Official ROKU 4K (HDR) Premiere +/Ultra Owners Thread - Page 194 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1538Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5791 of 6859 Old 07-26-2017, 07:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
rjhseven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Memphis
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daryl L View Post
I just checked this video on my Roku Premium Plus and it triggered HDR on my LG OLED55E6P. And it looks amazing.

https://youtu.be/tO01J-M3g0U
Did you stream it by tablet?

Memphis Tiger Fan-Sports enthusiast
rjhseven is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5792 of 6859 Old 07-27-2017, 03:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,013
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 504 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Hey all,

wanted to post my findings after doing a complete factory reset on my premiere+ and setting it up as a 1080p device from the start.
Initially everything was working correctly. Then after shutting everything down for the night and coming back to the show I fell asleep to this morning, I thought my brand new sound bar had blown a speaker already because stereo sound was fuzzy and distorted, and there was no sound from the movie in Plex with surround I have on Deck. So here is what I see initially happening is: if I'm going on a fresh reboot things are OK. If I have been using the ROKU for a while. and then turn off the TV and sound bar, and let the ROKU go into stand by, when things come back up there are issues and either no sound, or distorted sound. I am not really able to provide a specific time frame here, so I'll just say extended periods of idle time bring on the issues, where as short periods don't seem to.

I was able to confirm my stuff, and the content are fine, by switching to another device, where playback and sound all returned to normal.

I have ruled out bad settings and a factory reset and still experience the same issues.
MacinMan is offline  
post #5793 of 6859 Old 07-27-2017, 06:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Daryl L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 3,241
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 522 Post(s)
Liked: 345
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjhseven View Post
Did you stream it by tablet?
No. I used the Roku Premier Plus YouTube app connected directly to my television through HDMI.

LG OLED55E6P UHD TV
Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD BD Player
Denon AVR-S710W Atmos AV Receiver
Samsung SMT-H3272 HDC DVR Cable Box
Roku Premium Plus 4k/HDR Streaming Media Box
Daryl L is offline  
 
post #5794 of 6859 Old 07-27-2017, 08:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
dojoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 313 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
i didn't think the Roku had access to HDR with Youtube. It requires decoding VP9.2. Or did they add it at some point? I know my Sony X800 can handle VP9.2 and I can watch the YouTube HDR videos from it. But I didn't think the Roku had access to Youtube HDR yet.
Check out these clips on YT with Roku. It shows in HDR. Only the ones from this user has real HDR. If you search YT there are lots of others claimed to be but they're not.


dojoman is offline  
post #5795 of 6859 Old 07-27-2017, 08:45 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 31,305
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6416 Post(s)
Liked: 3965
Thanks. I tried some from The HDR Channel last night. I forgot I had tried it earlier. MAny of the videos that show up in HDR on my SOny TV from my Sony X800 Youtube app, do not play in HDR from the Roku. After I looked last night I remembered trying it when it was first announced with the Roku.

I'll need to try those two videos tonight on my Roku Ultra.

53TB unRAID2--41TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
Sony 65x850C--Sony UBP-X800--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #5796 of 6859 Old 07-27-2017, 11:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 47
i'm still getting the red flashes on my Prem+ thats updated to latest 7.7 firmware- watched an episode of Ozark on netflix using prem+ last night- lots of red flashes during the hr. Got this unit as streaming Amazon prime from my sony 940c had lots of studdering when changing volume & bad lip sync issues- this seems to be much improved lately after last sony update when streaming from the TV now- both netflix/amazon are good-
Thinking of returning the prem+ to costco for refund- (already did this earlier in yr & bought it again during last sale few months ago)- can't put up with the Roku audio drop outs on some streaming, red flashes on netflix- & occasional hdcp error pop up.
bgrpph is offline  
post #5797 of 6859 Old 07-27-2017, 04:24 PM
d_c
AVS Forum Special Member
 
d_c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: KCMO
Posts: 2,348
Mentioned: 175 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 900 Post(s)
Liked: 1045
Is the Audio dropout issue with the Premiere + something that just happens that one just has to deal with or get the Ultra? Is there a fix? I have 800+ gbps with Google Fiber
d_c is online now  
post #5798 of 6859 Old 07-27-2017, 05:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
In a Yamaha AVR, they call it Mode 1 and 2, with Mode 1 required for HDR passthrough but they shipped with Mode 2 by default. It is hidden in a special power-on menu. Unsure what Denon might call it and where you'd find it.
<br />
<br />
<br />
I'm not getting hdr or 4k from Netflix (but am from Amazon) on the Roku Ultra, v. 7.7.0. Might this mode1/mode2 be the issue? How exactly do I get to the menu to change the setting on a Yamaha 2060?
bobdevellis is offline  
post #5799 of 6859 Old 07-27-2017, 05:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
kbmb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 693
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 465 Post(s)
Liked: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobdevellis View Post
<br />
<br />
<br />
I'm not getting hdr or 4k from Netflix (but am from Amazon) on the Roku Ultra, v. 7.7.0. Might this mode1/mode2 be the issue? How exactly do I get to the menu to change the setting on a Yamaha 2060?
Starts on page 153

https://usa.yamaha.com/files/download/other_assets/0/799480/YH790B0_EN1_RX-A3060_2060_om_UCRABGLF_En_C0.pdf
kbmb is offline  
post #5800 of 6859 Old 07-27-2017, 06:45 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gwsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 19,383
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3424 Post(s)
Liked: 4004
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobdevellis View Post
<br />
<br />
<br />
I'm not getting hdr or 4k from Netflix (but am from Amazon) on the Roku Ultra, v. 7.7.0. Might this mode1/mode2 be the issue? How exactly do I get to the menu to change the setting on a Yamaha 2060?
That is your problem. I have a Yamaha 3060. Like the 2060, the default HDMI setting is Mode 2 but in order to enable HDR at 60Hz, which is required by the Roku's Netflix app, you need to set your 2060's HDMI connection to the Roku to Mode 1. I nearly went nuts until posters to the Yamaha X060 thread explained it to me. You have to do it through your 2060's setup menu but the online manual's instructions are reasonably clear.

HT setup: Sony 75XBR X940D UHD HDR TV; Kaleidescape Strato Movie Server 6 TB; Yamaha RX-A3060 AV receiver; Sonamp 2-1 2channel 100W power amp; Crestron Control System; 2 Rythmik FV18 subwoofers, 6 Hsu HB-1 Bookshelf speakers, 1 Hsu HC-1 Center speaker, 4 Focal ICW8 in-ceiling Atmos speakers; Oppo UDP-203 4K HDR BD player; Mac Mini HTPC. TiVO Bolt 1TB DVR; TiVo Premiere Elite 2 TB DVR; Roku Premiere+
gwsat is offline  
post #5801 of 6859 Old 07-27-2017, 07:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,013
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 504 Post(s)
Liked: 99
I did some work today on my setup, and while It's not perfect, it does address the stability issues I was having with both ROKU units.

Basically what I did was assess both setups and take note of what was working and what wasn't.

So here is what I have now:I stuck the 43" Sony in the bedroom with the 5.1 sound setup. On this setup I have:

The ROKU streaming stick
Chromecast Ultra
Apple TV 4
Xbox One S.
So I have 4k HDR and 5.1 in one setup.
To work around the ROKU stick video issues I have both optical and HDMI connections for audio.

The ROKU Premiere+ is now in the living room on the 1080p TV with the 2.1 sound bar, and set to force everything in stereo to avoid it's current audio issues. The purpose for the multiple audio inputs is for devices that usually use standard dolby and DTS can pass through the TV's optical, and then also have an HDMI input for devices that can pass multi channel PCM for higher quality audio.
MacinMan is offline  
post #5802 of 6859 Old 07-27-2017, 07:44 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 19,587
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2482 Post(s)
Liked: 1785
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobdevellis View Post
<br />
<br />
<br />
I'm not getting hdr or 4k from Netflix (but am from Amazon) on the Roku Ultra, v. 7.7.0. Might this mode1/mode2 be the issue? How exactly do I get to the menu to change the setting on a Yamaha 2060?
You can access the advanced setup menu directly using the Yamaha Web Setup interface. ( <IP address>/setup) Don't forget the AVR needs to be powered on at the time and must be rebooted after.
gwsat likes this.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #5803 of 6859 Old 07-28-2017, 11:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Thanks, all, for the tip regarding Mode 1. It seems to have helped. The program descriptions still display only an "HD" badge but it at least seems that the show I looked at was using HDR (although no explicit indication of that was evident other than just the appearance of the content).

Roku just seems to have a tough time keeping up with the rapidly evolving technology that various A/V equipment contains these days. They're not alone but it's unfortunate that it can take a year of updates before glitches can get resolved. At least the chirps and red flashes seem to have been corrected in v. 7.7, which is a very good thing.
bobdevellis is offline  
post #5804 of 6859 Old 07-28-2017, 12:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,013
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 504 Post(s)
Liked: 99
I have finally decided no longer to use ROKU as a 4k device until I see new products from them which prove reliable again.

I will however continue to use my streaming stick as a 1080p device as I have been able to get that stable.
For 4K and HDR streaming I've settled on the CCU, and I picked up the Philips BDP5502 for a stand alone 4k and other disc player without having to deal with smart apps which I've wanted for quite a while. A player that's just a player. The advantage of this player I got is, it has 2 HDMI ports (one being a dedicated audio port) so I no longer need to deal with my HDMI switch for now.

The good news here is I can use the 5.1 sound bar HDMI for disc playback without needing to use video passthrough. The ROKU stick Apple TV, and chrome cast are all able to pass full 5.1 to the bar via the TV's optical out. This is finally the ideal setup as none of the streamers require or support HD audio so regular DTS and DD work just fine via the Sony 800D optical out. While the sound bar can't decode the HD codecs from Dolby and DTS, it will handle PCM 5.1 just fine, so if a Disc has a PCM track will get uncompressed 5.1 that way, and standard DD, and DTS 5.1 from the other codecs.

Going to try and sell the Xbox cause I no longer want a game console. As far as the ROKU premiere+ it's strictly a 1080p stereo device at this point as that's the only way it's reliable for me.

Last edited by MacinMan; 07-28-2017 at 12:16 PM.
MacinMan is offline  
post #5805 of 6859 Old 07-28-2017, 04:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state) temporarily in Chantilly VA
Posts: 1,364
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 819 Post(s)
Liked: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
OK, watching TRON Legacy right now on my hotel TV. Not sure if it's a fair test, since I have no control of the video settings on this TV. However, it is a nice quality LG that seems to turn the backlighting off with no signal. I could see the grid lines, although they were quite dim. When I get home Friday evening I'll watch it on my Samsung. The other potential issue is I have to set the bitrate pretty low for my hotel internet speed. I'm only at 4 Mbps/720p resolution, and that could impact the image as well.

Naturally, I'm not going through an AVR here either!
OK, I'm home, and just tried Tron: Legacy with my Roku 4 , through a Yamaha AVR, on my Panasonic ST30 plasma TV. I used both RMP and Plex, and did notice the grid lines were very faint. But then it was daytime and plasma is not noted for screen brightness. However, it didn't appear to have an overall impact to my ability to watch the video.

I did notice that with RMP the core DTS audio passed through from the DTS-MA track, while Plex transcoded the audio to DD even when I forced Direct Play. I could have sworn the DTS passthrough issue with Plex was resolved, but I guess not.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V679, Windows 10 home media server with Serviio and Plex, 18TB of movies/TV shows. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #5806 of 6859 Old 07-28-2017, 04:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,013
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 504 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
OK, I'm home, and just tried Tron: Legacy with my Roku 4 , through a Yamaha AVR, on my Panasonic ST30 plasma TV. I used both RMP and Plex, and did notice the grid lines were very faint. But then it was daytime and plasma is not noted for screen brightness. However, it didn't appear to have an overall impact to my ability to watch the video.

I did notice that with RMP the core DTS audio passed through from the DTS-MA track, while Plex transcoded the audio to DD even when I forced Direct Play. I could have sworn the DTS passthrough issue with Plex was resolved, but I guess not.
There was a new firmware update tonight so I updated both my players. Check out my post above about getting a stable setup. but having to stick with 1080p for ROKU for now. It's ok though because I have other 4K devices that I think work better as far as stability goes. Also note that I got myself a stand alone 4k disc player that's just a disc player because I didn't want smart options on another device. So far, I've been happy with what I've come up with.
MacinMan is offline  
post #5807 of 6859 Old 07-28-2017, 04:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state) temporarily in Chantilly VA
Posts: 1,364
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 819 Post(s)
Liked: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post
There was a new firmware update tonight so I updated both my players. Check out my post above about getting a stable setup. but having to stick with 1080p for ROKU for now. It's ok though because I have other 4K devices that I think work better as far as stability goes. Also note that I got myself a stand alone 4k disc player that's just a disc player because I didn't want smart options on another device. So far, I've been happy with what I've come up with.
When I go to bed tonight I'll try Tron again on my Samsung with the Ultra. Assuming I can keep my eyes open long enough. I've been up since 4:30AM Eastern, and it's now almost 5PM Pacific. I'll have been up for about 17 hours by the time I get up there. This old body can only take so much.

I checked for an update before I began testing, but I'll check again later.
jsmiddleton4 likes this.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V679, Windows 10 home media server with Serviio and Plex, 18TB of movies/TV shows. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #5808 of 6859 Old 07-28-2017, 05:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,013
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 504 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
When I go to bed tonight I'll try Tron again on my Samsung with the Ultra. Assuming I can keep my eyes open long enough. I've been up since 4:30AM Eastern, and it's now almost 5PM Pacific. I'll have been up for about 17 hours by the time I get up there. This old body can only take so much.

I checked for an update before I began testing, but I'll check again later.
Yes, definitely get some rest! Thanks for all your help. I have a usable setup for the time being. I can still test the Plex Audio bug on the Premiere+ because all that needed to be set there was auto or some form of surround processing, and t caused the bug on the 2.1 system as well as 5.1. For now I'm putting streaming away for tonight and watching some Buck Rogers in the 25th century from my DVD set.
MacinMan is offline  
post #5809 of 6859 Old 07-28-2017, 07:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jsmiddleton4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 4,511
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 759 Post(s)
Liked: 251
Wonder what this update "fixes"?

E.B. White said, "I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it hard to plan the day."
jsmiddleton4 is offline  
post #5810 of 6859 Old 07-29-2017, 07:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mr.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sconi
Posts: 5,104
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 766 Post(s)
Liked: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsmiddleton4 View Post
Wonder what this update "fixes"?
If you're referring to the 7.7 firmware, info is here:

https://support.roku.com/article/228...-release-notes

All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten Movies
Mr.G is offline  
post #5811 of 6859 Old 07-29-2017, 08:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Daryl L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 3,241
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 522 Post(s)
Liked: 345
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.G View Post
If you're referring to the 7.7 firmware, info is here:

https://support.roku.com/article/228...-release-notes
That does not address last nights build update to 7.7. There was an update from 7.6 to 7.7 about two weeks ago and then last night there was a new build of 7.7 updated.
jsmiddleton4 likes this.

LG OLED55E6P UHD TV
Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD BD Player
Denon AVR-S710W Atmos AV Receiver
Samsung SMT-H3272 HDC DVR Cable Box
Roku Premium Plus 4k/HDR Streaming Media Box
Daryl L is offline  
post #5812 of 6859 Old 07-29-2017, 09:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mr.G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sconi
Posts: 5,104
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 766 Post(s)
Liked: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daryl L View Post
That does not address last nights build update to 7.7. There was an update from 7.6 to 7.7 about two weeks ago and then last night there was a new build of 7.7 updated.
Currently I am showing 7.7.0 - Build 4116-29. Is this the new firmware? My Premiere+ says it's the latest available.
gwsat likes this.

All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten Movies
Mr.G is offline  
post #5813 of 6859 Old 07-29-2017, 09:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Daryl L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 3,241
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 522 Post(s)
Liked: 345
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.G View Post
Currently I am showing 7.7.0 - Build 4116-29. Is this the new firmware? My Premiere+ says it's the latest available.
Yes, that's the update that we got last night. It will show you the date last updated. Which was July 28 at 7:20 PM on my Roku premier plus.

LG OLED55E6P UHD TV
Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD BD Player
Denon AVR-S710W Atmos AV Receiver
Samsung SMT-H3272 HDC DVR Cable Box
Roku Premium Plus 4k/HDR Streaming Media Box
Daryl L is offline  
post #5814 of 6859 Old 07-29-2017, 10:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jsmiddleton4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 4,511
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 759 Post(s)
Liked: 251
"If you're referring to the 7.7 firmware, info is here:"

No not in general. Just this latest variant.... something updated in the code.

E.B. White said, "I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it hard to plan the day."
jsmiddleton4 is offline  
post #5815 of 6859 Old 07-29-2017, 10:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,013
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 504 Post(s)
Liked: 99
@atc98092 : I got a great deal from best buy today, and If I had known they were going to do this, I would have done it sooner. I took the Xbox one S in today that I had bought last fall. Along with it, I purchased a two year protection plan. Well they let me return it, and gave me a store credit for the full amount. With it I purchased the Sony UBP-X800, and also was able to add a four year plan on that, at no extra cost out of pocket.

Have some good news here after I've done some testing. Plex and Serviio are both able to direct stream and the HD audio track plays over streaming as well. In addition to that, the Player is also giving me 5.1 PCM in PCM mode. So i finally have uncompressed audio with my setup, and it's not crippled to stereo. So, essentially, I can leave the Player set to output PCM, let the player do the decoding and get both stereo and 5.1 uncompressed audio output reliably.

Today has been a good and productive day for me and now I can return the Philips i got from Walmart and call it a day and have my 4K disc upgrade without needing to rely on a game console.

Last edited by MacinMan; 07-29-2017 at 11:00 AM.
MacinMan is offline  
post #5816 of 6859 Old 07-29-2017, 12:32 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gwsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 19,383
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3424 Post(s)
Liked: 4004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daryl L View Post
Yes, that's the update that we got last night. It will show you the date last updated. Which was July 28 at 7:20 PM on my Roku premier plus.
Yep, I just checked and saw that my Premiere+ downloaded the latest version of the 7.7 firmware at 7:48 AM this morning.

I have been watching Ozark on Netflix. It is in 4k but lacks HDR. As others have reported about Netflix 4K shows that lack HDR, I have been seeing red flashes while watching Ozark. They aren't bad enough to convince me to go back to my Sony 940D TV's Netflix app, though. I would have to give up DD+ audio if I did that. Sony's HDMI ARC connection, which I must use for audio from my TV does not support DD+. Don't know yet whether this latest firmware update will eliminate the red flash problem but will report when I see whether or not they are gone.
Daryl L likes this.

HT setup: Sony 75XBR X940D UHD HDR TV; Kaleidescape Strato Movie Server 6 TB; Yamaha RX-A3060 AV receiver; Sonamp 2-1 2channel 100W power amp; Crestron Control System; 2 Rythmik FV18 subwoofers, 6 Hsu HB-1 Bookshelf speakers, 1 Hsu HC-1 Center speaker, 4 Focal ICW8 in-ceiling Atmos speakers; Oppo UDP-203 4K HDR BD player; Mac Mini HTPC. TiVO Bolt 1TB DVR; TiVo Premiere Elite 2 TB DVR; Roku Premiere+
gwsat is offline  
post #5817 of 6859 Old 07-29-2017, 01:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
atc98092's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Washington (the state) temporarily in Chantilly VA
Posts: 1,364
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 819 Post(s)
Liked: 320
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post
@atc98092 : I got a great deal from best buy today, and If I had known they were going to do this, I would have done it sooner. I took the Xbox one S in today that I had bought last fall. Along with it, I purchased a two year protection plan. Well they let me return it, and gave me a store credit for the full amount. With it I purchased the Sony UBP-X800, and also was able to add a four year plan on that, at no extra cost out of pocket.

Have some good news here after I've done some testing. Plex and Serviio are both able to direct stream and the HD audio track plays over streaming as well. In addition to that, the Player is also giving me 5.1 PCM in PCM mode. So i finally have uncompressed audio with my setup, and it's not crippled to stereo. So, essentially, I can leave the Player set to output PCM, let the player do the decoding and get both stereo and 5.1 uncompressed audio output reliably.

Today has been a good and productive day for me and now I can return the Philips i got from Walmart and call it a day and have my 4K disc upgrade without needing to rely on a game console.
Are you saying the UBP-X800 will bitstream HD audio via DLNA from Serviio? Both DTS-MA and TrueHD? That would be very desirable to me.

Dan
Samsung JU7100 4K TV, Yamaha RX-V679, Windows 10 home media server with Serviio and Plex, 18TB of movies/TV shows. Other players and TVs as well.
atc98092 is offline  
post #5818 of 6859 Old 07-29-2017, 02:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,013
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 504 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by atc98092 View Post
Are you saying the UBP-X800 will bitstream HD audio via DLNA from Serviio? Both DTS-MA and TrueHD? That would be very desirable to me.
Yes, I am saying it appears to recognize the HD audio codec on a stream, and It will also send 5.1 PCM while streaming as well if the receiver can handle multi channel PCM. I did find out for certain things I can't use PCM such as Netflix or I'll get stereo. I guess it's a limitation of Netflix. Just about everything else sent multi channel audio.
@atc98092 : My server status shows the UbP x800 with the default generic profile, and it just worked. Both for Plex and Serviio. I didn't change the profile for that player because the newest Sony blu-ray profile is from 2013, and the latest Bravia TV profile Serviio comes with is from 2013 / 14.

Last edited by MacinMan; 07-29-2017 at 02:14 PM.
MacinMan is offline  
post #5819 of 6859 Old 07-29-2017, 02:54 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gwsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 19,383
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3424 Post(s)
Liked: 4004
Alas, I have confirmed that the most recent 7.7 firmware update did not cure the red flash problem with 4k non HDR programs viewed via the Premiere+'s Netflix app. Just watched another episode of Ozark on my Premiere+'s Netflix app and the red flash glitch is still there.

HT setup: Sony 75XBR X940D UHD HDR TV; Kaleidescape Strato Movie Server 6 TB; Yamaha RX-A3060 AV receiver; Sonamp 2-1 2channel 100W power amp; Crestron Control System; 2 Rythmik FV18 subwoofers, 6 Hsu HB-1 Bookshelf speakers, 1 Hsu HC-1 Center speaker, 4 Focal ICW8 in-ceiling Atmos speakers; Oppo UDP-203 4K HDR BD player; Mac Mini HTPC. TiVO Bolt 1TB DVR; TiVo Premiere Elite 2 TB DVR; Roku Premiere+
gwsat is offline  
post #5820 of 6859 Old 07-29-2017, 08:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 47
I'm so tired of all the audio drop outs, audio studdering when using volume on Amazon, red flashes on Netflix, hdcp purple notices, with the Roku prem+- It's been quite awhile with all these issues over so many firmware updates & it still doesn't work correctly with either Amazon or Netflix.

Hoping the the next apple tv has 4k HDR & gets it right so i can return the Roku to Costco for refund.
I WANT MORE and jsmiddleton4 like this.
bgrpph is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
hdr , roku ultra , settings , ultra hd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off