Tvix M-4100SH and M5100SH - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 2858 Old 05-02-2007, 06:24 AM
Newbie
 
mypie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Forest, VA
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since the new Tvix 4100/5100 SH are out, is anyone looking to sell their old Tvix 4000/5000? Looking to get one, dont really care if its used....
mypie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 2858 Old 05-02-2007, 07:04 AM
Senior Member
 
dobeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are they actually "out", meaning have then been released to the general consumer? I don't think they are actually being shipped to anyone yet.
dobeman is offline  
post #273 of 2858 Old 05-02-2007, 07:05 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meenenator View Post

Are you saying that Auto EDID will select resolution based on what is played (480/720/1080)? (or am I just reading what I want to hear...?)

Auto EDID changes the output resolution to what your display "wants to hear".
TPeterson is offline  
post #274 of 2858 Old 05-02-2007, 07:20 AM
Member
 
CJDAVIS83's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi does anyone have any stats for the chip used in m4100sh.......
CJDAVIS83 is offline  
post #275 of 2858 Old 05-02-2007, 07:25 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Meenenator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post

Auto EDID changes the output resolution to what your display "wants to hear".

Ok, gothca... at least it is something...

M.
Meenenator is offline  
post #276 of 2858 Old 05-02-2007, 07:26 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Meenenator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJDAVIS83 View Post

hi does anyone have any stats for the chip used in m4100sh.......

There should be a link to some sigma design pdf files somewhere in this thread (or in the other 4/5000 threads), but I think it is in here.
I have seen it, so it is out.

M.
Meenenator is offline  
post #277 of 2858 Old 05-02-2007, 08:41 AM
Member
 
dapittboss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, all the HD stuff aside, if I just wanted to rip all my movies and music to this unit so I don't ever have to load a CD or DVD disc, would the 4100 perform well enough for me? I'm thinking I could have one or two (internal in the unit plus external) HD's with all my movies, music & pictures on them so I could access all of my media from one device. I'm not that concerned with making sure all the Blue Ray or HD stuff plays perfectly right now (I will later, but not now) since I have a ton of movies already that aren't HD but watching them is a pain because they're all stored in various places. Is this the device for me?
dapittboss is offline  
post #278 of 2858 Old 05-02-2007, 08:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
For DVD, music, & picture display, either 4000/5000 or 4100 should do the job for you.
TPeterson is offline  
post #279 of 2858 Old 05-02-2007, 10:21 AM
Newbie
 
ssneed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do the TVIX units have any support of closed captions (608 or 708)?

In regards to subtitle/srt support:

1. Are subtitles with more than two lines displayed entirely?
2. Is Italic and Bold supported?
3. Is Unicode supported (ie Music Note Characters)?

PS - There is a new version of CCExtractor that seems to work well on ATSC Transport Streams in extracting Closed Captions to srt file.
(Search for ccextractor at sourceforge - dot - net )

Thanks,
Sam
ssneed is offline  
post #280 of 2858 Old 05-02-2007, 10:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssneed View Post

Do the TVIX units have any support of closed captions (608 or 708)?

No. Regarding srt, others can comment but I've not played with that feature yet.
TPeterson is offline  
post #281 of 2858 Old 05-02-2007, 12:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nightfly13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ranchi, India
Posts: 1,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just FWIW with those last 2 video files, if the 4100 can play those, I'm impressed. My MacBook Pro Core Duo 2.0ghz (not core 2 duo) with 256mb video card (the better one offered) and 2 gigs of memory could play the first one perfectly but no image on the second with VLC, could be a configuration error but the error message was about dropped frames with too slow a processor, so that box has me impressed. I'm one of the many who would love to know if this has the horsepower to play 5-10mbps remuxed mkv x264 files. Because, you know, I want to back up my hd-dvd library (I feel so much freer with Jack V gone, call me an insensitive jerk, I'll cope)...
nightfly13 is offline  
post #282 of 2858 Old 05-02-2007, 12:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
If you mean the two 30-sec trailers on the Nero page, the M4100 plays them both without audio, presumably because of the AAC codec issue noted by the OP, but the 1920x1080(p?) one is not perfectly smooth. Curiously, subtitles are shown on the M4100 in only the 720p version--and I don't see them in either MPC or Nero Showtime.

MPC plays both clips well (and with sound, since Nero is installed on that machine, but no subtitles) on my AMD X2 3800+ NForce 410 PC with built-in 6150 video.
TPeterson is offline  
post #283 of 2858 Old 05-02-2007, 02:31 PM
Senior Member
 
a8vdeluxe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Lots of major problems coming out regarding High Definition. Sounds to me like these units are not quite ready for prime time.
a8vdeluxe is offline  
post #284 of 2858 Old 05-02-2007, 02:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Not sure what you mean by "major problems". All the Sigma Designs-based players (read: all network media players) have issues with trick play (FF/Rew, etc.) but all of them play ordinary HDTV transport streams perfectly in straightforward "play" mode. I don't regard this as a "major" problem. But it is a WAF issue. Maybe that's what you meant.
TPeterson is offline  
post #285 of 2858 Old 05-02-2007, 03:01 PM
Senior Member
 
cat6man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post

Not sure what you mean by "major problems". All the Sigma Designs-based players (read: all network media players) have issues with trick play (FF/Rew, etc.) but all of them play ordinary HDTV transport streams perfectly in straightforward "play" mode. I don't regard this as a "major" problem. But it is a WAF issue. Maybe that's what you meant.

i agree with you that all current sigma-based players have issues with FF/REW, etc due to the sigma-SDK releases and the lack of quality/attention paid to FF/REW, etc.
i disagree that it isn't a major problem......if you want to efficiently skip commercials, it is a real annoyance (your mileage may vary, of course).

as far as i know, only Ziova is working to replace the sigma playback code with their own......hopefully, they will be the exception to this inability to get trick-play to work in a satisfactory manner.
cat6man is offline  
post #286 of 2858 Old 05-02-2007, 03:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I use H2M to rid shows of uninteresting content before I view them, so I don't normally need FF or RW.

I've been waiting for many months now for someone to fix the FF/RW "problem" and I'll believe that it's fixed when I see it done. So far, I've seen no evidence of any vendor's being ahead of the others in this regard.

(BTW, DViCo tells me that they already don't use the SD code--making the universality of this problem all the more mysterious)
TPeterson is offline  
post #287 of 2858 Old 05-02-2007, 04:28 PM
Senior Member
 
salavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post

If you mean the two 30-sec trailers on the Nero page, the M4100 plays them both without audio, presumably because of the AAC codec issue noted by the OP

Oh no Is this suggesting what I hope it isn't, i.e. multichannel AAC audio tracks cannot be:

1) output over S/PDIF or HDMI with realtime encoding to AC3 or DTS
2) output over analog RCA audio after downmixing

Am I hearing that only 2 channel AAC is supported? That would really suck for me as I was hoping to be able to use my library of H.264/AAC5.1 MP4 files (DVD backups for media server). This is pretty much a deal breaker in my case
salavs is offline  
post #288 of 2858 Old 05-02-2007, 04:43 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Actually, I'm not sure what it suggests. There's an "AAC audio" entry in the setup screens that, by analogy with those for WMA and DTS, would have the options "Analog(PCM)" or "digital"...except that in the current firmware it's grayed out. It says "Analog(PCM)" but I suspect that it's actually not implemented yet.
TPeterson is offline  
post #289 of 2858 Old 05-02-2007, 04:48 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
dc_pilgrim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: South Central... PA
Posts: 4,617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I see a "guide" button on the remote - where does the data come from? Does it need to be tethered to a PC to acquire guide data?
dc_pilgrim is offline  
post #290 of 2858 Old 05-02-2007, 05:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I presume that it will come from the PSIP EPG data when there's a tuner installed and firmware to support it.
TPeterson is offline  
post #291 of 2858 Old 05-02-2007, 06:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
iwanrs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is this statement correct:

No 1080P only 1080i for both models 4100 & 5100 ?
iwanrs is offline  
post #292 of 2858 Old 05-02-2007, 07:17 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
No.

See my previous post on output options.
TPeterson is offline  
post #293 of 2858 Old 05-02-2007, 07:51 PM
Member
 
CJDAVIS83's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi

i understand some of you guys have pre-release versions of the tvix media players..what is 1080p playback like? i thought that as the sigma chip inside had only 128mb ram that 1080p playback would be choppy..

i dont have any 1080p playback files..i mostly have 1440x1080i25 files and 1920x1080i30 files..im guessing these decode and playback flawlessly..

how does the tuner work..does it actually record ATSC/DVB streaming broadcasts in .ts format?

thanks
CJDAVIS83 is offline  
post #294 of 2858 Old 05-03-2007, 04:55 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Meenenator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 540
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To all my European friends...

I just had a chat with a company in the Netherland which will get the 5100 in next week. Apparently... (it could just be the 4100).
They do pre-order on both the 4100(399) and 5100(449) models.

They ship to EU countries. To bad Norway in not part if the EU (yet...), otherwise I probably would have ordered one from them.

Here's the link:
http://www.rhisc.nl/component/page,s...id,26/lang,nl/

So my hunt for a company which have decent prices and ships everywhere goes on

M.
Meenenator is offline  
post #295 of 2858 Old 05-03-2007, 05:30 AM
Senior Member
 
rfisher1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do both of these play a DVD from a network share in VOB format. I use DVDDecryptor to get the movie from the DVD and currently use a ROKU HD1500 to watch movies, Works Great. I also have a HDHomeRun with Mythtv to record Local HD and view it using the ROKU. Will these players be a better choice to do the same thing?
rfisher1968 is offline  
post #296 of 2858 Old 05-03-2007, 06:10 AM
Member
 
Rob_Quads's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meenenator View Post

To all my European friends...

I just had a chat with a company in the Netherland which will get the 5100 in next week. Apparently... (it could just be the 4100).
They do pre-order on both the 4100(399) and 5100(449) models.

They ship to EU countries. To bad Norway in not part if the EU (yet...), otherwise I probably would have ordered one from them.

Here's the link:
http://www.rhisc.nl/component/page,s...id,26/lang,nl/

So my hunt for a company which have decent prices and ships everywhere goes on

M.

Have you spoken to Digital Connection in the US? I am probably going to buy from them and they are happy to ship to the UK so can't see why Norway would be any different.
Rob_Quads is offline  
post #297 of 2858 Old 05-03-2007, 06:49 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
dc_pilgrim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: South Central... PA
Posts: 4,617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post

I presume that it will come from the PSIP EPG data when there's a tuner installed and firmware to support it.

Hmm. I haven't followed PSIP too much, but I am under the impression that this can be a bit buggy/unreliable depending on your local broadcasters. I'll wait till some people get these in the field. Thanks!
dc_pilgrim is offline  
post #298 of 2858 Old 05-03-2007, 07:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
jrbd90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 537
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
In preparation to getting a 4100, i have a hard drive question.

Is it worth getting a db35 version of the Seagates optimized for streaming video, or are those models better suited for DVR use (recording) and not just playback.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.
jrbd90 is offline  
post #299 of 2858 Old 05-03-2007, 07:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Any vanilla SATA HDD should be fine. The main considerations are (1) low power to minimize heat generation and need to increase the fan speed and (2) low noise. I've not encountered any problems, AFAIK, in HTPC or TViX that would have been solved by using a "special" A/V HDD.
TPeterson is offline  
post #300 of 2858 Old 05-03-2007, 07:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by dc_pilgrim View Post

...I am under the impression that [PSIP EPG] can be a bit buggy/unreliable depending on your local broadcasters.

'Tis true. PSIP EPG is every bit as buggy and unreliable as your local broadcaster. But then...so are the programs that they broadcast.

If you want more flexibility, you'll need to have an Internet connection and an HTPC. Eventually I expect that programs such as CW_EPG will support the TViX tuner for scheduling recordings. But I'm getting ahead of myself....
TPeterson is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off