Official 2017 (new) Amazon HDR FireTV Thread - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 15Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 71 Old 09-27-2017, 11:51 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 763 Post(s)
Liked: 370
Official 2017 (new) Amazon HDR FireTV Thread

Just announced today.

https://www.theverge.com/2017/9/27/1...rice-date-2017

Here are the specs as published on Amazon's developer page. Yes Atmos and V9/P2 but No DolbyVision. https://developer.amazon.com/public/...specifications

Last edited by naustin; 09-28-2017 at 09:07 AM. Reason: More details
naustin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 71 Old 09-27-2017, 12:12 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 763 Post(s)
Liked: 370
1.5 Ghz processor is slower than the 2 Ghz processor on the FireTV2. Maybe it is a stick supplement.
http://www.aftvnews.com/amazon-annou...ire-tv-for-69/
naustin is offline  
post #3 of 71 Old 09-27-2017, 12:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
puddy77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,250
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 633 Post(s)
Liked: 890
Specs say "Video: HDR-10. H.265, H.264, Audio: AAC-LC, AC3, eAC3 (Dolby Digital Plus), FLAC, MP3, PCM/Wave, Vorbis, Dolby Atmos (EC3_JOC), Photo: JPEG, PNG, GIF, BMP"

No Dolby Vision, I assume no YouTube HDR because no VP9/2, and maybe no HDR10+.
puddy77 is offline  
 
post #4 of 71 Old 09-27-2017, 12:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wco81's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 6,520
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1502 Post(s)
Liked: 557
For $69, it's interesting, especially with Dolby Atmos support.

I wonder if they're trying the same thing as Apple -- decoding, then blending in Siri and then reencoding in real time -- with integrating Alexa.

DV missing is a big no no.

And haven't most Amazon devices been underpowered compared to the competition? Of course given the price ...
wco81 is online now  
post #5 of 71 Old 09-27-2017, 01:08 PM
Senior Member
 
pearsco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 410
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 261 Post(s)
Liked: 283
Curious why the more powerful version that was leaked was a no show?
pearsco is online now  
post #6 of 71 Old 09-27-2017, 01:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 763 Post(s)
Liked: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by puddy77 View Post
Specs say "Video: HDR-10. H.265, H.264, Audio: AAC-LC, AC3, eAC3 (Dolby Digital Plus), FLAC, MP3, PCM/Wave, Vorbis, Dolby Atmos (EC3_JOC), Photo: JPEG, PNG, GIF, BMP"

No Dolby Vision, I assume no YouTube HDR because no VP9/2, and maybe no HDR10+.
According to the Developers page VP9/2 is supported. https://developer.amazon.com/public/...specifications

My big complaint is still no Vudu. I understand Vudu is a competing service, but they have a lot of Atmos content.
aaronwt and puddy77 like this.
naustin is offline  
post #7 of 71 Old 09-27-2017, 02:37 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 31,305
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6415 Post(s)
Liked: 3965
I just placed my order. i see it should be delivered on October 25th.

I see Amazon also has new Echos coming out in October.
aaronwt is online now  
post #8 of 71 Old 09-27-2017, 02:39 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 31,305
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6415 Post(s)
Liked: 3965
I just placed my order. i see it should be delivered on October 25th.

I see Amazon also has new Echos coming out in October.
aaronwt is online now  
post #9 of 71 Old 09-27-2017, 03:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tjcinnamon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2,007
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1277 Post(s)
Liked: 314
what about the Fire Box? I thought there were 2 devices. One was more heavy duty than the other. http://www.aftvnews.com/exclusive-th...eased-in-2017/

tjcinnamon is online now  
post #10 of 71 Old 09-27-2017, 03:37 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 19,587
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2482 Post(s)
Liked: 1785
Completely useless for anyone who needs it to run through an AVR. No Ethernet either. This is just a new Stick.
umenon and fvbounty like this.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #11 of 71 Old 09-27-2017, 04:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wco81's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 6,520
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1502 Post(s)
Liked: 557
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Completely useless for anyone who needs it to run through an AVR. No Ethernet either. This is just a new Stick.
I connected my Chromecast 2 to one of the HDMI inputs of my AVR.

So maybe it's possible to do the same with this device?
wco81 is online now  
post #12 of 71 Old 09-27-2017, 04:25 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 31,305
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6415 Post(s)
Liked: 3965
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Completely useless for anyone who needs it to run through an AVR. No Ethernet either. This is just a new Stick.
I'll be running mine through an AVR. And I'll be going through an HDMI switch first. Just like I am with the current 4k Fire TV and my Roku Ultra.

Also no real need for Ethernet. All the streaming services use low bitrate streams. Even my old 2011 and 2012 Access Points have no issue supplying 150Mb/s speeds over wireless N. And the streaming services only suggest a 25 Mb/s speed. With my current 4K FireTV, whether i use the wired or wireless connection, my experience with streaming content is identical.

Of course I would also prefer to have built in Ethernet as an option. But I'm also not paying extra for a dongle to hang off another dongle either.

53TB unRAID2--41TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
Sony 65x850C--Sony UBP-X800--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 09-27-2017 at 04:35 PM.
aaronwt is online now  
post #13 of 71 Old 09-27-2017, 04:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
VisionxOrb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oceanside, Ca
Posts: 807
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Completely useless for anyone who needs it to run through an AVR. No Ethernet either. This is just a new Stick.
They released an external Ethernet adapter for it. Still waiting for the more powerful version to land. maybe they will call it the Echo TV since it has integrated mics etc. However no dolby vision I dont know if I can bring my self to buy it since it going on a vizio P75c1.

2000 watts of power and climbing

-Fred
VisionxOrb is offline  
post #14 of 71 Old 09-27-2017, 05:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brandon B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: LA lalalalala
Posts: 4,103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Does it have a clip or adhesive pad or something to keep its weight from pulling down on its HDMI plug?
Brandon B is online now  
post #15 of 71 Old 09-27-2017, 07:51 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 31,305
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6415 Post(s)
Liked: 3965
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandon B View Post
Does it have a clip or adhesive pad or something to keep its weight from pulling down on its HDMI plug?
It doesn't look like it. But I'm sure you could add one.

I see BestBuy also updated their site to offer the same deals as Amazon. Same price and also the same deal to add an Echo Dot for only $10 more. And also October 25th delivery of the Fire TV. I had placed an order at Amazon but I just canceled it and placed one at BestBuy. So I could use my gift cards and also pick up the Echo Dot locally tomorrow.

I decided to trade in my original Amazon Echos to get the new Echo models. So I will need an Extra Dot to tide me over since I won't have my original Echos to use for the next month.

53TB unRAID2--41TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
Sony 65x850C--Sony UBP-X800--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 09-27-2017 at 07:54 PM.
aaronwt is online now  
post #16 of 71 Old 09-27-2017, 08:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
gworrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Detroit
Posts: 694
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 377 Post(s)
Liked: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I decided to trade in my original Amazon Echos to get the new Echo models. So I will need an Extra Dot to tide me over since I won't have my original Echos to use for the next month.
Is there literally a trade-in program or are you merely selling on Ebay or something?
gworrel is offline  
post #17 of 71 Old 09-27-2017, 08:45 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 31,305
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6415 Post(s)
Liked: 3965
Quote:
Originally Posted by gworrel View Post
Is there literally a trade-in program or are you merely selling on Ebay or something?
Cash from Gamestop. I didn't pay much for my original Echos. And I've used them for over 2.5 years. So I got over 50% of what I originally paid for them from the Gamestop trade in. Well at least for the first two. I need to trade in the third one tomorrow. And then for now I'll get two of the new ones and only have to pay $20 out of pocket before taxes.

Although I saw where they had a deal for three of the new Echos for $50 off. Both BestBuy and Amazon have the deal. Which actually makes more sense and would only cost me $70 out of pocket before taxes. I'll need to look closer at it later this week.

I wish I could trade in 2015 my 4K Fire TV. But I don't see where anyone is offering anything.

53TB unRAID2--41TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
Sony 65x850C--Sony UBP-X800--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 09-27-2017 at 08:55 PM.
aaronwt is online now  
post #18 of 71 Old 09-28-2017, 06:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
gworrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Detroit
Posts: 694
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 377 Post(s)
Liked: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Cash from Gamestop. I didn't pay much for my original Echos. And I've used them for over 2.5 years. So I got over 50% of what I originally paid for them from the Gamestop trade in.
I bought my Echo as part of the first pre-order for $99.00. I see that they are selling for about $60-70 plus shipping on eBay, although I could see that going down slightly with the new lower priced new model. It would be interesting to compare the sound quality of the new one compared to the first model. They say it is improved. I have several Echo dots and use them with Lepai amps and miscellaneous speakers. How much is Gamestop paying? Edit: I just looked it up and see that Gamestop is paying $60.00. Not bad.
gworrel is offline  
post #19 of 71 Old 09-28-2017, 06:42 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 31,305
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6415 Post(s)
Liked: 3965
Quote:
Originally Posted by gworrel View Post
I bought my Echo as part of the first pre-order for $99.00. I see that they are selling for about $60-70 plus shipping on eBay, although I could see that going down slightly with the new lower priced new model. It would be interesting to compare the sound quality of the new one compared to the first model. They say it is improved. I have several Echo dots and use them with Lepai amps and miscellaneous speakers. How much is Gamestop paying? Edit: I just looked it up and see that Gamestop is paying $60.00. Not bad.
$60 cash right now.

53TB unRAID2--41TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
Sony 65x850C--Sony UBP-X800--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #20 of 71 Old 09-28-2017, 09:01 AM
Member
 
jglonek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I'm really not sure how I feel about this. I want to be able to watch Amazon content in HDR, which I can't do with the current Fire TV or my UHD Blu-Ray Player (the Sony UBP-X800). So it might be what I need? I'm just concerned of it running slow, and that dongle HDMI. Does anyone know of an HDMI extension cable that would work properly with this?
jglonek is offline  
post #21 of 71 Old 09-28-2017, 10:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Any insider know if it will have HDR10+/HLG/DV support? I read the specs and it only mention HDR. Too general.

I hope it will get Ethernet, cause a lot of my movies are original bluray rips on my plex server.
rotarydude is offline  
post #22 of 71 Old 09-28-2017, 10:55 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 31,305
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6415 Post(s)
Liked: 3965
Quote:
Originally Posted by rotarydude View Post
Any insider know if it will have HDR10+/HLG/DV support? I read the specs and it only mention HDR. Too general.
The specs show it supports HDR10 but not Dolby Vision. No idea about HLG but it does support VP9 Profile 2 for Youtube HDR.

EDIT: I don't see any mention of HLG on the spec sheet

https://developer.amazon.com/public/...specifications

53TB unRAID2--41TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
Sony 65x850C--Sony UBP-X800--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 09-28-2017 at 10:59 AM.
aaronwt is online now  
post #23 of 71 Old 09-28-2017, 10:56 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 763 Post(s)
Liked: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by rotarydude View Post
Any insider know if it will have HDR10+/HLG/DV support? I read the specs and it only mention HDR. Too general.

I hope it will get Ethernet, cause a lot of my movies are original bluray rips on my plex server.
See the developer specs now in the first post.
naustin is offline  
post #24 of 71 Old 09-28-2017, 10:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
umenon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,221
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 725 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by wco81 View Post
For $69, it's interesting, especially with Dolby Atmos support.

I wonder if they're trying the same thing as Apple -- decoding, then blending in Siri and then reencoding in real time -- with integrating Alexa.

DV missing is a big no no.

And haven't most Amazon devices been underpowered compared to the competition? Of course given the price ...
Roku Premiere Plus (similar price) already does Dolby Atmos.
umenon is offline  
post #25 of 71 Old 09-28-2017, 11:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
puddy77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,250
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 633 Post(s)
Liked: 890
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
Just announced today.
Just noticed the title was changed to Official 2016 (new) Amazon HDR FireTV Thread. But this year is 2017.
naustin likes this.
puddy77 is offline  
post #26 of 71 Old 09-28-2017, 11:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wco81's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 6,520
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1502 Post(s)
Liked: 557
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
The specs show it supports HDR10 but not Dolby Vision. No idea about HLG but it does support VP9 Profile 2 for Youtube HDR.

EDIT: I don't see any mention of HLG on the spec sheet

https://developer.amazon.com/public/...specifications
Guess they didn't want to pay the DV licensing for a $69 product?
wco81 is online now  
post #27 of 71 Old 09-28-2017, 12:02 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 19,587
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2482 Post(s)
Liked: 1785
Quote:
Originally Posted by jglonek View Post
Does anyone know of an HDMI extension cable that would work properly with this?
The Sticks will run fine on extension cables. But in this case it must be one that supports 18Gbs. I don't know of any, they all seem to be 10.2 Gbps.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #28 of 71 Old 09-28-2017, 12:07 PM
Member
 
jglonek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
The Sticks will run fine on extension cables. But in this case it must be one that supports 18Gbs. I don't know of any, they all seem to be 10.2 Gbps.
Yeah, I'm looking at the AmazonBasics one and up top it says "supports resolutions up to 4Kx2K (UHD) and transfer rates up to 340 MHz or 18 Gbps" but down below it says "It also supports the highest refresh rates available and transfer rates up to 340 MHz or 10.2 Gbps.".

The CableMatters ones say 18gbps right? I swear I already have one of these somewhere in my house.
jglonek is offline  
post #29 of 71 Old 09-28-2017, 12:15 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 19,587
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2482 Post(s)
Liked: 1785
Quote:
Originally Posted by jglonek View Post
Yeah, I'm looking at the AmazonBasics one and up top it says "supports resolutions up to 4Kx2K (UHD) and transfer rates up to 340 MHz or 18 Gbps" but down below it says "It also supports the highest refresh rates available and transfer rates up to 340 MHz or 10.2 Gbps.".

The CableMatters ones say 18gbps right? I swear I already have one of these somewhere in my house.
Absent the proper seal for Certified Premium rating I would assume its not 18Gbps capable. I nominate you to buy them all and test at 60p with HDR.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #30 of 71 Old 09-28-2017, 12:20 PM
Member
 
jglonek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Absent the proper seal for Certified Premium rating I would assume its not 18Gbps capable. I nominate you to buy them all and test at 60p with HDR.
Haha. Well I found the CableMatters one, I knew I had it from I bought a 2 pack for my Rift. I might end up grabbing the AmazonBasics as well since the 10ft is $2 as an add-on. I did preorder the Fire TV yesterday soo we'll see how things are next month.
jglonek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off