Eureka LX350 HD High Definition Wireless Media Center with DVI? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 239 Old 07-27-2006, 09:14 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
flake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Lloydminster.SK
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody know anything about this Eureka LX350 HD High Definition Wireless Media Center with DVI? Looks interesting. What is the difference between the EM8621 and the EM8621L chip?? only best rated has it on their site now.
flake is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 239 Old 07-27-2006, 07:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
plumeria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by flake View Post

Anybody know anything about this Eureka LX350 HD High Definition Wireless Media Center with DVI? Looks interesting. What is the difference between the EM8621 and the EM8621L chip?? only best rated has it on their site now.

How's your Korean? - a review here:
http://www.technoa.co.kr/community/M...1099:37::&VIEW

It does have lots of nice pictures

peter
plumeria is offline  
post #3 of 239 Old 07-27-2006, 10:01 PM
Member
 
v770's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is this the right one?

Shouldn't it have a wireless antenna? What about the DVI?
v770 is offline  
post #4 of 239 Old 07-28-2006, 12:02 AM
Member
 
petboh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HI!
I this one looks interesting.
I found the right one but i can't post any links until I have made 5 posts .
This is the first one.
I also found one site with price $342.07. ($360.07 ordinary price).
/ petboh
petboh is offline  
post #5 of 239 Old 07-28-2006, 04:12 AM
Member
 
Phantoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hint: It's an island
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And the USB Host, where's that?

edit:
petboh, just do what i did when i joined. Go around to a few threads and say, "thanks, nice review", "that's very interesting", "wow, i didn't know that", "i wish i had the cashola to get me one of these".
Phantoma is offline  
post #6 of 239 Old 07-28-2006, 04:30 AM
Member
 
petboh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi again!
I try again to put some links.

This is what I have found.

http://www.onlybestrated.com/eureka-...with-p-88.html


http://www.eureka.ne.kr/product/eUreka_lx350HD.asp
(not in english)

/petboh
petboh is offline  
post #7 of 239 Old 08-11-2006, 07:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
Meenenator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi!

Any more information regarding this unit?
Looks promising... problem is that most of the streamers does look promising until they have been tested.
Too bad it is not stated exactly what types of files which are supported.
It does say WMW9, Xvid and so on, I was more thinking of Mpeg-4 Mp@HL etc.
So what about Xvid HD and WMW HD and those HD formats?

It does have a Sigma 6821L chip so I presume it will do most of the formats I want, but not sure.

Does this support UPnP?
I'm looking for something that my ReadyNas X6 can support. It has UPnP and SMB(I think).
And maybe a third party UPnp server which could transcode all the non-supported formats.

Thanks for all info you guys can dig up on this little bugger.

M.

Update:
Just downloaded the korean(?) manual. It's just symbols to me, but I found this in clean english:
HD file format(tp,ts), Windows Media 9, Windows Media 9 HD
DivX3.11, DivX4, DivX5, DivX HD, Xvid, MPEG1, MPEG2(IFO, VOB, ISO)

So it seems like it does support some HD formats at least
Meenenator is offline  
post #8 of 239 Old 08-12-2006, 01:17 PM
Newbie
 
colbeing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can this device play streamaing media form the interent? Like the radio stations and streaming TV channels? If I were to rename the stream to .avi and save it on the computer and play it using this device somehow ?
colbeing is offline  
post #9 of 239 Old 08-13-2006, 07:53 PM
Member
 
skibell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't mean to be rude, but... Any of you guys care to read the links. All your questions are there. If is not, then is not supported by the manufacturer. I happen to get a Tvisto just to fulfill my needs, I did a lot a research and read, read lots of post in this forum, and for that I thank you guys. But come on people, read!
skibell is offline  
post #10 of 239 Old 08-14-2006, 08:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
Meenenator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by skibell View Post

I don't mean to be rude, but... Any of you guys care to read the links. All your questions are there. If is not, then is not supported by the manufacturer. I happen to get a Tvisto just to fulfill my needs, I did a lot a research and read, read lots of post in this forum, and for that I thank you guys. But come on people, read!

Hey, be nice to us...

I totally agree that we should all read the links etc., before asking all kinds of questions, but often things are not stated there. If they are, maybe not stated in full.
I too use way to much time reading about a specific unit, but I must say that many times the manufacturer could give us better spec.sheets.

Hope I didn't offend anyone
Meenenator is offline  
post #11 of 239 Old 08-16-2006, 07:59 PM
Member
 
skibell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meenenator View Post

Hey, be nice to us...

I totally agree that we should all read the links etc., before asking all kinds of questions, but often things are not stated there. If they are, maybe not stated in full.
I too use way to much time reading about a specific unit, but I must say that many times the manufacturer could give us better spec.sheets.

Hope I didn't offend anyone

No offense taken, I saw the update on my "updates" and thought... Hmmm, a new HD player, lets check it out, I saw 3 links and click on them, looks like there are more than one different model. First link shows the one with HD, USB and DVI, pictures and all info you could ask for, Second link is from the manuf with even more info. Third link is a reviewer link but... It is the LX350 as with no HD.

Please click on link, don't need to know Korean, be brave.
skibell is offline  
post #12 of 239 Old 08-17-2006, 05:49 AM
Newbie
 
stumax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Saw this thing yesterday at PC Gate computers in the Pacific Mall in Toronto. They let me look at it up close, but it wasn't hooked up to anything. Build quality is really nice. The box corroborates all of the formats, including that it will play dvd images. One confusing thing was that it said "1920x1080i progressive output." Hopefully the "i" was just a typo. I'm really kicking myself that I didn't buy the thing. A little pricey at $399 CAD, but it could turn out to be really cool.
stumax is offline  
post #13 of 239 Old 08-20-2006, 08:00 PM
Member
 
analli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know how this unit compares to the TVIX 5000? Menus, performance, networking, etc?

Anthony
analli is offline  
post #14 of 239 Old 08-23-2006, 12:23 PM
Member
 
analli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Coming soon to the Eureka LX350HD...

File transfers direct to the unit's hard drive via the network... and not via FTP. The unit will appear as a network share on your PC facilitating downloads direct to the media center.

This NAS solution is far and away better than the FTP solution coming out for the TVIX.

This is a great little unit and it's a firmware update or two (recently 2-3 weeks between updates) from being virtually unbeatable.

Anthony
analli is offline  
post #15 of 239 Old 08-26-2006, 11:57 AM
Newbie
 
dhandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by analli View Post

This is a great little unit and it's a firmware update or two (recently 2-3 weeks between updates) from being virtually unbeatable.

I have one of these on order, and it will arrive within a few days. Where can I find the (English) firmware updates in case my unit is not current? (And if they released one that recently, I would not expect an in-stock unit to be current.)

The only link I can find which is supposed to be for the firmware, is actually a LX351.bin file so I'm assuming it does not apply to the LX350HD?

Thanks!
dhandy is offline  
post #16 of 239 Old 08-26-2006, 07:03 PM
Member
 
analli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The best place to get firmware updates is http://www.ziocanada.ca/download.html . They get their updates from Korea but actually post them sooner. 1.1.1.124 is the most current but another update should be coming soon.

Anthony
analli is offline  
post #17 of 239 Old 08-27-2006, 11:02 AM
Newbie
 
dhandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by analli View Post

1.1.1.124 is the most current but another update should be coming soon.

Thanks very much. I don't see anything that addresses what is changed in each firmware release. Is there a forum somewhere to follow? How do you know another should be coming soon?

Do you know what server clients this will support? Is it UPnP compatible?
dhandy is offline  
post #18 of 239 Old 08-28-2006, 06:28 AM
Member
 
analli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unfortuately I don't have those details and agree that they would be helpful. I'm really excited about the potential of this unit. Even without the upcoming updates I'm very satisfied with it right now.

Enjoy.

Anthony
analli is offline  
post #19 of 239 Old 08-28-2006, 09:11 AM
Member
 
alangsk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Stevensville, MI
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The biggest complaint that I have with almost all of these media players is the GUI. How is the GUI for this unit? Does anyone have any screenshots or know where to view them at?

Thanks!

S&K Theater
alangsk is offline  
post #20 of 239 Old 08-28-2006, 10:20 AM
Member
 
sansp00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Beloeil, Qc, Canada
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhandy View Post

Thanks very much. I don't see anything that addresses what is changed in each firmware release. Is there a forum somewhere to follow? How do you know another should be coming soon?

Do you know what server clients this will support? Is it UPnP compatible?

From what I read, UPnP is not available, it basically mounts shareable drive. It looks like SMB from what I understand, but it's not mentionned specifically.

From reviews I read, the interface is supposed to above average to good.

Like always, for me, it almost fits the bill, but not quite
UPnP is the missing part, if this thing gets it before everyone else, it will probably get my vote.
Patrick S.

A/V Enthousiast ...
In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But in practice, there is.
sansp00 is offline  
post #21 of 239 Old 08-29-2006, 02:10 AM
Newbie
 
Joseph_lin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know if it supports multilanguage? Like chinese?
Joseph_lin is offline  
post #22 of 239 Old 08-30-2006, 09:37 AM
Member
 
analli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph_lin View Post

Anyone know if it supports multilanguage? Like chinese?

It looks like your choices are English and Korean.

Anthony
analli is offline  
post #23 of 239 Old 09-03-2006, 07:36 AM
Member
 
Chris98vobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I noticed on the site that it says that it supports full DVD ripping. This includes all menus and bonus features.

Does anyone know if this is true? I have a BLT and have been waiting forever for this capability.

Chris
Chris98vobra is offline  
post #24 of 239 Old 09-05-2006, 01:04 AM
Member
 
am1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone who has one care to give their comments on how it performs, as i can't find any reviews for it.

Thanks.
am1968 is offline  
post #25 of 239 Old 09-05-2006, 07:53 PM
Member
 
analli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have one. It's still a VERY new product and probably a firmware update or two from reaching its potential (I'm expecting another update very, very soon). I haven't used any other media centers so I have no point of comparison. In using this one though I am happy with its performance overall. The menu is intuitive enough but I think there's still room for improvement.

A key point for me was speaking with someone from Zio Canada. He was very excited about this product and assured me that updates would come often and this media center really has the potential to become a market leader.

Picture quality is great. Audio quality also exceptional. I'm very interested in seeing what a post-124 firmware update brings though.

Anthony
analli is offline  
post #26 of 239 Old 09-06-2006, 12:50 AM
Member
 
am1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks analli.

I live in the UK and have found a couple of suppliers but it comes under the name IAMM, which certainly looks like the same product.


With the current firmware can you tell me if you are able to do the following:

1) Play dvd iso files from the internal HDD without any problem (sync issues/picture freeze etc)
2) Play HD ts files without same problems
3) Transfer files from pc to HDD via wired/wireless network.

Thanks again.
am1968 is offline  
post #27 of 239 Old 09-07-2006, 09:45 AM
Member
 
analli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1) Play dvd iso files from the internal HDD without any problem (sync issues/picture freeze etc)

I have played DVD ISOs over the network perfectly. I haven't tried with the HDD yet but I would expect it would be even better.


2) Play HD ts files without same problems

I have played TS files over the network as well with no problems, again though not from the HDD.


3) Transfer files from pc to HDD via wired/wireless network.

There is no way to transfer files over the network YET. I'm told file transfer is coming in one or two firmware updates from now. I am also told it will NOT be FTP, one of the methods used by another media server. I should show up as a share on your network. I plan on setting up a scheduled task to execute a script that copies files nightly. Right now the only way to do file transfer is to hook up the device to your computer via USB.

Anthony
analli is offline  
post #28 of 239 Old 09-07-2006, 10:30 AM
Member
 
sansp00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Beloeil, Qc, Canada
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
3) Transfer files from pc to HDD via wired/wireless network.

There is no way to transfer files over the network YET. I'm told file transfer is coming in one or two firmware updates from now. I am also told it will NOT be FTP, one of the methods used by another media server. I should show up as a share on your network. I plan on setting up a scheduled task to execute a script that copies files nightly. Right now the only way to do file transfer is to hook up the device to your computer via USB.

Any chance for UPnP ?

Patrick S.

A/V Enthousiast ...
In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But in practice, there is.
sansp00 is offline  
post #29 of 239 Old 09-07-2006, 10:40 AM
Member
 
analli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Patrick,

That would be a good question for the support guys at ziocanada.ca

I don't know.

Anthony
analli is offline  
post #30 of 239 Old 09-07-2006, 10:45 AM
Member
 
aljimenez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Those controls on the top of the unit for the HD model are not good!

My MG-35 sits very nicely just as tall as the SONY receiver right next to it in a shelf with controls on the front. I would not be able to reach the top controls on this unit... Al
aljimenez is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off