TViX HD M-5000U Media Player - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 1967 Old 02-03-2006, 08:22 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
mauricef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Has anyone tried the 5000 with 5.1 WMV?
mauricef is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 1967 Old 02-03-2006, 09:55 PM
Member
 
DemonicDM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well.. finally got msg from their support. wait for multilang firmware, coming soon.
DemonicDM is offline  
post #183 of 1967 Old 02-04-2006, 03:20 AM
Member
 
Ewong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Valisi,

My external NAS Drive could only support FAT32 due to it's own restriction. It's operating system doesn't support NTFS.
Ewong is offline  
post #184 of 1967 Old 02-05-2006, 02:43 AM
Member
 
simen02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have just setup my this weekend. At the moment I don't have any internal HDD waiting for one. I have 2x250 Gb external disc connected to USB. both disc is full with DVD iso and HD films in ts format (720p and 1080i) everything works great. movies is starting very fast and no problem. The highest bitrate i have is 18 mbits/s on one 1080i movie in ts. it's playing with no problem. I'm wating for monster dvi/hdmi cabel so at the moment I'm only connected with component to my Panasonic HD plasma.
simen02 is offline  
post #185 of 1967 Old 02-05-2006, 10:17 AM
Newbie
 
fatb0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1:st Q
Hi
maby there is a FW upgrade that can solve my streaming problems ?
What is tha latest fw?

/F

1:st answer
we guess the lastest fw does not solve the streaming problems you better wait the other firmware


2:nd Q
So you planing to relese a FW update that maby resolves the streaming issuse ?

Do you have an ide when this will bee solved?

/F

2:nd answer
Yes we plan to add the function in the firmware but we not sure when this will be solved. Sorry for the inconvenience



so the are working on the ISO streaming problem



/F
fatb0y is offline  
post #186 of 1967 Old 02-05-2006, 08:43 PM
Member
 
Ewong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got the suggestion from Tvix to reset my firmware back to 1.0.2 in order to see whether there is problem on my current firmware (1.1.5) which causing blinking problem with Samsung Plasma.

However, the problem is still exist after reset the firmware back to 1.0.2. Then, I try the latest beta firmware 1.2.1, unfortunely the blinking issue still exist.

During testing with firmware 1.2.1 for few hours, I realised that fast-foreward have been improved and much more stable than 1.1.5.
Ewong is offline  
post #187 of 1967 Old 02-08-2006, 02:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
drew138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SF, CA
Posts: 1,113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TVIXUSA which is the US distributor of the product recently had a post on their forum regrading the M5000U. It's very interesting

Quote:


M-5000U is available for the US market for $349.99 at Digital Connection. (TVIX USA has no affiliation with the dealer). At this time, TVIX USA does not believe that the current version of M-5000U is mature and stable enough for our customers and our standard. We believe the current M- 5000U still has too many bugs and this will take more than just firmware upgrades to fix them. The manufacturer should start manufacturing more mature and stable final version of M- 5000U. As soon as that version is available, we will test it and try to have them available at a better price for our customers. This may take 2 months or more. Regards, TVIX USA

They basically imply that a hardware revision may be updated!

Ewong, it might be time to sell your M5000 and wait for the next HW version or just get the Pixel Magic device.

Drew
drew138 is offline  
post #188 of 1967 Old 02-08-2006, 07:02 PM
Member
 
Ewong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Drew,

Thanks for your information !!

I would never buy any product from Tvix again.
Ewong is offline  
post #189 of 1967 Old 02-09-2006, 03:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
justlnluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: California
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ewong, you should ask DVICO for a hardware replacement.

Justin
justlnluck is offline  
post #190 of 1967 Old 02-09-2006, 07:09 PM
Member
 
Ewong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is no easy way to return purchased item back to the shop in HK after a certain period of time. You could only return it within 7 days when you identified that there is a hardware malfunction.

The problem of my unit can work perfectly with other brand of Plasma/LCDTV via DVI connection as tested.
Ewong is offline  
post #191 of 1967 Old 02-10-2006, 09:29 AM
Newbie
 
fatb0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I maby go with a xbox instead
fatb0y is offline  
post #192 of 1967 Old 02-11-2006, 02:34 PM
Member
 
simen02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is a knew beta version on the korean site. I have install it and at the moment not found anything knew.


tvix.co.kr/kor/tvix_1.2.3.zip

Have any other tryed it?

Have any other tryed it?
simen02 is offline  
post #193 of 1967 Old 02-12-2006, 03:35 AM
Newbie
 
espen_pedersen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi!

Nice to see a thread about M-5000U here

I've just aquired a M-5000U (running 1.1.5-english), I have problems connecting to both WinXP computer and a Linux samba share.

Now what I have done is:

1. Connected it to my home network (10.0.0.0/255.255.255.0)
2. I can see that I have received a DHCP IP adress 10.0.0.5 / 255.255.255.0 (Network info)
3. I follow the instructions for setting up a share in WinXP (calling the share twixhd1)
4. Enter the IP of my WinXP box into Network Disk like this "010.000.000.004"
5. I then try to connect after a few seconds I receive the error: "Unable to connect to disk)??
6. I try to reproduce the setup on my Samba server but have the same problem there.
7. I try connecting directly to my WinXP machine with a crosscable, but I'm not able to find a way to set the IP adress manually on TWiX?

Any ideas out there?

-Espen
espen_pedersen is offline  
post #194 of 1967 Old 02-12-2006, 09:31 AM
Member
 
Ewong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you named it "twixhd1" then it should be wrong. It should be "tvixhd1".

Please check !
Ewong is offline  
post #195 of 1967 Old 02-12-2006, 12:05 PM
Newbie
 
espen_pedersen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That was it ... thanks a lot for helping me wear of this foggy sight /reading
espen_pedersen is offline  
post #196 of 1967 Old 02-12-2006, 06:56 PM
Member
 
Ewong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
simen02,

I have tried Beta 1.2.1 but not 1.2.3 yet. I don't know whether there is any improvement in 1.2.1 since it's very difficult to translate Korean into English correctly.
Ewong is offline  
post #197 of 1967 Old 02-12-2006, 10:18 PM
Member
 
simen02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes but if you put in 1.2.3 you can set everything into english, it has no special languish attach to it. I have tryed it around and it seem to make mine more stable. I can play ffw and everything without locking up.
simen02 is offline  
post #198 of 1967 Old 02-13-2006, 02:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
justlnluck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: California
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ewong View Post

There is no easy way to return purchased item back to the shop in HK after a certain period of time. You could only return it within 7 days when you identified that there is a hardware malfunction.

The problem of my unit can work perfectly with other brand of Plasma/LCDTV via DVI connection as tested.

Well if they are going to upgrade the hardware, but still call it the M-5000U, it sounds like your device needs be recalled...

Justin
justlnluck is offline  
post #199 of 1967 Old 02-13-2006, 07:55 AM
Member
 
DemonicDM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well.. hope that fast forward bug is gone, and dont push remotecontrol offbutton when the device is restarting it cause crash.. ( dont ask me why i did it, it just happend ) and F*** up the both remote and tvix, Only thing to do it use the powerbutton on back on the device.

update:
new firmware works fine.. only thing i found was subtitles with swedish chr like å ä ö not working.
DemonicDM is offline  
post #200 of 1967 Old 02-16-2006, 12:11 AM
Newbie
 
valisi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Guys, I have been to the TVIX korean site and only found firmware version 1.1.2 for TVIX 5000. Ewong - Please let me know where did you found beta 1.2.1 and 1.2.3?

I am having problems connecting to a NAS. I get the no disk found error even though I have properly entered the IP address of the NAS, and created the tvixhd1 folder on the NAS hard disk. I followed Ewongs earlier post and still cannnot connect. The NAS is Netgear Storage Central which supports 2 internal hard drives. Any suggestions?
valisi is offline  
post #201 of 1967 Old 02-16-2006, 02:19 AM
Member
 
tord00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

you can find it here...

tvix.co.kr/kor/tvix_1.2.3.zip

Regards,

/Tord
tord00 is offline  
post #202 of 1967 Old 02-16-2006, 03:05 AM
Member
 
Ewong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi valisi,

Netgear Storage Central is not a SMB NAS Device, it requires to install Storage Central Manager Utility, a ZNS SCSI Adapter driver that makes each of the drives you create with the utility look like directly-attached SCSI drives.

M5000 could only work with SMB compliant NAS Device.

Below please find URL of Tvix HD M5000U Beta Firmware :

Tvix HD M5000U Beta Firmware 1.2.3
Ewong is offline  
post #203 of 1967 Old 02-16-2006, 01:25 PM
Member
 
tord00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Added the 1.2.3 FW to my Tvix and it seems to work ok. I still have some problems with some movies freezing the entire unit. I can now set the clock which i could not with the 1.1.5 Fw i had before. Still no sign of Swedish menu support :-(
Checking the Korean web page it definately shows why there is no time for answers from tvix people. All efforts are put in the local page and not the english page. This is terrible.

Are there any other forums where you can find more tvix information in english? Perhaps where official people hang around. If things dont turn for the better soon i would have to go with something else.

Regards,

/Tord
tord00 is offline  
post #204 of 1967 Old 02-16-2006, 10:58 PM
Newbie
 
valisi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ewong, Tord00, Many thanks. Upgraded successfully. FF now works fine.

The zoom function of the 5000 seems to have a mind of its own. Everytime I play a movie I have to adjust the image (reduce its size most times) to fit my LCD screen which is 16.9 even though I had selected 16.9 in the TVIX's configuration and on the TV.
valisi is offline  
post #205 of 1967 Old 02-17-2006, 04:22 AM
Member
 
DemonicDM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tord00 View Post

Added the 1.2.3 FW to my Tvix and it seems to work ok. I still have some problems with some movies freezing the entire unit. I can now set the clock which i could not with the 1.1.5 Fw i had before. Still no sign of Swedish menu support :-(
Checking the Korean web page it definately shows why there is no time for answers from tvix people. All efforts are put in the local page and not the english page. This is terrible.

Are there any other forums where you can find more tvix information in english? Perhaps where official people hang around. If things dont turn for the better soon i would have to go with something else.

Regards,

/Tord

hej. Do u have swedish subtitles problem, well mine tvix m5000 have problem with å ä ö.
bästa sätt är = b ta s tt r. looks finny.
but Fw works now, and also it shows correct amount of time play of movie.
DemonicDM is offline  
post #206 of 1967 Old 02-17-2006, 04:34 PM
Member
 
maxpop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DemonicDM View Post

hej. Do u have swedish subtitles problem, well mine tvix m5000 have problem with å ä ö.
bästa sätt är = b ta s tt r. looks finny.
but Fw works now, and also it shows correct amount of time play of movie.

I think Tvix M5000U is great, does what its supposed to do.
Lack of support for "scandinavian" .srt, but their is a way around that..

Fw 1.2.3 has "subtitlemode" now. (FW 1.2.3 is english as well)
Better FF and REW.
and some "bugs" fixed i guess...

HD 1080i and (ISO) cant be streamed, to much data to move for a 100Mbit LAN system...IFO works great if its not a ISO, use regular VIDEO_TS folder.

regards Maxpop.

mail me if u guys want to..regarding anything using M5000U
maxpop is offline  
post #207 of 1967 Old 02-17-2006, 07:31 PM
Member
 
Chaseskip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got the 5000 & it just says "Loading" with the DVI & 576P lights on. Nothing shows on the TV. I assume that it's because it's set for DVI out. How do I change it to any other output without seeing the menu?
Chaseskip is offline  
post #208 of 1967 Old 02-17-2006, 08:28 PM
Member
 
Chaseskip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For the record, I have looked at the FAQ's on the web page & tried the reboot as well as pressing the TV Out button slowly 7 times or more.
Still nothing....
Chaseskip is offline  
post #209 of 1967 Old 02-18-2006, 03:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kei Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Huntington Beach, CA, US
Posts: 4,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaseskip View Post

For the record, I have looked at the FAQ's on the web page & tried the reboot as well as pressing the TV Out button slowly 7 times or more.
Still nothing....


What does it say on the front LCD? Make sure you don't have a USB cable connected to the device.
Kei Clark is offline  
post #210 of 1967 Old 02-18-2006, 09:26 AM
Member
 
Ewong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For first time initial power on, the unit video output should be default to composite video.

To reset back to factory default, you may try to perform "Safe Mode Firmware Upgrade" with new firmware. (e.g Beta verison 1.2.3).

Beta Version 1.2.3

Safe Mode Firmware Upgrade

After "Safe Mode Firmware Upgrade" completed, you may connect M5000 with composite video cable for configuration. Please be reminded that when you change Video output to DVI unit, you will lose video signal from composite input. So, you have to switch your TV input to DVI within 5 second and enter "OK" to confirm any change. Otherwise, it will automatically undo any change if you don't press "OK" button within 5 second.
Ewong is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off