A Mac and Windows Movie Wallpaper GUI Generator for Media Players - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 1051 Old 01-08-2008, 08:15 PM
Member
 
carlsberg112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy Kuo View Post

Try version 0.42 (now up on server).

You can now drag and drop an image file into the rendering window. The dropped file will be read and used as cover art for the wallpaper.

Drag and drop of text (NOT a text file) also now works for putting text into the synopsis edit field of the main window.

Nice Nice very Nice , now i can use my own HQ covers
carlsberg112 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 1051 Old 01-09-2008, 09:47 AM
Newbie
 
badeip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy Kuo View Post

This I don't quite understand. Do you mean remember across separate LAUNCHES of the program?

It does remember the enclosing folder until you specify another folder or quit the program.

I would like to the app to remember my movies folder between executions, just as you remember font settings etc.
My download folder is located deep within my C drive, and a typical use of the GUI builder for me is to launch it after having downloaded one movie.
badeip is offline  
post #63 of 1051 Old 01-09-2008, 11:39 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by badeip View Post

I would like to the app to remember my movies folder between executions, just as you remember font settings etc.
My download folder is located deep within my C drive, and a typical use of the GUI builder for me is to launch it after having downloaded one movie.

Done.

Version 0.44 remembers the enclosing folder's location along with user settings. Settings are now loaded automatically upon program startup and saved upon quitting.

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #64 of 1051 Old 01-09-2008, 11:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve Scherrer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Crystal Lake, IL
Posts: 1,843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have to move my "Start bar" from the bottom of my laptop screen to the side in order to see the buttons on the bottom ("Render and Save", etc.). Is there anyway to size the window so I can see the buttons without moving the start bar?

Registered U.S. Patent and Trademark Attorney
Steve Scherrer is offline  
post #65 of 1051 Old 01-09-2008, 11:46 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try v 0.44. The window is shorter and should a bit better for you.

Edit. Just noticed the Comcast server had an older build. Download 0.44 again now to get lastest.

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #66 of 1051 Old 01-09-2008, 12:04 PM
Newbie
 
badeip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy Kuo View Post

Done.

Version 0.44 remembers the enclosing folder's location along with user settings. Settings are now loaded automatically upon program startup and saved upon quitting.

<3

nice!
badeip is offline  
post #67 of 1051 Old 01-09-2008, 12:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Noticed some visual problems in 0.44 due to making the window shorter. Some text elements on the advanced pane were messed up by shrinking the window.

Grab 0.45 from the server now.

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #68 of 1051 Old 01-09-2008, 12:21 PM
Newbie
 
tommiecat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guy-

I must tell you that I love this app. Very easy to use and makes my library a pleasure to navigate. Is there any way to edit a TViX.jpg once it has been created? (If I relaunch the app on a different day and want to change or resize some text or replace the cover art).

Thanks for the hard work.
tommiecat is offline  
post #69 of 1051 Old 01-09-2008, 12:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm afraid not. That would require my program to store and catalog the cover art and text for each movie - much more work than I can put into a quick, freebie tool.

The only thing you can do in that circumstance is to redo that particular film you wish to modify. You'd need to uncheck the "Show Only Unprocessed Folders" button so you can reselect the movie's folder for work.

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #70 of 1051 Old 01-09-2008, 01:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve Scherrer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Crystal Lake, IL
Posts: 1,843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy Kuo View Post

Try v 0.44. The window is shorter and should a bit better for you.

Edit. Just noticed the Comcast server had an older build. Download 0.44 again now to get lastest.

Awesome. Thanks!

It never ceases to amaze me how nice and giving some people are in this world. It seems like such a simple program, but I couldn't do it. So I applaud Guy. Thank you!

Registered U.S. Patent and Trademark Attorney
Steve Scherrer is offline  
post #71 of 1051 Old 01-09-2008, 05:26 PM
Member
 
Mann41's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you very much for this awesome program Guy Kuo If I reformat my windows will this program still remembers my save setting?
Mann41 is offline  
post #72 of 1051 Old 01-09-2008, 06:16 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mann41 View Post

...If I reformat my windows will this program still remembers my save setting?

I don't know.

The settings are in a file in your system's preferences folder. My suspicion is that a complete Windows reinstall could delete that folder, but I don't know one way or another.

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #73 of 1051 Old 01-09-2008, 07:01 PM
Member
 
Mann41's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy Kuo View Post

I don't know.

The settings are in a file in your system's preferences folder. My suspicion is that a complete Windows reinstall could delete that folder, but I don't know one way or another.

Pardon me but where is this "system's preferences folder"
Mann41 is offline  
post #74 of 1051 Old 01-09-2008, 07:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mann41 View Post

Pardon me but where is this "system's preferences folder"

Look inside C:\\Documents and Settings\\Owner\\Application Data

for tvix_gui_builder.pref

You could save that file somewhere and then restore it after reinstalling Windows.

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #75 of 1051 Old 01-09-2008, 10:38 PM
Member
 
Mann41's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks again.Truly appreaciate all your efforts
Mann41 is offline  
post #76 of 1051 Old 01-10-2008, 01:15 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Improved drag and drop support. Now you can drag an image from a web browser directly into the Rendering window without invoking the clipboard.

Dragging text into the synopsis text field appends the text to the existing text.

Dragging text into elsewhere in the main window REPLACES the existing synopsis and renders a preview.

Added to Advanced pane controls to select between Amazon, IMDB, or Walmart as place to begin web search.

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #77 of 1051 Old 01-10-2008, 04:03 AM
Senior Member
 
jofa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy Kuo View Post

Improved drag and drop support. Now you can drag an image from a web browser directly into the Rendering window without invoking the clipboard.

Wow!

I've never seen that being possible anywhere. Maybe I'm just using old school programs.....?

/J
jofa is offline  
post #78 of 1051 Old 01-10-2008, 06:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Version 0.51 can directly obtain, format and place text and large cover art from Amazon. This can be batch automated or with manual intervention.

Turn on assisted procurement by selecting "Amazon Assisted" on the advanced pane. By default, the program will also show the Amazon product web page in a browser window, but you can suppress the browser display. Suppression remains in effect only during the current run session. This is intentional and is meant to encourage purchase of DVD's from Amazon.

Text and cover art are automatically added when you click on a movie in your movie folder list. Typically takes 15 to 20 seconds per movie folder. The rendering is saved automatically for you, but you can still edit the text and change the graphics and manually save your rendering.

Text is trimmed for you at sentence ends to fit in wallpaper.

Automated processing doesn't always get it right for each film. So, review the program's work and do this only on data you have backed up.

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #79 of 1051 Old 01-11-2008, 01:49 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Automated batch processing is supported for up to 20 movies per user click.

Amazon Assisted, Suppress Browser, and Batch Process All Movies options must all be selected in the Advanced panel to enable batch processing. Once those are set, clicking on any film name will start automated processing.

When batch processing is active, only unprocessed folders will be listed. Turning off "Show only unprocessed folders" disables batch mode.

I have purposely limited the number the number of movie folders processed in a batch to avoid overloading the Amazon servers with large batch jobs. You can, of course, start another batch by clicking on another movie name.

It's been pretty nifty watching wallpapers get generated without user intervention. For the most part it appears to work, but keep an eye on the results as the program works.

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #80 of 1051 Old 01-11-2008, 05:53 AM
Member
 
michaelm2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South East England
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Guy,

Many thanks for the changes including the ability to resize the text etc., - it is ideal now and provides the adjustments needed!

One thing - is there a way to load up the folders artwork and text I have already created for resizing? I have found problems with this unless I go in to each folder to delete what is already there and start over again.

Thank you again for this,

Best wishes

Michael

- just noticed there is another update ( I am on 0.45) and will try the new one.
michaelm2007 is offline  
post #81 of 1051 Old 01-11-2008, 09:04 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelm2007 View Post

Hi Guy,

....is there a way to load up the folders artwork and text I have already created for resizing? I have found problems with this unless I go in to each folder to delete what is already there and start over again.

If you wish to completely redo a folder which has already been processed, uncheck "Show only unprocessed folders" and you'll get access to folders which have already been "wallpaperized."

As for the first portion of your query, I can only provide a partial solution for already existing work. However, version 0.52 (just now up on server) saves the synopsis text and cover art for later reuse in later sessions. Two extra files are saved in each movie folder to accomplish this. (coverart.guikuo and synopsis.guikuo)

If "Use Local Text and Art" is on, the program will load the locally saved artwork and synopsis text. If no local data is loaded, the program will try to get it from the web.

(BTW, as a convenience, the search for local art will detect and use WIB-T folder.wig cover art that is present. However, my program will write out its own coverart.guikuo file to avoid interference. Also, I don't parse folder.wid files.)

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #82 of 1051 Old 01-11-2008, 10:09 AM
Member
 
kromo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi

great program.. i love it

work fine with my dix files, bur i can't make it with my mkv files.
he don't work with mkv extension ?
kromo is offline  
post #83 of 1051 Old 01-11-2008, 10:23 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kromo View Post

hi

work fine with my dix files, bur i can't make it with my mkv files.
he don't work with mkv extension ?

As the program works with folders (indeed even works with EMPTY folders names as movies), I'm a bit lost as to what you were trying to get it to do with mkv files. For the program to work you have to have each mkv file INSIDE a folder like

Movie Title1\\Movie Title1.mkv
Movie Title2\\Movie Title2.mkv

The program does have a function for "Enclose Files in New Folders" to help arrange files so they are inside folders. That's about the only place where it explicitly works on files instead of folders, but I'm still not sure that is what you were trying to do.

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #84 of 1051 Old 01-11-2008, 10:51 AM
Member
 
kromo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
tks for the help is work fine now.
i make something wrong, because with some divx i have it automaticaly make a folder for itch file
kromo is offline  
post #85 of 1051 Old 01-11-2008, 10:51 AM
Senior Member
 
jofa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This program is great!
Like kromo, I LOVE IT!
First version, good, but the killer thing is the autofetch of data and text.
How I have waited for that.


If you find a way to add the run time and render it at some appropriate place in the picture it would be EVEN better

When I used WIB-T I usually placed run time as a field at the very bottom, below where the Tvix prints the path.
Another place I can think of is in the same height as the title but to the right end of the pic. I'm sure you find some good place for it.

br
/J
jofa is offline  
post #86 of 1051 Old 01-11-2008, 11:04 AM
Member
 
kromo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
excuse me in my case the hardware failure was between the keyboard and the chair.
the soft is great.
kromo is offline  
post #87 of 1051 Old 01-11-2008, 12:50 PM
Member
 
michaelm2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South East England
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Guy, thanks for the latest update - how do you manage to turn these around so quick!

I do have a problem with the last two releases though - I am getting an error message that says "An exception of class. UnsupportedFormatException was not handled. The application must shut down. Exception Message: Passing non-absolute shell paths is not currently supported"

Any idea what is going wrong here - do I need to trash a preference file or something?

I am running 10.5.1 on a 2.8Ghz iMac.

Thanks again for a great program.

Mike
michaelm2007 is offline  
post #88 of 1051 Old 01-11-2008, 01:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelm2007 View Post

I do have a problem with the last two releases though - I am getting an error message that says "An exception of class. UnsupportedFormatException was not handled. The application must shut down. Exception Message: Passing non-absolute shell paths is not currently supported"

Any idea what is going wrong here - do I need to trash a preference file or something?

Mike

I think that is due to the way I saved out the filepath in the older versions not getting along with the current builds. I thought I fixed that problem, but if you happen to have a preference file holding the old format filepath, it could be the reason you are seeing this problem.

Go grab yourself version 0.53, then before you launch the new version, try trashing the file "tvix_gui_builder.pref"

It's inside your library/preferences/

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #89 of 1051 Old 01-11-2008, 01:14 PM
Member
 
michaelm2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South East England
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That did it - trashing the preference file sorted it out. Off to try out the new version now!

Have a good weekend

Mike
michaelm2007 is offline  
post #90 of 1051 Old 01-11-2008, 07:27 PM
Member
 
mkopel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't seem to get the program to launch under 0S X 10.5.1 on a macbook pro.

I get the .zip file,uncompress it, double click on the app, and nothing happens. In the Activity Monitor it just says, "Tvix GUI Builder (Not Repsonding)".

The about.pdf says I have version 0.52. This program looks fantastic, I can't wait to give it a whirl.
mkopel is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off