Official ROKU 4K (HDR) Premiere +/Ultra Owners Thread - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1545Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 6895 Old 10-09-2016, 05:13 PM
Senior Member
 
fcwdev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjmv50 View Post
I have been using the Roku Ultra for the past few hours and so far no HDR on Vudu, Amazon or Netflix I do get 4k at 60hz no 24p that I have seen. The ultra scales everything to 4K:60Hz. Audio output has been Dolby Digital + only. So far it's no better than my Roku 4. I think it's going back to Walmart. sometime this week.
I found HDR on Amazon. Looked pretty good ...
fcwdev is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 6895 Old 10-09-2016, 06:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 4
How did you come across the hdr in amazon? I don't see the badge at all? All of the programming looks the same to me
Bigmizzoufan is offline  
post #63 of 6895 Old 10-09-2016, 06:58 PM
Member
 
cjmv50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by claw View Post
The Roku 4 had two 4K output settings; "4K" and "4K 10-bit". Netflix would only be in 24p if 4K 10-bit was selected.

Does the new Roku have a setting for 10-bit output?
The Ultra settings are 4K UHD TV and 4K UHD TV HDR.
cjmv50 is offline  
 
post #64 of 6895 Old 10-09-2016, 07:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
timc1475's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois USA
Posts: 1,497
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 890 Post(s)
Liked: 755
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjmv50 View Post
The Ultra settings are 4K UHD TV and 4K UHD TV HDR.
I was considering the Roku Ultra until I checked out a few things. To actually get 4k HDR and use the boxes full capabilities you have to pay up to certain providers that stream those 4k HDR signals.

I am not planing on a purchase to continuously toss coins into the pockets of hundreds of providers, as they all are planning. So I checked out what "Free" channels are available on the Rokua & below in the spoiler. I will list a couple of them.

Once I did that I surprisingly discovered I can easily access all those "free" streaming providers that Roku uses & charges people right on my own PC, and you do not even need to make an account on any of them. The 8 year old laptop PC is hooked up to my big screen via HDMI which we all should do btw.

I am thinking and pondering more research though and still may consider the Roku Ultra but I will only use the free programs mostly & they are available on my PC aforementioned.

I do not plan on coughing up cash for the 4k HDR streaming as I am awaiting for the UDP-203 Oppo. Also there is a place you can rent 4k & some HDR too as a more cost effective means to get the full bit rates and audio formats that current streaming online cannot do and is limited.
jwill911 likes this.

If you always do what you always did, you'll always get what you always got.

Last edited by timc1475; 10-09-2016 at 07:21 PM.
timc1475 is offline  
post #65 of 6895 Old 10-09-2016, 07:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
claw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: L'Etoile du Nord
Posts: 1,499
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1082 Post(s)
Liked: 992
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjmv50 View Post
The Ultra settings are 4K UHD TV and 4K UHD TV HDR.
Did you try the 4K HDR option? I would think HDR would need 10-bit. And 10-bit should not be possible at 4K/60.

CJ

Last edited by claw; 10-09-2016 at 07:23 PM.
claw is online now  
post #66 of 6895 Old 10-09-2016, 07:48 PM
Member
 
cjmv50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by claw View Post
Did you try the 4K HDR option? I would think HDR would need 10-bit. And 10-bit should not be possible at 4K/60.
I have mine on the 4K UHD HDR setting. I get HDR on Vudu and Netflix using the Vizio tablet casting to the P55-C1. I get HDR from Amazon on the Samsung UHD Blue-Ray player. I was hoping since Roku was touting HDR on the new players these apps would be updated to support it. I have spent money on a Roku 4, Fire TV 4k, Samsung and Phillips UHD players. Not one of these devices can do all three apps as of yet and I really don't understand why this is the case. I got burned by the Roku 4 since this was the box I use the least. I think I could live without the Roku Ultra at this point.
BoblK likes this.
cjmv50 is offline  
post #67 of 6895 Old 10-09-2016, 08:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
puddy77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,252
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 896
Quote:
Originally Posted by claw View Post
Did you try the 4K HDR option? I would think HDR would need 10-bit. And 10-bit should not be possible at 4K/60.
4K 60Hz 10 bit is standard over HDMI at 4:2:0. It is not possible at 4:2:2 or 4:4:4.
puddy77 is offline  
post #68 of 6895 Old 10-09-2016, 09:01 PM
Senior Member
 
fcwdev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigmizzoufan View Post
How did you come across the hdr in amazon? I don't see the badge at all? All of the programming looks the same to me
https://www.amazon.com/b?ie=UTF8&node=11652987011
fcwdev is offline  
post #69 of 6895 Old 10-10-2016, 02:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
dowop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N.E. Ohio
Posts: 505
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I don`t know if some people are confusing the original 4k with the newly released ultra.
Neither Wal-Mart or Best Buy show the ultra available till later this week.
dowop is offline  
post #70 of 6895 Old 10-10-2016, 03:10 AM
Member
 
jbwitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by dowop View Post
I don`t know if some people are confusing the original 4k with the newly released ultra.
Neither Wal-Mart or Best Buy show the ultra available till later this week.
It wasn't on the shelf at Walmart. A guy went into the back for me.
jbwitt is offline  
post #71 of 6895 Old 10-10-2016, 04:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ggw2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 1,175
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 581 Post(s)
Liked: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCsoftball7 View Post
I picked up the Ultra today at BB and can confirm Netflix, Amazon, and FandangoNow all output UHD/HDR. Are there any other apps anyone wants me to check?
As noted, CCsoftball has confirmed that UHD/HDR works for the above apps. If your not getting HDR playing the "correct" programming at Netflix/Amazon or FandangoNow please check your settings/setup/or TV settings. I wish mine would get here to also confirm the above for the first two (don't use FanangoNow). Not happy that others are picking theirs up in stores and us that ordered directly from ROKU can't seem to get the unit..
Gerry

Sony XBR 75X850C - Marantz NR1501 AVR - Philips BDP-7501 UHD BD Player - ShieldTV - ATV 4K
ggw2000 is offline  
post #72 of 6895 Old 10-10-2016, 05:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CCsoftball7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 3,207
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1341 Post(s)
Liked: 1047
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggw2000 View Post
As noted, CCsoftball has confirmed that UHD/HDR works for the above apps. If your not getting HDR playing the "correct" programming at Netflix/Amazon or FandangoNow please check your settings/setup/or TV settings. I wish mine would get here to also confirm the above for the first two (don't use FanangoNow). Not happy that others are picking theirs up in stores and us that ordered directly from ROKU can't seem to get the unit..

Gerry


If you have any Universal titles, they play in HDR on FandangoNow.

Sony XBR75X940C Samsung UBD K8500
My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps(Video), My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps, My non-HDR and HDR Settings, Setting HDMI to show no overscan
Sony XBR75X940C, Samsung UBD K8500, Roku Ultra, DirecTV RVU and C61K, Chromecast Ultra
CCsoftball7 is online now  
post #73 of 6895 Old 10-10-2016, 05:30 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
lovingdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 12,097
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2862 Post(s)
Liked: 608
Quote:
Originally Posted by dowop View Post
I don`t know if some people are confusing the original 4k with the newly released ultra.
Neither Wal-Mart or Best Buy show the ultra available till later this week.
Is this the right (very latest) version: http://www.bestbuy.com/site/roku-ultra-streaming-media-player-black/5515700.p?skuId=5515700. It says Ultra so this must be the right thing yes?
lovingdvd is offline  
post #74 of 6895 Old 10-10-2016, 05:37 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
lovingdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 12,097
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2862 Post(s)
Liked: 608
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCsoftball7 View Post
If you have any Universal titles, they play in HDR on FandangoNow.
So if we have a UV code to a 4K HDR title we can play it back with FandangoNow? Is this a free service is you just want to play back UV titles you already own?

I don't think any streaming providers are doing Atmos, right? That right there would make me now use it at least for such titles that I can't get the full quality audio stream out of.
lovingdvd is offline  
post #75 of 6895 Old 10-10-2016, 05:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
dowop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: N.E. Ohio
Posts: 505
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovingdvd View Post
Is this the right (very latest) version: http://www.bestbuy.com/site/roku-ult...?skuId=5515700. It says Ultra so this must be the right thing yes?
Yes.
dowop is offline  
post #76 of 6895 Old 10-10-2016, 06:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Carmel Valley, CA USA
Posts: 1,329
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Out of the box, is the ultra set to 1080p or 4k playback?

Can I hook it up to my non 4k receiver or have to connect it directly to my 1080p tv for setup?

Thanks.

Shelly

Farewell Voom. Farewell Directv. Farewell Bell Express Vu. Farewell Dish, Farewell Comcast.
Had 6 dishes, now none. Just streaming.
Back in the early days, there were just HD demo loops, no programming. Now HD 3D and 4k.
Amazing!
shelly is offline  
post #77 of 6895 Old 10-10-2016, 06:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SD4934's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Wetumpka, AL, USA
Posts: 1,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Unhappy Roku pre-order

I pre ordered the Roku Ultra when it was first announced and haven't gotten notification it has shipped yet (just one showing it in-process). It's frustrating to see that I could go to my local Best But today and get one instead of waiting several more days.
reddice likes this.
SD4934 is offline  
post #78 of 6895 Old 10-10-2016, 07:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
davcole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,061
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 48
So glad to now know Fandango on the HDR train with at least one studio!

Sent from my P01MA using Tapatalk
davcole is offline  
post #79 of 6895 Old 10-10-2016, 07:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CCsoftball7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 3,207
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1341 Post(s)
Liked: 1047
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovingdvd View Post
So if we have a UV code to a 4K HDR title we can play it back with FandangoNow? Is this a free service is you just want to play back UV titles you already own?

I don't think any streaming providers are doing Atmos, right? That right there would make me now use it at least for such titles that I can't get the full quality audio stream out of.
Universal titles play in HDR on FandangoNow provided you use the UV code with Flixster/FandangoNow. The service is free.

I've read that no streaming providers do Atmos. However, Vudu show Atmos for some streaming titles (I have no way to test).

Sony XBR75X940C Samsung UBD K8500
My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps(Video), My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps, My non-HDR and HDR Settings, Setting HDMI to show no overscan
Sony XBR75X940C, Samsung UBD K8500, Roku Ultra, DirecTV RVU and C61K, Chromecast Ultra
CCsoftball7 is online now  
post #80 of 6895 Old 10-10-2016, 07:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CCsoftball7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 3,207
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1341 Post(s)
Liked: 1047
Quote:
Originally Posted by shelly View Post
Out of the box, is the ultra set to 1080p or 4k playback?

Can I hook it up to my non 4k receiver or have to connect it directly to my 1080p tv for setup?

Thanks.

Shelly
Out of the box, the Roku Ultra is set to 720p. You change the desired resolution during the setup process. It autodetects what type of display you have. You should be able to hook it up to any HDTV. I plan to use one on my bedroom TV as well (it's 1080p).

Sony XBR75X940C Samsung UBD K8500
My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps(Video), My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps, My non-HDR and HDR Settings, Setting HDMI to show no overscan
Sony XBR75X940C, Samsung UBD K8500, Roku Ultra, DirecTV RVU and C61K, Chromecast Ultra
CCsoftball7 is online now  
post #81 of 6895 Old 10-10-2016, 07:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
davcole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,061
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCsoftball7 View Post
Out of the box, the Roku Ultra is set to 720p. You change the desired resolution during the setup process. It autodetects what type of display you have. You should be able to hook it up to any HDTV. I plan to use one on my bedroom TV as well (it's 1080p).
I originally had the Roku auto-set display but had to go into settings and change to 4k HDR, as it didn't auto detect HDR!

Sent from my P01MA using Tapatalk
davcole is offline  
post #82 of 6895 Old 10-10-2016, 07:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CCsoftball7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 3,207
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1341 Post(s)
Liked: 1047
Quote:
Originally Posted by davcole View Post
I originally had the Roku auto-set display but had to go into settings and change to 4k HDR, as it didn't auto detect HDR!

Sent from my P01MA using Tapatalk
Are you running through a receiver? My Sony 940C was detected and set up properly.

Sony XBR75X940C Samsung UBD K8500
My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps(Video), My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps, My non-HDR and HDR Settings, Setting HDMI to show no overscan
Sony XBR75X940C, Samsung UBD K8500, Roku Ultra, DirecTV RVU and C61K, Chromecast Ultra
CCsoftball7 is online now  
post #83 of 6895 Old 10-10-2016, 07:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
davcole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,061
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCsoftball7 View Post
Are you running through a receiver? My Sony 940C was detected and set up properly.
No, direct to TV.

Sent from my P01MA using Tapatalk
CCsoftball7 likes this.
davcole is offline  
post #84 of 6895 Old 10-10-2016, 08:01 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 10,170
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 4067
Quote:
Originally Posted by SD4934 View Post
I pre ordered the Roku Ultra when it was first announced and haven't gotten notification it has shipped yet (just one showing it in-process). It's frustrating to see that I could go to my local Best But today and get one instead of waiting several more days.
Little irritating stores have them in stock, but the Roku direct preorders have not shipped yet...
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #85 of 6895 Old 10-10-2016, 09:08 AM
Senior Member
 
africanlivedit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Has anyone tried using HBO GO on their new unit?


Mine is SUPER sluggish.


Also, I miss the Roku 4's 4K section. Was a section dedicated to only 4K material. Easier to locate 4K material. No idea why they got rid of that section? Was terrific.


Same with the Amazon 4K section.

TiVo Bolt (TiVo zealot since 2003)
Yamaha 3060 (BEAST RECEIVER), Oppo 203
Nvidia Shield TV, Apple TV 4K
Finally an owner of the OLED65B6P!!!
Returned Peace Corps Volunteer, 2005 - 2007, The Gambia
africanlivedit is offline  
post #86 of 6895 Old 10-10-2016, 09:08 AM
Senior Member
 
africanlivedit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCsoftball7 View Post
Universal titles play in HDR on FandangoNow provided you use the UV code with Flixster/FandangoNow. The service is free.

I've read that no streaming providers do Atmos. However, Vudu show Atmos for some streaming titles (I have no way to test).

I received Atmos over Vudu with Warcraft 4K.
lovingdvd and CCsoftball7 like this.

TiVo Bolt (TiVo zealot since 2003)
Yamaha 3060 (BEAST RECEIVER), Oppo 203
Nvidia Shield TV, Apple TV 4K
Finally an owner of the OLED65B6P!!!
Returned Peace Corps Volunteer, 2005 - 2007, The Gambia
africanlivedit is offline  
post #87 of 6895 Old 10-10-2016, 09:31 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
lovingdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 12,097
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2862 Post(s)
Liked: 608
Has anyone been able to determine whether it'll do Netflix at 4K/HDR @ 24hz?
CarpeNoctem likes this.
lovingdvd is offline  
post #88 of 6895 Old 10-10-2016, 10:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ggw2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 1,175
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 581 Post(s)
Liked: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Little irritating stores have them in stock, but the Roku direct preorders have not shipped yet...
Agree- can't tell you how irritated I am with ROKU today.. They charged my CC and I have heard nothing from them. Checked local BB this morning and I could have driven up and picked one up this morning. I cannot find a phone # for them anywhere on their website to call them and cancel the order!! I guess they don't do customer service to boot .
Gerry

After "googling" finally found a phone # for them. He said the unit shipped on friday 10/7. Never got a shipment notification from them. Guess I'll have to wait it out....
reddice likes this.

Sony XBR 75X850C - Marantz NR1501 AVR - Philips BDP-7501 UHD BD Player - ShieldTV - ATV 4K

Last edited by ggw2000; 10-10-2016 at 10:26 AM. Reason: more info
ggw2000 is offline  
post #89 of 6895 Old 10-10-2016, 10:21 AM
Member
 
chasiliff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Picked up Roku Ultra today at Best Buy. Never received my shipped email from Roku. Called them to cancel today and they told me Roku had been sent. I will be returning it.

More importantly, my Ultra will not pass 4k HDR to my JVC RS500. I usually send signal from Philips UHD HDR through 3ft Redmere Monoprice cable to Yamaha RX-V679 receiver to monoprice 25' Cabernet cable to JVC without a hiccup. The Roku Ultra will pass 4k without a problem. No HDR. I hope Roku, and possibly JVC, can get this sorted out. If anyone else has a solid HDR signal with their RS500, maybe I should return the device to try a different Ultra.
chasiliff is offline  
post #90 of 6895 Old 10-10-2016, 10:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SD4934's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Wetumpka, AL, USA
Posts: 1,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggw2000 View Post
Agree- can't tell you how irritated I am with ROKU today.. They charged my CC and I have heard nothing from them. Checked local BB this morning and I could have driven up and picked one up this morning. I cannot find a phone # for them anywhere on their website to call them and cancel the order!! I guess they don't do customer service to boot .
Gerry
I was going to call Roku and cancel my order and just go by Best Buy and pick one up but, like you, I could not find a phone number. Customer service at Roku sucks (in the past I have sent e-mails to them and have never received a response). If there wasn't a channel on Roku that I can't get on other platrforms (and better interfaces on other channels), I would use my 4k blu ray player for streaming. When I preordered I expected them to ship it when it shipped the items to stores (or at least so I would have it when the store's actually put it on sale).
reddice likes this.
SD4934 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Tags
hdr , roku ultra , settings , ultra hd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off