Onkyo/Integra Net-Tune Users - Page 15 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #421 of 442 Old 03-30-2008, 10:02 PM
Newbie
 
deepblu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Three
deepblu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #422 of 442 Old 03-30-2008, 10:10 PM
Newbie
 
deepblu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try this

The download file contains a .pdf installation sheet that gives direction on the fw upgrade and also shows how to check the fw version (page 6).
deepblu is offline  
post #423 of 442 Old 04-09-2008, 11:03 AM
Newbie
 
deepblu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've successfully downloaded and installed Net-Tune v3.1.
The interface is of course Japanese but can be changed easily enough by the language value in NCentral.ini - Language=2 (english).
As far as functionality is concerned - the audio portion seems unchanged (wma,mp3,wav).
Still won't play wma 9.2 lossless - drat.

This software release is obviously not intended for my TX-NR801 as the Video and Photo tabs are enabled.
My reciever ignores these choices.
deepblu is offline  
post #424 of 442 Old 04-29-2008, 05:43 PM
Newbie
 
markmmc098's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where can I get the new version? I think its 3.1.

Will this solve some of my issues with the proper order of albums? (Nettune puts multi CD albums in a weird order even if I retag them in the library - this is a real proplem with a concept album like The Wall or JC Superstar) I hope it has better luck with play lists too. I lobe my 901, but with 10, 000 mp3s I need good software to organize and play it.

Any help will be appreciated!!!

Mark
markmmc098 is offline  
post #425 of 442 Old 05-30-2008, 05:43 AM
Member
 
uapf3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Deepblu,

I haven't been around the forum for a while. I noticed that you said you downloaded a Japanese version of Nettune central v3.1. I also see that 3.3 is around. With the english version, I can't play songs with Japanese language in the titles. Does 3.1 solve this problem?

BTW Markmmc098, if you google Net-tune Central version 3.1 or 3.3 you will find places, but you will need to be able to read Japanese, or at least know someone who does, or just take a punt!

Cheers
uapf3
uapf3 is offline  
post #426 of 442 Old 07-06-2008, 05:22 AM
Newbie
 
kereon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all,

I found the Net-Tune central 3.3 here :

w w w . fmworld . net / download / E1001439 / E1001439 . exe
(del the spaces)

If you want to test.

Bye
kereon is offline  
post #427 of 442 Old 08-26-2008, 06:15 PM
Newbie
 
oddtodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know anything about V Tuner Onkyo internet radio tuning service. It's for their new receivers
oddtodd is offline  
post #428 of 442 Old 11-26-2008, 10:21 PM
Newbie
 
cao73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys,
I'm own a TX-NR801, and although a bit old, I think it has quite a few life years left in it. I have upgraded to the latest firmware and enjoy my mp3 collection through a wireless collection. Also, thanks to a previous post on this site, I enjoy internet radio. However, I was wondering if someone has been able to connect the receiver to such sites as Pandora or Lastfm. If anyone has experimented with this, please share !! ...
cao73 is offline  
post #429 of 442 Old 02-13-2009, 01:50 PM
Member
 
gerick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anybody tried running the net-tunes (standalone, not the integrated) server software on a WHS machine?

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/pro...r/default.mspx
gerick is offline  
post #430 of 442 Old 03-19-2009, 09:31 PM
Newbie
 
erowid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Everyone
this post has been very helpful and I am very close to setting up Net-Tune Central 2 on a VISTA machine and TX-NR801.

I have finally installed my TX-NR801 on a network, and the Current status is: I can ping my receiver but it wont show up on the Nettune window. I have tried eveything from rebooting, resetting my router (not wireless), turning off the firewall, but nothing works.... anyone got any suggestions, I would be totally grateful.

Whats even more strange is that i have another PC running XP on the network. I have installed Net Tune on that and now I can see all 3 (xp, vista, tx-nr801) on both the Net Tune windows. but can only play songs from the XP machine. any ideas anyone?

why is Net Tune central 2 working on XP and not on Vista? why O why? *sob*
erowid is offline  
post #431 of 442 Old 08-08-2009, 10:18 AM
Newbie
 
rocket91fm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if the XiVA Internet radio server is completely down? I can no longer access any of the radio streams. I can not even access the Genre/Location/Language lists. It displays "No List".
rocket91fm is offline  
post #432 of 442 Old 10-08-2009, 06:39 AM
Newbie
 
dukkar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Components I own:
1. Onkyo TX-NR901
2. Windows Vista Laptop with MP3s
3. Wireless internet connection (Linksys router and Cable Modem)

I know where to get the firmware and net-tune s/w from. But I want to know if the following set-up is possible.

I only want to play MP3s on my laptop through the receiver using Net-Tune. So, if I install Net-tune on my laptop, install the firmware update on my Onkyo TX-NR901 and connect the two with an ethernet cable, can I play MP3s on my laptop through the receiver using Net-Tune? I don't know why I would need to use the wireless internet connection at all.

Thanks,
D
dukkar is offline  
post #433 of 442 Old 10-09-2009, 06:30 AM
Member
 
gerick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dukkar View Post

Components I own:
1. Onkyo TX-NR901
2. Windows Vista Laptop with MP3s
3. Wireless internet connection (Linksys router and Cable Modem)

I know where to get the firmware and net-tune s/w from. But I want to know if the following set-up is possible.

I only want to play MP3s on my laptop through the receiver using Net-Tune. So, if I install Net-tune on my laptop, install the firmware update on my Onkyo TX-NR901 and connect the two with an ethernet cable, can I play MP3s on my laptop through the receiver using Net-Tune? I don't know why I would need to use the wireless internet connection at all.

Thanks,
D

The only issue I see is that you probably need to use a crossover cable to connect the laptop directly to the receiver without any hub or switch.
gerick is offline  
post #434 of 442 Old 11-02-2009, 01:04 PM
Newbie
 
laskamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have NTC2I working with the TX-NR801?

Here's where I've been with this:
  • I've had NTC2 successfully running for a while
  • I've upgraded the TX-NR801 FW to 02.00.03
  • After upgrading the FM, NTC2 still runs successfully
  • But, if I install NTC2I on my PC, the TX-NR801 displays "disconnected" (although I can still ping the TX-NR801)
  • When I open WMP12, click tools/plug-ins, I see the NetTuneLibWatch Plugin (and it is checked), but when I click "Play to", it displays "No Media Devices Found"
I spoke to Onkyo support and they told me that NTC2I is not supported for the TX-NR801. Is this true? Any help would be appreciated.
laskamp is offline  
post #435 of 442 Old 12-01-2009, 07:59 PM
Newbie
 
petersk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm now able to find the time to run my receiver and NT 2 using my packet-sniffer. I'm trying to map the protocol.


One interesting thing is that the receiver apparently makes an HTTP/1.1 to 239.255.255.250 and identifies itself as running linux/2.4.16 UPnP/1.0 Onkyo-NetworkAudioPlay /1.0.

Another interesting thing is the it shows it's location as:
http:///audioDeviceDesc.xml

Which, when I go to it, it gives an error 404, and seems to be running a web server made by this site:
http :// www . acme . com / software / thttpd/

I'll let you guys know as I find out more. It would seem that if Onkyo is using linux, they might be in violation of the GPL.

K
petersk is offline  
post #436 of 442 Old 12-04-2009, 06:41 PM
Member
 
gerick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
petersk,
This is very interesting information. With detailed packet analysis could someone come up with a way to get a standard (DLNA?) music server like twonky to be recognized by the Onkyo? Maybe some kind of plug-in or proxy?
gerick is offline  
post #437 of 442 Old 12-14-2009, 09:39 AM
Newbie
 
shezwhitey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody get this working with Windows 7? I know it just came out a few months ago but any new computer you buy will probably have Windows 7 on it. Just curious.

shez
shezwhitey is offline  
post #438 of 442 Old 12-27-2009, 04:42 PM
Newbie
 
deepblu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi shezwhitey,

I am running Windows 7 Pro and have (knock wood) no problems with the Net-Tune client.

I also run Olivier's Net-Tune Proxy without a hitch.

The Proxy server is great because it allows me to use Squeezebox server with MIP/Sugarcube to serve up mix songs based on a seed selection from my library.
The only drawback is that Squeezebox server transcodes my lossless tracks to MP3 @320Kbps, so a slight loss of information. Small price to pay considering the added value to my TX-NR801.

Thanks Oliver, your efforts are well appreciated here.

Cheers!
d_b
deepblu is offline  
post #439 of 442 Old 04-26-2010, 08:26 AM
Newbie
 
jareskog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have tried to get the 02.00.03 firmware and the Net-Tune 2 Integrated client from the International website for my TX-NR801, but my U.S. serial does not work. My serial is the 23X0000000 variant. I have tried several hundred versions of my serial to no avail. U.S. Onkyo support is useless and will not give/does not have access to the international site. Would it be possible to send me the two of them? I would greatly appreciate it. Private message me if you able to help out. Thanks.
jareskog is offline  
post #440 of 442 Old 11-22-2013, 05:25 AM
Member
 
ILv2Xlr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shezwhitey View Post

Anybody get this working with Windows 7? I know it just came out a few months ago but any new computer you buy will probably have Windows 7 on it. Just curious.


shez

I have not had any luck with Window 7 64 getting the NTC v2 client running. I get an install error.

Anyone have any tips or tricks?
ILv2Xlr8 is offline  
post #441 of 442 Old 04-10-2014, 04:45 AM
Newbie
 
bctaksa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone find a solution to installing NTC2 on a Windows 7 64bit (Home Premium) machine?
bctaksa is offline  
post #442 of 442 Old 04-11-2014, 12:38 PM
Newbie
 
bctaksa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got NTC2 to work on a Windows 7 64bit (Home Premium) machine... just needed to reboot and install direct from the zip file.
bctaksa is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off