The official DVICO TViX M6500A Discussion - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 3448 Old 01-29-2008, 11:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbb77 View Post

In any case my question on wireless was more on how to get it to work, which brand / devices are compatible. Haven't found much information in regards to this. Trying to determine overall cost on Tvix unit + compatible wireless adapter. If there is a list out there you can share be greatly appreciated.

There's lots of info in the 4000/5000 threads of this Forum. Search is your friend.
TPeterson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 3448 Old 01-30-2008, 08:48 AM
Member
 
TMaG82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quick question, probably the same with the 4000 and 5000 series.

My current TV is not capable of 1080p, I know it does up to 1080i, so I don't have a Blu-Ray or HDDVD player yet. I'm planning on getting a new DLP tv by the end of the year. My current TV is from 2003, a Mitsubishi with DVI, no HDMI. Will I still be able to playback .mkv files that are encoded at 720p? Meaning will it downscale to my current TV?
TMaG82 is offline  
post #93 of 3448 Old 01-30-2008, 09:20 AM
Senior Member
 
tolax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TMaG82 View Post

Quick question, probably the same with the 4000 and 5000 series.

My current TV is not capable of 1080p, I know it does up to 1080i, so I don't have a Blu-Ray or HDDVD player yet. I'm planning on getting a new DLP tv by the end of the year. My current TV is from 2003, a Mitsubishi with DVI, no HDMI. Will I still be able to playback .mkv files that are encoded at 720p? Meaning will it downscale to my current TV?

Simple answer is yes, whatever you set your output to (for example 1080i/720p) the Tvix will scale the output to this. So you could 'play' a 1080p h264 file and output 720P to your TV. Or of course a 480 DVD ISO and upscale it to 720P.

Whether 720P or 1080I looks better on your screen is a matter of trial and error. You may not even be able to tell the difference.

Tolax
tolax is offline  
post #94 of 3448 Old 01-30-2008, 12:06 PM
Senior Member
 
russland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Democratic Canada
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey, Kei.
Do you have any time updates on the TViX 6500 delivery?
When do you expect the shipment and how long does it take to ship everything over?
russland is offline  
post #95 of 3448 Old 01-30-2008, 12:12 PM
Senior Member
 
tolax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by russland View Post

Hey, Key.
Do you have any time updates on the TViX 6500 delivery?
When do you expect the shipment and how long does it take to ship everything over?

Apparently some of the European resellers are quoting Feb 5th

http://kjglobal.co.uk/acatalog/TVIX_M-6500A.html

Tolax
tolax is offline  
post #96 of 3448 Old 01-30-2008, 12:18 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I'll be surprised if the shipment is as early as 5 Feb. I think that it will be at least a week later and maybe more.
TPeterson is offline  
post #97 of 3448 Old 01-30-2008, 12:46 PM
Senior Member
 
russland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Democratic Canada
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post

P.S.: Who's "Key"?

Oops, I meant Kei
Corrected where possible.
russland is offline  
post #98 of 3448 Old 01-30-2008, 04:16 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Kei Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Huntington Beach, CA, US
Posts: 4,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by russland View Post

Hey, Kei.
Do you have any time updates on the TViX 6500 delivery?
When do you expect the shipment and how long does it take to ship everything over?


Russland,

No, unfortunately I don't know when the shipment will be here, and it will have to clear customs when it does arrive.

We're getting all invoices prepared and geared up to start shipping immediately upon receipt of the M6500As. We will, of course, send out confirmations with tracking e-mails.
Kei Clark is offline  
post #99 of 3448 Old 02-01-2008, 09:31 AM
Senior Member
 
russland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Democratic Canada
Posts: 260
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post

I'll be surprised if the shipment is as early as 5 Feb. I think that it will be at least a week later and maybe more.

In Europe some people already received their players.
Let's hope that it will reach our far west soon.
russland is offline  
post #100 of 3448 Old 02-01-2008, 10:08 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I think that you are mistaking the beta testers (such as myself) for shipped customers. The firmware isn't done yet, so how can DViCo be shipping product?
TPeterson is offline  
post #101 of 3448 Old 02-01-2008, 10:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
Hi-Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 727
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The products have been shipped actually :-)
DvICo hoped to get the latest FW out today but did not make it in time. Will be released after the Chinese New Year...

The review is also launched for those interested... (and not confusing me for a reseller and such :-) )
http://www.mpcclub.com/modules.php?n...rticle&sid=480

Enjoy

Enjoy
Hi-Jack
www.mpcclub.com
Things can be interpreted in two ways - positively or exactly as it is!
You decide which leads to the real truth!
Hi-Jack is offline  
post #102 of 3448 Old 02-01-2008, 01:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Kei Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Huntington Beach, CA, US
Posts: 4,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
The shipment is finally moving and enroute, the first stop was Hong Kong where someone posted the photos of thier shipment yesterday. Now it's just a matter of clearing customs, unfortunately that is not likely to happen until Monday.
Kei Clark is offline  
post #103 of 3448 Old 02-01-2008, 06:25 PM
Member
 
windycitycouple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sigh.......

Will there ever be a media server that has a cool front end. I mean how hard can it be to have a cool graphical cover art kind of menu?!?!?
windycitycouple is offline  
post #104 of 3448 Old 02-01-2008, 08:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by russland View Post

In Europe some people already received their players.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hi-Jack View Post

The products have been shipped actually :-)
DvICo hoped to get the latest FW out today but did not make it in time. Will be released after the Chinese New Year...

"have been shipped" does not equal "already received" in my book.

Also, I stand by my statement that the firmware is not yet finished, so I can't fully understand how the units can even have been shipped.

Brace yourself for Johnny blasts, folks.
TPeterson is offline  
post #105 of 3448 Old 02-02-2008, 08:33 AM
Senior Member
 
chuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hi-Jack View Post

The products have been shipped actually :-)
DvICo hoped to get the latest FW out today but did not make it in time. Will be released after the Chinese New Year...

I didnt think Koreans celebrated Chinese New Year?
chuna is offline  
post #106 of 3448 Old 02-02-2008, 09:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I think they (and the Japanese) call it the "Lunar New Year".

In any case, the Chinese New Year figures in DViCo's distribution plans, because the units are made there.
TPeterson is offline  
post #107 of 3448 Old 02-04-2008, 04:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Guy Kuo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tolax View Post

With the 'new' hi-def display have the resolutions changed for the background images/cover art etc?

I was going to use the GUI creator from Guy Kuo but I wonder if this will work with the new 6500 display.

Tolax

High resolution rendering at 1280 x 720 is now available in version 0.90 of TBG. Without an M-6500 I can't actually verify the new wallpaper and icon sizes work correctly, but it's a start.

Guy Kuo
Guy Kuo is offline  
post #108 of 3448 Old 02-04-2008, 07:18 AM
Senior Member
 
tolax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy Kuo View Post

High resolution rendering at 1280 x 720 is now available in version 0.90 of TBG. Without an M-6500 I can't actually verify the new wallpaper and icon sizes work correctly, but it's a start.

Already using that latest version thanks Guy.

Hopefully if the 6500 turns up later this week I can rerender everything to the higher resolution.

Have you got one on the way yourself?

Tolax
tolax is offline  
post #109 of 3448 Old 02-04-2008, 09:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
Hi-Jack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 727
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post

"have been shipped" does not equal "already received" in my book.

Also, I stand by my statement that the firmware is not yet finished, so I can't fully understand how the units can even have been shipped.

Brace yourself for Johnny blasts, folks.

I'm not worried about blasting Johnny... FW is indeed not ready, but overall in a
better state than some players after 8 months to market (Tomacro). Right
Johnny? :-)

How about this:
We scanned the TVIX ports and beside port 21 (FTP), PORT 139 is open and referred to as "netbios-ssn"...

Description netbios-ssn:
TCP NetBIOS connections are made over this port, usually with Windows
machines but also with any other system running Samba (SMB) . These
TCP connections form "NetBIOS sessions" to support connection oriented
file sharing activities.

http://www.grc.com/port_139.htm

Seems like we have found ourselves an SMB server?

We tried the usual accounts ftpuser and tvixuser but can't get in...
So, maybe this is a future plan from DViCo to add SAMBA server... ?

Posted in Beta Forum. Let's see if they have nasty plans in the pipeline...

The link on their website has been removed probably until after spring festival.

For those interested:
http://www.tvix.co.kr/Eng/products/product1.aspx :-)

Enjoy
Hi-Jack

Enjoy
Hi-Jack
www.mpcclub.com
Things can be interpreted in two ways - positively or exactly as it is!
You decide which leads to the real truth!
Hi-Jack is offline  
post #110 of 3448 Old 02-04-2008, 04:35 PM
Member
 
sreemv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Didnt DViCo say they would provide a means to copy over/across ethernet to avoid having to copy using USB?
sreemv is offline  
post #111 of 3448 Old 02-04-2008, 05:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Yes, with the M-6500A you can drag and drop files to/from the unit using Windows Explorer. It's a little more convenient than running an FTP client, but it's not any faster--which is to say it's a whole lot slower than using the USB port.
TPeterson is offline  
post #112 of 3448 Old 02-06-2008, 11:45 AM
Member
 
sreemv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If M6500 does support gigabit ethernet, wouldnt file transfer/communication between 2 gigabit devices across a gigabit switch perform faster? Is there something I am missing? Thanks for any insight.
sreemv is offline  
post #113 of 3448 Old 02-06-2008, 12:03 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
What you're missing is that the M-6500A's CPU is only running at 300 MHz. Real Gbit LAN speeds are not in the cards. That's the reason that DViCo is not advertising it as having Gbit capability. It's there, but so what?
TPeterson is offline  
post #114 of 3448 Old 02-06-2008, 12:20 PM
Member
 
sreemv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ah! What a bummer! I knew I was missing something obvious ;-)

Thanks!
sreemv is offline  
post #115 of 3448 Old 02-06-2008, 01:13 PM
Member
 
robertpolson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone play some mp4 files on it. None of the ones that I have play on 6500A. But they play fine on PS3 and PC
robertpolson is offline  
post #116 of 3448 Old 02-06-2008, 03:38 PM
Senior Member
 
chris98007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey i noticed a netshare 2.0 for download but no documentation. Anyone have any info?
chris98007 is offline  
post #117 of 3448 Old 02-06-2008, 03:56 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertpolson View Post

Can someone play some mp4 files on it. None of the ones that I have play on 6500A. But they play fine on PS3 and PC

Did you try the ones linked earlier in this thread? IIRC, those play for me. I also have tried several mp4 clips from the web and most (but not all) seem fine. What's the source of yours?
TPeterson is offline  
post #118 of 3448 Old 02-06-2008, 03:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris98007 View Post

Hey i noticed a netshare 2.0 for download but no documentation. Anyone have any info?

The main difference is that you can define up to 4 shared folders on the PC that's running NS 2.0 and access them individually from the TViX as "tvixhd1" through "tvixhd4".

This is nice for earlier TViXes that need NFS for HD streaming, but it's not very important to M-6500A users who can simply access the SMB shares.
TPeterson is offline  
post #119 of 3448 Old 02-06-2008, 04:03 PM
Senior Member
 
chris98007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
quick question. Anyone have any problems streaming 2 tvix's at the same time?
chris98007 is offline  
post #120 of 3448 Old 02-06-2008, 04:07 PM
Senior Member
 
chris98007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post

The main difference is that you can define up to 4 shared folders on the PC that's running NS 2.0 and access them individually from the TViX as "tvixhd1" through "tvixhd4".

This is nice for earlier TViXes that need NFS for HD streaming, but it's not very important to M-6500A users who can simply access the SMB shares.

hmm. ok so if your main tvix1 is on hd: c then you can put links to other hard drive in that folder?
chris98007 is offline  
Reply Networking, Media Servers & Content Streaming

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off