Vizio xvt 47" not displaying video from PC - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 08-16-2011, 12:23 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
hatrabbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All,

I have a PC with dual output sound card, one output to LCD monitor and the other to a Vizio XVT 47" display. When I play a video on the computer it plays on the monitor, but on the Vizio I see the Media Player window and advancing progress bar, but no video. I tried only connecting the Vizio display with the same results. The PC is running XP with all the service packs. Any suggestions?

Thanks.
hatrabbit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 08-16-2011, 10:13 PM
"Don't PM Me Bro"
 
RandyWalters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: El Segundo, Calif
Posts: 17,457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by hatrabbit View Post

I have a PC with dual output sound (S/B Video?) card, one output to LCD monitor and the other to a Vizio XVT 47" display. When I play a video on the computer it plays on the monitor, but on the Vizio I see the Media Player window and advancing progress bar, but no video. I tried only connecting the Vizio display with the same results. The PC is running XP with all the service packs. Any suggestions?

It would be helpful if you tell us what kind of cable you're using between the PC and the Vizio, and what brand/model your PC's Video Card is.

I'm going to guess it's either DVI-to-HDMI or straight HDMI, and if that's so then it's possible that your PC's Video Card isn't HDCP compliant so it's blocking video content from getting to your TV. The TV requires all external devices to be HDCP compliant if viewed over a digital connection.

Randy
TC-P55ST60, TC-P50GT50, TC-P46G10, TH-42PZ700U, TH-42PX50U, HP LC2600N, TiVo Series3, TWC Cisco 8742HDC DVR, Onkyo TX-SR333, URC R40 Remote.
Pic of My A/V setup - http://cdn.avsforum.com/f/f1/900x900..._Img_4867.jpeg
Gallery - http://www.avsforum.com/g/a/2082686/randywalter...
RandyWalters is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 08-17-2011, 09:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
What resolution are you sending to the Vizio?
Are the 2 displays configured in Clone Mode or in Extended Desk Top mode.
walford is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 08-17-2011, 08:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,266
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 208
Turn off video acceleration. In XP you can only use 'overlay' mode on one screen at a time so if you turn off video acceleration you force your display to write to both screens.
olyteddy is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 03-01-2012, 07:56 AM
Newbie
 
arniego's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by olyteddy View Post

Turn off video acceleration. In XP you can only use 'overlay' mode on one screen at a time so if you turn off video acceleration you force your display to write to both screens.

I turned off video acceleration in XP but still can't get any picture showing on the SV472XVT using HDMI-3 as the input setting. However, I am able to get video on the HDMI port of a Dynex 19" LCD with or without video acceleration. The graphics card is a GeForce MX4000. From scanning other threads in this forum, I note that a FX 5200 AGP does work with the Vizio so I will get one and try it.
arniego is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 03-01-2012, 09:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My Vizio does not support hot plugging of it's HDMI ports. I have to turn the TV off and back on for an active HDMI input signal to be accepted. Have you tried connecting to a different HDMI input connection and selecting it?
walford is offline  
Reply Flat Panels General and OLED Technology

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off