The official DVICO TViX M6500A Discussion - Page 116 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-15-2014, 01:01 PM
Member
 
coyote2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
power button broke

The power button on my TViX M-6500A is broken (on the unit, not the remote). It just goes down (er, perhaps "falls in" is more descriptive) with zero pressure, and is loose, as though the thing it pressed busted now.

Is this fixable?

My remotes* still work to turn the unit on/off, however I like to use Safe Upgrade to update firmware and that requires the unit's power button.

*I say remotes plural because I needed to buy a new one recently on eBay (it works but getting used to new button positions is taking some effort). I fixed buttons-not-working issues on the original remote thanks to this thread, however it's Play button has almost detached from the rubber sheet inside so I've retired it as a backup.
coyote2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-21-2014, 12:16 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,957
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by coyote2 View Post
Is this fixable?
I doubt it, but I haven't disassembled one myself.
Quote:
....I like to use Safe Upgrade to update firmware and that requires the unit's power button....
Fortunately(?) updating the firmware is not likely to be often required in the future.``
TPeterson is offline  
Old 11-26-2014, 01:31 PM
Member
 
coyote2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you very much TPeterson!
coyote2 is offline  
Old 11-26-2014, 01:34 PM
Member
 
coyote2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
newer MKV rips incompatible

When playing many or most newly available downloaded MKV files (whether sourced from broadcast or BluRay), I get too much pixilation and freezing to be watchable.

First, I wonder why? Is the processor, or the latest firmware, on the TViX M-6500A incompatible with the latest codecs?

Three years ago I tried all the f/w and settled on 1.4.25 UJ as I reported upthread at The official DVICO TViX M6500A Discussion

I see I passed on the 1.5.xx f/w for GUI weakeness, perhaps I should try 1.5.xx f/w again. (Even though I'm unable to Safe Upgrade anymore as mentioned recently.) Heck, maybe I just need to reflash 1.4.25 UJ to resolve this. Otherwise...

I wonder if it's time to replace this unit despite my poverty. (I wish DviCo/TViX weren't dead, I love the M6500A!)

Any suggestions on how to find a replacement? I want a networked media player I can stick a hard drive into, and which will playback video media especially MKV files.

Last edited by coyote2; 11-26-2014 at 02:42 PM.
coyote2 is offline  
Old 11-26-2014, 02:10 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,957
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 17
You can still get the M6620N+, which is a considerable upgrade from the M6500A.
TPeterson is offline  
Old 11-28-2014, 04:59 PM
Member
 
coyote2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post
You can still get the M6620N+, which is a considerable upgrade from the M6500A.
Thank you very much once again, TPeterson! I guess it's time for me to get a M6620N+, because I tried flashing 1.5.19 and it didn't help my playback issues.

I forgot that it also would wipe out my settings, and I couldn't find my notes. So after re-flashing 1.4.25 and spending much of the rest of the day playing with settings (particularly Network settings because I stupidly forgot to type in the NAME of the folder I was sharing on each drive), I got it all back working again. Then I typed 'em up so I'd have a reference next time. I'll post them next.
coyote2 is offline  
Old 11-28-2014, 05:00 PM
Member
 
coyote2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Settings for reference (and feedback)

TViX M6500-A Settings

f/w Ver
1.4.25 UJ

A/V
Audio: Analog(PCM)
TV Standard: NTSC
Auto Switch: Off
Native Resolution: Off
>I've been happy enuf w/this in the past anyway<
TV Type: 16:9
Video Port: HDMI
HDMI Audio: On
Video Out Mode: 1080p

MISC
Subtitle/Outline: Green/Black
Screen Saver: Disable
Default Subtitle Encoding: W.EUROPE

NETWORK
Default Network: Wired
Wired IP Setting: DHCP (Static also worked but manual says to use DHCP if it works)
Network Disk 1-4 Slow(SAMBA)
1 share-I 192.168.1.xx
2 share-J 192.168.1.xx
3 share-I 192.168.1.xx
4 share-J 192.168.1.xx

ID: <lan pc username>
Password: <lan pc password>

FTP Service: ON
>Though I have no intention of FTPing to the unit<
SAMBA Service: ON
Lan Speed: 1000 Mbps
>Though IIRC my Ethernet isn't CAT6<
Time Server: USA
>Though it doesn't seem to timeset.<
Time Zone: Sydney
>The only choice the f/w gives me.<
Daylight Savings: On
coyote2 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off