D-LINK DSM-510 vs. 520 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 30 Old 01-09-2007, 10:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
vferrari's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Wash DC Metro Area
Posts: 3,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Which would you choose: the DSM-510 or the older DSM-520 and why?

Thanks

The Future ain't what it used to be...
vferrari is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 30 Old 01-09-2007, 11:42 PM
RTK
AVS Special Member
 
RTK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
If you only need HDMI output, the 510 is the way to go.

Rick
RTK is offline  
post #3 of 30 Old 01-10-2007, 11:38 AM
Member
 
tuxster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: East Lansing, MI
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1) The form factors are different. DSM-510 looks like computer equipment while DSM-520 looks like an A/V component. Depends on which you prefer.

2) DSM-510 only supports HDMI output, no component output so you better be sure that you are using HDMI.

3) DSM-510 does not support Rhapsody, so if you have a subscription to Rhapsody, you need DSM-520.

4) DSM-510 has a never user interface, so supports things like cover art and multiple speeds of FF/Rew (Although if you use a uPnP media server software with DSM-520 you can get around some of the limitations through that software).

5) DSM-510 supports Viiv, and additional content from the Viiv network. So if your computer is Viiv capable and you care about accessing that content, than you should get DSM-510.

Of course, you could wait for DSM-750 that was just announced...
tuxster is offline  
post #4 of 30 Old 01-10-2007, 01:36 PM
RTK
AVS Special Member
 
RTK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
i agree with everything that tuxster said including that it might be worth waiting for the 750 depending upon your needs but I disagree with his comments about form factor. the 510 is about the perfect form factor in that its about the same size as a VHS cassette tape and can be tucked away unobtrusively if it wasn't for the blue headlights on the front.... Also the Nero Media server software included with the 510 is horrible and poorly documented. Use the Dlink server software, a third party or MS WMP11.

Rick
RTK is offline  
post #5 of 30 Old 01-10-2007, 04:30 PM
Member
 
GimmeMP3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuxster View Post

4) DSM-510 has a never user interface, so supports things like cover art and multiple speeds of FF/Rew (Although if you use a uPnP media server software with DSM-520 you can get around some of the limitations through that software).

Tuxster - I've got a DSM-520 and have been fighting the slow, non-multiple speed FF/Rew problem on DivX and XviD videos since the beginning. I haven't seen anything about fixing these issues. What do you mean when you say you can get around the limitations?
GimmeMP3 is offline  
post #6 of 30 Old 01-10-2007, 11:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
ransome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: phx,az
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have used both and the 510 is vastly superior.It will display photos in hd with the correct aspect unlike the 520.Use Tversity for best results.My only complaint is that you can not slideshow video files like on the 520.

If anyone knows how to slideshow videos on the 510 let me know.

Who are you going to believe,me or your lying eyes?
ransome is offline  
post #7 of 30 Old 01-11-2007, 12:52 PM
Member
 
tuxster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: East Lansing, MI
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GimmeMP3 View Post

Tuxster - I've got a DSM-520 and have been fighting the slow, non-multiple speed FF/Rew problem on DivX and XviD videos since the beginning. I haven't seen anything about fixing these issues. What do you mean when you say you can get around the limitations?

Hi GimmeMP3: Sorry for not being clear, I said you can get around "some" of the limitations. For example, using a different uPNP software than provided you can actually get cover arts.

Unfortunately, as far as I know, fixing the FF/Rew problem is not one of those limitations that can be resolved.
tuxster is offline  
post #8 of 30 Old 01-11-2007, 06:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
vferrari's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Wash DC Metro Area
Posts: 3,693
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the all the info. I'm leaning towards the 510, but I'll do some more fact finding on the 750, but would like to get something this month (have a coupon to burn).

The Future ain't what it used to be...
vferrari is offline  
post #9 of 30 Old 01-11-2007, 10:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
ransome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: phx,az
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dsm-510 is $17x.00 shipped buy.com using google checkout.

Who are you going to believe,me or your lying eyes?
ransome is offline  
post #10 of 30 Old 01-12-2007, 09:49 AM
Senior Member
 
JohninLA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuxster View Post

Sorry for not being clear, I said you can get around "some" of the limitations. For example, using a different uPNP software than provided you can actually get cover arts.

I have the 520, are you saying it's possible to see cover art while playing music? I've tried Dlink's, Nero, TVersity, and WMP11, and haven't found a way to do it. Have you found a way?
JohninLA is offline  
post #11 of 30 Old 01-12-2007, 10:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
telemike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Greensboro NC
Posts: 1,155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does the 510 support a non VIIV computer?
telemike is offline  
post #12 of 30 Old 01-12-2007, 02:27 PM
RTK
AVS Special Member
 
RTK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Yes, I'm using it with an AMD based PC.

Rick
RTK is offline  
post #13 of 30 Old 01-12-2007, 08:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
ransome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: phx,az
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by telemike View Post

Does the 510 support a non VIIV computer?

Yes it works fine, maybe someday I will have Viiv computer to get the most from the device.

Who are you going to believe,me or your lying eyes?
ransome is offline  
post #14 of 30 Old 01-12-2007, 08:43 PM
RTK
AVS Special Member
 
RTK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
what does having a viiv PC allow you to do with the 510 that can't be done with a non-viiv PC?

Rick
RTK is offline  
post #15 of 30 Old 01-15-2007, 05:29 AM
Member
 
gmanupnorth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Cow Bay, Nova Scotia Canada
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It gives you access to on-line content from the Viiv-zone and other on-line content providers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RTK View Post

what does having a viiv PC allow you to do with the 510 that can't be done with a non-viiv PC?


Gordon
gmanupnorth is offline  
post #16 of 30 Old 01-15-2007, 09:41 AM
Member
 
Aaron_LC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ransome View Post

I have used both and the 510 is vastly superior.It will display photos in hd with the correct aspect unlike the 520.Use Tversity for best results.My only complaint is that you can not slideshow video files like on the 520.

If anyone knows how to slideshow videos on the 510 let me know.

Hit play when you have the folder selected. Should play the items in order.

-Aaron
Aaron_LC is offline  
post #17 of 30 Old 01-15-2007, 09:44 AM
Member
 
Aaron_LC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RTK View Post

what does having a viiv PC allow you to do with the 510 that can't be done with a non-viiv PC?

Viiv is its own Network Ecosystems/UPNP AV server. It indexes and organizes the files as well as allowing you easier setup for Viiv compliant devices. Also Viiv has the ability to transcode(like some other 3rd party software). It is one of the quickest response upnp av servers I have used to date.

-Aaron
Aaron_LC is offline  
post #18 of 30 Old 01-15-2007, 12:42 PM
RTK
AVS Special Member
 
RTK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Is there any way to "trick" the DSM-510 into believing its networked to an Intel Viiv PC? I find it hard to believe my AMD X2 4600 doesn't have enough processing power to handle whatever content is available online.

Rick
RTK is offline  
post #19 of 30 Old 01-15-2007, 01:21 PM
Member
 
Aaron_LC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RTK View Post

Is there any way to "trick" the DSM-510 into believing its networked to an Intel Viiv PC? I find it hard to believe my AMD X2 4600 doesn't have enough processing power to handle whatever content is available online.

AMD has its own version, AMD Live!. AFAIK Viiv cannot be tricked since it is so heavily hardware dependent.
Aaron_LC is offline  
post #20 of 30 Old 01-15-2007, 05:12 PM
RTK
AVS Special Member
 
RTK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Is there anyway to get to AMD live from the 510?

Rick
RTK is offline  
post #21 of 30 Old 01-15-2007, 10:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
ransome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: phx,az
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaron_LC View Post

Hit play when you have the folder selected. Should play the items in order.

-Aaron

It doesn't work like that on the 510, it works fine on the 520.You can play photo slideshows on the 510 doing it that way, but when you highlight the video folder and press play the 510 does not respond, I talked to a tech(an american level 3) at d-link and he said to send an email and maybe they can add this feature via firmware update.
This lack of a feature really detracts from this product.

Who are you going to believe,me or your lying eyes?
ransome is offline  
post #22 of 30 Old 01-29-2007, 12:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
ransome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: phx,az
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can you use an external hard drive with a DSM-510?

Who are you going to believe,me or your lying eyes?
ransome is offline  
post #23 of 30 Old 01-30-2007, 09:37 AM
Member
 
Aaron_LC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried it with a few usb hard drives and it has been working for me(although I prefer network).

-Aaron
Aaron_LC is offline  
post #24 of 30 Old 01-30-2007, 04:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
ransome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: phx,az
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaron_LC View Post

I tried it with a few usb hard drives and it has been working for me(although I prefer network).

-Aaron

Why do you prefer the network?I was just going to load a 250 external with all my pics and slideshow from there...

Who are you going to believe,me or your lying eyes?
ransome is offline  
post #25 of 30 Old 01-30-2007, 05:46 PM
Member
 
Aaron_LC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I personally don't like cables sticking out of my device as well as the fact that I have a computer dedicated to hosting my content. You may personally not mind the cables or may not like to rely on a pc/network connection but I do .


*EDIT*

Also in regards to playing folders in order. This does work for me however this could be because I am using a Viiv technology computer. I will have to do more testing and get back to you.

Do you access your content through the Music/Photo/Video menu or through the server selection?


-Aaron
Aaron_LC is offline  
post #26 of 30 Old 01-31-2007, 11:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
ransome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: phx,az
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaron_LC View Post

I personally don't like cables sticking out of my device as well as the fact that I have a computer dedicated to hosting my content. You may personally not mind the cables or may not like to rely on a pc/network connection but I do .


*EDIT*

Also in regards to playing folders in order. This does work for me however this could be because I am using a Viiv technology computer. I will have to do more testing and get back to you.

Do you access your content through the Music/Photo/Video menu or through the server selection?


-Aaron

I use the servers. I don't have a Viiv computer so the Music/Photo/Video menu doesn't show any content for me.


But you are right, the reason to have a wireless media player is not to add wires.I just thought adding a external 250 gb HD would also act as a backup for my irreplaceable media, but it is much easier to use my servers.
If I could get my video to slideshow in the folders like the photos I would be very happy with this device.


I really think someone should start an "Official D-link DSM-510 wireless media server" thread

Who are you going to believe,me or your lying eyes?
ransome is offline  
post #27 of 30 Old 02-01-2007, 10:05 AM
Member
 
Aaron_LC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Which media server are you using if you don't mind me asking .

And from what I can tell, if the server does not implement the CDS:Search function of UPnP it will not populate the Music/Photo/Video section.
Aaron_LC is offline  
post #28 of 30 Old 02-01-2007, 12:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
ransome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: phx,az
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaron_LC View Post

Which media server are you using if you don't mind me asking .

And from what I can tell, if the server does not implement the CDS:Search function of UPnP it will not populate the Music/Photo/Video section.

I have used Tversity, twonkyvision, nero,windows media center 11 and the D-link 1.08.The one I use the most is Tversity, best features and always works fine.

Who are you going to believe,me or your lying eyes?
ransome is offline  
post #29 of 30 Old 06-19-2007, 11:58 PM
Member
 
Magendanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Much as I prefer the DSM-510's user interface, I find that there are many XviD and DivX videos I download that will play on the DSM-520 but not on the DSM-510. At first I thought these were the ones with Dolby 5.1 AC3 audio, but many of these will play. Does anyone understand what property of these videos the DSM-510 can't handle?

(Note that I'm running DSM-510 firmware version 1.03 and WMC 2.0 on both machines.)
Magendanz is offline  
post #30 of 30 Old 06-21-2007, 01:53 PM
Member
 
Magendanz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, it ends up that there are two reasons for this discrepency.

The first is that the DSM-510 has never had support for MPEG-4 ASP video with global or quarter pixel motion compensation. This surprises me, since it was my understanding that the DSM-510 was based on a newer revision of the Sigma Designs EM8620L series chipset, and so I expected its codec support to be improved, if anything.

The new reason is that the v1.03 firmware update for the DSM-510 inexplicably *removed* support for DivX. Details (as well as steps to downgrade back to v1.02) are available in this thread.
Magendanz is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off