detail to these trees and I could actually see some branches as well. Not the best example to use but that kind of improvement in image quality led me to stick with the Limited setting under bt2020. Again the bt2020 setting was intentional for use with 4K material.

So whether you use rec.709 or bt2020, the "Full" and "Limited" adjustments may have more of an impact on what you view.


For HDR 10 content, whether I'm watching via disc or streaming through Amazon or Netflix, I haven't noticed any issues with color issues, although I did dial down the red in my TV's color settings, and raised the gamma to G1 to even out skin tones. I can't recall what settings I made for the Oppo. Contrast between light and dark colors, specifically in movies viewed in HDR10 such as Alien:Covenant, Ghost in the Shell, and Transformers: The Last Night for UHD Discs, and Netflix's Iron Fist, Luke Cage, and Blame ( believe this is HDR10 as well), are very pronounced compared to having HDR set to off.



This is an image of the main screen from a web page, but my settings were so dark that I could barely notice that design in the background. Now it's more pronounced and some of the icons such as Kodi, and Watch ESPN are detailed, and not just flat out red or white icons. At the time of calibration, there was an image of Sean Spicer on one of the Icons on my Shield's main screen. He was beet red. So I dialed down the red and and this cause skin tones to even out. This is one of the reasons why I want to get my grayscale configured properly.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is online now  
post #4113 of 4263 Old 10-04-2017, 02:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 428 Post(s)
Liked: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post


All of my devices are set to BT2020 Limited. I did this intentionally knowing that most of my content will be made for rec. 709, but for 4k Content, my devices are configured for this resolution.
Can you explain what you mean by BT2020 full and limited. Is that something you have set on the Shield or your other devices? Thanks

Samsung UE55KS8000 | Yamaha RX-V581 | Dune HD SOLO 4K | Nvidia Shield TV (2017) | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player
blenky is offline  
 
post #4114 of 4263 Old 10-04-2017, 02:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 428 Post(s)
Liked: 500
I have a a few questions on the new display settings available in the new release.

One thing that bothered me using the Netflix app with the Shield is that it would not output in 24fps (my TV and bluray apps do).

Now I have various settings under Display & Sound\Advanced. Under HDMI I currently have my HDMI mode set to 3840x2160 23.976 Hz YUV 422 12-bit Rec 2020. This forces the shield to output 23.976 Hz.

The recommended setting is 3840x2160 59.940 Hz YUV 420 10-bit Rec. 2020.


There are other options here 'Filter by resolution', Filter by refresh rate' and 'Filter by colour space' - which are all set to 'none. Are there any recommended settings for these?

Cheers

Samsung UE55KS8000 | Yamaha RX-V581 | Dune HD SOLO 4K | Nvidia Shield TV (2017) | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player
blenky is offline  
post #4115 of 4263 Old 10-04-2017, 06:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 872
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 361 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by blenky View Post
Can you explain what you mean by BT2020 full and limited. Is that something you have set on the Shield or your other devices? Thanks
I wish I could find the exact forum that explains the choice of Limited over Full but this link explains it as well.

https://referencehometheater.com/201...ll-vs-limited/

Also pay attention to the images in the link and the reasonings behind what would be considered correct and incorrect.


The link refers to more of a gaming aspect of limited vs full but in the thread that I cannot find also explained it in this manner along with 4k and 1080p video.


Again, I intentionally chose bt2020 which is used for 4K, while the ideal choice may be rec.709, but Limited is the ideal choice for Colorspace.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is online now  
post #4116 of 4263 Old 10-04-2017, 08:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 428 Post(s)
Liked: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
Yes there is. At 60hz you can set 10bit 4:2:0 and on my tv it is the only option that does not cause banding on Netflix and Amazon hdr content.

The banding I experience is tv specific.

Where is this menu option? I can't find a specific setting to set the colour space.

Samsung UE55KS8000 | Yamaha RX-V581 | Dune HD SOLO 4K | Nvidia Shield TV (2017) | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player
blenky is offline  
post #4117 of 4263 Old 10-04-2017, 08:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,892
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1036 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by blenky View Post
Where is this menu option? I can't find a specific setting to set the colour space.
I'm not at home, so bare with me, but it's basically something like:
Settings
Display
Resolution?
Advanced HDMI settings?

Something like that. It's buried more than it should be....
psuKinger is offline  
post #4118 of 4263 Old 10-04-2017, 10:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
eric.exe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 2,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkOrPn View Post
I'm starting to wonder if most issues/bugs are caused by everyone allowing the shield to dirty install these ROM updates, as apposed to pure clean flashing. Dirty flashing is a serious issue with smartphones sometimes so how do we know for sure it isn't also a problem for Android TV devices?

Sent from my SM-T700 using Tapatalk
What's the easiest way to do a clean flash with nVidia's provided recovery images?
eric.exe is offline  
post #4119 of 4263 Old 10-04-2017, 10:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
eric.exe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 2,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
One of the reasons I chose bt2020 "limited" was also due in part to some of the content I was viewing.
So whether you use rec.709 or bt2020, the "Full" and "Limited" adjustments may have more of an impact on what you view.
Can you explain this better? Full and Limited terms and options only apply to RGB color output. In 4K resolution, the only RGB format available is 8-bit Rec.709, no Rec.2020 option (assuming because this would exceed HDMI 2.0 bandwidth limits, same reason there's no YCbCr444 8-bit Rec.2020)
eric.exe is offline  
post #4120 of 4263 Old 10-04-2017, 11:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 872
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 361 Post(s)
Liked: 176
TVs use a range of 16-235 while PCs use a range of 0-255. This is why RGB full and RGB Limited are available.

Videos such as movies or TV Shows use a range of 16-235, where PC games use a range of 0-255. It is suggested to leave your settings at Limited (16-235) when streaming/playing movies or TV Shows, which is what most of us do with the Shield in the first place (at least here in this thread). However, when Playing games, the RGB setting will convert to 0-255 as suggested. If not then you will lose shadow detail and washed out high lights, as the case (from a video perspective) when I was playing around with RGB Settings while watching a scene from Game of Thrones. In Full, there was a set of trees in the background that looked more like a glob of green and black. When I set RGB to Limited, those same trees were more detailed and I could see branches and shadow detail as a result.

So again as stated in an earlier post, bt2020 and rec709 are configured as a preference, but with RGB limited and full, Limited is the preferred setting. BT2020 is meant for 4K while 709 is what pretty much everything in the video realm. Also, it is suggested that all components have the same settings. One cannot be set to 709, another to 2020, or one set to Limited, while another is set to Full.

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is online now  
post #4121 of 4263 Old 10-04-2017, 11:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
eric.exe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 2,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 30
My question was really to explain your statement of using "bt2020 limited" because there are no limited/full RGB modes for bt2020.
eric.exe is offline  
post #4122 of 4263 Old 10-04-2017, 03:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
SkOrPn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Tijeras, NM USA
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric.exe View Post
What's the easiest way to do a clean flash with nVidia's provided recovery images?
Probably the way NVIDIA directs us too I would think, which should be by using fastboot. But I would prefer to use my PC that sits right next to my SATV, boot into fastboot and then use the "fastboot boot recovery.img" method to get into TWRP, because that forgoes flashing a 3rd party recovery. Then simply flash the image using TWRP which I have used extensively with smartphones, so I am very familiar with that method and feel safe doing so.

I've done this before on the SATV, but only because I had to coming from a 3rd party full Android rom. I just do not trust NVIDIA's Download > dirty flash method within the OS, but it sure is way more convenient that is for sure. Chances are though that I am being overly paranoid that bugs can be created that way, or old bugs not getting solved because of the dirty flashing method. However, for all I know NVIDIA's way via the OS could be a clean flash and I am just not familiar enough with the process???
SkOrPn is offline  
post #4123 of 4263 Old 10-04-2017, 05:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,892
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1036 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric.exe View Post
My question was really to explain your statement of using "bt2020 limited" because there are no limited/full RGB modes for bt2020.
I'm 95% sure it's settings for his Sony 900E, not the Shield.

With Shield set to BT.2020, if you don't match color spaces ("auto" on these 2017 Sony's doesn't necessarily "auto" switch to BT.2020), the picture coming out of the Shield for SDR content gets really washed out. If you force the sony to match the Shield, and both set to BT.2020, you get back to a better, more-saturated color state.
groove93 likes this.
psuKinger is offline  
post #4124 of 4263 Old 10-04-2017, 06:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 872
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 361 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by psuKinger View Post
I'm 95% sure it's settings for his Sony 900E, not the Shield.

With Shield set to BT.2020, if you don't match color spaces ("auto" on these 2017 Sony's doesn't necessarily "auto" switch to BT.2020), the picture coming out of the Shield for SDR content gets really washed out. If you force the sony to match the Shield, and both set to BT.2020, you get back to a better, more-saturated color state.
Plus adding the Oppo 203 into the mix as well using the same colorspace settings since I'm connecting the Shield into it's HDMI Input.

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is online now  
post #4125 of 4263 Old 10-04-2017, 06:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 6,499
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2765 Post(s)
Liked: 1279
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Late breaking NEWS:

After the Shield got the firmware vs. 6 update I noticed the following:

The Sony Ultra app on the Shield will now play titles in 4k. Sorry, no HDR as of yet but it's a step in the right direction. Certain Sony Android TVs are now not the only devices that can play Sony 4k movies but also the Nvidia Shield as well. Hopefully we'll get HDR capability soon?
I spoke too soon. I just tried watching a couple of 4k Sony movies on the Ultra app and it's not appearing correctly. The video is zoomed at about 25 - 50% so that you can't see the whole picture. So it appears that the 4k Sony Ultra movies are still not working correctly on any device besides some Sony TVs.

lujan
234 Ultra HD
780 HD
18 HD DVD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #4126 of 4263 Old 10-05-2017, 10:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 428 Post(s)
Liked: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by psuKinger View Post
I'm not at home, so bare with me, but it's basically something like:
Settings
Display
Resolution?
Advanced HDMI settings?

Something like that. It's buried more than it should be....
No can't find what your picture shows.

Samsung UE55KS8000 | Yamaha RX-V581 | Dune HD SOLO 4K | Nvidia Shield TV (2017) | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player
blenky is offline  
post #4127 of 4263 Old 10-05-2017, 11:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 872
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 361 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by blenky View Post
No can't find what your picture shows.
Try looking for it in these settings:

Settings, Display and Sound, advanced Settings

There are additional settings in here for HDMI and Colorspace

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is online now  
post #4128 of 4263 Old 10-05-2017, 03:02 PM
Member
 
JACKIEGAGA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Is anyone having a problem loading NETFLIX today from NVIDIA SHIELD?

Jack
JACKIEGAGA is offline  
post #4129 of 4263 Old 10-05-2017, 04:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 428 Post(s)
Liked: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
Try looking for it in these settings:

Settings, Display and Sound, advanced Settings

There are additional settings in here for HDMI and Colorspace
I can find HDMI Settings. However there is no menu setting for colour space.

What I have is something different.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20171005_235640.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	1.13 MB
ID:	2293276  

Samsung UE55KS8000 | Yamaha RX-V581 | Dune HD SOLO 4K | Nvidia Shield TV (2017) | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player

Last edited by blenky; 10-05-2017 at 04:15 PM.
blenky is offline  
post #4130 of 4263 Old 10-05-2017, 04:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 872
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 361 Post(s)
Liked: 176
In the HDMI settings look for Filter By Color Space.

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is online now  
post #4131 of 4263 Old 10-05-2017, 04:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 428 Post(s)
Liked: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by groove93 View Post
In the HDMI settings look for Filter By Color Space.

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk
Yes I have that - see image in my last post - but that still does not match screen shot from cmdrdredd

Samsung UE55KS8000 | Yamaha RX-V581 | Dune HD SOLO 4K | Nvidia Shield TV (2017) | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player
blenky is offline  
post #4132 of 4263 Old 10-05-2017, 04:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 872
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 361 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by eric.exe View Post
My question was really to explain your statement of using "bt2020 limited" because there are no limited/full RGB modes for bt2020.
Full and limited as to Colorspace, not bt2020.

Again, bt2020 is a preference, not the rule.

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is online now  
post #4133 of 4263 Old 10-05-2017, 04:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
groove93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Statesboro, GA
Posts: 872
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 361 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by blenky View Post
Yes I have that - see image in my last post - but that still does not match screen shot from cmdrdredd
The image didn't appear on my screen.

If "set to recommended" is turned off, you should be able to adjust Filter By Resolution, refresh rate and color space.

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk

Sony XBR55X900E
Marantz SR7010/Marantz MM7025
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield
Klipsch RP-260f - RP-440C - RP140sa- RP-160m - RB10 - Sony SA-WM500
groove93 is online now  
post #4134 of 4263 Old 10-05-2017, 04:40 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaveFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Natick MA
Posts: 17,441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 71
For everyone with the 2015 Shield and a Harmony Hub. You can plug in a USB webcam like the PS3 Playstation Eye (I recommend this one because it can be had for $4 on eBay and has a really good mic) and map a key to get it to work with Assistant. It's not "always on" but it's a temporary solution until the Nvidia Spot or the Google Mini comes out.

Make sure to add Windows PC to your devices, and then add it to your Nvidia Shield activity. You have to have the Hub connected to your Shield via Bluetooth and not Wifi. Then map the "Windows" (Windows PC device) key to your Shield activity and that will turn the mic on for Assistant.

The PS3 cam's mic is really good, it works just fine across my 15ft room.
nc88keyz likes this.

XBOX Live: Wagmman
PSN: Wagg
BFBC2: Wagman
Steam: Wag

My Second Life character looks and acts exactly like me except he can fly.
DaveFi is offline  
post #4135 of 4263 Old 10-05-2017, 05:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,892
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1036 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by blenky View Post
I can find HDMI Settings. However there is no menu setting for colour space.

What I have is something different.
You're in the right place.

You can use the recommended setting, check all available settings at the bottom, or use the many filtering options (between the recommended option and the available options at the bottom).
blenky likes this.
psuKinger is offline  
post #4136 of 4263 Old 10-06-2017, 10:40 AM
Senior Member
 
tgrinch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Hi all - So I don't know how exactly, but an OS update that got installed corrupted my 2017 ShieldTV (nonpro). I followed the steps to wipe/reset the device on Nvidia's website and that went relatively fine.

However when I boot now, all I get is the NVIDIA logo indefinitely. Anyone been here and know how to resolve? Figured I'd ask before going the RMA route...
tgrinch is offline  
post #4137 of 4263 Old 10-06-2017, 10:43 AM
Member
 
Sevastos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Karpathos, Greece
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Two questions before I start the 6.0 update.

My setup configuration is: SPMC running Plex addon on Shield, which is connected to Oppo's HDMI-in

For 1080p content, if I set Shield to 3840x2160@59.94Hz RGB 8 Bit Rec 709 and SPMC to 1920x1080@60Hz, will I have any problems with auto resolution switching and correct colours in SPMC?

For 4K content on Youtube or Netflix, I will have to switch to the recommended YCbCr 4:2:0 10Bit Rec 2020, is that correct?

Sony KD-65ZD9 - Yamaha RX-A2060 - Emotiva XPA-5 Gen1
Oppo UDP-203 - Nvidia Shield Gen1 - QNAP 453 mini
5.1.2 setup: Klipsch RP-280FA - RP-450C - RP-240S - SVS PC-2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenland View Post
This is a Flat Panels TV forum, not a how to fix a wife forum. You need to hire a wife calibrator to get her optimized.;)
Sevastos is online now  
post #4138 of 4263 Old 10-06-2017, 11:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
SkOrPn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Tijeras, NM USA
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgrinch View Post
Hi all - So I don't know how exactly, but an OS update that got installed corrupted my 2017 ShieldTV (nonpro). I followed the steps to wipe/reset the device on Nvidia's website and that went relatively fine.

However when I boot now, all I get is the NVIDIA logo indefinitely. Anyone been here and know how to resolve? Figured I'd ask before going the RMA route...
First check to see if it can manually boot into Fastboot mode (bootloader screen). If it does, then you can fix it yourself given you have the means to do so.

Just in case you do not know how to enter fastboot on the shield tv 2017. Watch the video below...
SkOrPn is offline  
post #4139 of 4263 Old 10-06-2017, 12:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,892
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1036 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by JACKIEGAGA View Post
Is anyone having a problem loading NETFLIX today from NVIDIA SHIELD?
On my 2015 Pro Shield, I've been having problems with the Netflix app (and generically, but perhaps most of all with Netflix) since the 6.0 update.

We don't watch a lot of Netflix on any of my other Shields, but everything seems to be working well everywhere else.

Problem is my "Pro" is in my "main" surround sound setup, connected to my "best" (75" Sony 940E) screen... so having problems there kinda sucks.
psuKinger is offline  
post #4140 of 4263 Old 10-06-2017, 01:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 5,012
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2889 Post(s)
Liked: 2847
Are you able to uninstall Netflix and reinstall? Does it make any difference? It shouldn’t but strange things happen on Android.

Samsung 55JS9000, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Gaming PC(SLI 970s), Philips BDP7501 UHD Player, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off