LG 55EA9800 55" OLED Owner's thread - Page 158 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4711 of 5864 Old 06-30-2014, 06:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Theplague13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Jersey
Posts: 1,046
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barrybud View Post
I saw some pretty good banding last night and I wonder if any of you are able to reproduce it.

I was watching a Showtime On Demand series called Penny Dreadful. Season 1, episode 2 in the opening scene set in old London during a foggy night and we see a lamplighter emerging from the fog.

Let me know if you see it.

As we know My set is uncalibrated and this is HD content via Comcast on a box that I am not thrilled about. I rarely see banding on this display and never on Blu-Ray or HD-DVD only on cable. I am currently using the ISF 1 setting out of the box with the only change I made to it was a small bump in brightness to 52. I have the motion set to User and I think its set to 2 and 6. I have all other video processing and noise reduction off.

Thanks
I'll check this tonight. Your settings shouldn't have any effect on banding, however.

Vinnie97, one of the kindest, most helpful and respected members here, got one of these. I wonder how much longer before we all get such a message...
You have been banned for the following reason: No reason was specified. Date the ban will be lifted: Never
Pick up the signature.
Theplague13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4712 of 5864 Old 06-30-2014, 07:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,830
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barrybud View Post
I saw some pretty good banding last night and I wonder if any of you are able to reproduce it.

I was watching a Showtime On Demand series called Penny Dreadful. Season 1, episode 2 in the opening scene set in old London during a foggy night and we see a lamplighter emerging from the fog.
This will be a perfect scene for MPEG compression artifacts/banding as well (smoke/fog/gray clouds are very difficult to compress without artifacts if bandwidth is limited).
herpderp likes this.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #4713 of 5864 Old 06-30-2014, 07:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mo949's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barrybud View Post
I saw some pretty good banding last night and I wonder if any of you are able to reproduce it.

I was watching a Showtime On Demand series called Penny Dreadful. Season 1, episode 2 in the opening scene set in old London during a foggy night and we see a lamplighter emerging from the fog.

Let me know if you see it.

As we know My set is uncalibrated and this is HD content via Comcast on a box that I am not thrilled about. I rarely see banding on this display and never on Blu-Ray or HD-DVD only on cable. I am currently using the ISF 1 setting out of the box with the only change I made to it was a small bump in brightness to 52. I have the motion set to User and I think its set to 2 and 6. I have all other video processing and noise reduction off.

Thanks
Calibrated or not, you are going to see banding on an 8 bit display at times. If you ever watch Robert Redford's, "All is Lost", you'll see loads of it. The type of scene you referenced above is typically one that will present compression artifacts as well.

To compare severity of it you'd have to throw up some color gradient charts. Some settings can make the gradient steps worse/better.
mo949 is offline  
post #4714 of 5864 Old 06-30-2014, 07:33 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,556
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 672 Post(s)
Liked: 762
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barrybud View Post
I saw some pretty good banding last night and I wonder if any of you are able to reproduce it.

I was watching a Showtime On Demand series called Penny Dreadful. Season 1, episode 2 in the opening scene set in old London during a foggy night and we see a lamplighter emerging from the fog.

Let me know if you see it.

As we know My set is uncalibrated and this is HD content via Comcast on a box that I am not thrilled about. I rarely see banding on this display and never on Blu-Ray or HD-DVD only on cable. I am currently using the ISF 1 setting out of the box with the only change I made to it was a small bump in brightness to 52. I have the motion set to User and I think its set to 2 and 6. I have all other video processing and noise reduction off.

Thanks
Barry, artifacts that are usually only seen on cable and not other sources, can usually be attributed to compression artifacts by the service provider. Even if someone reports watching the same scene and has no artifacts, you'd need to know what service provider they're using. Compression will be different via Comcast, Cablevision, FIOS etc.

But I'd bet what you saw isn't panel related.
herpderp likes this.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #4715 of 5864 Old 06-30-2014, 07:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tgm1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6,083
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterbrew2 View Post
Was just notified of a new 600mb software update for the TV. Have downloaded and installed, don't notice anything changed. Gotta love updates without changelogs...
LOL.....and then everyone wakes up the next day and >poof< their TV is flattened. That's one hell of an update....

WARNING: You have now entered a no @#$%tard zone. Please gather your anti-vaccine propaganda nonsense and slowly back out the way you came in.
tgm1024 is offline  
post #4716 of 5864 Old 06-30-2014, 08:23 AM
Moderator
 
Barrybud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Southeastern, PA
Posts: 2,545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterbrew2 View Post
Was just notified of a new 600mb software update for the TV. Have downloaded and installed, don't notice anything changed. Gotta love updates without changelogs...
Is that the 050614 update? That was also a sizable update which many feel may have been related to the smart content. I ran an update check last night about 2AM and it said I was up to date with the 0506 version.
Barrybud is offline  
post #4717 of 5864 Old 06-30-2014, 08:26 AM
Moderator
 
Barrybud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Southeastern, PA
Posts: 2,545
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Thanks for all the replies on the compression artifacts. Sadly Comcast is my main source for content.
Barrybud is offline  
post #4718 of 5864 Old 06-30-2014, 08:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Masterbrew2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barrybud View Post
Is that the 050614 update? That was also a sizable update which many feel may have been related to the smart content. I ran an update check last night about 2AM and it said I was up to date with the 0506 version.

I was notified of the update this morning. My current version now says: 05.01.18


My set is the 970V, but I don't suppose that would make a difference. I had the 9800 before and I have seen no signs of differences in the software.
Masterbrew2 is offline  
post #4719 of 5864 Old 06-30-2014, 08:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,830
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterbrew2 View Post
I was notified of the update this morning. My current version now says: 05.01.18


My set is the 970V, but I don't suppose that would make a difference. I had the 9800 before and I have seen no signs of differences in the software.
Just did an update check and there is no new update for this TV. I'm already on 05.06 update the first day I setup the TV.

To be clear, you only saw this update on your 970v TV, not the 8900 OLED? Even though the UI looks the same, the underlying firmware will be quite different due to different hardware. And there should be no direct relationship between when we see updates on one TV and when we see it on another different model.

Last edited by Foxbat121; 06-30-2014 at 10:47 AM.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #4720 of 5864 Old 06-30-2014, 11:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
vaktmestern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Prob just smart tv updates as always. had my update a few days back.
vaktmestern is online now  
post #4721 of 5864 Old 06-30-2014, 11:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Masterbrew2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
Just did an update check and there is no new update for this TV. I'm already on 05.06 update the first day I setup the TV.

To be clear, you only saw this update on your 970v TV, not the 8900 OLED? Even though the UI looks the same, the underlying firmware will be quite different due to different hardware. And there should be no direct relationship between when we see updates on one TV and when we see it on another different model.
Yep.

Well what "different hardware"? They are 95% the same.
Masterbrew2 is offline  
post #4722 of 5864 Old 06-30-2014, 11:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Masterbrew2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Has anyone managed to set up the Time Machine/DVR functionality with an external hard drive?
Masterbrew2 is offline  
post #4723 of 5864 Old 06-30-2014, 12:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tgm1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6,083
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereodude View Post
I saw some political comments sparked by references to net neutrality earlier.
I don't like this banning of Vinnie one bit....bugs me a lot.
tgm1024 is offline  
post #4724 of 5864 Old 06-30-2014, 12:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
5x10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 361 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgm1024 View Post
I don't like this banning of Vinnie one bit....bugs me a lot.
Wonder if our resident mod, Barrybud, could help him out
5x10 is offline  
post #4725 of 5864 Old 06-30-2014, 04:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Theplague13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Jersey
Posts: 1,046
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgm1024 View Post
I don't like this banning of Vinnie one bit....bugs me a lot.
Me too bro. You two guys are my homies.

Vinnie97, one of the kindest, most helpful and respected members here, got one of these. I wonder how much longer before we all get such a message...
You have been banned for the following reason: No reason was specified. Date the ban will be lifted: Never
Pick up the signature.
Theplague13 is offline  
post #4726 of 5864 Old 06-30-2014, 04:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tgm1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6,083
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5x10 View Post
Wonder if our resident mod, Barrybud, could help him out
No, we can't pit one moderator against another.

WARNING: You have now entered a no @#$%tard zone. Please gather your anti-vaccine propaganda nonsense and slowly back out the way you came in.
tgm1024 is offline  
post #4727 of 5864 Old 06-30-2014, 05:32 PM
Member
 
Yappadappadu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Should at least be possible to get the info how long he'll be gone. I hope it's not a permanent ban.
Yappadappadu is offline  
post #4728 of 5864 Old 06-30-2014, 08:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mo949's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,829
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgm1024 View Post
No, we can't pit one moderator against another.
I seemed to have missed this one but I have a feeling I know which so called mod it is...
mo949 is offline  
post #4729 of 5864 Old 06-30-2014, 09:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
5x10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 361 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
Just did an update check and there is no new update for this TV. I'm already on 05.06 update the first day I setup the TV.

To be clear, you only saw this update on your 970v TV, not the 8900 OLED? Even though the UI looks the same, the underlying firmware will be quite different due to different hardware. And there should be no direct relationship between when we see updates on one TV and when we see it on another different model.
Do you think an optical cable will bypass the arc issues with this set?
I thought netflix looked better on the tv compared to the xbox1

And, this tv continues to impress, I look forward to watching it, easily the best picture I have ever seen
5x10 is offline  
post #4730 of 5864 Old 06-30-2014, 11:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
vaktmestern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Agree netflix looks better on the Lg app than the x1 even the oppo 103d app looks worse.
vaktmestern is online now  
post #4731 of 5864 Old 07-01-2014, 02:05 AM
Member
 
mikeg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5x10 View Post
Do you think an optical cable will bypass the arc issues with this set?
I thought netflix looked better on the tv compared to the xbox1

And, this tv continues to impress, I look forward to watching it, easily the best picture I have ever seen
The LG Netflix application on my OLED is incredible compared to the Sony Google Tv box feeding my Kuro. I waited until I bought the LG to watch House of Cards. I watched Prometheus in 3D this weekend and was amazed how well this tv handles 3D.
5x10 likes this.
mikeg1 is offline  
post #4732 of 5864 Old 07-01-2014, 03:57 AM
Senior Member
 
kinglm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5x10 View Post
Do you think an optical cable will bypass the arc issues with this set?
I thought netflix looked better on the tv compared to the xbox1

And, this tv continues to impress, I look forward to watching it, easily the best picture I have ever seen
Yes, I don't have an ARC compatible AVR. Connecting an optical cable from the TV to the AVR lets me get sound from Netflix etc. Not limited to the TV speakers.
5x10 likes this.
kinglm is offline  
post #4733 of 5864 Old 07-01-2014, 04:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Masterbrew2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Cosmos is pretty damn good looking on this TV

It is really well graded. Other beautiful 'space odysseys', like 2001 and Star Wars, unfortunately have non-black blacks.
Masterbrew2 is offline  
post #4734 of 5864 Old 07-01-2014, 06:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Theplague13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Jersey
Posts: 1,046
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 326
That's a shame about 2001, I love that movie and wanted to pick up the blu Ray to watch on tmhere, but star wars didn't have non-black blacks for me, at least the old trilogy.

Vinnie97, one of the kindest, most helpful and respected members here, got one of these. I wonder how much longer before we all get such a message...
You have been banned for the following reason: No reason was specified. Date the ban will be lifted: Never
Pick up the signature.
Theplague13 is offline  
post #4735 of 5864 Old 07-01-2014, 06:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,830
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5x10 View Post
Do you think an optical cable will bypass the arc issues with this set?
Optical should work just fine. That's the common recommendation over ARC on almost any TV brands. I just don't want the hassle to run the optical cable and configure my AVR as well as remote to do so.

On my Panasonic Plasma, ARC is only turned on when I go into Netflix app. But it also mysteriously stop working with no way to turn it back on until I unplugged the TV power for extended period of time. So ARC in general is poorly implemented in majority of the TV brands from my own experience and experiences from others.
5x10 likes this.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #4736 of 5864 Old 07-01-2014, 07:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
5x10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 361 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Thanks for the responses fellas, I'm going to order a longer optical so I can watch Netflix/YouTube on my oled, the xbox1 is garbage, not only can it not keep up with this tv, the disc drive isn't recognizing disks now


And I don't know if this is against the rules, mods, please delete if so but since Vinnie was so popular here, he is now over at home theatre shack forum, he let me know via amazon comments, lol
tgm1024 likes this.
5x10 is offline  
post #4737 of 5864 Old 07-01-2014, 07:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
vaktmestern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5x10 View Post
Thanks for the responses fellas, I'm going to order a longer optical so I can watch Netflix/YouTube on my oled, the xbox1 is garbage, not only can it not keep up with this tv, the disc drive isn't recognizing disks now


And I don't know if this is against the rules, mods, please delete if so but since Vinnie was so popular here, he is now over at home theatre shack forum, he let me know via amazon comments, lol
Just to clear the x1 memory easy and nether the x360 or x1 has super hd from netflix thats why u see a lesser picture btw

Last edited by vaktmestern; 07-01-2014 at 07:44 AM.
vaktmestern is online now  
post #4738 of 5864 Old 07-01-2014, 07:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
5x10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 361 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by vaktmestern View Post
Just to clear the x1 memory easy and nether the x360 or x1 has super hd from netflix thats why u see a lesser picture btw
I just cleared the persistent memory, hard reboot, still doesn't recognize the disc
Thanks for the advice though
5x10 is offline  
post #4739 of 5864 Old 07-01-2014, 07:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
vaktmestern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Worked for me on Nfs as it wouldt read that once.
vaktmestern is online now  
post #4740 of 5864 Old 07-01-2014, 08:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
5x10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 361 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by vaktmestern View Post
Worked for me on Nfs as it wouldt read that once.
My issue is with blu rays, I need to see if games work

I wonder if the blu ray player is sub par on this, in the same way the netflix app is
5x10 is offline  
Reply Flat Panels General and OLED Technology

Tags
Lg 55ea9800 Oled Hdtv , Lg
Gear in this thread - 55ea9800 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off