QNAP and Plex - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!

Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 10 Old 10-31-2015, 06:44 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 17
QNAP and Plex

Hey guys, I'm very new to this whole side of things so please go easy on me. I was loaned a QNAP TS-419P+ and told to try it out and if I like it I could buy it. So I was checking the Plex website last night(only looking, didnt have time to download/do anything) and found they have a recommended NAS page. https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets...lview?sle=true The closest one I can find to mine on their list says the CPU is below minimum recommended spec. I'm assuming that means its too slow to do the work.

The whole goal of mine is to get movies(both DVD and BluRay) saved onto the QNAP as well as TV shows. Then be able to watch them on either the TV upstairs(nothing special but I can get specs if its important) and on the projector downstairs. TV upstairs has a bluray player hooked up to it. Projector downstairs has XBOX 360, bluray player, and laptop that I use as HTPC(kinda)

So I guess I have a couple questions. Is this QNAP going to work for my intended use? If not can you easily/cheaply upgrade the CPU to make it work? Is there a better NAS for what I want to do? What are you guys using?

Thanks for your help and time!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 10-31-2015, 09:28 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 29