A Mac and Windows Movie Wallpaper GUI Generator for Media Players - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 1051 Old 12-23-2007, 07:09 PM
Member
 
poki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
guy, frankly i prefer ur steps , simple

efong is more of a pro tool , i tried WIBT as well , usable but not intuitive as urs...
poki is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 1051 Old 12-23-2007, 11:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Poki, can you post a screenshot of when you first have my program running and a sample of the resultant tvix.jpg file which is generated when you try to use my program (without a custom background.jpg). If I could see what you are ending up with, I might be able to understand what is happening on your PC. At this point I have no real clue what you are seeing nor what hardware/OS configuration you are using. Hence, no hope of fixing anything for you.

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #33 of 1051 Old 12-27-2007, 06:45 AM
Newbie
 
humorme201's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks a bunch...this is absolutely awesome...I did over 60 films last night and my little boy totally loves the artwork for locating his favorite movies...My wife loves it as well.

Only question...I don't have .ISO files I actually have the full AUDIO_TS and VIDEO_TS folders w/ .IFO as exact backups of the original DVDs...Is there a way to associate the icon to the first .IFO in the VIDEO_TS folder?? It mucks up the GUI when you have to still open the underlying folders and then select the .IFO and hit play...

Your GUI is fantastic and almost too simple to use...works like a charm...

TVIX 4100 and TVIX 5000 owner
2 ReadyNAS NV+ (4TB and 3TB)
Windows PCs
Gigabit switches and routers w/ CAT 6 throughout the home

Dune HD MAX
Dune HD Smart D1
Dune Prime 3.0
2 ReadyNAS 516 Huge Amounts TBs
humorme201 is offline  
post #34 of 1051 Old 12-27-2007, 07:39 AM
Newbie
 
rally555ron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Excellent piece of software. spent the last few days chaning all the icons, is a lot more useable now.

Anybody know if there is a way of changing the TVIX menu screen when you first switch on as the graphics for that are pretty poor and would be good if you could replace those as well.
rally555ron is offline  
post #35 of 1051 Old 12-27-2007, 12:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by humorme201 View Post

...I don't have .ISO files I actually have the full AUDIO_TS and VIDEO_TS folders w/ .IFO as exact backups of the original DVDs...Is there a way to associate the icon to the first .IFO in the VIDEO_TS folder??

Thanks. I'm happy to hear of people getting good use out of the program.

I also use full video_ts folders instead of iso's. If one was really motivated, it would be possible to set the video_ts folder to show its contents in icon view. Assign nearly empty icons to everything except the .ifo folder. Haven't done it myself, but should be doable.

If time permits, the results look good, and there is enough interest, that could be automatable.

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #36 of 1051 Old 12-27-2007, 02:49 PM
Newbie
 
humorme201's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you for the prompt response and idea...I may give that a try and see how it ends up...time permitting of course...that is the beauty behind your GUI...very simple and fast..

Dune HD MAX
Dune HD Smart D1
Dune Prime 3.0
2 ReadyNAS 516 Huge Amounts TBs
humorme201 is offline  
post #37 of 1051 Old 12-27-2007, 10:12 PM
Member
 
poki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
guy, thanks, i will try and upload the pic
poki is offline  
post #38 of 1051 Old 12-30-2007, 04:01 AM
Newbie
 
cokie69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it looks great...

question: can it do 'batch' updates?.

I have a huge collection of movies. Each one is in a separate folder containing as well the .jpg cover art (same name as the movie) but of course the cover art is a 200x400pixel image of the... cover-art!

I would much prefer to have shown for each one an image like the one in your example: wallpaper with slicky image of the cover-art of the movie on the left and rest of the screen clean to show the title. But of course I wouldn't want to have to create each single one (>1000!) manually. Is there any way I could instruct the program to run through the folders and create a wallpaper attaching the 'local' .jpg??
cokie69 is offline  
post #39 of 1051 Old 12-30-2007, 09:46 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cokie69 View Post

it looks great...

question: can it do 'batch' updates?.

edit: Yes. Current version does bath processing. See posts near end of thread.

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #40 of 1051 Old 12-30-2007, 12:22 PM
Member
 
michaelm2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South East England
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Guy, am I doing something wrong as the screen cuts off the far right hand side of the image meaning the text continues off screen.

Have tried the zoom options but nothing seems to get it back. Any ideas?

Great programme by the way - thanks for the work so far.

Mike
michaelm2007 is offline  
post #41 of 1051 Old 12-30-2007, 01:32 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelm2007 View Post

Hi Guy, am I doing something wrong as the screen cuts off the far right hand side of the image meaning the text continues off screen....
Mike

From your location, you're probably using a PAL output. I wonder if the TVIX scaling to PAL line height also causes the right portion of a 720 x 480 wallpaper to be lost. Probably best answered by a PAL TVIX user who has created wallpapers.

You could try setting your TVIX to output 720P to see if that lets you see the entire wallpaper. I personally don't like that because the scaling done on a 720 x 480 wallpaper to make it 720P isn't very well implemented on the TVIX.

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #42 of 1051 Old 12-31-2007, 06:47 AM
Member
 
michaelm2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South East England
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Guy, I forgot about the PAL thing - this is probably the case as I live in the UK and have it set up to auto but no doubt the initial menu screen etc., is shown at PAL resolutions.

I found a cure - via the Plasma display I simply re-centered the display and it now shows everything fine.

Would it be an option to perhaps decrease the text font a point or two and leave a bit of a margin at all sides to take account of things like this? Also I notice the file description interferes with the movie text unless you press the up arrow to 'Up=Folder' meaning you have to either cut down on the amount of text you can input or put up with some overlap on to the file name details.

Still think it is a great addition to the TviX though! Many thanks again, Mike
michaelm2007 is offline  
post #43 of 1051 Old 12-31-2007, 09:39 AM
Newbie
 
eddah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a problem with the software. When choosing a folder of the movie (Doesnt matter which movie i choose its the same thing) The movie doesnt popup in the white list. That leads me to not beeing able to do anyting . Here is example which movies if tried like (letters from iwo jima,3.10.to.yuma.Bourne identity etc, can mention that they are x264 720p ripped but that shouldnt matter?
eddah is offline  
post #44 of 1051 Old 12-31-2007, 12:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The only things which will show up in the list are FOLDERS which themselves contain the media elements. So, you choose the enclosing folder which encompasses a group of movie folders to use the program. The program also by default filters out folders which already have a wallpaper file.

When I have time, I'll see about making the text box bounds and font adjustable.

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #45 of 1051 Old 01-03-2008, 06:23 PM
Newbie
 
Max_Anderson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Guy,

My friend recommended your software so I downloaded the PC version and tried to run it. I have a Tivx 4100sh. My movies (all .ISO) are in a folder called ISO. When I try to find them doing step 1 of your program, the ISO folder appears to be empty so the program isn't "seeing" the movies. I'm not terribly technical so my apologies if this is a dumb question. Any thoughts?
Max_Anderson is offline  
post #46 of 1051 Old 01-03-2008, 06:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It isn't working because your file structure is...

iso_folder
___movie1.iso
___movie2.iso
___movie2.iso

The program expects each movie to have its own folder. That needs to be done in order to make the wallpaper and icon work.

The structure needs to start out as...


MyMovies
___Movie1Folder
_____Movie1.iso
___Movie2Folder
_____Movie2.iso

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #47 of 1051 Old 01-07-2008, 06:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nearly done with the update. Should be up late tonight.

Got the text font, text size and position adjustable as well as real time rotation, resizing and repositioning of the cover art. Just have to add some code so you can save your adjustments for reuse.

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #48 of 1051 Old 01-07-2008, 07:47 PM
Newbie
 
bakovenman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Guy

Where did you get the background pic, its great?
bakovenman is offline  
post #49 of 1051 Old 01-07-2008, 09:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Version 0.40 is up and should be accessible via the links at the beginning of this thread. Both Mac and PC versions work here, but I'm certain there will be niggles. The most annoying at present is the way line breaks don't always match between the editing window and the rendered version. Still working on that, but at least you can set the margins and get text to stay on screen.

There you go, now you can have a easy interface AND custom fit the text and graphics to your liking.

(The background pict in the program was taken a couple of years ago early in my room setup. Note the equipment rack that shouldn't be there. I like the background because you see the room in which you are seated.)

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #50 of 1051 Old 01-08-2008, 11:08 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Max_Anderson View Post

Hi Guy,

My friend recommended your software so I downloaded the PC version and tried to run it. I have a Tivx 4100sh. My movies (all .ISO) are in a folder called ISO. When I try to find them doing step 1 of your program, the ISO folder appears to be empty so the program isn't "seeing" the movies. I'm not terribly technical so my apologies if this is a dumb question. Any thoughts?

Version 0.41 of my program now has a batch function to convert a collection of iso files into the right folder structure. Look on the advanced controls panel. (Note: The advanced controls panel requires that you first select the enclosing folder on the main panel).

This saves the work of manually creating a new folder for each iso and moving each iso into its respective, new folder.

WARNING! The operation should only be done if you have your media files backed up. The program moves all the media files it finds into new folders. That would be a pain to manually undo.

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #51 of 1051 Old 01-08-2008, 12:18 PM
Member
 
carlsberg112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello ..

Really like your prog , but i seems to have a prob gettings the movie pic in there .
I first select and copy the text and then later i do the pic , i copy that also and then bring up the program again .
I can wait all i want but it doesnt get in there ??

Hepl please ..
carlsberg112 is offline  
post #52 of 1051 Old 01-08-2008, 12:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are you sure the image is in the clipboard? It should detect it if its an image (don't copy a location of an image, but get the actual image in the clipboard)

Manually paste by using the step #4 button? If that doesn't work, then somehow the program isn't seeing an image in your clipboard.

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #53 of 1051 Old 01-08-2008, 12:28 PM
Member
 
carlsberg112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
aha ok ..
Maybe a dumb question , but how do i check if the picture is in the clipboard ?
carlsberg112 is offline  
post #54 of 1051 Old 01-08-2008, 12:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Paste into another program which accepts images or depending on which OS you are running, you can look directly at the clipboard contents.

I'm sure you'll figure it out.

On screen wallpapers like....



are awaiting you.

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #55 of 1051 Old 01-08-2008, 01:05 PM
Member
 
carlsberg112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello again .
Its working now , i found out that i cant leave the text selected when trying to copy the pic .
Now another thing , i have nice covers stored on my server , can i use them also ?
And how , couse i tryed it with copy the pic and then wait for the prog to paste auto .
Doing manually , i tryed but i can never select button 4 when i turn of the auto copy and paste .

Otherwise very very nice work .
carlsberg112 is offline  
post #56 of 1051 Old 01-08-2008, 01:17 PM
Newbie
 
badeip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
really nice program, just wish it would remember my movies folder.

regards,

-p.
badeip is offline  
post #57 of 1051 Old 01-08-2008, 01:54 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by carlsberg112 View Post

Hello again .
....i have nice covers stored on my server , can i use them also ? .

Try version 0.42 (now up on server).

You can now drag and drop an image file into the rendering window. The dropped file will be read and used as cover art for the wallpaper.

Drag and drop of text (NOT a text file) also now works for putting text into the synopsis edit field of the main window.

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #58 of 1051 Old 01-08-2008, 01:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by badeip View Post

really nice program, just wish it would remember my movies folder.

-p.

This I don't quite understand. Do you mean remember across separate LAUNCHES of the program?

It does remember the enclosing folder until you specify another folder or quit the program.

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #59 of 1051 Old 01-08-2008, 05:07 PM
Newbie
 
bakovenman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Guy

I can only get 35b from the first link. How do I get the latest version?
bakovenman is offline  
post #60 of 1051 Old 01-08-2008, 05:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Empty your browser cache's local files and download again. Sounds like it's grabbing an old file.

I just checked both the PC and Mac download links they they are bringing down version 0.42

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off