A Mac and Windows Movie Wallpaper GUI Generator for Media Players - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 1051 Old 01-11-2008, 11:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just downloaded the .zip and have version 0.52 running under OS 10.5.1 on a MacBook and a MacBook Pro. So, the archive seems to be okay.

A MacBook Pro is about the last thing I'd expect to have trouble running it.

Time to ask the usual suspects....

1. Try making a new user account seeing if it runs under a generic account.

2. Temporarily disconnect external drives and volumes and see if that makes a difference.

3. Firewall? I doubt this is the problem since it is fine even even with the firewall set to only essential.

4. Failing the above fixing things, the next thing I'd do is let Onyx do its "automation" routines (also with maintenance scripts and clearing all caches)

Beyond that, I'm perplexed.

Oh.... Might be worth first downloading a fresh copy of the .zip and trying with a new copy.

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 1051 Old 01-11-2008, 11:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve Scherrer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Crystal Lake, IL
Posts: 1,843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Everything was working great until I downloaded the latest version. Now, I can't edit the image in the render window, such as rotate the image, or move it. Whenever I try to click on the render window, it makes that "swoosh" sound as if it is rendering and saving.

Registered U.S. Patent and Trademark Attorney
Steve Scherrer is offline  
post #93 of 1051 Old 01-12-2008, 05:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Scherrer View Post

Everything was working great until I downloaded the latest version. Now, I can't edit the image in the render window, such as rotate the image, or move it. Whenever I try to click on the render window, it makes that "swoosh" sound as if it is rendering and saving.

Sorry to hear that. Try version 0.56. I've redone how some things are handled internally so the program should be more reliable.

Also added mechanism for dealing with bad preference files. If the program just won't launch correctly, hold down the option key as the program starts. You'll hear a beep and the program will load known good, default settings. (That's the Alt key for PC people). This lets you get around a bad or old preferences file without needing to search it out manually.

Note: Under OSX, I have noticed that some movies are very difficult for the program to automatically grab text and cover art. The program can hang or crash. Ironically, there doesn't seem to be that issue on the PC side.

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #94 of 1051 Old 01-12-2008, 04:57 PM
Member
 
mkopel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks guy for the suggestions... I made a new generic login, and it worked under that login. Then I switched back to my login, and suddenly it would work. go figure. This was using the latest release (I think .55).
Awsome program, thanks for all the hard work.
mkopel is offline  
post #95 of 1051 Old 01-12-2008, 05:11 PM
Newbie
 
dacorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All, is there a way we can change the green highlights when navigating on the system? I would like to change this color if possible.

Thanks,
Dave
dacorn is offline  
post #96 of 1051 Old 01-13-2008, 02:21 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Version 0.58 has important bug fix for Amazon Assisted mode. Prior versions could take interminable time or crash when certain specific movies were requested. Usual time to obtain synopsis text & cover art and then render is about fifteen seconds.

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #97 of 1051 Old 01-14-2008, 07:57 AM
Member
 
jiffyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First of all, thank you for such a great program, I love it.

I only have one issue, with the more recent versions, it crashes everytime I try to paste my own art. If I allow it to automatically paste text and pictures, it works fine. But whenever I hit the "paste cover art, render & save" button, the program crashes. (therfore, i've reverted back to build 0.35b, which doesn't crash when I use that button).

Any ideas on how I can get around this, because I like the new interface much better. I'm on vista if that matters.
jiffyj is offline  
post #98 of 1051 Old 01-14-2008, 10:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jiffyj View Post

....whenever I hit the "paste cover art, render & save" button, the program crashes..... I'm on vista if that matters.

Good catch. It wasn't happening under OSX. It appears to be due to a difference in event firing order between the two platforms.

Version 0.59 should fix the crash under Windows when a manual paste is performed. Up on the server now.

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #99 of 1051 Old 01-14-2008, 02:15 PM
Member
 
jiffyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Version 0.59 works perfectly, I no longer have any issues pasting cover art. Thanks again!
jiffyj is offline  
post #100 of 1051 Old 01-15-2008, 03:21 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Glad it fixed the program for you.

Version 0.60 now provides much smoother upper and lower edges for cover art as it is rotated. Antialiased the jaggies away.

(Comcast servers are intermittently down. So there may be some temporary trouble with the download links)

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #101 of 1051 Old 01-15-2008, 08:35 AM
Senior Member
 
jofa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Excellent!
So now you got time to add grabbing and displaying of the "Run time" as displayed by Amazon.

One can always make a wish...
/J
jofa is offline  
post #102 of 1051 Old 01-15-2008, 10:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What ARE you doing with the runtime anyway? I decided to go with a wallpaper GUI because the library got large enough that I couldn't reliably recall the films by title. The addition of cover art and synopsis is for jogging my memory. Beyond that, my DVD cataloging software on the Mac does a far better job at keeping stats and info than the TViX ever will.

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #103 of 1051 Old 01-15-2008, 11:09 AM
Member
 
kromo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi

maybe a dump question, cna i change the image background of the soft, not the cover art.
make and past my own one.

tks
kromo is offline  
post #104 of 1051 Old 01-15-2008, 11:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kromo View Post

hi

maybe a dump question, cna i change the image background of the soft, not the cover art.
make and past my own one.

tks

Create a 720 x 480 size JPEG file and name it background.jpg. Place your background.jpg in the same directory as my application. The next time you start the program, your background.jpg will be used instead of the built-in background. (This is in the about.pdf instructions)

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #105 of 1051 Old 01-15-2008, 11:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve Scherrer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Crystal Lake, IL
Posts: 1,843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Guy--is there any particular reason why your software has to be on the Tvix unit? I have it in a separate file on my PC, and it all appears to be working fine. But I have seen a couple of times you mention having your program on the Tvix.

Thanks.

Registered U.S. Patent and Trademark Attorney
Steve Scherrer is offline  
post #106 of 1051 Old 01-15-2008, 12:09 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Scherrer View Post

Guy--is there any particular reason why your software has to be on the Tvix unit? I have it in a separate file on my PC, and it all appears to be working fine. But I have seen a couple of times you mention having your program on the Tvix.

Thanks.


No. There isn't any need for my program to be on the TViX. It's just a program which runs on your computer and generates files for use with the TViX. If I seemed to indicate that it needed to be in the TViX itself, then that was a misunderstanding.

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #107 of 1051 Old 01-15-2008, 01:26 PM
Senior Member
 
jofa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy Kuo View Post

What ARE you doing with the runtime anyway? I decided to go with a wallpaper GUI because the library got large enough that I couldn't reliably recall the films by title. The addition of cover art and synopsis is for jogging my memory. Beyond that, my DVD cataloging software on the Mac does a far better job at keeping stats and info than the TViX ever will.

Hehe, yeah, maybe it isn't obvious.
I'm not interested in the full stats of the movie, just the length. It helps me decide what to watch depending on how late in the evening it is. I usually don't want to start watching a 2 ½ hour movie 9.30 PM a week day.
If the info is in the wallpaper it's easier to find that by just using the Tvix remote.

With old WIB-T I did like this:

I'm not sure if the position is the perfect match on that pic. It ends up under the path if I remember correct. It should give you an idea though.

But I looooooooooooooove the autofetch feature of your program.
Anyway. It's just a suggestion.

br
/J
jofa is offline  
post #108 of 1051 Old 01-15-2008, 01:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think that positioning is possible with some work. The trick is in adding that field without breaking the rest of my program. Possibly could do it by having an option to automatically take the last line of text in the synopsis and render it at the bottom. That would save me from building a new mechanism for storing another text field.

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #109 of 1051 Old 01-15-2008, 01:54 PM
Senior Member
 
jofa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually where you put the text I have no opinion about. What I'm hoping for is that you would add the option to parse that from Amazon i the auto-fetch-process...

The text can be at the bottom of the image (or any other nice place) or just as a new line of text, last in the currently rendered synopsis field.

Like:
The Movie
Blah blah blah blah blah
Blah blah blah blah blah
Length: 167 min

Or if you prefer the term "Run time" as used by Amazon.

/J
jofa is offline  
post #110 of 1051 Old 01-15-2008, 04:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Version 0.61 adds an option under "Amazon Assisted" (On the advanced pane) to enable automated parsing of run time. Run time is appended at the end of the obtained synopsis.

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #111 of 1051 Old 01-15-2008, 04:18 PM
Senior Member
 
salavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow! Now that's what I call service
salavs is offline  
post #112 of 1051 Old 01-16-2008, 01:10 AM
Senior Member
 
jofa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You're faaaaast Guy!

Big thank's for the whole application and "my" feature!

/J
jofa is offline  
post #113 of 1051 Old 01-16-2008, 08:46 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It was a much simpler thing to add once you reemphasized that you really didn't care where the run time was displayed

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #114 of 1051 Old 01-16-2008, 09:35 AM
Member
 
carlsberg112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello ..
NIce progress u make with the prog .
Is it possible to add genre to it ? u know comedy drama and so .
Would be really great .
carlsberg112 is offline  
post #115 of 1051 Old 01-16-2008, 10:27 AM
Newbie
 
sunekempe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Excellent initiative!

Just invested into the Popcorn Hour A-100 and felt the need for a GUI-generator.

Is it possible to adapt this version to provide HTML output-files as well?

I am currently browsing for similar initiatives and of none are found, I guess I'll make a .NET application for this.

The movie-folder, ISO, jpg, etc structure is applicable for that as well.
One difference would be to generate a main HTML file for Movie listings though.

Thanks again for great job done,
Cheers,
- S
sunekempe is offline  
post #116 of 1051 Old 01-16-2008, 11:04 AM
Senior Member
 
jofa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sunekempe View Post

Excellent initiative!

Just invested into the Popcorn Hour A-100 and felt the need for a GUI-generator.

Is it possible to adapt this version to provide HTML output-files as well?

I am currently browsing for similar initiatives and of none are found, I guess I'll make a .NET application for this.

The movie-folder, ISO, jpg, etc structure is applicable for that as well.
One difference would be to generate a main HTML file for Movie listings though.

Thanks again for great job done,
Cheers,
- S

These two outputs HTML.
http://www.antp.be/software/moviecatalog/
http://xmm.sourceforge.net/
You can create the HTML layout as you want.

I once tried to use these tools to fetch data, generatea HTML page and create a 720 x 480 JPEG out of that, but never managed to get a good result on the HTML to JPEG step. Hoever, output HTML it's well capable of.

/J
jofa is offline  
post #117 of 1051 Old 01-16-2008, 11:11 AM
Senior Member
 
salavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guy, if you would be willing to share the core code, i.e:

1) the code which does the OpenGL magic, text placement etc.; and
2) the code to access the various metadata off the web

as a library, then perhaps others could wrap their own UIs around it for the various different streamers.

I am imagining 'profiles' for players which can be wrappered into a library
salavs is offline  
post #118 of 1051 Old 01-16-2008, 12:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
At this point, I'm just about done with pushing the program further forward. Remember, its availability is a side effect of my needing a program for myself. Features that aren't directly useful to myself aren't likely to be added. It is a nice piece of kit, but not written in a style useful for export to other development environments.

However......

There does seem to be some utility in adding html files to the file structure so the entire collection can be reviewed on my local network's browsers. Is there documentation of the HTML file structure which the Popcorn expects? Does it have a call sequence to initiate media playback from an HTML file?

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #119 of 1051 Old 01-17-2008, 01:54 PM
Member
 
DukeV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for this great skin maker, prior to this I was using a batch process in Photoshop, but although effective, was a little more time consuming.

However I am having a problem with your app on long file names, I run it from a MacBook Pro to an airport express disk, which is then networked to the TViX. For instance "Fear And Loathing In Las Vegas (1998)" becomes Fear And Loathing In Las#5F67C" - which is just not as snappy.

Any suggestions?

Also I have an idea where you could pull poster images from, I use this : http://www.google.com/custom?aq=0&oq....impawards.com
DukeV is offline  
post #120 of 1051 Old 01-17-2008, 02:04 PM
Member
 
carlsberg112's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy Kuo View Post

At this point, I'm just about done with pushing the program further forward. Remember, its availability is a side effect of my needing a program for myself. Features that aren't directly useful to myself aren't likely to be added. It is a nice piece of kit, but not written in a style useful for export to other development environments.

However......

There does seem to be some utility in adding html files to the file structure so the entire collection can be reviewed on my local network's browsers. Is there documentation of the HTML file structure which the Popcorn expects? Does it have a call sequence to initiate media playback from an HTML file?

Hello ..

I found this http://www.networkedmediatank.com/viewtopic.php?t=120
On there forum , maybe it helps ?

Regards

Carlsberg112
carlsberg112 is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off