***Official*** Google Chromecast ULTRA owner's thread - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 387Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 756 Old 11-10-2016, 07:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CCsoftball7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 3,206
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1341 Post(s)
Liked: 1045
***Official*** Google Chromecast ULTRA owner's thread

Since I bought one yesterday and I didn't see an official owner's thread, I thought I would start one.

The link to the announcement can be found here.

Initial thoughts:

1. Easy to set up and use
2. Netflix has a definite red push/over saturation of colors (with non-HDR material)
3. YouTube HDR is really fantastic
4. We need more UHD/HDR content (only Netflix and YouTube at this point)
5. Relatively inexpensive and portable

Apps that stream UHD:
1. Netflix (HDR10)
2. YouTube (HDR10)
3. Vudu
4. ????

Please let me know what other apps need to be added.

There is now a product issues log located here

Sony XBR75X940C Samsung UBD K8500
My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps(Video), My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps, My non-HDR and HDR Settings, Setting HDMI to show no overscan
Sony XBR75X940C, Samsung UBD K8500, Roku Ultra, DirecTV RVU and C61K, Chromecast Ultra

Last edited by CCsoftball7; 12-07-2016 at 08:05 AM.
CCsoftball7 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 756 Old 11-10-2016, 08:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
archer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,102
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Dolby Vision appears to not be working. On the same tv with picture settings as close as I can make them the built in TV app looks noticeably better with netflix than the chromecast does with netflix. The built in app is more vibrant and seemingly more color accurate. But that could just be dolby vision vs HDR10.

Streaming Devices: Nvidia Shield TV, 2x Roku 3's, 1st and 2nd gen chromecast, Amazon Fire TV stick 2nd gen, Apple TV 4, xbox 360, xbox one
Displays: Vizio M602i-B3, LG OLED65B6, panasonic ax100u on a 145" S-I-L-V-E-R painted screen, 40" Samsung(don't recall model #)
Receivers: Denon X3300, Yamaha RX-V663. Bluray/UHD player: Oppo UDP-203
Retired - HTPC: Intel e6300 2.8ghz, Intel DG45ID, 2gb DDR2, Radeon 5570, MCE IR receiver

Last edited by archer75; 11-10-2016 at 08:18 PM.
archer75 is offline  
post #3 of 756 Old 11-10-2016, 09:07 PM
 
ben12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Netflix App for 4K HDR

I have the Ultra. Is there a Netflix app available on the unit itself? When I Cast from my iPhone or iPad using the Chromecast app I downloaded which includes Netflix there is no option for 4K. No 4K or 4K HDR titles show up in the Netflix app on my phone and when I cast from the phone app it is definitely not 4K. In fact the title are poor quality. I have a Samsung JS8500 4K set. When I use the build in app on the Samsung the 4K titles show up in the app and I get 4K but not from the Ultra. I got the Ultra to be able to get Netflix HDR as Samsung as not updated the Netflix app for HDR on the JS8500's yet.
ben12345 is offline  
 
post #4 of 756 Old 11-11-2016, 05:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
psuKinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,892
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1036 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by ben12345 View Post
I have the Ultra. Is there a Netflix app available on the unit itself? When I Cast from my iPhone or iPad using the Chromecast app I downloaded which includes Netflix there is no option for 4K. No 4K or 4K HDR titles show up in the Netflix app on my phone and when I cast from the phone app it is definitely not 4K. In fact the title are poor quality. I have a Samsung JS8500 4K set. When I use the build in app on the Samsung the 4K titles show up in the app and I get 4K but not from the Ultra. I got the Ultra to be able to get Netflix HDR as Samsung as not updated the Netflix app for HDR on the JS8500's yet.
Maybe a dumb question, but just to be certain, are you paying for Netflix HDR? I think they actually call it "UHD", but whatever it's called, you have to change your subscription (and pay them a couple more bucks a month) in order to get access to the HDR content...
psuKinger is offline  
post #5 of 756 Old 11-11-2016, 05:56 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CCsoftball7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 3,206
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1341 Post(s)
Liked: 1045
Quote:
Originally Posted by ben12345 View Post
I have the Ultra. Is there a Netflix app available on the unit itself? When I Cast from my iPhone or iPad using the Chromecast app I downloaded which includes Netflix there is no option for 4K. No 4K or 4K HDR titles show up in the Netflix app on my phone and when I cast from the phone app it is definitely not 4K. In fact the title are poor quality. I have a Samsung JS8500 4K set. When I use the build in app on the Samsung the 4K titles show up in the app and I get 4K but not from the Ultra. I got the Ultra to be able to get Netflix HDR as Samsung as not updated the Netflix app for HDR on the JS8500's yet.
There is no 4K section on the phone app like there is on the TV apps. I definitely get HDR with Marco Polo and the other HDR shows. One thing I wish they would do is allow us to see the actual resolution (like in the other Netflix apps).

Sony XBR75X940C Samsung UBD K8500
My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps(Video), My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps, My non-HDR and HDR Settings, Setting HDMI to show no overscan
Sony XBR75X940C, Samsung UBD K8500, Roku Ultra, DirecTV RVU and C61K, Chromecast Ultra
CCsoftball7 is online now  
post #6 of 756 Old 11-11-2016, 06:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bdraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tampa FL 33629
Posts: 2,771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCsoftball7 View Post
There is no 4K section on the phone app like there is on the TV apps. I definitely get HDR with Marco Polo and the other HDR shows. One thing I wish they would do is allow us to see the actual resolution (like in the other Netflix apps).


What is your setup? Because I'm definitely not getting DV on my LG B6 when casting Marco Polo on Netflix from my iPhone. It is 4k and DD+, just no HDR. Tried with CCU connected directly to my TV and via my AVR. DV on the same episode plays fine with the TVs netflix app and HDR works fine from my UHD BD player via the same AVR input.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Ben
How good could it be if it isn't HD?
No longer contributing to Engadget HD
bdraw is offline  
post #7 of 756 Old 11-11-2016, 06:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
archer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,102
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdraw View Post
What is your setup? Because I'm definitely not getting DV on my LG B6 when casting Marco Polo on Netflix from my iPhone. It is 4k and DD+, just no HDR. Tried with CCU connected directly to my TV and via my AVR. DV on the same episode plays fine with the TVs netflix app and HDR works fine from my UHD BD player via the same AVR input.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk


DV isn't working. But I have the same tv and I get hdr and 4k.

Streaming Devices: Nvidia Shield TV, 2x Roku 3's, 1st and 2nd gen chromecast, Amazon Fire TV stick 2nd gen, Apple TV 4, xbox 360, xbox one
Displays: Vizio M602i-B3, LG OLED65B6, panasonic ax100u on a 145" S-I-L-V-E-R painted screen, 40" Samsung(don't recall model #)
Receivers: Denon X3300, Yamaha RX-V663. Bluray/UHD player: Oppo UDP-203
Retired - HTPC: Intel e6300 2.8ghz, Intel DG45ID, 2gb DDR2, Radeon 5570, MCE IR receiver
archer75 is offline  
post #8 of 756 Old 11-11-2016, 07:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bdraw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tampa FL 33629
Posts: 2,771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by archer75 View Post
DV isn't working. But I have the same tv and I get hdr and 4k.


So you see the HDR banner in the top right corner when the show starts to play?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Ben
How good could it be if it isn't HD?
No longer contributing to Engadget HD
bdraw is offline  
post #9 of 756 Old 11-11-2016, 07:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CCsoftball7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 3,206
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1341 Post(s)
Liked: 1045
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdraw View Post
What is your setup? Because I'm definitely not getting DV on my LG B6 when casting Marco Polo on Netflix from my iPhone. It is 4k and DD+, just no HDR. Tried with CCU connected directly to my TV and via my AVR. DV on the same episode plays fine with the TVs netflix app and HDR works fine from my UHD BD player via the same AVR input.
I have used multiple devices, but have a Sony 940C (HDR10) TV. I can't tell if DV is enabled or not, although others have stated DV does not work for them.

Sony XBR75X940C Samsung UBD K8500
My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps(Video), My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps, My non-HDR and HDR Settings, Setting HDMI to show no overscan
Sony XBR75X940C, Samsung UBD K8500, Roku Ultra, DirecTV RVU and C61K, Chromecast Ultra
CCsoftball7 is online now  
post #10 of 756 Old 11-11-2016, 07:48 AM
 
ben12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by psuKinger View Post
Maybe a dumb question, but just to be certain, are you paying for Netflix HDR? I think they actually call it "UHD", but whatever it's called, you have to change your subscription (and pay them a couple more bucks a month) in order to get access to the HDR content...
Yes I have Netflix and am paying for 4K and I get it just fine on my Samsung JS8500. I did see today that when I cast from my Iphone it does indicated 4K but not HDR. I tried Season 1 of Daredevil which is in HDR but the HDR logo did not show up. I also checked first season of Marco Polo with same results. It does appear I am getting 4K but not with HDR. I only bought the unit to get HDR on Netflix.
ben12345 is offline  
post #11 of 756 Old 11-11-2016, 09:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
archer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,102
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by bdraw View Post
So you see the HDR banner in the top right corner when the show starts to play?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk


Yes

Streaming Devices: Nvidia Shield TV, 2x Roku 3's, 1st and 2nd gen chromecast, Amazon Fire TV stick 2nd gen, Apple TV 4, xbox 360, xbox one
Displays: Vizio M602i-B3, LG OLED65B6, panasonic ax100u on a 145" S-I-L-V-E-R painted screen, 40" Samsung(don't recall model #)
Receivers: Denon X3300, Yamaha RX-V663. Bluray/UHD player: Oppo UDP-203
Retired - HTPC: Intel e6300 2.8ghz, Intel DG45ID, 2gb DDR2, Radeon 5570, MCE IR receiver
archer75 is offline  
post #12 of 756 Old 11-11-2016, 01:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CCsoftball7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 3,206
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1341 Post(s)
Liked: 1045
So I can see a 4k logo in the Play Store, but no way to order or watch.

Sony XBR75X940C Samsung UBD K8500
My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps(Video), My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps, My non-HDR and HDR Settings, Setting HDMI to show no overscan
Sony XBR75X940C, Samsung UBD K8500, Roku Ultra, DirecTV RVU and C61K, Chromecast Ultra
CCsoftball7 is online now  
post #13 of 756 Old 11-11-2016, 06:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: California
Posts: 3,018
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 219 Post(s)
Liked: 105
I ordered a Chromecast Ultra a couple of days ago on the 8th. Google stated there were limited quantities so I figured I better order now or I'll have to wait and get it at a store front like Best Buy. I stopped at Target today and there sits on the shelf about a dozen brand new Chromecast Ultra units. Of course, I won't be seeing mine until next Thursday.
Perpendicular is online now  
post #14 of 756 Old 11-11-2016, 07:25 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CCsoftball7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 3,206
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1341 Post(s)
Liked: 1045
From what I can gather, it looks like the Paramount titles (Star Trek Series) are going to be available on Google Play Movies. The 4K badge is there.

Sony XBR75X940C Samsung UBD K8500
My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps(Video), My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps, My non-HDR and HDR Settings, Setting HDMI to show no overscan
Sony XBR75X940C, Samsung UBD K8500, Roku Ultra, DirecTV RVU and C61K, Chromecast Ultra
CCsoftball7 is online now  
post #15 of 756 Old 11-12-2016, 12:25 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
fafrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 10,400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 3037
General question for Chromecast Ultra owners: what are the options to control the device and which work best?

If I understand correctly, there is no remote and so the Ultra needs to be controlled from an app running on a tablet, phone, or laptop.

I currently use an app on my iPad to control my 65EF9500 OLED, so I'm familiar with how that works and so loading the Chromecast Ultra App on the same iPad would be easy and natural for me, but are there any issues/limitations in using an Apple device to control the Golgle Chromecast Ultra?

Getting the same app on an Apple or Google phone is clear, but how would it run from a PC - what communication channel is used?

It seems as though I've read that the PC interface may provide enhanced capability, especially when it comes to playing HDR content (VUDU), but I would appreciate any clarification as to whether there are in fact significant advantages to controlling the Ultra from a PC and what is needed to make it work.

Running off of a tablet or phone = very easy.

Running off of a PC = less so.
fafrd is offline  
post #16 of 756 Old 11-12-2016, 12:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
archer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,102
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 107
***Official*** Google Chromecast ULTRA owner's thread

You don't need an app to use the Chromecast. Just to set it up. Then you just cast from your individual apps. The stream is not being sent from your phone. It just tells the Chromecast where to find the stream. Same from the pc.

Chromecasts all work fine from ios. No limitations. Well, there is one. You can't cast your screen. Basically mirroring your phone on the tv. I find that I don't ever need to do that so it's not an issue for me.

Streaming Devices: Nvidia Shield TV, 2x Roku 3's, 1st and 2nd gen chromecast, Amazon Fire TV stick 2nd gen, Apple TV 4, xbox 360, xbox one
Displays: Vizio M602i-B3, LG OLED65B6, panasonic ax100u on a 145" S-I-L-V-E-R painted screen, 40" Samsung(don't recall model #)
Receivers: Denon X3300, Yamaha RX-V663. Bluray/UHD player: Oppo UDP-203
Retired - HTPC: Intel e6300 2.8ghz, Intel DG45ID, 2gb DDR2, Radeon 5570, MCE IR receiver

Last edited by archer75; 11-12-2016 at 12:43 PM.
archer75 is offline  
post #17 of 756 Old 11-12-2016, 01:06 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
fafrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 10,400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 3037
Quote:
Originally Posted by archer75 View Post
You don't need an app to use the Chromecast. Just to set it up. Then you just cast from your individual apps. The stream is not being sent from your phone. It just tells the Chromecast where to find the stream. Same from the pc.

Chromecasts all work fine from ios. No limitations. Well, there is one. You can't cast your screen. Basically mirroring your phone on the tv. I find that I don't ever need to do that so it's not an issue for me.
Yes, I understood that the actual cast is through the Ultra and not through the phone/pad/PC, and for phone or iPad with IRDA/Bluetooth or whatever communication interface is used, no questions.

But I'm confused about how a PC/laptop communicates with the Ultra for setup - is it also using IRDA or Bluetooth and does it need to be line of site?

Trivially easy to pick up a phone or tablet, aim it at the TV/Ultra and use it like a remote. Picking up a laptop is a lot more bothersome.

But if you are telling me that the functionality is identical, it's an academic question, since I'll plan to use my iPad.

Don't care in the least about mirroring my phone to my TV; just getting VUDU Dolby Vision w/Atmos streams to properly render DV on my 65B6P OLED TV while my Marantz NR1606 AVR properly renders Atmos sound.

Sounds as though I need to get one of these...
fafrd is offline  
post #18 of 756 Old 11-12-2016, 01:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
archer75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oregon
Posts: 2,102
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 107
No, you don't use your phone or tablet like a traditional remote and point it at the screen. It's all over wifi. So pc,tablet and phone all cast the same way. Android tvs have casting built in as well.
And you can cast some stuff to the lg without a Chromecast as it and others just use the open source dial protocol.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Streaming Devices: Nvidia Shield TV, 2x Roku 3's, 1st and 2nd gen chromecast, Amazon Fire TV stick 2nd gen, Apple TV 4, xbox 360, xbox one
Displays: Vizio M602i-B3, LG OLED65B6, panasonic ax100u on a 145" S-I-L-V-E-R painted screen, 40" Samsung(don't recall model #)
Receivers: Denon X3300, Yamaha RX-V663. Bluray/UHD player: Oppo UDP-203
Retired - HTPC: Intel e6300 2.8ghz, Intel DG45ID, 2gb DDR2, Radeon 5570, MCE IR receiver
archer75 is offline  
post #19 of 756 Old 11-12-2016, 01:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,435
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 925 Post(s)
Liked: 420
I have been keeping an eye on these threads and I still have not seeen a POSITIVE yes that this will do Dolby vision and atmos. I think I've seen some getting atmos but not DV. Maybe I missed it. Has anyone had DV from this device?

Super bonus if you also had atmos.

Thanks
MarkMul1 is offline  
post #20 of 756 Old 11-12-2016, 02:21 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
fafrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 10,400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 3037
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkMul1 View Post
I have been keeping an eye on these threads and I still have not seeen a POSITIVE yes that this will do Dolby vision and atmos. I think I've seen some getting atmos but not DV. Maybe I missed it. Has anyone had DV from this device?

Super bonus if you also had atmos.

Thanks
VUDU DV plays as 2160p Rec.2020 and looks as good or better than the DV playback directly to the OLED (all while rendering Atmos through the AVR) so in terms of video quality, it's pretty much confirmed (while there may need to be some eventual update to eventually have is say Dolby Vision for the same output).

It may actually just be an issue with the TV App at this point - we should get someone with a Vizio P yo try the same test.
fafrd is offline  
post #21 of 756 Old 11-12-2016, 02:23 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
fafrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 10,400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 3037
Quote:
Originally Posted by archer75 View Post
No, you don't use your phone or tablet like a traditional remote and point it at the screen. It's all over wifi. So pc,tablet and phone all cast the same way. Android tvs have casting built in as well.
And you can cast some stuff to the lg without a Chromecast as it and others just use the open source dial protocol.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
That's the missing link I was seeking - thanks.
fafrd is offline  
post #22 of 756 Old 11-12-2016, 02:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CCsoftball7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 3,206
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1341 Post(s)
Liked: 1045
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkMul1 View Post
I have been keeping an eye on these threads and I still have not seeen a POSITIVE yes that this will do Dolby vision and atmos. I think I've seen some getting atmos but not DV. Maybe I missed it. Has anyone had DV from this device?

Super bonus if you also had atmos.

Thanks
I wish I could help you with DV. I haven't seen anyone confirm DV either.
MarkMul1 likes this.

Sony XBR75X940C Samsung UBD K8500
My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps(Video), My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps, My non-HDR and HDR Settings, Setting HDMI to show no overscan
Sony XBR75X940C, Samsung UBD K8500, Roku Ultra, DirecTV RVU and C61K, Chromecast Ultra
CCsoftball7 is online now  
post #23 of 756 Old 11-12-2016, 02:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
DanBa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 706
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 631
According to Jake from VUDU Engineering,
https://forum.vudu.com/showthread.ph...60#post1294460

"The VUDU Chromecast app supports Dolby Vision.

But whether is is passed from the Chomecast, through specific receivers or into a specific model TV is up to the manufacturers of those devices to properly support. Unfortunately there can be various compatibility issues related to 4K (@60Hz etc), Dolby Vision, and HDCP 2.2 that can prevent it.

Of the TVs that we have tried it has been pretty inconsistent, unfortunately. We have been reporting issues found to manufacturers, but encourage you to do the same."

"According to Google, the Chromecast only supports Dolby Vision if the TV accepts 4k@60Hz 10 bit input, not 4K@30Hz. So you'd have to take that up with Google and/or LG...".

Universal audio/video receiver (Dolby Atmos, DTS:X, etc.) is achieved.
Universal HDR TV (HDR10, Dolby Vision, HEVC HLG HDR, VP9-HLG / VP9-PQ YouTube HDR, Dynamic HDR) is required.

Push for universal HDR TV!
DanBa is online now  
post #24 of 756 Old 11-12-2016, 04:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,435
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 925 Post(s)
Liked: 420
^^^^

Thanks for the heads up. Seems like the first hardware DV device is the Ginny pig.

Shall be interesting to see where it goes. That is my only missing puzzle piece, DV and Atmos together. Or HDR and Atmos together, streamed.

At least I can pop my discs in.
MarkMul1 is offline  
post #25 of 756 Old 11-12-2016, 04:21 PM
Senior Member
 
korsjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 196
Netflix will do 4K HDR, not DV, and I only have the option for Stereo for the sound. No 5.1. Anyone else with stereo only?

UFC app does not work. I get "video not available". I did get one video to play for about a minute then got the same error. Works fine with first gen chromecast. Could someone check if they have the UFC app?

I am using the Ethernet option.

You Tube HDR looked amazing.

LG OLED65C6P
Samsung UBD-K8500
XBOX One S
korsjs is offline  
post #26 of 756 Old 11-13-2016, 10:52 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
lovingdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 12,094
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2861 Post(s)
Liked: 608
I have a Roku Ultra but am happy to ditch it of the Chromecast Ultra is better. Anyone know if it can do things that the Roku can't, like 24hz Netflix/Amazon and or work more reliably for 4K HDR?
lovingdvd is offline  
post #27 of 756 Old 11-13-2016, 11:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CCsoftball7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 3,206
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1341 Post(s)
Liked: 1045
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovingdvd View Post
I have a Roku Ultra but am happy to ditch it of the Chromecast Ultra is better. Anyone know if it can do things that the Roku can't, like 24hz Netflix/Amazon and or work more reliably for 4K HDR?
It will do Netflix 4K HDR reliably, but I don't have issues with the Roku Ultra either.

Sony XBR75X940C Samsung UBD K8500
My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps(Video), My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps, My non-HDR and HDR Settings, Setting HDMI to show no overscan
Sony XBR75X940C, Samsung UBD K8500, Roku Ultra, DirecTV RVU and C61K, Chromecast Ultra
CCsoftball7 is online now  
post #28 of 756 Old 11-13-2016, 11:14 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
lovingdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 12,094
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2861 Post(s)
Liked: 608
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCsoftball7 View Post
It will do Netflix 4K HDR reliably, but I don't have issues with the Roku Ultra either.
I mainly want to know if it will do Netflix and Amazon at 24 fps...?
lovingdvd is offline  
post #29 of 756 Old 11-13-2016, 01:17 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
fafrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 10,400
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 3037
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovingdvd View Post
I mainly want to know if it will do Netflix and Amazon at 24 fps...?
No Amazon at all...

(And also the Chromecast Ultra is not available through Amazon ;-).
fafrd is offline  
post #30 of 756 Old 11-13-2016, 01:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CCsoftball7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 3,206
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1341 Post(s)
Liked: 1045
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovingdvd View Post
I mainly want to know if it will do Netflix and Amazon at 24 fps...?
I have no way to tell on Netflix. I see no issue with the PQ, so to me it doesn't matter.

Sony XBR75X940C Samsung UBD K8500
My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps(Video), My Recommended Daytime Settings Apps, My non-HDR and HDR Settings, Setting HDMI to show no overscan
Sony XBR75X940C, Samsung UBD K8500, Roku Ultra, DirecTV RVU and C61K, Chromecast Ultra
CCsoftball7 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off