*Official* Google Chromecast AUDIO owners thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 90Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 586 Old 11-01-2015, 11:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
amatuerholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 1,317
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 333
Pandora works great though! I'm not sure if I'll use Spotify premium, but the idea that buying a component reduces convenience is certainly not a thrilling one.

I would say that sound quality is improved over the headphone out on my Nexus 5.
amatuerholic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 586 Old 11-01-2015, 11:29 AM
Senior Member
 
Cla55clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Arvada, Colorado (Denver area)
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 76
What music player app are you guys using to play local hi-res files? I want to test out the 192/24 capabilities of the DAC. Also, I tried to play some music off YouTube and it's a no go [might have already been discussed here]. The cast icon shows up, but the CCAudio is not in the list.

Today I used the CCAudio to stream music (analog) while using a different source (Direct TV) to watch the football game. Aren't AVRs great!
Cla55clown is offline  
post #33 of 586 Old 11-02-2015, 06:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,891
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1034 Post(s)
Liked: 352
Quote:
Originally Posted by pittsoccer33 View Post
The Chromecast app needs an update to get syncing around the house working. As far as I can tell you can only "cast" to one target at a time now.
I'm hoping they let us "group" together Chromecast audios AND regular 1st Gen Chromecasts... such that, if I open up Google Play Music (or other), I can cast to my primary speaker system (with 1st Gen Chromecast in an HDMI input to my AVR) & to a secondary / tertiary / etc speaker(s) in other room(s)...
psuKinger is offline  
 
post #34 of 586 Old 11-03-2015, 06:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,688
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 603 Post(s)
Liked: 118
The popping using the AUX cable is too annoying on my phone. Had to reconnect the Chromecast audio. Google Play Music works great but other apps are horrible. Also I had to reboot my phone twice last night. My battery drained 1% a hour and the battery stats shows that it kept waking up all night. Also since for me Googling gives me crap even on battery drain. Anyone can provide links with Nexus's and issues? Googling frustrates me as I even search by date and omit the -review tag yet I still get stupid bullet point links as "Top 5 Blah blah and how to fix them" and "Give your old speakers a new brain" with not one mention of any issues. Heck even this post does not show up on a Google search.

Also what is the latest build of the Chromecast audio. I can't tell if it even updated as there horrible Chromecast app refuses to even see my network no matter how many times I reset the devices (new Chromecast TV is not seen either) unless I go on my computer and set it up. Then my phone and tablet sees them no problem. Even the Chromecast app sees them but it won't even let me check for updates or reboot the device.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2015-11-03_093547.png
Views:	755
Size:	4.9 KB
ID:	1035849  

Charter Spectrum powered by Earthlink.
My Router: Netgear R7000 - Advanced Tomato 3.4-140 K26ARM USB VPN-64K.
My Primary Streaming Devices: Apple TV (2015), Roku Premiere.
Cats are the best pets.

Last edited by reddice; 11-03-2015 at 06:37 AM.
reddice is offline  
post #35 of 586 Old 11-03-2015, 06:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Cla55clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Arvada, Colorado (Denver area)
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Here is my latest firmware version: 1.16.43955
Cla55clown is offline  
post #36 of 586 Old 11-03-2015, 07:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
amatuerholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 1,317
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 333
On the latest Chromecast Audio version, not running into any of the issues you are. Battery drain is higher with mirroring, but I use it sometimes so I can control the volume when I'm not in the same room.

Pandora and Google play music work fine, everything else mirrors well.

On my initial setup, I had to turn my phone off and then on, but it's been solid since the first setup.

Using a nexus 5 for reference.
amatuerholic is offline  
post #37 of 586 Old 11-03-2015, 10:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,688
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 603 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cla55clown View Post
Here is my latest firmware version: 1.16.43955
Thanks. That is what I have. So I am up to date then.

The older Chromecast app use to let me check for updates. The new app just like to push useless celeb videos. Really has no other features. What irritates me is that it defaults to this celeb video tab. Then the only tab that is useful is the middle tab but whenever you click the back button it keeps taking you out of the app. Then it has to reload again killing my battery life. This is why my battery went down 2% when I first started to use the app because I kept closing it and reloading it. Also tabs on the handburger menu that should open up settings just bring to to a useless FAQ webpage or a webpage to buy Google stuff.

Charter Spectrum powered by Earthlink.
My Router: Netgear R7000 - Advanced Tomato 3.4-140 K26ARM USB VPN-64K.
My Primary Streaming Devices: Apple TV (2015), Roku Premiere.
Cats are the best pets.

Last edited by reddice; 11-03-2015 at 10:14 AM.
reddice is offline  
post #38 of 586 Old 11-03-2015, 11:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
amatuerholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 1,317
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 333
Tbh, you might have a faulty unit. These issues seem a bit out there to me.
amatuerholic is offline  
post #39 of 586 Old 11-03-2015, 11:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,688
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 603 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by amatuerholic View Post
Tbh, you might have a faulty unit. These issues seem a bit out there to me.
I don't think so. Google Play Music works perfect. It is the other apps that give me issues. Mainly not be able to control the volume without being in the app with the screen unlocked.

Charter Spectrum powered by Earthlink.
My Router: Netgear R7000 - Advanced Tomato 3.4-140 K26ARM USB VPN-64K.
My Primary Streaming Devices: Apple TV (2015), Roku Premiere.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #40 of 586 Old 11-03-2015, 11:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
amatuerholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 1,317
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 333
Oh yeah, that's because the apps aren't made to work with Chromecast Audio yet. Just realized that I can indeed adjust volume within Pandora and play music when casting as intended.
amatuerholic is offline  
post #41 of 586 Old 11-03-2015, 03:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,688
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 603 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Just going to post this and then I am done. The Chromecast audio caused wakelock battery drain again as you can see from the missing battery gap. This is the 4th time I had to reboot it in only 2 days since using it. The last time I had this issue was with Lollipop but with 6.0 it has only occurred once otherwise I went a week without wakelock issues but since using the Chromecast audio it has done it already 6 times lost count all together. I am disconnecting this thing for good and I will see if I can send it back to Google. Thanks for all the help but I am done.

Also before I forget any good AUX cables that can maybe reduce or get rid of the popping and buzzing feedback sounds? Maybe I will start a new thread if no one knows here.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20151103-181748.jpg
Views:	435
Size:	47.0 KB
ID:	1037049   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20151103-181725.jpg
Views:	432
Size:	49.4 KB
ID:	1037057   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20151103-181731.jpg
Views:	408
Size:	45.7 KB
ID:	1037065  

Charter Spectrum powered by Earthlink.
My Router: Netgear R7000 - Advanced Tomato 3.4-140 K26ARM USB VPN-64K.
My Primary Streaming Devices: Apple TV (2015), Roku Premiere.
Cats are the best pets.

Last edited by reddice; 05-14-2016 at 04:15 PM.
reddice is offline  
post #42 of 586 Old 11-03-2015, 06:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
amatuerholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 1,317
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 333
I've used 1.5' and 25' monoprice cables with pretty good luck.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B002K8...W8P6721H536HJR
amatuerholic is offline  
post #43 of 586 Old 11-03-2015, 09:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Cla55clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Arvada, Colorado (Denver area)
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 76
I am using the monoprice 3.5mm to RCA cable without issue. Red I think you got a bad unit. I haven't experienced any of the issues you describe. Haven't tried all the apps though just Google Play and Songza. YouTube doesn't support the CC Audio as far as I can tell.

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk
Cla55clown is offline  
post #44 of 586 Old 11-04-2015, 06:15 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Montucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Montana
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 429 Post(s)
Liked: 288
Red: You definitely either have a bad unit, or there's something wonky going on with your phone. I am NOT a paid shill and I've experienced none of those issues. Doesn't seem to effect my battery life at all. The Chromecast app has never showed me a tab with celebrity videos, nor is there even one at all for me. It's just "What's On" (which just asks what app to open), "Devices", and "Get Apps." It plays back great from multiple apps. Sure, there may be a few people out there having some issues such as yourself, but it would seem that your experience is in the minority. I'd exchange it for another unit and try it out on a different control device before declaring just how awful they are. Personally, my wife and I have been enjoying the heck out of ours.

Clas55clown: About the hi-res audio files, I use Plex to playback from my computer. However, I'd like to try out the BubbleUPnP app to see about playing FLAC files directly from my phone.
Cla55clown likes this.
Montucky is offline  
post #45 of 586 Old 11-05-2015, 12:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,688
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 603 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cla55clown View Post
Haven't tried all the apps though just Google Play and Songza.
That is the thing. The Chromecast audio works perfect with Google Play and barely drains the battery. It is the other apps that ruin it by draining the battery with wakelock, and makes it that I can't control the volume. For example TuneIn radio which is a battery hog normally is much worse with the Chromecast audio drained the battery 5% in 10 minutes (this is with the screen off BTW) way more than using the AUX cable. Also some stations would not connect but the worse was my phone required a reboot because it started to drain more than usual. So right now this thing is a no for me as I use many music apps not just Play Music. Also reading these reviews it seems that is the only app besides Songza and Spotify they used is Play Music. Only the one I linked on YouTube used iHeart and even said that app was buggy which it is with the Chromecast audio but Play Music and Songza worked perfect.

Also the real beef is that Play Music is the only app that causes popping issues between tracks using the AUX cable the other apps TuneIn, Slacker Radio, iHeart, DI.FM, RadioTunes cause no popping but they have major issues with the Chromecast audio.

Charter Spectrum powered by Earthlink.
My Router: Netgear R7000 - Advanced Tomato 3.4-140 K26ARM USB VPN-64K.
My Primary Streaming Devices: Apple TV (2015), Roku Premiere.
Cats are the best pets.

Last edited by reddice; 05-14-2016 at 04:15 PM.
reddice is offline  
post #46 of 586 Old 11-05-2015, 03:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
amatuerholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 1,317
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 333
Are you using the app to cast or are you using the "mirroring" feature?
amatuerholic is offline  
post #47 of 586 Old 11-05-2015, 03:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,688
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 603 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by amatuerholic View Post
Are you using the app to cast or are you using the "mirroring" feature?
Both. Casting for "supported" apps and mirroring for other apps.

Charter Spectrum powered by Earthlink.
My Router: Netgear R7000 - Advanced Tomato 3.4-140 K26ARM USB VPN-64K.
My Primary Streaming Devices: Apple TV (2015), Roku Premiere.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #48 of 586 Old 11-05-2015, 03:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lespurgeon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 2,537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Discussion going on over in 2-channel as well...
Chromecast Audio


Got to say, very happy with my unit.
lespurgeon is offline  
post #49 of 586 Old 11-05-2015, 03:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
amatuerholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 1,317
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 333
K. If you're still in the return period, go ahead and do that. Otherwise, an app update might be worth waiting for before you write the whole thing off.
amatuerholic is offline  
post #50 of 586 Old 11-13-2015, 12:23 PM
Member
 
ngsm13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Considering picking up the Google hardwired ethernet adapter, and then using the optical output... Either a Fiio D3 DAC, or an AudioEngine D1 DAC... not sure if I'll have an appreciable difference or not.

Great little device thus far, just not a huge fan of the 3.5mm output and want to see if going optical cleans it up.
ngsm13 is offline  
post #51 of 586 Old 11-16-2015, 03:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,688
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 603 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
http://liliputing.com/2015/11/chrome...io-review.html
At least as of the time that I’m writing this review, the TuneIn Radio pp is another one that doesn’t officially support ChromeCast Audio. Since this app has no problem streaming music in the background, you can turn off the display or switch to other apps while listening. But the audio is routed through your phone, which means that you’ll have a greater battery drain and if any other sounds play on your phone you’ll hear them on your speaker as well as the audio from TuneIn.
Now I know why TuneIn drains the battery 5% in 10 minutes which is even worse then streaming Netflix (22 minute program drained only about 4%) and the phone actually gets quite warm over 35 degrees Celsius and this is with the screen off. Anyway the DI app was updated with proper Chromecast audio support and the battery life is much better when casting about 3% to 4% a hour with the screen off. Still have to unlock the screen to adjust the volume but I think that is a Android limitation. Only Play Music lets me control the volume with the screen off.

Anyway I reconnected my Chromecast which I mainly use for Play Music (the popping on the speakers using the AUX when tracks change was giving me a headache and I could not enjoy the music) and DI.FM and just use headphones or listen on the computer with the other apps that don't work right.

Update: Disconnected and done. Giving this thing to my uncle when he visits later this week so I am not tempted to mess around with it no more. Not being able to control the volume with the screen off is too annoying and it keeps defaulting to max volume so I have to make sure my boombox speaker is off before casting otherwise I can accidentally blow out my speakers. Really only good if you have a stereo with a volume remote which I did have but no more. Also even DI.FM battery drain is worse. Come on 2% to 3% in 10 minutes at 128kbps is crazy when a direct connection at the same bit-rate is only 1% after 10 minutes.

Also I did find results on Google search under Reddit 1st-3rd link but I had them blocked using a extension. I don't dare go into that racist vulgar R rated anything goes site. This post does not show up doing a crappy Google search though.

Charter Spectrum powered by Earthlink.
My Router: Netgear R7000 - Advanced Tomato 3.4-140 K26ARM USB VPN-64K.
My Primary Streaming Devices: Apple TV (2015), Roku Premiere.
Cats are the best pets.

Last edited by reddice; 11-17-2015 at 02:00 PM.
reddice is offline  
post #52 of 586 Old 11-17-2015, 02:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,688
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 603 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by amatuerholic View Post
K. If you're still in the return period, go ahead and do that. Otherwise, an app update might be worth waiting for before you write the whole thing off.
Not since I had to pay for return shipping and would not get much back. Well $35 +tax down the drain. The last time I trust "honest" fake reviews from bloggers who got the product for free instead of Amazon because Amazon are morons for not selling it. I ignore the fake "got this product at a discount for a honest review" on Amazon voted all of them not helpful. Still a 3 out of 5 critical reviews of actually people purchasing this hockey puck turd I would have not wasted my money like with the Roku 4 Amazon sells that I might have got but with real reviews saying the thing overheats I avoid it. But the fake tech bloggers who got it for nothing dare not say it overheats and is great.

Charter Spectrum powered by Earthlink.
My Router: Netgear R7000 - Advanced Tomato 3.4-140 K26ARM USB VPN-64K.
My Primary Streaming Devices: Apple TV (2015), Roku Premiere.
Cats are the best pets.

Last edited by reddice; 11-17-2015 at 02:08 PM.
reddice is offline  
post #53 of 586 Old 11-17-2015, 03:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
amatuerholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 1,317
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 333
I paid for mine and like it quite a bit for what it does...
amatuerholic is offline  
post #54 of 586 Old 11-17-2015, 04:52 PM
Member
 
2ndvizio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Lots of good info in this thread. Thinking of getting one for whole house audio with my receiver that doesn't support digital inputs for 2nd zone which goes to my house speakers with volume control knobs. I usually do Pandora because its a pain to find songs using DLNA in the Yamaha app.

So with this, I hook it up to my analog input with a 3.5mm to rca adapter cable. And then with my android phone, I turn on the 2nd zone with my Yamaha app. Then I start Google Music or Plex App and cast my music and sound should come out with nothing else to do? Just wanted to make sure it's that simple or I'll just stick with DLNA with the Yamaha app.

A bit confused as to why the need for a chromecast app. Music is still controlled through Google Music or Plex right? Seems pretty awesome since I think I can use voice control to locate music to play back.

Thanks
2ndvizio is offline  
post #55 of 586 Old 11-17-2015, 05:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
amatuerholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 1,317
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 578 Post(s)
Liked: 333
That's about right. The app helps you set things up, and I don't really use it unless I'm mirroring my phone.
2ndvizio likes this.
amatuerholic is offline  
post #56 of 586 Old 11-17-2015, 08:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,688
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 603 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2ndvizio View Post
So with this, I hook it up to my analog input with a 3.5mm to rca adapter cable. And then with my android phone, I turn on the 2nd zone with my Yamaha app. Then I start Google Music or Plex App and cast my music and sound should come out with nothing else to do? Just wanted to make sure it's that simple or I'll just stick with DLNA with the Yamaha app.
Make sure your Yamaha amp is not maxed out in volume or you might blow out your speakers. Keep the amp low because the Chromecast Audio stupidly defaults to max volume. Just use the remote on your Yamaha amp as the only app that lets you control the volume from your phone or tablet with the screen off is Play Music.

Charter Spectrum powered by Earthlink.
My Router: Netgear R7000 - Advanced Tomato 3.4-140 K26ARM USB VPN-64K.
My Primary Streaming Devices: Apple TV (2015), Roku Premiere.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is offline  
post #57 of 586 Old 11-17-2015, 11:06 PM
Member
 
2ndvizio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post
Make sure your Yamaha amp is not maxed out in volume or you might blow out your speakers. Keep the amp low because the Chromecast Audio stupidly defaults to max volume. Just use the remote on your Yamaha amp as the only app that lets you control the volume from your phone or tablet with the screen off is Play Music.
I think I understand your issue now. If you use the Chromecast app to reduce the volume and crank up the Yamaha amp it is ok. But using later, the Yamaha amp is left cranked up and then chromecast audio starts at max volume and you blow your speakers.

I don't think I'll run into this problem myself just because the amp is driving up to four pairs of speakers so I'm always worried about overloading the amp. I'll be using the volume control knobs in each room instead of the chromecast app so I shouldn't have any issues.

Sorry it didn't work out for you but this looks perfect for my use case.
2ndvizio is offline  
post #58 of 586 Old 11-21-2015, 12:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Cla55clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Arvada, Colorado (Denver area)
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post
Make sure your Yamaha amp is not maxed out in volume or you might blow out your speakers. Keep the amp low because the Chromecast Audio stupidly defaults to max volume. Just use the remote on your Yamaha amp as the only app that lets you control the volume from your phone or tablet with the screen off is Play Music.
Make sure 'playback sounds' is toggled on in the device settings to avoid having a music passage dame your speakers, or worse, you hearing. Never had a problem. It will give you a short sound so you know if the gain is up too high or not.

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk
Cla55clown is offline  
post #59 of 586 Old 11-28-2015, 12:33 PM
Member
 
krkirkwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, MD
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mini Toslink Issue

I bought a mini toslink to toslink cable for my Chromecast Audio. I found that if I plug the mini toslink 'all the way in' to the Chromecast, I get no audio. I have to leave it about 1/8th of inch short of all the way plugged to get audio out.

Pics below of 'one eighth out' and 'all the way in'

Any one else have this issue or is this normal?

Thx
-K2
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	one eighth out.jpg
Views:	421
Size:	372.6 KB
ID:	1084706   Click image for larger version

Name:	all the way in.jpg
Views:	399
Size:	258.1 KB
ID:	1084714  

Brute force and ignorance!
krkirkwood is offline  
post #60 of 586 Old 11-28-2015, 04:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DanPackMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 1,276
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 299 Post(s)
Liked: 593
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post
Keep the amp low because the Chromecast Audio stupidly defaults to max volume.
Is there any chance this gets fixed in a future update? Surely there are complaints about it. It is the one big flaw that keeps me from using it, and the fix should be quite simple.
reddice likes this.
DanPackMan is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off