Iamm NTD36HD by Novatron - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 491 Old 07-03-2007, 12:11 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Konsti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Greece
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dear cHarOn, thanks for the link, I did download and upgraded the firmware successfully.

I did not check any new features, I immediately started playing an Xvid file, with Greek .srt subtitles. I am sorry to say that the requested modification to ignore the and in the subs is not implemented. They still show on-screen... Do you know why? Was the hdd-admin aware of your modification?

Also, I don't know why you think ver159 could play greek; it plays extended latin characters (in English OSD language, even in Eastern Europe OSD language). The saved .srt file is in ANSI type of text. I tried saving as UNICODE (via Notepad) but this time, the subtitles aren't even detected. So only plain text ANSI type is accepted in .srt files.

I am sure all other improvements are there--let's wait for Novatron to say something official...
Konsti is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 491 Old 07-03-2007, 12:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
cHarOn99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
i hadnt time to check the new firmware, hmm the admin requested the modification damn they didnt do it i will talk to him again sorry for that. ;-(

cHarOn
cHarOn99 is offline  
post #273 of 491 Old 07-05-2007, 12:57 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Konsti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Greece
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
cHarOn99 you have a PM.

I also detected some spelling mistakes on this firmware that you should tell the hdd-player.de admin to tell Novatron

In OSD language you have "Spainish" instead of "Spanish", this can drive Spanish people mad
Konsti is offline  
post #274 of 491 Old 07-09-2007, 03:26 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Konsti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Greece
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Novatron has still not updated their site (not for some time) they are such a boring manufacturer... So no v159 firmware yet. Unless the web programmer is on holidays
Konsti is offline  
post #275 of 491 Old 07-10-2007, 01:32 PM
Member
 
oe800r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: arlington, va
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OpenEM86xx firmware

Anyone try using these tools to compile yet?

Works good on the mvix, working on adding new components.

Can we take binary files that have been compiled from other people (different ftp server...) and then re-create the romfs with the new binaries? How about just mounting them on the internal IDE and just executing a command via ssh (dropbear).

Just some thoughts!

http://mvixcommunity.com/showforum.php?fid/17/
oe800r is offline  
post #276 of 491 Old 07-11-2007, 04:31 AM
Newbie
 
skittlez187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can get the device to see vista but it will not share folders does anyone have a clue what to do? i have enable the guest login all sharing is enabled and the firewall is turned off has anyone had this problem?
skittlez187 is offline  
post #277 of 491 Old 07-11-2007, 05:31 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Konsti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Greece
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
cHarOn, please reply to this because I am confused!

Over at hdd-player.de forum, there is a firmware 1.1.157 but on another page, we find firmware 1.2.157! What is correct? The .1 or .2? It seems they are the same!

Quote:


New at 1.2.157
----> added cpmovie, cpphoto, cpmusic
----> script starts from usb or internal HDD

Quote:


New at 1.1.157
----> USB Problem fixed
----> OSD Language Eastern Europe added
----> also the normaly changes ftp, http, telnet and ext3
----> some little bugfixes

Which is the newest and most complete? What about firmware 1.1.159?
Quote:


Firmware 1.159
mit Unterstützung für EXT3-Dateisystem

Danke, thanks.
Konsti is offline  
post #278 of 491 Old 07-11-2007, 06:07 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Konsti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Greece
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ooops, I think I have made a mistake or this is a typographic error on the hdd-player.de forum: I think I have installed v1.1.159 on my NTD36-HD which seems to be NTD35 firmware...

But on the forum thread for the NTD36-HD the download links point to NTD35 firmware... What is going on? Is it possible for the NTD36-HD to accept NTD35 firmware?
Konsti is offline  
post #279 of 491 Old 07-11-2007, 06:49 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Konsti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Greece
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To skittlez187 and oe800r.

skittlez187: I can't really help you, I decided not to waste my life with Windowz anymore and bought myself an Apple Mac, so I have no clue about Vista. BUT I think you must do what I did in Apple MacOS X, you must ENABLE the "guest" account because the NTD36-HD opens network folders with GUEST as username and blank password.

oe800r: I personally have no knowledge of Linux to this extent, I think phew, antivirus or cHarOn might help, but they must login here, sooner or later
Konsti is offline  
post #280 of 491 Old 07-11-2007, 08:48 AM
Member
 
oe800r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: arlington, va
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ya i periodically check Anti's site and see that he has the latest distro up. I'm curious to see what he's done. They really are good at hacking this thing.
oe800r is offline  
post #281 of 491 Old 07-11-2007, 01:55 PM
Newbie
 
golojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My NTD35 firmware is 1.1.158. Is it possible to install over it the 1.2.157 firmware?
golojo is offline  
post #282 of 491 Old 07-11-2007, 03:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
cHarOn99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ok the 1.1.159 is only for IAMM NTD36HD it is official and it isnt for NTD35 i dont know why novatron gives it the name NTD35!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

my firmware is only renamed to NTD36!!!!! with the extra features in it.

cHarOn
cHarOn99 is offline  
post #283 of 491 Old 07-11-2007, 03:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
cHarOn99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
English:
Firmware 1.1.2.159: http://www.hdd-player.de/phpBB2/inde...sg6294#msg6294 YOU MUST BE REGISTERED AT hdd-player.de

New at 1.1.2.159
----> included Busybox2 new commands
----> some spelling changes


Code:
Patched firmware for Novatron NTD36HD ftp,http,telnet,ext3,usb2hdd,init_script and new commands* (based on build 159)
=====================================================================================================================

---- USE AT YOUR OWN RISK! ---- USE AT YOUR OWN RISK! ----

If you brick your player using this firmware the only way
to debrick it is in rescue mode through tftp.

Changelog: 1.1.2.159

 1. Added cpmovie, cpphoto, cpmusic, scripts and sleep /usr/local/bin

 2. cpmovie: plugin USB -HDD -Stick or -CAM to your IAMM, if on the device is an Folder called 
* * * * * * *MOVIE everything inside gets copied to the internal EXT3 HDD MOVIE Folder
* * * * * * *
* * cpmusic: plugin USB -HDD -Stick or -CAM to your IAMM, if on the device is an Folder called 
* * * * * * *MUSIC everything inside gets copied to the internal EXT3 HDD MUSIC Folder* 
* * * * * * *
* * cpphoto: plugin USB -HDD -Stick or -CAM to your IAMM, if on the device is an Folder called 
* * * * * * *PHOTO everything inside gets copied to the internal EXT3 HDD PHOTO Folder* * * * * * * * * * 

 3. Changed /etc/inittab to start both of them:
* *# Startup the system
* *::once:/usr/curacao/curacao
* *::once:/usr/sbin/telnetd &
* *::once:/usr/local/bin/ftpd &
* *::once:/usr/local/bin/shttpd -d / &
* *::once:/usr/local/bin/scripts
* *
 4. ::once:/usr/local/bin/scripts
 
* * This script is really simple it looks in root of the internal hdd or on an usb device
* * for an script called init_script, if there is an file called init_script it will starts this script
* * Whats the use of that? Really simple you can mount NFS shares ;-) you can run the cpmovie, cpphoto, ....
* * commands. or everything you want. An init_script to mount an NFS share or to do the 3 copy routines
* * are in the zip you downloaded ;-) 

5. Hifan from the Mvix Community makes some new commands to the Box (new busybox) i include it into the iamm

6. Changed some spelling mistakes ;-)




Usage:

 1. Install just like a usual firmware upgrade

 2. You must format your HDD with ext3, fat32 is no option anymore because users have many problems with it.

 3. Log in using telnet: user = root, password = hdd

 4. Log in using ftp (Upload works! but not everything): user = ftp, password = ftp* * *if you want full write access (create directories, .......)you have to* * * * *login with user = root, pass = hdd
* * Note: The ftpd takes 10-20 seconds to respond! Be patient

 5. Log in with your Browser to download files (only Download)

 6. To get to your Harddisk you need go to /tmp/ide/part1

 7. To get the new script and busybox working you need to extract the INIT.zip to your internal ext3 HDD


Thanks:

 Thx go to the admin from www.hdd-player.de who makes it possible that Novatron includes ext3 support. 
 Thx goes to Dirk alias (dm) who helps me and compiles some nights.
 Thx goes to OK from the Mvix Community who gets the stuff working (ftpd and shttpd) 
 Thx goes to hifan from the Mvix Community who makes the new busybox working.


 
 I wish you all good luck.
 cHarOn
cHarOn99 is offline  
post #284 of 491 Old 07-11-2007, 04:58 PM
Newbie
 
Bono2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you for the new firmware, but i have a question :
what are the differences between .157 and .159 firmwares ?

I've a Cibox wireless HD box, and i've seen a new firmware (first firmware!!!) from Cibox website : http://www.ciboxcorp.com/web/telecha...ox/Cinebox.zip

It contains a .bin and i can't extract .bin with extract-romfs.bat/exe:

D:\\Cibox\
omfs>extract-romfs.exe romfs.bin
Image info - wrong ASCII ident

I've hexedit a working romfs.bin and this .bin and it's not the same file structure.

Is there a tool to extract this .bin ?
Cibox doesn't say anything about this new firmware, no .nfo.
Bono2007 is offline  
post #285 of 491 Old 07-11-2007, 11:18 PM
Newbie
 
golojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, my mistake: I have NTD36 v.1.1.158 and not NTD35.
Same question, is it possible to install the 1.2.157 firmware over 1.1.158 firmware?
golojo is offline  
post #286 of 491 Old 07-11-2007, 11:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
cHarOn99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
yes no problem but you can now also take 1.1.2.159 ;-)
cHarOn99 is offline  
post #287 of 491 Old 07-12-2007, 01:39 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Konsti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Greece
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK guys, I will give an end to confusion. This is what the admin of hdd-player.de replied to me yesterday when I tried to understand what's going on with the different firmwares...

1.1.1.159 is the newest from Novatron
1.1.2.159 is the newest "changed" firmware from cHarOn

So the .1 is Novatron's and .2 is cHarOn's work. Only for the NTD36-HD, despite the fact that the links/filename on hdd-player.de (and not Novatron, dear cHarOn) point to NTD35... Probably a spelling mistake.

cHarOn where have you been? We have missed you
Konsti is offline  
post #288 of 491 Old 07-12-2007, 01:40 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Konsti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Greece
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
oe800r which is antivirus' website? Can you post the link, here, please?
Konsti is offline  
post #289 of 491 Old 07-12-2007, 01:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Konsti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Greece
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bono2007 View Post

Thank you for the new firmware, but i have a question :
what are the differences between .157 and .159 firmwares?

cHarOn, I have a further question, what is the difference between firmware 1.1.159 and 1.2.159 and I know it's Novatron's and yours, but the only thing I can see is (a) new busybox (b) cpmovie/cpphoto/cpmusic (c) HDD root script control.

Can you confirm? Should I send you any spelling mistakes I may detect, too? Please note that I have also sent you a PM -- private message
Konsti is offline  
post #290 of 491 Old 07-12-2007, 02:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
cHarOn99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
hi konsti had some work todo ;-) and yes please send me spelling mistakes i will fix that when i can ;-) the changes are everything from my first release so ftp, http,....... + in the new firmwares from what i add to the description.

cHarOn
cHarOn99 is offline  
post #291 of 491 Old 07-12-2007, 05:36 AM
Member
 
oe800r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: arlington, va
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Konsi:
http://amd.co.at/anti/hd-player/

Charon:
Host is down

We've got some developers working on the mvix over @ mvixcommunity.com and are making small moves. It would be great to integrate both teams don't you think charon?

I know we've been working on getting samba working, and I've been trying everything under the sun.
oe800r is offline  
post #292 of 491 Old 07-12-2007, 06:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
cHarOn99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
@oe800r: about Teamwork no problem but the devices are different and i tried samba already and the performance sucks as hell but this is months ago. The only good way would be an nfs server but kernel based and that only works when we can cook an kernel ;-( but we will see what the future brings ;-)

cHarOn
cHarOn99 is offline  
post #293 of 491 Old 07-12-2007, 07:41 AM
Newbie
 
Bono2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
SO? Nobody knows the differences between .157 and .159 firmware ? I haven't seen any changelog.
Bono2007 is offline  
post #294 of 491 Old 07-12-2007, 10:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
cHarOn99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
DOWNLOADLINK WORKS AGAIN ;-)



Quote:
Originally Posted by Bono2007 View Post

SO? Nobody knows the differences between .157 and .159 firmware ? I haven't seen any changelog.

no we dont know ;-(
cHarOn99 is offline  
post #295 of 491 Old 07-12-2007, 12:14 PM
Newbie
 
Lolli-Lutscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cHarOn99 View Post

no we dont know ;-(

...and perhaps we will never know, 'cause Novatron's support sucks
Lolli-Lutscher is offline  
post #296 of 491 Old 07-12-2007, 04:50 PM
Newbie
 
Bono2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've read on a french forum that the Cibox firmware ( http://www.ciboxcorp.com/web/telecha...ox/Cinebox.zip ) didn't work. It's less than 5 Mo. I can't excract it, maybe i will try to upload it on my cibox if i have to use garanty. Cibox's support sucks too ;-)
Bono2007 is offline  
post #297 of 491 Old 07-12-2007, 05:12 PM
Newbie
 
Bono2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i've read : "5. Hifan from the Mvix Community makes some new commands to the Box (new busybox) i include it into the iamm"

i've 1.2.157 in my box, what are the new commands (busybox2) in 1.2.159 ?
In init.zip i've seen a file initcommands with :
/tmp/bin/ln -s $ROOT/sys/bin/busybox2 /tmp/bin/awk
/tmp/bin/ln -s $ROOT/sys/bin/busybox2 /tmp/bin/basename
/tmp/bin/ln -s $ROOT/sys/bin/busybox2 /tmp/bin/busybox2
/tmp/bin/ln -s $ROOT/sys/bin/busybox2 /tmp/bin/cat
/tmp/bin/ln -s $ROOT/sys/bin/busybox2 /tmp/bin/chmod
/tmp/bin/ln -s $ROOT/sys/bin/busybox2 /tmp/bin/clear
...
/tmp/bin/ln -s $ROOT/sys/bin/busybox2 /tmp/bin/env
/tmp/bin/ln -s $ROOT/sys/bin/busybox2 /tmp/bin/expr
/tmp/bin/ln -s $ROOT/sys/bin/busybox2 /tmp/bin/false
/tmp/bin/ln -s $ROOT/sys/bin/busybox2 /tmp/bin/fgrep

is it this ? chmod.... cat.... ?
Bono2007 is offline  
post #298 of 491 Old 07-12-2007, 10:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
cHarOn99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
yep correct
cHarOn99 is offline  
post #299 of 491 Old 07-14-2007, 02:26 AM
Newbie
 
golojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some questions:
1. What CPU use NTD36?
2. Did anybody tried to run the this application under VMware?
3. What is the back-out procedure (if any) for unsuccessful upgrade?
Thanks ahead, Josef
golojo is offline  
post #300 of 491 Old 07-14-2007, 02:33 AM
Newbie
 
Bono2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by golojo View Post

Some questions:
1. What CPU use NTD36?
2. Did anybody tried to run the this application under VMware?
3. What is the back-out procedure (if any) for unsuccessful upgrade?
Thanks ahead, Josef

Maybe you could look here : http://amd.co.at/anti/hd-player/ilam...ard_front1.JPG
and here :
http://www.sigmadesigns.com/public/P...ion_guide.html
I think for a 200 Mhz ARM Embedded


for unsuccessful upgrade, use tftp method.
Bono2007 is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off