*Official* Google Chromecast AUDIO owners thread - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 90Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 587 Old 11-28-2015, 04:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,691
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 606 Post(s)
Liked: 118
I reconnected the Chromecast but way different. Here is what I had to buy to get it to work right to work with my Logitech boombox.


So what I do is use the 3.5mm jack connection hooked up to input one for TuneIn (supports Chromecast but battery life is horrible 5% drain in 10 minutes with the screen off worse than watching Netflix or Hulu with the screen on), RadioTunes, Jazz Radio etc and just use the Chromecast Audio on input two for Play Music, Slacker, SomaFM app and DI.FM (sometimes still using the 3.5mm connection for the former three because only Play Music lets me control the volume with the screen off).

Quote:
Is there any chance this gets fixed in a future update? Surely there are complaints about it. It is the one big flaw that keeps me from using it, and the fix should be quite simple.
I make sure my switch is on input one and when I cast audio on input two I make sure the boombox is off, play something, lower the volume then turn on the boombox.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20151129_013108.jpg
Views:	335
Size:	107.3 KB
ID:	1086226  

Charter Spectrum powered by Earthlink.
My Router: Netgear R7000 - Advanced Tomato 3.4-140 K26ARM USB VPN-64K.
My Primary Streaming Devices: Apple TV (2015), Roku Premiere.
Cats are the best pets.

Last edited by reddice; 11-29-2015 at 07:51 AM.
reddice is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 587 Old 11-29-2015, 05:08 AM
Senior Member
 
mojo_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by krkirkwood View Post
I bought a mini toslink to toslink cable for my Chromecast Audio. I found that if I plug the mini toslink 'all the way in' to the Chromecast, I get no audio. I have to leave it about 1/8th of inch short of all the way plugged to get audio out.

Pics below of 'one eighth out' and 'all the way in'

Any one else have this issue or is this normal?

Thx
-K2
I just got mine last week and ordered the same cable from monoprice and haven't had the issue you described but I read in another forum that someone had a similar problem also.
mojo_13 is offline  
post #63 of 587 Old 11-29-2015, 10:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DanPackMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 1,280
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 299 Post(s)
Liked: 602
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post
I make sure my switch is on input one and when I cast audio on input two I make sure the boombox is off, play something, lower the volume then turn on the boombox.
That workaround is not something I can do. I have mine connected directly to a stereo amp. No volume control on the amp. CCA should have a setting for initial/default volume.

BTW, it appears they are aware of the issue and intend to fix it.

https://productforums.google.com/for...Y/50hk2ewWBAAJ

Last edited by DanPackMan; 11-29-2015 at 10:30 AM.
DanPackMan is offline  
 
post #64 of 587 Old 11-30-2015, 09:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,691
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 606 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanPackMan View Post
That workaround is not something I can do. I have mine connected directly to a stereo amp. No volume control on the amp. CCA should have a setting for initial/default volume.

BTW, it appears they are aware of the issue and intend to fix it.

https://productforums.google.com/for...Y/50hk2ewWBAAJ
I read that I hope it is fixed and I also hope being able to control the volume with the screen off with any app besides Play Music which only works is fixed too. Also funny how the useless tech bloggers which I take everything they say with a grain of salt mention none of these problems. I only believe reviews from Lon Seidman and Leo Laporte because they actually buys there products with there own money to review they actually said that but the many tech bloggers you find when doing a Google search get the products free to write a "honest review" and as Leo said that if they write a negative review they get on there case to make it positive which is why Lon and Leo buy there own products.

Charter Spectrum powered by Earthlink.
My Router: Netgear R7000 - Advanced Tomato 3.4-140 K26ARM USB VPN-64K.
My Primary Streaming Devices: Apple TV (2015), Roku Premiere.
Cats are the best pets.

Last edited by reddice; 11-30-2015 at 09:14 AM.
reddice is online now  
post #65 of 587 Old 11-30-2015, 01:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DanPackMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 1,280
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 299 Post(s)
Liked: 602
It sounds like they have the audio level fix identified. I suspect they are just checking to see what other fixes they can get done soon before releasing an update. They also talk about multi-room sync, but I think they'll have challenges in getting that done any time soon, and even then it may only work under limited circumstances because that would seem to also require controlling device changes, or somehow create the ability for all CCA's on the LAN to act as one.
DanPackMan is offline  
post #66 of 587 Old 12-02-2015, 08:22 PM
Member
 
mux1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post
I read that I hope it is fixed and I also hope being able to control the volume with the screen off with any app besides Play Music which only works is fixed too.
Is it not the responsibility of the developers of apps that use chromecast to implement such features (such as volume control with screen off or locked)? My plex app seems to handle this just fine.


Edit: well maybe it doesnt, I will need to test it again tomorrow.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk

Last edited by mux1; 12-02-2015 at 08:25 PM.
mux1 is offline  
post #67 of 587 Old 12-03-2015, 07:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
amatuerholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 1,324
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 581 Post(s)
Liked: 334
Picked up a Yamaha RX-V779: ended up returning my chromecast audio since the receiver does everything I wanted the Chromecast for.

I might pick up a couple later if they get the linked-streaming going.

amatuerholic is offline  
post #68 of 587 Old 12-06-2015, 04:42 AM
Can
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by OohJimbo View Post
I had started building a collection of LG music flow speakers when this was announced. So far, those just show up like regular Chromecast targets and are not integrated into the Chromecast app. I'm hoping they will update the software for the speakers to act more like the Chromecast audio (controllable through the Chromecast app and streaming separately from the device) and also to integrate into the upcoming multiroom solution with Chromecast audio
^^^ Does anybody have experience with LG Music Flow devices? I'd be curious whether the above issue has been resolved by app updates and/or firmware updates for the speakers.

Currently looking into the LG Music Flow H4 Portable. It's available for <100 Euros. I don't have a Bluetooth speaker ATM. Thus, the H4 would be a cheap way to obtain a portable (i.e., battery-driven) Bluetooth speaker as well as a Google Cast for Audio ready device at the same time.

I've no clue how it compares sound-quality wise with, say, a Bose Soundlink Mini. But, at such a low price point, I'm very tempted to just pull the trigger. Lots of features for the price (Bluetooth, dual band WiFi, Google Cast for Audio, DLNA, native playback of up to 24/192 FLAC, etc.)
Can is offline  
post #69 of 587 Old 12-06-2015, 06:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 4
My experience has not been great. The speakers keep getting 'lost' either by the app or by Google cast (the Google cast software is many versions behind). If you go to the LG music flow forum you can see a lot of the frustration that owners are having, and LG is not doing much to answer. I'm hoping at this point that the Denon HEOS system implements Google cast soon and hopefully works better than the LG has. I would strongly recommend looking at that forum before investing in any of these speakers.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
reddice likes this.
OohJimbo is offline  
post #70 of 587 Old 12-06-2015, 07:29 AM
Can
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
OohJimbo,

I appreciate your thoughts. Thanks!
Can is offline  
post #71 of 587 Old 12-10-2015, 10:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 3,100
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 650 Post(s)
Liked: 432
A gift just in time for family entertaining:

http://www.theverge.com/2015/12/10/9...m-hi-res-audio

Quote:
The multi-room feature lets user group multiple Chromecast Audio devices together to play the same song out of different speakers at the same time. Groups are created with the Chromecast app for iOS or Android, and then show up as options when the cast button is pressed in supported apps, such as Spotify, Google Play Music, or Pandora. The hi-res audio feature, which is important for services that offer lossless playback, supports 96KHz / 24bit audio, which is greater than CD quality.
amatuerholic likes this.

My basement media room and bar
Epson 2030, Onkyo TX-NR626, and Kodi based system

Mironto's Panasonic plasma black level restoration guide
Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is offline  
post #72 of 587 Old 12-10-2015, 10:47 AM
Newbie
 
hiltinuts2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pittsoccer33 View Post
A gift just in time for family entertaining:

http://www.theverge.com/2015/12/10/9...m-hi-res-audio
Lol; I came straight here after reading the article on the Verge. I might pull the trigger on a few of these now...
hiltinuts2 is offline  
post #73 of 587 Old 12-10-2015, 10:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 3,100
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 650 Post(s)
Liked: 432
Target has them two for $50. A lot of retailers did that deal Thanksgiving weekend, so maybe you can still find it elsewhere.

I put one in my living room and one in my bar, they're really handy.
hiltinuts2 likes this.

My basement media room and bar
Epson 2030, Onkyo TX-NR626, and Kodi based system

Mironto's Panasonic plasma black level restoration guide
Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is offline  
post #74 of 587 Old 12-11-2015, 10:40 AM
Newbie
 
mookee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hope Apple Music will support them now, but not holding my breath.
mookee is offline  
post #75 of 587 Old 12-11-2015, 11:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,691
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 606 Post(s)
Liked: 118
BTW the pooping sound between tracks on Play Music when using the AUX cable seems to be fixed with 6.0.1. Like other audio apps it only pops once when playing something for the first time then it is fine after. Too bad I would have not gotten a Chromecast audio if it was fixed earlier.

Also got the Chromecast audio update and volume does not seem to default to full blast but it seems louder at lower volumes. The sound quality is better but still only Play Music app lets you control the volume from the app.

Charter Spectrum powered by Earthlink.
My Router: Netgear R7000 - Advanced Tomato 3.4-140 K26ARM USB VPN-64K.
My Primary Streaming Devices: Apple TV (2015), Roku Premiere.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is online now  
post #76 of 587 Old 12-11-2015, 11:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Cla55clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Arvada, Colorado (Denver area)
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 76
B&H Photo offers 2 for $55. Stocking stuffers for the kids?

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...kit_black.html
Cla55clown is offline  
post #77 of 587 Old 12-11-2015, 11:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
amatuerholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 1,324
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 581 Post(s)
Liked: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post
...only Play Music app lets you control the volume from the app.
When I had mine, Pandora allowed control from the app as well.
reddice likes this.

amatuerholic is offline  
post #78 of 587 Old 12-11-2015, 12:46 PM
Member
 
dear.chap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone looked at multi-room performance with this ? i.e the audio output is all similar in multiple rooms irrespective of network topology/delays etc ?
dear.chap is offline  
post #79 of 587 Old 12-12-2015, 10:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DanPackMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 1,280
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 299 Post(s)
Liked: 602
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post

Also got the Chromecast audio update and volume does not seem to default to full blast but it seems louder at lower volumes. The sound quality is better but still only Play Music app lets you control the volume from the app.
The default to 100% problem on analog still exists from what I can tell. If I play a song by dragging it into chrome browser and then lower the volume, stop, the play another song, it changes back to 100%. Why they can't just have a setting for the default start volume I don't know. I guess the problem is somewhat solved only for certain apps. Very frustrating.
reddice likes this.
DanPackMan is offline  
post #80 of 587 Old 12-13-2015, 10:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,892
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1036 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Has anyone here read/heard anything about whether Chromecast video devices, and maybe even other Google Cast capable devices (NVIDIA Shield, for example) are going to be able to "join the party" wrt this new multi-room feature?

If one of these would let me sync my portable blutooth speaker to my two primary sound systems (both with 1st Gen chromecasts), that'd be so cool...
psuKinger is offline  
post #81 of 587 Old 12-13-2015, 02:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Cla55clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Arvada, Colorado (Denver area)
Posts: 460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 76
I think one of the verge article commenters said no [to being able to mix and match with whole house syncing].

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk
Cla55clown is offline  
post #82 of 587 Old 12-14-2015, 07:51 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Montucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Montana
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 429 Post(s)
Liked: 288
Woohoo! Just got the "group" update today! Really easy to create groups with whatever combination you want. Love it. That said, I still need to thoroughly test it out.
Montucky is offline  
post #83 of 587 Old 12-15-2015, 06:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 3,100
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 650 Post(s)
Liked: 432
From the Google FAQ

Quote:
Is the audio being re-sampled or altered?
No. Music is played on all speakers in the original format, ensuring high-quality sound.
Quote:
Can I add my Chromecast (that casts video) or Android TV to a group?
No, grouping Chromecast (that casts video) or Android TVs is not supported.
Quote:
Can I add my Google Cast speakers to a group?
We are working on adding Multi-room group playback support to all of our existing and upcoming audio devices with Google Cast built-in. This will allow you to group your Chromecast Audio devices and Google Cast speakers from different brands into one seamless experience. This feature will be rolled out to all Google Cast speakers throughout 2016.

My basement media room and bar
Epson 2030, Onkyo TX-NR626, and Kodi based system

Mironto's Panasonic plasma black level restoration guide
Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is offline  
post #84 of 587 Old 12-15-2015, 09:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 4
I am very interested to see how they mix in the other systems. I have been looking into the Denon HEOS system for a while now pending their implementation of Google cast. The LG system is way too buggy to invest in.

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
OohJimbo is offline  
post #85 of 587 Old 12-15-2015, 12:29 PM
Senior Member
 
mrkalel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I'm waiting on my other 2 CCA's to be delivered... 3 ttl. Can't wait to set up groups!

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
mrkalel is offline  
post #86 of 587 Old 12-15-2015, 12:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,691
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 606 Post(s)
Liked: 118
I am tempted to dig out my old iPod Touch and try it with the Chromecast audio to see if it lets me control the volume with third party apps.

Charter Spectrum powered by Earthlink.
My Router: Netgear R7000 - Advanced Tomato 3.4-140 K26ARM USB VPN-64K.
My Primary Streaming Devices: Apple TV (2015), Roku Premiere.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is online now  
post #87 of 587 Old 12-16-2015, 04:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Miles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Halifax, Canada
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Is anyone streaming hi-res files yet? If so, are you using Google Play Music, Plex, or something else?
Miles is offline  
post #88 of 587 Old 12-17-2015, 09:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
reddice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 2,691
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 606 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Also on a whim I still use the Chromecast audio but now much because of the volume control issues and the fact that the battery drain is the same or worse while casting compared to the AUX connection but what makes me keep it is the fact if I receive a notification or call the music does not stop as it does with the AUX connection.

Charter Spectrum powered by Earthlink.
My Router: Netgear R7000 - Advanced Tomato 3.4-140 K26ARM USB VPN-64K.
My Primary Streaming Devices: Apple TV (2015), Roku Premiere.
Cats are the best pets.
reddice is online now  
post #89 of 587 Old 12-17-2015, 09:25 AM
Senior Member
 
mrkalel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddice View Post
Also on a whim I still use the Chromecast audio but now much because of the volume control issues and the fact that the battery drain is the same or worse while casting compared to the AUX connection but what makes me keep it is the fact if I receive a notification or call the music does not stop as it does with the AUX connection.
I really don't see any battery drain... But I mostly use Google Play...

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
mrkalel is offline  
post #90 of 587 Old 12-17-2015, 09:31 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Montucky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Montana
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 429 Post(s)
Liked: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrkalel View Post
I really don't see any battery drain... But I mostly use Google Play...
Same here. Although my wife used Pandora and I use Plex for my Hi-Res files. Still not having the battery drain issue with anything, though. Perhaps that depends on the phone? I'm using an older Moto X which has a pretty stock form of Android, so maybe that helps it function the way that Google intends.

I'm not sure. Either way, I am finding myself using Google Play Music a lot. Been using the free 3 month trial that came with my CCA, and I gotta admit. I like it more than I ever thought I would. Insane amount of music to access and the stations are really well curated. Doesn't seem to repeat songs all the time like Pandora tends to do. Also seems to work the most seamlessly with the CCA. Wonder if that's by design. Haha.
Montucky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off