Himedia Q10 Pro - HDMI 2.0a HDR player - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 17Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 46 Old 02-22-2016, 12:49 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Himedia Q10 Pro - HDMI 2.0a HDR player

The new Himedia Q10 Pro is due out soon and specs look impressive inc hdmi 2.0a inc HDR, dtsx, atmos, hd audio, picture processing.

http://www.futeko.com/products/MP068.php

Thanks
fmedrano1977 likes this.

TV: Panasonic 55" VT65 Surround: Yamaha RX1073 + Orbs Audio Mod2 7.1 + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Duo + Darbee 5000S + Iscan Mini Players: HDI Dune Solo4K / Nvidia Shield TV / VU+ Duo2 NAS: Qnap 871 Pro i7 16GB Ram
a5ian300zx is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 46 Old 02-22-2016, 01:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
halfelite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,754
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 337 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Im waiting on the reviews. All the Android players always have awesome specs yet sub par delivery. The HiMedia boxes seem to have a lot working most of the time though so I will watch for it.
halfelite is online now  
post #3 of 46 Old 02-22-2016, 01:23 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 38
I did have a q5, the picture was really good for Android but the gui was lacking as it broke certain thing with firmware updates and sometimes thing just stopped working ie YouTube.

The hd audio was done using wrapper file for kodi.

There is a few videos on YouTube and some info on their forum.

T



Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk

TV: Panasonic 55" VT65 Surround: Yamaha RX1073 + Orbs Audio Mod2 7.1 + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Duo + Darbee 5000S + Iscan Mini Players: HDI Dune Solo4K / Nvidia Shield TV / VU+ Duo2 NAS: Qnap 871 Pro i7 16GB Ram
a5ian300zx is online now  
post #4 of 46 Old 03-13-2016, 05:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
DeadEd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 624
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 159
It looks promising. Wonder if it will be any better than the Nvidia Shield.

--. .-. .- - . ..-. ..- .-.. / -.. . .- -..
Dyslexics are teople poo.
DeadEd is offline  
post #5 of 46 Old 03-14-2016, 05:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: SE USA
Posts: 6,334
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 290 Post(s)
Liked: 117
I've had a pre-production sample for a few weeks. Can't say much due to NDA, but a few of us from Kodi forum are helping HiMedia engineers squash a couple of bugs before 31-March release... but, even at this stage, this player is very good (excellent PQ via Imprex Engine 2.0, 4K 8-and-10 bit + HDR, and 3D ISO + HD audio like w/previous-gen).

Some tidbits here and here.
aaronwt, Boodaddy and gymnos like this.

Hi-deft Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #6 of 46 Old 03-14-2016, 11:18 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 38
That's good to hear, Does the impression engine work within kodi or its native player only?

Thanks

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

TV: Panasonic 55" VT65 Surround: Yamaha RX1073 + Orbs Audio Mod2 7.1 + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Duo + Darbee 5000S + Iscan Mini Players: HDI Dune Solo4K / Nvidia Shield TV / VU+ Duo2 NAS: Qnap 871 Pro i7 16GB Ram
a5ian300zx is online now  
post #7 of 46 Old 03-15-2016, 04:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: SE USA
Posts: 6,334
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 290 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by a5ian300zx View Post
Does the impression engine work within kodi or its native player only?
Via native player only I believe, but that's what Kodi is using anyway with the HiMedia wrapper. I'm not certain whether Imprex engine applies to any playback app, so you may want to ask here.

BTW, there's a new development for native 3D MVC via Kodi under Windows. 4K is an open question, but if you just need full 3D and HD audio passthrough, this route is worth considering.
Movie78 likes this.

Hi-deft Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #8 of 46 Old 03-23-2016, 08:37 AM
Member
 
HouseOfMu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@Brajesh (aka @hdmkv )

Maybe you could request a demo box of the Dune Solo 4K, as a head-to-head with the Q10/Q5 Pro, specifically regarding AV playback quality (obviously ignoring the advantage of one having Kodi as the UI), would be very interesting.

Without breaking any NDA, can you mention any major issues the Q10 Pro has atm ? (i.e. lacking any framerates, HDR etc) ?
HouseOfMu is offline  
post #9 of 46 Old 03-23-2016, 09:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: SE USA
Posts: 6,334
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 290 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Not really interested in Dune as its major draw is BD menus, which I could care less about. Take me straight to the movie please .

The major issues w/Q10 Pro for now are:
  • Lip sync, which starts w/some videos at a certain point; but, gets back in sync if you chapter ahead/back or stop/resume
  • 23.976 is supported, but us beta testers are seeing a handful of frame skips (8-12 approx) in a 2-hour movie
  • Some color space and Imprex engine 2.0 bugs

But, 3D ISO's work as well as with current-gen Q5/Q10, and 4K is excellent in H.264 and HEVC, 8- and 10-bit, and HDR. Latter plays smoothly for me and looks great, but my 4K Vizio TV doesn't support HDR . The other great things are twice as fast boot-up as current-gen, significantly snappier, and bitrates up to 255Mbps are no sweat (didn't test any higher as no real world 4K will get even anywhere that high). Also, all 4K play very smoothly (have tested 23.976, 24, 25 and 60fps), as I notice slight judder w/some 4K even in nVidia Shield that I don't w/Q10 Pro.
HouseOfMu and gymnos like this.

Hi-deft Media Keen Videosaurus

Last edited by Brajesh; 03-23-2016 at 09:15 AM.
Brajesh is offline  
post #10 of 46 Old 03-23-2016, 10:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,999
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 939 Post(s)
Liked: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by a5ian300zx View Post
I did have a q5, the picture was really good for Android but the gui was lacking as it broke certain thing with firmware updates and sometimes thing just stopped working ie YouTube.

The hd audio was done using wrapper file for kodi.

There is a few videos on YouTube and some info on their forum.

T



Sent from my SM-T710 using Tapatalk
Why is the wrapper required? Does Kodi not support HD bitstreaming with Android native?

I've paid for my sins. We're even!
blackssr is online now  
post #11 of 46 Old 03-23-2016, 11:24 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackssr View Post
Why is the wrapper required? Does Kodi not support HD bitstreaming with Android native?
Not at the time if I remember correctly. Same now with q10 pro I think

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

TV: Panasonic 55" VT65 Surround: Yamaha RX1073 + Orbs Audio Mod2 7.1 + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Duo + Darbee 5000S + Iscan Mini Players: HDI Dune Solo4K / Nvidia Shield TV / VU+ Duo2 NAS: Qnap 871 Pro i7 16GB Ram
a5ian300zx is online now  
post #12 of 46 Old 03-23-2016, 11:37 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post
Not really interested in Dune as its major draw is BD menus, which I could care less about. Take me straight to the movie please .

The major issues w/Q10 Pro for now are:
  • Lip sync, which starts w/some videos at a certain point; but, gets back in sync if you chapter ahead/back or stop/resume
  • 23.976 is supported, but us beta testers are seeing a handful of frame skips (8-12 approx) in a 2-hour movie
  • Some color space and Imprex engine 2.0 bugs

But, 3D ISO's work as well as with current-gen Q5/Q10, and 4K is excellent in H.264 and HEVC, 8- and 10-bit, and HDR. Latter plays smoothly for me and looks great, but my 4K Vizio TV doesn't support HDR . The other great things are twice as fast boot-up as current-gen, significantly snappier, and bitrates up to 255Mbps are no sweat (didn't test any higher as no real world 4K will get even anywhere that high). Also, all 4K play very smoothly (have tested 23.976, 24, 25 and 60fps), as I notice slight judder w/some 4K even in nVidia Shield that I don't w/Q10 Pro.
Have to disagree dune major draw is not bluray menu but its a solid player with solid firmware which does 23.976p perfectly and we'll as many other other things no workarounds.

In terms of pq I had the q5 / dune prime 3.0 / popcorn a410 and mede8er same time.

From them all the best picture was from popcorn a410 as this had the vxp processing engine which is the same as what going to be implemented in the new dune.

The second I would say is the q5 which had the best picture from an android player.

Knowing me I will get q10 pro and have the dune solo 4k player on order so will be able to test.



Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
gymnos likes this.

TV: Panasonic 55" VT65 Surround: Yamaha RX1073 + Orbs Audio Mod2 7.1 + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Duo + Darbee 5000S + Iscan Mini Players: HDI Dune Solo4K / Nvidia Shield TV / VU+ Duo2 NAS: Qnap 871 Pro i7 16GB Ram
a5ian300zx is online now  
post #13 of 46 Old 03-23-2016, 11:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blackssr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,999
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 939 Post(s)
Liked: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by a5ian300zx View Post
Not at the time if I remember correctly. Same now with q10 pro I think

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
So the wrapper allows Kodi to use the stock player instead of the Kodi player? If so why doesn't Kodi just provide native support. It seems that Android is popular enough.

I've paid for my sins. We're even!

Last edited by blackssr; 04-01-2016 at 09:24 AM.
blackssr is online now  
post #14 of 46 Old 03-23-2016, 11:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: SE USA
Posts: 6,334
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 290 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Correct, the wrapper is just a mechanism to call the native player via Kodi. Kodi is simply used as the front-end.

We all want integrated playback w/o wrapper, so recently convinced HiMedia to send Koying (the best Kodi Android media player around) a sample Q10 Pro unit. The hope is he can do for HiSilicon SoC-based players like Q10Pro what he's done for nVidia Shield and S8xx and S9xx AMLogic SoC boxes.

a5ian300zx, Q10 Pro does do 23.976 as with current-gen Q5/Q10, but as Q10 Pro isn't out yet, there are bugs as I noted, like some frame skips. I expect these bugs to be ironed out, but not by release day mid-April. But, maybe, as we could have another couple firmware updates to the beta test group. There have already been 3 since we got our pre-production samples about 5 weeks ago. The few of us helping HiMedia engineers are providing feedback, details, but firmware development takes time as we all know well. Sometimes they fix 2 things, and break 1. It took nearly a year's worth of firmware updates to make current-gen Q5/Q10 as good as they are for 3D ISO/HD audio/perfect 23.976.

In any case, I'll be posting a detailed review of Q10 Pro in Kodi forum's hardware section within a week or so. Waiting for confirmation on HiMedia for a few things. As far as 4K goes, performance/PQ is already fantastic out of this box.

Also, for me on PQ, as I tried out popcorn a410 w/vxp processing engine as well, I found Imprex better (and it's even better on Q10 Pro w/Imprex 2.0). To me, Imprex rivals Darbee Darblet... but you need to apply just the right level of processing, otherwise like Darbee, PQ can exhibit halos, edge enhancement, and other unwanted artifacts.

Hi-deft Media Keen Videosaurus

Last edited by Brajesh; 03-23-2016 at 12:03 PM.
Brajesh is offline  
post #15 of 46 Old 03-23-2016, 12:33 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Thanks for the reply, dune take over a year just working on initial firmware and have not experienced them breaking something when implement new features or fixing existing one.

I can't wait for you review and will keep an eye out especially if your saying the imprex is better processing that vxp and it can rival Darbee it's big claim.

Again its something I want to test myself as I also own Darbee 5000s and dvdo mini.

Thanks

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

TV: Panasonic 55" VT65 Surround: Yamaha RX1073 + Orbs Audio Mod2 7.1 + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Duo + Darbee 5000S + Iscan Mini Players: HDI Dune Solo4K / Nvidia Shield TV / VU+ Duo2 NAS: Qnap 871 Pro i7 16GB Ram
a5ian300zx is online now  
post #16 of 46 Old 03-23-2016, 04:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: SE USA
Posts: 6,334
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 290 Post(s)
Liked: 117
I own the original Darbee Darblet DVP 5000, which I don't use w/HiMedia Q10 Pro.

Anyway, I'm wrestling w/HiMedia Q10 Pro vs. Intel w/Windows 8/10 and MVC builds here. Pros/cons to each, but leaning more toward Q10 Pro at this point...

http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?...913#pid2280913

http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?...568#pid2290568
a5ian300zx likes this.

Hi-deft Media Keen Videosaurus

Last edited by Brajesh; 03-23-2016 at 05:03 PM.
Brajesh is offline  
post #17 of 46 Old 03-24-2016, 12:52 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Just realised your username hdmkv and have followed few of your thread/replies.

I can't wait for your feedback and had quick read on the imprex 2.0.

So I can get this right all the media files use the kodi gui but player through the q10 pro media player with imprex 2.0?

Would you be able to give us any screen shots of comparison?

Thanks

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

TV: Panasonic 55" VT65 Surround: Yamaha RX1073 + Orbs Audio Mod2 7.1 + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Duo + Darbee 5000S + Iscan Mini Players: HDI Dune Solo4K / Nvidia Shield TV / VU+ Duo2 NAS: Qnap 871 Pro i7 16GB Ram
a5ian300zx is online now  
post #18 of 46 Old 03-24-2016, 03:38 AM
Member
 
HouseOfMu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On paper, the specs of the Solo vs the Q10 (or even cheaper Q5) Pro make it difficult to understand why its double the price?

In practice, Dune is one of the rare companies with a very mature SDK giving a consistent and reliable experience across all its boxes. This playback quality I'd consider reference class compared to the myriad of other boxes I have/had.

Still, if HiMedia can pull it off at 1/2 of the price, that would be amazing, so direct comparisons eagerly wanted.

Both still ontrack for release next Month ?
HouseOfMu is offline  
post #19 of 46 Old 03-24-2016, 04:20 AM
Member
 
HouseOfMu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Futeko (a UK seller of HiMedia) has a list of Chinese reviews of the Q10 Pro which might be of interest...

http://www.futeko.com/newforum/index.php?topic=646.0
HouseOfMu is offline  
post #20 of 46 Old 03-24-2016, 06:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: SE USA
Posts: 6,334
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 290 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by HouseOfMu View Post
Both still ontrack for release next Month ?
Q10 Pro is mid-April, and Q5 Pro late April. No U.S. distributor though... so we stateside will probably need to rely on eBay.

Quote:
Originally Posted by a5ian300zx View Post
So I can get this right all the media files use the kodi gui but player through the q10 pro media player with imprex 2.0?
Yes. However, koying, Kodi Android dev, now has a box... hoping he can do his magic for this as he's done for nVidia Shield and AMLogic boxes. Integrated Kodi playback w/o external at some point would be the best, still leveraging the HiSilicon player and Imprex engine 2.0.
6hzzz likes this.

Hi-deft Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #21 of 46 Old 03-24-2016, 06:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Shepardos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Any information if the PQ will be better than on the shield TV?? This could be a good alternative. How much does it cost???
Shepardos is offline  
post #22 of 46 Old 03-24-2016, 06:44 AM
Member
 
HouseOfMu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does that mean HiMedia has a SDK he can tap into ?

Why wouldn't Himedia just make their own fork of Kodi and do it themselves ? (all GPL considerations taken into account of course...)
HouseOfMu is offline  
post #23 of 46 Old 03-24-2016, 07:31 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shepardos View Post
Any information if the PQ will be better than on the shield TV?? This could be a good alternative. How much does it cost???
Yes, way better if what they say about the imprex 2.0 processing are true.

Thanks

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

TV: Panasonic 55" VT65 Surround: Yamaha RX1073 + Orbs Audio Mod2 7.1 + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Duo + Darbee 5000S + Iscan Mini Players: HDI Dune Solo4K / Nvidia Shield TV / VU+ Duo2 NAS: Qnap 871 Pro i7 16GB Ram
a5ian300zx is online now  
post #24 of 46 Old 03-25-2016, 11:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: SE USA
Posts: 6,334
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 290 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Review posted: http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=265888

Hi-deft Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #25 of 46 Old 03-31-2016, 12:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
trans_lux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: In my theater
Posts: 1,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brajesh View Post
Excellent thread on Kodi!!

I found someone who has almost as many media streaming devices as I do. Though I suspect you have a of "museum" of boxes somewhere off camera.

gymnos likes this.
trans_lux is offline  
post #26 of 46 Old 03-31-2016, 02:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: SE USA
Posts: 6,334
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 290 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Thanks ... I'm Spring Cleaning now however . Down to just Intel NUC, Shield, Q10 Pro and Pi3.

Hi-deft Media Keen Videosaurus
Brajesh is offline  
post #27 of 46 Old 04-01-2016, 12:05 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Lol, I try to spring clean as I go along. So just the shield tv, prime 3.0, qnap 871 with kodi, thinking of testing vmware VM htpc. I also have vu+ duo2 but have not installed kodi or anything on it.

I have got rid of so far Haswell i5 nuc, hdi dune base 3d, Mede8er 1000x3d, himedia q5, Popcorn a410, openhour.

Preordered new dune solo 4k player.

Wife does not like clutter and hates when I add stuff to the chain as she puts it.

The price is really good for the q10 pro.

Brajesh do you have a video of general navigation around the system so we can see the speed and also in kodi with all the cover art imported.

Thanks



Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

TV: Panasonic 55" VT65 Surround: Yamaha RX1073 + Orbs Audio Mod2 7.1 + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Duo + Darbee 5000S + Iscan Mini Players: HDI Dune Solo4K / Nvidia Shield TV / VU+ Duo2 NAS: Qnap 871 Pro i7 16GB Ram
a5ian300zx is online now  
post #28 of 46 Old 04-04-2016, 04:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
VisionxOrb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oceanside, Ca
Posts: 513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I think I read in the kodi forum that these unit can only do standard def from netflix, hulu, amazon etc, is that true? seems like it would be a deal breaker no?

2000 watts of power and climbing

-Fred
VisionxOrb is online now  
post #29 of 46 Old 04-04-2016, 04:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LexInVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,711
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 391 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by HouseOfMu View Post
Does that mean HiMedia has a SDK he can tap into ?

Why wouldn't Himedia just make their own fork of Kodi and do it themselves ? (all GPL considerations taken into account of course...)

In order to do a proper Kodi implementation on a box such as this, you'd need to build it against the ARM SDKs, which cover the SOC used in the Q10. There's no secret silicon sauce that Himedia is working with and all the video decoding and processing in the Q10 is done via GPU Shaders and some CPU assistance using generic methods that are well documented at this point, so it's a matter of ensuring that Kodi can tap into it properly with the appropriate decoder.

At this point, we have no idea what Himedia has done with the Android software on their box or their "version" of Kodi. It could be hacked and cobbled together or it could be well-written. Unless we find a way to replace the software, it's a moot point because we're stuck with whatever they give us. Either way, we definitely need more R&D.
LexInVA is online now  
post #30 of 46 Old 04-04-2016, 11:30 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
a5ian300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by VisionxOrb View Post
I think I read in the kodi forum that these unit can only do standard def from netflix, hulu, amazon etc, is that true? seems like it would be a deal breaker no?
I don't think it has amazon, just Netflix which would be standard Def.

This box is great for kodi and media playback but in terms of catch up services I think they are more or workaround than official apps made specifically for the device processor.

Correct me if I am wrong.

Thanks

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

TV: Panasonic 55" VT65 Surround: Yamaha RX1073 + Orbs Audio Mod2 7.1 + SVS SB12-NSD Stereo: Yamaha AS500 + Kef Q300 Processor: DVDO Duo + Darbee 5000S + Iscan Mini Players: HDI Dune Solo4K / Nvidia Shield TV / VU+ Duo2 NAS: Qnap 871 Pro i7 16GB Ram
a5ian300zx is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off