The official DVICO TViX M6500A Discussion - Page 116 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
Thread Tools
post #3451 of 3477 Old 11-15-2014, 12:01 PM
Member
 
coyote2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
power button broke

The power button on my TViX M-6500A is broken (on the unit, not the remote). It just goes down (er, perhaps "falls in" is more descriptive) with zero pressure, and is loose, as though the thing it pressed busted now.

Is this fixable?

My remotes* still work to turn the unit on/off, however I like to use Safe Upgrade to update firmware and that requires the unit's power button.

*I say remotes plural because I needed to buy a new one recently on eBay (it works but getting used to new button positions is taking some effort). I fixed buttons-not-working issues on the original remote thanks to this thread, however it's Play button has almost detached from the rubber sheet inside so I've retired it as a backup.
coyote2 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3452 of 3477 Old 11-20-2014, 11:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 12,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by coyote2 View Post
Is this fixable?
I doubt it, but I haven't disassembled one myself.
Quote:
....I like to use Safe Upgrade to update firmware and that requires the unit's power button....
Fortunately(?) updating the firmware is not likely to be often required in the future.``
TPeterson is online now  
post #3453 of 3477 Old 11-26-2014, 12:31 PM
Member
 
coyote2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you very much TPeterson!
coyote2 is online now  
post #3454 of 3477 Old 11-26-2014, 12:34 PM
Member
 
coyote2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
newer MKV rips incompatible

When playing many or most newly available downloaded MKV files (whether sourced from broadcast or BluRay), I get too much pixilation and freezing to be watchable.

First, I wonder why? Is the processor, or the latest firmware, on the TViX M-6500A incompatible with the latest codecs?

Three years ago I tried all the f/w and settled on 1.4.25 UJ as I reported upthread at The official DVICO TViX M6500A Discussion

I see I passed on the 1.5.xx f/w for GUI weakeness, perhaps I should try 1.5.xx f/w again. (Even though I'm unable to Safe Upgrade anymore as mentioned recently.) Heck, maybe I just need to reflash 1.4.25 UJ to resolve this. Otherwise...

I wonder if it's time to replace this unit despite my poverty. (I wish DviCo/TViX weren't dead, I love the M6500A!)

Any suggestions on how to find a replacement? I want a networked media player I can stick a hard drive into, and which will playback video media especially MKV files.

Last edited by coyote2; 11-26-2014 at 01:42 PM.
coyote2 is online now  
post #3455 of 3477 Old 11-26-2014, 01:10 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 12,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 24
You can still get the M6620N+, which is a considerable upgrade from the M6500A.
TPeterson is online now  
post #3456 of 3477 Old 11-28-2014, 03:59 PM
Member
 
coyote2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post
You can still get the M6620N+, which is a considerable upgrade from the M6500A.
Thank you very much once again, TPeterson! I guess it's time for me to get a M6620N+, because I tried flashing 1.5.19 and it didn't help my playback issues.

I forgot that it also would wipe out my settings, and I couldn't find my notes. So after re-flashing 1.4.25 and spending much of the rest of the day playing with settings (particularly Network settings because I stupidly forgot to type in the NAME of the folder I was sharing on each drive), I got it all back working again. Then I typed 'em up so I'd have a reference next time. I'll post them next.
coyote2 is online now  
post #3457 of 3477 Old 11-28-2014, 04:00 PM
Member
 
coyote2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Settings for reference (and feedback)

TViX M6500-A Settings

f/w Ver
1.4.25 UJ

A/V
Audio: Analog(PCM)
TV Standard: NTSC
Auto Switch: Off
Native Resolution: Off
>I've been happy enuf w/this in the past anyway<
TV Type: 16:9
Video Port: HDMI
HDMI Audio: On
Video Out Mode: 1080p

MISC
Subtitle/Outline: Green/Black
Screen Saver: Disable
Default Subtitle Encoding: W.EUROPE

NETWORK
Default Network: Wired
Wired IP Setting: DHCP (Static also worked but manual says to use DHCP if it works)
Network Disk 1-4 Slow(SAMBA)
1 share-I 192.168.1.xx
2 share-J 192.168.1.xx
3 share-I 192.168.1.xx
4 share-J 192.168.1.xx

ID: <lan pc username>
Password: <lan pc password>

FTP Service: ON
>Though I have no intention of FTPing to the unit<
SAMBA Service: ON
Lan Speed: 1000 Mbps
>Though IIRC my Ethernet isn't CAT6<
Time Server: USA
>Though it doesn't seem to timeset.<
Time Zone: Sydney
>The only choice the f/w gives me.<
Daylight Savings: On
coyote2 is online now  
post #3458 of 3477 Old 01-18-2015, 06:21 AM
Member
 
coyote2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by coyote2 View Post
When playing many or most newly available downloaded MKV files (whether sourced from broadcast or BluRay), I get too much pixilation and freezing to be watchable.

First, I wonder why? Is the processor, or the latest firmware, on the TViX M-6500A incompatible with the latest codecs?

Three years ago I tried all the f/w and settled on 1.4.25 UJ as I reported upthread at The official DVICO TViX M6500A Discussion

I see I passed on the 1.5.xx f/w for GUI weakeness, perhaps I should try 1.5.xx f/w again. (Even though I'm unable to Safe Upgrade anymore as mentioned recently.) Heck, maybe I just need to reflash 1.4.25 UJ to resolve this. Otherwise...

I wonder if it's time to replace this unit despite my poverty. (I wish DviCo/TViX weren't dead, I love the M6500A!)

Any suggestions on how to find a replacement? I want a networked media player I can stick a hard drive into, and which will playback video media especially MKV files.
Oops, it turns out my M6500A has no problem with newer rips.

The issue was that the HDD that I was decoding downloads onto got filesystem corruption. The issue didn't seem to affect smaller files as much, so it took a while to detect.
coyote2 is online now  
post #3459 of 3477 Old 01-18-2015, 10:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 12,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Glad to hear that the M6500A lives on well.
TPeterson is online now  
post #3460 of 3477 Old 02-28-2015, 12:45 PM
Newbie
 
Jimbo213Mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: near St. Louis Missouri USA
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question Nubie with firmware question

Hi Folks -

I got a DVico TVIX m6500a from my teckie son about 4 years ago when he upgraded to some other hardware.
He set it up for me one Christmas - and I don't mess with the settings.
The Dvico is Cat6 connected to my home network as 192.168.1.37.
I use it ONLY to play movies & music from my Cat6 connected Netgear NAS as 192.168.1.10

The m6500a is running v1.3.168 UJ [the 1.3.168 is from 07/08/2009 (BD-Lite Edition)]

My problem is that there are a few new codec that are not playing [the video does play well on my PC using VLC Media Player, so I thought perhaps I needed a firmware upgrade.

I downloaded the most recent firmware 1.5.19 [06/02/2010 (BD-Lite Edition)]
from dvdnews.free.fr/TViX/M-6500/

I have a few questions:
- can someone
- CONFIRM that I should indeed upgrade the firmware
- confirm that 1.5.19 is the correct firmware I should use [Unsure what BD-Lite edition means ??]
- can someone please provide a link to instructions for doing the firmware upgrade
[ie: do I need to put the .FWP file on a USB stick or can I execute the upgrade from the NAS somehow]
- can someone kindly advise how to firstback up the existing configuration in case I mess something up

Thank you for any help.
Jim
Jimbo213Mo is offline  
post #3461 of 3477 Old 05-20-2015, 03:00 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Good Evening. I formatted TViX m6500a connecting the hard drive directly to the PC but now when I connect it to the TV does not make me see the menu and it says "no signal". How can I fix this?
Francesco Calamai is offline  
post #3462 of 3477 Old 05-20-2015, 04:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 12,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimbo213Mo View Post
My problem is that there are a few new codec that are not playing [the video does play well on my PC using VLC Media Player, so I thought perhaps I needed a firmware upgrade.

I downloaded the most recent firmware 1.5.19 [06/02/2010 (BD-Lite Edition)]
from dvdnews.free.fr/TViX/M-6500/

I have a few questions:
- can someone
- CONFIRM that I should indeed upgrade the firmware
- confirm that 1.5.19 is the correct firmware I should use [Unsure what BD-Lite edition means ??]
- can someone please provide a link to instructions for doing the firmware upgrade
[ie: do I need to put the .FWP file on a USB stick or can I execute the upgrade from the NAS somehow]
- can someone kindly advise how to firstback up the existing configuration in case I mess something up
Jim, in case you're still waiting for help (I just noticed your post now when the next one was placed today) I'll try.

First, I doubt that a 2010 FW will give you much 2015 codec improvement over the 2009 one you're using. It's been a long while (probably about 2010!) since I updated an M6500's FW but, IIRC, you need to copy the fwp file into the root directory of the HDD installed inside the unit. Then when you select the file the M6500 will ask you if you want to update FW, and proceed if you say "yes". AFAIK, there is no way to back up settings or the old FW, so if you want to revert later you'll need to have the old FW fwp file and a list of your current settings.

Second, you may actually lose some functionality in the update, as there were some FW versions that handled things such as DVD ripping that were dropped because DViCo feared it could be prosecuted in the U.S. for them.

Good luck!
TPeterson is online now  
post #3463 of 3477 Old 05-20-2015, 04:23 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 12,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Francesco Calamai View Post
Good Evening. I formatted TViX m6500a connecting the hard drive directly to the PC but now when I connect it to the TV does not make me see the menu and it says "no signal". How can I fix this?
Francesco, it sounds as though your TViX is not outputting the right signal format for your TV. You should be able to get going again by pressing the key marked "TV OUT" repeatedly, with a pause between key presses, until you see a picture.
TPeterson is online now  
post #3464 of 3477 Old 05-20-2015, 05:31 PM
Newbie
 
Jimbo213Mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: near St. Louis Missouri USA
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Unhappy bye bye to DVico TVIX m6500a

Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post
Jim, in case you're still waiting for help ... Good luck!
.MKV files lock up - I'm taking out the DVico TVIX m6500a and selling it on EBay for whatever it will bring.
Replacing it with MINIX-NeoX7 with addition of bluetooth keyboard - sweet.
Bye Bye DVICO - it was great until trying to play large [5gb] .MKV files that froze or pixelated [like, wink wink, Game-of-Thrones torrents.
Jimbo213Mo is offline  
post #3465 of 3477 Old 05-20-2015, 10:22 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post
Francesco, it sounds as though your TViX is not outputting the right signal format for your TV. You should be able to get going again by pressing the key marked "TV OUT" repeatedly, with a pause between key presses, until you see a picture.
Thanks for the reply.Are sure to be on the right channel of the TV (HDMI 1), it is 4-5 seconds on "recovery signal" and then says "no signal". I remember that before formatting there were a lot of folders in the hard disk, it may be that needed for the proper functioning?
Francesco Calamai is offline  
post #3466 of 3477 Old 05-21-2015, 12:00 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 12,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Sorry that I was unclear. The "TV OUT" key is on the TViX remote. Pressing that key will cause the TViX to cycle through its output modes and formats. Eventually it will stumble across one that your TV can display.
TPeterson is online now  
post #3467 of 3477 Old 06-21-2015, 08:57 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Spain, Europe
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Unhappy

Hello all,

Where can I find a new remote control for the M6500A? The Play/OK button does not work any more. In the past, I bought it from Magie Casques (France, now it's closed) and Dvixplayer.nl (this store is no longer supplying TViX accessories). I've tried to fix the button by gluing a small piece of aluminium and still not working.

I live in Spain, Europe.

Thank you in advance and regards
HiddenUser is offline  
post #3468 of 3477 Old 06-21-2015, 09:01 AM
Member
 
coyote2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HiddenUser View Post
Hello all,

Where can I find a new remote control for the M6500A? The Play/OK button does not work any more. In the past, I bought it from Magie Casques (France, now it's closed) and Dvixplayer.nl (this store is no longer supplying TViX accessories). I've tried to fix the button by gluing a small piece of aluminium and still not working.

I live in Spain, Europe.

Thank you in advance and regards
The aluminum-fix worked for me...

but I also got a replacement remote at www.ebay.com/itm/DVICO-TVIX-Remote-Control-for-41xx-51xx-65xx-70xx-/271181802775

It didn't take too long for me to adjust to the different button configuration of the replacement remote. (I've attached the chart I used to help me adjust.)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	remote-differences.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	241.0 KB
ID:	788234  

Last edited by coyote2; 06-21-2015 at 09:14 AM.
coyote2 is online now  
post #3469 of 3477 Old 06-27-2015, 07:27 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Wink How to solve the freezing issues with MKV with TVIX 6500

I still use my TVIX 6500 because I found a way to make all recent MKV files compatible with my Tvix. My english isnt so good so I will try to do my best.

Most MKV files now use "compressed headers" and TVIX 6500 doesn't like "compressed headers". That is why it freezes or reboot while movie is running. Dont ask me what it is doing this, I read that on a forum and there was a solution given to solve this problem.

U will need to remux all your MKV files which only takes 3/4 clicks and ten minutes (more or less if the file is big or small). It is very easy to do so u should just try it it can avoid u spending money for a new multimedia player.

1/ Download the softtware "mkvtoolnix" Released v8.1.0 (the latest I know) : you will find this free software using google. Its free , opensource and very popular.

2/ InstallMKVtoolnix and and launch Launch MKVmerge Gui

3/ The interface is very simple. Drag and drop your MKV file in the INPUT FILES window

4/The different parts of the MKV now appear in the TRACKS, CHAPTERS and TAGS WINDOW (just below the inbut file window)

4/ Select the VIDEO STREAM (for example MPEG 4 : usually it is he first track appearing in the window, just above the audiotrack and the subtitles (if there are subtitles in the MKV file).

5/In the TRACKS, CHAPTERS and TAGS WINDOW select the TAB "EXTRA OPTIONS"

6/ U will see a menu called "COMPRESSION", select "NONE" in this menu

7/ at the bottom of the window you just click on "START MUXING"

8 MKVMERGE will tell u when the remux is done. Use this Remuxed MKV file for TVIX 6500.

That's it. No more freezing and rebooting while watching your MKV.


Oh, I forgot, TVIX doesnt like DTS HD sound.

In case u have a DTS HD movie just do the same as above for the VIDEO Stream , then select the DTS HD stream In the TRACKS, CHAPTERS and TAGS WINDOW and go to the FORMAT SPECIFIC OPTION Tag, and check the box "Reduce to AUDIO CORE", this will down scale DTS HD to regular DTS.

I do that all the time it takes only a few minutes and 5 or 6 clicks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	mkvtoolnix_609.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	86.9 KB
ID:	799314  
Tvix6500Help is offline  
post #3470 of 3477 Old 06-27-2015, 07:55 PM
Member
 
coyote2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tvix6500Help View Post
I still use my TVIX 6500 because I found a way to make all recent MKV files compatible with my Tvix. My english isnt so good so I will try to do my best.

Most MKV files now use "compressed headers" and TVIX 6500 doesn't like "compressed headers". That is why it freezes or reboot while movie is running. Dont ask me what it is doing this, I read that on a forum and there was a solution given to solve this problem.

U will need to remux all your MKV files which only takes 3/4 clicks and ten minutes (more or less if the file is big or small). It is very easy to do so u should just try it it can avoid u spending money for a new multimedia player.

1/ Download the softtware "mkvtoolnix" Released v8.1.0 (the latest I know) : you will find this free software using google. Its free , opensource and very popular.

2/ InstallMKVtoolnix and and launch Launch MKVmerge Gui

3/ The interface is very simple. Drag and drop your MKV file in the INPUT FILES window

4/The different parts of the MKV now appear in the TRACKS, CHAPTERS and TAGS WINDOW (just below the inbut file window)

4/ Select the VIDEO STREAM (for example MPEG 4 : usually it is he first track appearing in the window, just above the audiotrack and the subtitles (if there are subtitles in the MKV file).

5/In the TRACKS, CHAPTERS and TAGS WINDOW select the TAB "EXTRA OPTIONS"

6/ U will see a menu called "COMPRESSION", select "NONE" in this menu

7/ at the bottom of the window you just click on "START MUXING"

8 MKVMERGE will tell u when the remux is done. Use this Remuxed MKV file for TVIX 6500.

That's it. No more freezing and rebooting while watching your MKV.


Oh, I forgot, TVIX doesnt like DTS HD sound.

In case u have a DTS HD movie just do the same as above for the VIDEO Stream , then select the DTS HD stream In the TRACKS, CHAPTERS and TAGS WINDOW and go to the FORMAT SPECIFIC OPTION Tag, and check the box "Reduce to AUDIO CORE", this will down scale DTS HD to regular DTS.

I do that all the time it takes only a few minutes and 5 or 6 clicks.
Thank you very much "Tvix6500Help"! Your English is extremely clear. And your advice appears extremely useful!

I'm prepared to try it if I ever need to. But personally when I run into a file that reboots I just d/l another version of that video.

I do find that, as you say DTS files (usually, but NOT always) won't play (ditto files with only 5.1 or 7.1 audio), so again I almost always opt to d/l a different version of that video. Wish file creators would include all the audio tracks to save us the trouble.

But if I ever run into a video I can't find a version of that plays, I'm delighted that you've offered us a way to fix it. (And thankfully without recoding it, if I understand correctly.)
coyote2 is online now  
post #3471 of 3477 Old 06-28-2015, 09:15 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by coyote2 View Post
Thank you very much "Tvix6500Help"! Your English is extremely clear. And your advice appears extremely useful!

I'm prepared to try it if I ever need to. But personally when I run into a file that reboots I just d/l another version of that video.

I do find that, as you say DTS files (usually, but NOT always) won't play (ditto files with only 5.1 or 7.1 audio), so again I almost always opt to d/l a different version of that video. Wish file creators would include all the audio tracks to save us the trouble.

But if I ever run into a video I can't find a version of that plays, I'm delighted that you've offered us a way to fix it. (And thankfully without recoding it, if I understand correctly.)
Hi,

You are welcome for the help. I think you should really try this remux solution because it's really quick and avoids redownloading a new file, without knowing if the new one will work properly. As for me I really hate when a movie freezes or or when my Tvix suddenly reboots in the middle of the movie.

To answer to your last words : yes you understood correctly, this solution is a remux which has nothing to do with reincoding and it will not change the quality of the video.

I just remuxed a 6 gigas file : that took me 4 minutes and 4 clicks (my pc isn't recent so I guess its even quicker with recent computers). I dont think that redownloading a different version is as quick as that remux solution. Sorry I don't want to be pushy, I just want to encourage you to use a more reliable and faster solution. Don't get impressed by the tutorial : once you open MKVmerge (installed with MKVtoolnix) it looks very simple and obvious. There is a thumbnail attached to my tutorial at the bottom of the message, you should take a look at it.

Please let me know if u have any problem doing it, I will help.

Have a nice day.
Tvix6500Help is offline  
post #3472 of 3477 Old 06-28-2015, 09:48 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by coyote2 View Post
Thank you very much "Tvix6500Help"! Your English is extremely clear. And your advice appears extremely useful!

I'm prepared to try it if I ever need to. But personally when I run into a file that reboots I just d/l another version of that video.

I do find that, as you say DTS files (usually, but NOT always) won't play (ditto files with only 5.1 or 7.1 audio), so again I almost always opt to d/l a different version of that video. Wish file creators would include all the audio tracks to save us the trouble.

But if I ever run into a video I can't find a version of that plays, I'm delighted that you've offered us a way to fix it. (And thankfully without recoding it, if I understand correctly.)
A very useful little software : MediaInfo

Concerning DTS HD audiotracks : before downloading a MKV file you should check the movie informations normally displayed on the page where you download the movie. Sometimes its mentionned "DTS HD", sometimes its "DTS (MA/Core)" MA means Master Audio. If you see that in the information that is bad news for your your Tvix that doesnt support DTS HD in MKV Files (it only supports DTS Master Audio in full Blu-rays). Sometimes the audio informations are just NOT MENTIONNED.

That's why there's a very clever free software called MEDIAINFO (its a freeware) that u can download on internet. Personnaly I use it very often.

Its very convenient because it integrates a context menu. So u just have to right click on the MKV file and choose "open with MediaInfo". Then you get all details concerning the MKV. I use it when I have a doubt concerning the audiotrack.
Tvix6500Help is offline  
post #3473 of 3477 Old 06-28-2015, 10:51 AM
Member
 
coyote2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tvix6500Help View Post
I think you should really try this remux solution because it's really quick and avoids redownloading a new file, without knowing if the new one will work properly. As for me I really hate when a movie freezes or or when my Tvix suddenly reboots in the middle of the movie.
I don't like the reboots either, but I always have plenty of other things to watch on the TViX6500's HDD. I know that downloading a different file isn't as efficient for the Internet, but I don't need to very often, and it takes very little of my extremely limited time (and maybe an hour to grab off usenet).

I do have MediaInfo already, and maybe I'll start checking the audio tracks as you suggest so I just enabled it's very nice Explorer functionality. Next time I run into a DTS-audio file that does play maybe I'll even know why. I've rarely felt a need to, or thought to (since so many other many tools can't handle MKV files).
coyote2 is online now  
post #3474 of 3477 Old 07-08-2015, 07:09 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
HDMI not working anymore

Hi all!

A couple of days ago the HDMI output of my tvix 6500 A aparently died.

It works fine from the component output (apart from the crapy quality) though.

I updated the firmware (reinstalled the one used before that i think is 1.15.19) but no hope! :-(

I wonder if anybody has gone through this and has any advise apart from buying a new one.

Thx 4 your help!
Horacio Lupi is online now  
post #3475 of 3477 Old 07-18-2015, 04:27 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Spain, Europe
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
@Tvix6500Help :

Sometimes it's necessary to change Reference Frames with H.264 video (TViX does not support more than 8 usually) and even it may be necessary to change file format. When you find a MKV file which keeps rebooting or freezing your TViX even when you have remuxed it without compressed headers, you'll need to convert it to another format (container). By converting your problematic MKV file to a TS file you'll solve a LOT of problems (if not all), like reboots and pixelations (guaranteed). I've found files without compressed headers which reboot my TViX. When I convert them to MPEG Transport Stream (TS), problem is gone (always in my experience). You can accomplish this with the tsMuxeR tool (download it HERE). No reencoding is done, it's just a remuxing. But this has a drawback: file seek is more inaccurate and you'll lose chapters. You can't have everything.

Last edited by HiddenUser; 07-18-2015 at 04:35 PM.
HiddenUser is offline  
post #3476 of 3477 Unread Today, 04:39 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Solved. Unfortunately it was the TV, not the TVIX that was faulty. Changed HDMI input port and all is ok now!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Horacio Lupi View Post
Hi all!

A couple of days ago the HDMI output of my tvix 6500 A aparently died.

It works fine from the component output (apart from the crapy quality) though.

I updated the firmware (reinstalled the one used before that i think is 1.15.19) but no hope! :-(

I wonder if anybody has gone through this and has any advise apart from buying a new one.

Thx 4 your help!
Horacio Lupi is online now  
post #3477 of 3477 Unread Today, 06:07 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 12,039
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 24
That's great news, Horacio. Thanks for the update.
TPeterson is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off