Vertical TV installation - how to change image to vertical display? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 06-28-2009, 09:06 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
wsanchez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
I'd like to install a LCD vertically instead of horizontally. I've search through the forums and have found no mention of the converter box that I'd need to accomplish this. I apologize for the newbie question, but what device do I need to accomplish the rotation of the image from horizontal to vertical? I imagine that it'd have to be a scaler of some sort.
TIA,
William
wsanchez is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 06-28-2009, 11:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chadmak09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Alabama
Posts: 3,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by wsanchez View Post

Hi,
I'd like to install a LCD vertically instead of horizontally. I've search through the forums and have found no mention of the converter box that I'd need to accomplish this. I apologize for the newbie question, but what device do I need to accomplish the rotation of the image from horizontal to vertical? I imagine that it'd have to be a scaler of some sort.
TIA,
William

are you gonna use this for a computer monitor or TV watching?

If you are going to use it as a computer and are using windows,
go to display settings,
then click "advanced settings"
then click your video card properties (GEForce6150SE in my case)
then click start NVIDIA control panel (in my case)
then click Display
then you should see a rotate display option.

but this only if you are using it with a computer with windows and the same video card as I..

there may be an option in the television properties.
chadmak09 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 06-28-2009, 02:45 PM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by wsanchez View Post

Hi,
I'd like to install a LCD vertically instead of horizontally. I've search through the forums and have found no mention of the converter box that I'd need to accomplish this. I apologize for the newbie question, but what device do I need to accomplish the rotation of the image from horizontal to vertical? I imagine that it'd have to be a scaler of some sort.

And no mention of what kind of source or computer you'll be using, nor any details of the reason that requires vertical mounting?

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR605, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 06-30-2009, 09:23 AM
Member
 
allisgreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have always wanted to flip my 52 lcd to portrait orientation and play a pinball game on it.
allisgreen is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 07-06-2009, 11:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
Norde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Redwood City,CA,USA
Posts: 560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you want to convert an existing monitor or buy a new one?

If it's a new one, several manufacturers make a commercial display that shows portrait or landscape.

For example:

"For a variety of environments, LG's sleek 720p 42-inch class and Full HD 1080p 47-inch class LCD monitors (models M4212C* and M4714C*) offer widescreen HD capable monitors for use in almost any environment from corporate reception areas to education settings. With display options in portrait and landscape mode, and Split Zoom capabilities for video wall applications (5 x 5 max), these models provide a versatile alternative to projectors and standard CRTs that both students and executives can enjoy."
Norde is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 06-20-2012, 01:14 AM
Newbie
 
vian80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi.. Any recommended software that able to help me by using 1 computer to display 2 -3 vedio files at the same time on Veritcal TV ?
vian80 is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 06-20-2012, 06:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
coolscan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,786
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by vian80 View Post

Hi.. Any recommended software that able to help me by using 1 computer to display 2 -3 vedio files at the same time on Veritcal TV ?

Check out this software and see if you can make it do what you want. Never tried it myself. Please report back if you try it. http://discoverybiz.net/enu0/dbzn/index.html
coolscan is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 06-20-2012, 07:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by vian80 View Post

Hi.. Any recommended software that able to help me by using 1 computer to display 2 -3 vedio files at the same time on Veritcal TV ?
Just use 3 instances of your favorite video player like VLC or MPC-HC.
olyteddy is offline  
Reply Flat Panels General and OLED Technology

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off